Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Lightweight Super Tac-L-Pak

Has the same fit, features, and pocket arrangement as our best-selling Super Tac-L-Pak but is 20% lighter than the original. It's constructed from a lightweight nylon to reduce weight and allow quick drying. A DWR coating helps shed water. In light gray. 100% nylon. Washable. Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52), XXXL(54-56), XXXXL(58-60).
Average Customer Rating:
4.529 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
16 of 17(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lightweight Super Tac-L-Pak
Review 1 for Lightweight Super Tac-L-Pak
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
excellet product,
June 27, 2015
By: cfsandner
from Goodyear, AZ
"I love my vest. The color is awesome and the quality is just fabulous. I am anxious to wear it."
Review 2 for Lightweight Super Tac-L-Pak
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
May 25, 2015
By: JKO39
from Mystic, CT
"Great product, top notch quality, light weight yet has a really substantial feel, well made, the zippers are beefy, more pockets that I can use and well placed, arm openings are cut lower for ease of movement and getting the vest on and off, holds it's form when loaded up and the nylon cleans up very nicely. The only very minor criticism is that the tippet pockets are really tight on the larger SA spools but are perfect for the smaller diameter RIO spools. It is a pleasure when I can purchase equipment on-line that I really like. Nice job folks!"
Review 3 for Lightweight Super Tac-L-Pak
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
April 4, 2015
By: WildRainbowTrout
from Farmington River CT
"From company that has always had great products, great survive and great support. This is my fav for vests and I've tried many. The right pocket in the right place. Its light, quick dry and the traditional look while on the water."
Review 4 for Lightweight Super Tac-L-Pak
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great,
March 31, 2015
By: Shane13
from NM
"This is a great product. Plenty of pockets and very lightweight"
Review 5 for Lightweight Super Tac-L-Pak
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
newest vest purchase from orvis,
December 22, 2014
By: flytyer1
from toronto
"I have been looking around for a new vest. I am one of those guys who carries a vest with 2 extra reels, umpteen fly boxes (you can never have enough and there will be that one day every 5 years you need that special fly in that box :) you know what I mean). I went to the orvis store and picked up this. It is your usual good orvis quality for the most part but I am a little disappointed with a few things. plastic net ring on the back -I will change this out very quickly for a metal key ring. there doesn't seem to be any extra support across the shoulders to distribute the weight. me 2nd last vest had a stretch of sheepskin across the top to spread the weight. Sometimes the new technology can't beat the old. All in all I am happy with it but wish Orvis would bring back some of the tried and true aspects in vest design."
Review 6 for Lightweight Super Tac-L-Pak
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great buy,
July 18, 2014
By: katrina10
from Rhode Island
"I bought the vest for my husband who fishes with friends in local lakes and ponds during the summer. I wanted the vest light enough that he didn't sweat while wearing it and generously sized for his size 44+ frame. The vest in size XL satisfied both requirements and looks great on him.
I was especially pleased the 2-day shipping delivered on time, and that your customer service people could track it, even to the exact location where it was left at our house.
"
Review 7 for Lightweight Super Tac-L-Pak
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Nylon Ugh!,
January 30, 2014
By: AlistairG
from UK
"I had high hopes of this jacket to replace an ageing and much loved Orvis vest, but when I went to try it on I couldn't believe it. Nylon. Simply horrible feel to it. Why can't we have some natural fibres?
Old orvis vest will have to do another season!"
Review 8 for Lightweight Super Tac-L-Pak
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Features, Tight Fit,
September 18, 2013
By: SMSC
from Virginia
"Lots and lots of pockets of various sizes, both zipper and velcro closures. The D-ring to hang your net on the back is plastic. I think that was designed to reduce weight, but unknown how sturdy it is or how long the D-ring will last.
I ordered online versus from a retail store. I have to return as I need a size larger than I normally wear because it won't fit over normal layering for colder weather."
Review 9 for Lightweight Super Tac-L-Pak
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Light Weight Super Tac-L-Pak,
April 24, 2013
By: Fish4meNJ
from New Jersey
"I have had my original vest for the past 4 years and decided to purchase the newer version for my son. It has a tremendous amount of pocket space for every season. It is very lightweight when fully loaded. It is a classic design that has all of the features you would want in a fishing vest. I feel it well worth the cost-solid zipper as well and very waterproof. Worth the extra dollars as compared to other brands that I have had over the years. The seams have held up well for me, and I carry a lot of gear that weighs down the pockets. I don't wade deep and this is just fine but if you do wade deep you may consider the shorter wading vest because your fly boxes and other gear will get wet with this vest. I carry water proof boxes, so this is not a concern for me. I prefer this vest over those, and other top brand vests, because of the equally sound construction, and bigger pockets that will hold most large items. Another solid product by Orvis!"
Review 10 for Lightweight Super Tac-L-Pak
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The best vest you could buy !,
July 24, 2012
By: Theo
from Asperen, The Netherlands
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"This is the best vest you can buy on the market since as long as I am wearing these vests. I need about two a year but then I wear them all and every day of the year ! lost of pockets and very sturdy, especially the new (lichtweight) one !"
Review 11 for Lightweight Super Tac-L-Pak
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I received what I asked for.,
July 6, 2012
By: Bushwalker
from Canberra, Australia
"I spent considerable of time researching available vests.
I use the vest for bushwalking (trekking).
The vest is a little shorter than I expected (my previous vests came down to my butt).
The pockets are well placed and of a good size.
The pockets enable me to access regularly used gear (eg GPS, gloves, hat, etc.) in readily accessible places while still walking.
The pockets are not blocked by my backpack.
The vest is very well made and I would buy this brand again if a similar article is required.
"
Review 12 for Lightweight Super Tac-L-Pak
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
June 27, 2012
By: NHflyfish
from NH
"I bought this vest about 6 years ago. I have considered buying a new vest but every one I look at just doesn't have the features. I have tried to go 'lean' with a chest pack only to return to this vest. I wash it once a year and it still looks great. It fits well and when loaded, it is comfortable around the neck. If you are looking to buy a vest, seriously consider this one!"
Review 13 for Lightweight Super Tac-L-Pak
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Big Guy,
March 19, 2012
By: bigguyinvt
"I am a big guy and I bought this in a 4xl. It fits great and looks good as well. Sometimes items for buy guys can be of lesser quality, but this vat proved to be of the same high quality that all Orvis products are know for. Thanks for not forgetting about your Big customers"
Review 14 for Lightweight Super Tac-L-Pak
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Great Vest, wrong colour,
December 26, 2011
By: Backcountry
from UK
"Not being a vest lover I bought this after noticing how useful the original version was to a friend of mine on a trip to New Zealand. The capacity, pocket size and light weight are superb for the job and it renders a day pack obsolete on most outings. Being synthetic it dries quickly unlike anything with cotton in it.
For those who stalk fish in gin clear water however the light colour I found to be a major challenge. It spooks fish. I experimented by removing it on a number of occasions and found I was able to get much closer to fish.
This is especially evident when there is a dark backdrop such as trees.
To their credit Orvis offered to replace it but I declined as I will continue to use it for drift fishing in boats.
Roll on the day when they produce this vest in a darker colour. Gunmetal or a dusky blue would fit the bill and still 'look the part' and differentiate from other products"
Review 15 for Lightweight Super Tac-L-Pak
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
September 12, 2011
By: theflyboy
from blacksburg, VA
"I have had this vest for a little over a year now. It is a classic design that has all of the features you would want in a fishing vest. I feel it is worth the extra $10 to get the light weight version of this vest as it dries a lot faster than cotton and we all know a fishing vest gets wet. The seams have held up well for me, and I carry a lot of gear that weighs down the pockets. if you wade deep you may consider the shorter wading vest because your fly boxes will get wet with this vest. I carry water proof boxes, so this is not a concern for me. If you are considering a vest or a pack, one thing to think about is carrying drinking water. I am able to carry a large 18oz flask in one of the pockets of this vest, which is plenty for a day on the water. The only complaint I have with this vest is that I wish the collar was wider so that it did not ride up and rub against my neck. Sort of like the vests from that other company that starts with an "S". But I prefer this vest over those, and other top brand vests, because of the equally sound construction, and bigger pockets that will hold most large fly boxes perfectly. Great product! Classic vest."
Review 16 for Lightweight Super Tac-L-Pak
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great vest,
August 24, 2011
By: shawnee
"This is a great fishing vest. You have enough pockets to carry enough tackle to last you on any outing you would go on."
Ratings-Only Reviews for Lightweight Super Tac-L-Pak
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1