Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Pro Guide Waders

Get more comfort and maximum durability in our new and improved Pro Guide chest fishing waders. An exclusive double-weave condenier fabric is lighter and stronger than original Pro Guides, so it wears more comfortably, with more mobility, without sacrificing durability. Plus, the new, lightweight, 100% waterproof upper stretch fabric gives you greater agility and a better fit. All while a new 5-layer fabric in lower leg increases abrasion and puncture resistance. Rear leg seams save wear and tear from legs rubbing together. Removable suspenders let them fold down easily for more comfort when you're fishing on hot days, from a boat or when wading shallow water. Neoprene gravel guards help seal out debris and aquatic invasives. Front handwarmer pocket with zippered mesh pocket. Wading belt included. Chest fishing waders in khaki.
Average Customer Rating:
4.253 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (87 reviews)
5 stars
55
4 stars
15
3 stars
7
2 stars
4
1 star
6
76 of 87(87%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Pro Guide Waders
Review 1 for Pro Guide Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A top quality wader,
October 30, 2013
By: SpeyJ
from Thurso
"An excellent product matched by an excellent delivery service. My last pair of Pro Guides are nearing the end of the road but are still watertight after ten years of heavy usage. Their longevity is due to the abrasion resistance quality of these waders and their design. They are a perfect fit and well worth the extra money. Highly recommended."
Review 2 for Pro Guide Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great waders,
September 23, 2013
By: Colski
from Northumberland
"Great service from Orvis, I discovered on Saturday evening that I had yet another pair of leaky waders (other brand). I ordered a new pair of Pro - Guides from Orvis late Saturday night. I expected them to arrive several days later but first thing Monday morning the new waders were there.
They are definitely the best I have ever owned, great fit and comfort. Obviously time will tell how durable they are but the five layer fabric below the waist feels substantial and robust. They seem better made than a well known other American brand but much more reasonably priced.
"
Review 3 for Pro Guide Waders
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Chest Waders,
September 11, 2013
By: stephengwprice
from Conwy
"Really good quality great body fit but the foot was on the big size so I have had to exchange for the next size down.
The design is better than others I have seen and felt really comfortable.
"
Review 4 for Pro Guide Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great waders,
September 10, 2013
By: Catgut
from Yorkshire, uk
"Top waders, very comfortable a lot warmer than other waders i have used.Look and fit really smart. i cant wait to use them during the winter grayling season. 5 stars so far."
Review 5 for Pro Guide Waders
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Minor changes needed,
August 15, 2013
By: Msphish
from Blairsville, Ga
"This is a very good product, but two changes would make them much better:
1. The location of the strap attachment on the chest needs to be moved closer to the middle.
2. The elastic that tightens the top needs to be moved out from under the arms to the middle.
"
Review 6 for Pro Guide Waders
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Excellent Product,
August 7, 2013
By: CFHends
from Sudbury, ON
"These are the best waders I have owned. The reinforced front provides confidence when breaking trail to find the right access point on the river. The hand warmer pocket is an excellent feature for those who fish early in spring and late into the fall. Great Product."
Review 7 for Pro Guide Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Waders,
July 15, 2013
By: SalarCatcher
from N. Ireland, UK
"The Pro Guide Waders have served me very well for three seasons now. I have found them reliable and comfortable and would have no hesitation in recommending them. I would say I have given them above average use. They are better (more durable) than the Orvis Tailwater XT's which had before these, although not just as lightweight."
Review 8 for Pro Guide Waders
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sizing Caution,
June 5, 2013
By: JimiinCO
"I just received my waders and would caution anyone regarding sizing. I wear a size 13 shoe and purchased XL waders that show a 12-14 boot size. The wader foot is much to large so much so that they bunch up in my boot. I just reordered the 10-12 size which I hope will work better. I would also mention that the waders are very large around so I also reordered a size smaller - which is a size smaller than I would normally wear."
Review 9 for Pro Guide Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easiest Wader to put on and Take Off,
May 6, 2013
By: SteelheadKirk
from Portland, Or
"I'm really impressed with these waders.
They are the ABSOLUTELY easiest wader to put on and take off!!!! Especially when compared to a well known competitors pair I own. I find my self choosing these over the others time and again for that one fact alone.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Pro Guide Waders
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Foot sizing oversized,
April 7, 2013
By: CNYSPORTSMAN
"I was disappointed with the Pro Guide Waders XL foot sizing 10-12 . With a solid foot size 10 the bootie was extremely big. The bootie did not fit in my wading shoes. I do believe Orvis makes good products and did reorder a size large with a foot sizing 9-11. I still believe the foot sizing will be to big for my wading shoes. I wish there were more foot sizes available in the Pro Guide Waders. Hope I do not need to order a new larger pair of wading shoes."
Review 11 for Pro Guide Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dry and Fishing. It's A Good Thing.,
April 3, 2013
By: Grizzly66
from Omaha, NE
"Was sick and tired of leaking waders but I couldn't see spending $700 for a pair of waders so I decided to give the Pro Guide waders a try. After three trips to my favorite streams I am prepared to say, these waders are OUTSTANDING and well worth the price. While I could find cheaper waders, I subscribe to the philosophy, "buy cheap, buy twice." Accordingly, in my opinion the Pro Guide waders represent a superb compromise between quality and cost. Now only time and use will determine the durability of these waders but I suspect the Pro Guide waders will stand up to everything I throw at them. If not, I will come back to this forum and complete this review. Some notable points are as follows: I like the ample size. While not oversize, the Pro Guide waders are slightly larger than any of my previous waders and are much easier to pull on. Additionally, the uniquely detachable suspenders work very well and retain the length adjustment from one trip to the next. Overall, I love these waders."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Pro Guide Waders
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
never buy this wader,
March 6, 2013
By: Anonymous
from eugene.oregon
"i have two orvis waders.first is endura $150 one yaer,second is pro guide $395 one yaer water put inside.this price buy simms is good.i looking simms wader now."
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Pro Guide Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pro Guides,
March 5, 2013
By: JdaddyCaine
from northwestern PA
"Perfect Waders for the all day fisherman. Great fit and Great price. Love my ORVIS PRO GUIDES"
Review 14 for Pro Guide Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well made,
February 28, 2013
By: Chuch
from Somerset, Pa.
"I haven't had them on in the water yet but as far as craftsmanship they look well made - strong and durable. They appear thick but that's what I want in a good wader. Nonetheless, they're not heavy while wearing. I tried them on and the fir is perfect for me. The shoulder straps adjust easily and I like the hand warmer pocket. If this doesn't prove to be another great Orivis product when i wear them in the water I'll be surprised."
Review 15 for Pro Guide Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Waders I've Had,
February 12, 2013
By: DEAFLYFISHING
from Grand Junction CO
"Waders fit like a tailored suit. Very light weight and very comfortable. Will have to purchase another set as backup and have my friends try out. They will sell themselves."
Review 16 for Pro Guide Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Thick tuff waders,
January 24, 2013
By: chieftrouthunter
from White Mountain of Arizona.
"built solid and just feels good knowing there are plenty of layers of protection waist down. the suspender system comes off easy and then waders become waist high ones. i have bought these waders over and over again, with back up being the same one or brand, my new back will be the sonic seam waders. i have many top line items dealing with fly fishing as i fish more then anyone..CHIEF"
Review 17 for Pro Guide Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Made to be tough,
January 2, 2013
By: Winston113
from Seattle, WA
"Form fitting and you can just feel the durability. Designed for the everyday wear and tear. Heavier but worth it.. very warm too."
Review 18 for Pro Guide Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well worth it waders,
December 28, 2012
By: fishee1
from West Coast
"Good design. highly functional, and built to withstand adverse conditions"
Review 19 for Pro Guide Waders
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great product for the money,
December 28, 2012
By: hondot
from Kansas
"This is my third pair of Orvis Pro Guide waders since 2002. I use my waders about 8 weeks a year in some tough terrain all over the world. I find them to be a good value for the money, they have almost any size to fit any person, and of course you have Orvis standing behind any problems with the waders."
Review 20 for Pro Guide Waders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great waders,
December 28, 2012
By: johnthei
"great waders, very comfortable, look like they should last for years. had similar Orvis waders, they are still going after 10 years, they are bootfoot. would buy these again if I needed another pair for some reason."