Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Mirage Big Game Leaders

Some fluorocarbon fly-fishing leaders are blended with nylon, lessening the benefits of abrasion resistance and low visibility. Pure fluorocarbon Mirage™ has the highest abrasion resistance of any leader or tippet. And its refractive index is so close to that of water that Mirage is virtually invisible. With a specific gravity of 1.76, it breaks surface tension quickly and sinks quicker than nylon, perfect for nymphing. Fluorocarbon materials retain their knot and tensile strength in water. Preferred for nymphing, especially in gin-clear waters or where fish are educated. Great for large streamers too. Outstanding turnover power, the result of patented extrusion taper technology—an Orvis exclusive. Improved Mirage Big Game Leaders now fluorocarbon fly-fishing leaders with new tapers to give you better turnover when casting big game flies. Length 9'. 2-pack.Size: 6, 8, 10, 12, 16, 20 lb. test
Average Customer Rating:
4.909 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 of 11(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Mirage Big Game Leaders
Review 1 for Mirage Big Game Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My goto surf fishing leader,
May 9, 2014
By: woozyboy
from Flagstaff, AZ
"This is my standard goto leader for surf fishing. It is tough as nails and extremely abrasion resistant!"
Review 2 for Mirage Big Game Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mirage leaders mid-long cast for bass,
August 14, 2013
By: ChiefSwift
from Austin, TX
"wonderful leader that I've yet to break. reacts so much better than the other synthetic brands out there that i've tried. i wouldn't consider switching leaders at this point other that Orvis' superstrong. Mirage is great for subsurface species or bass on really hot days."
Review 3 for Mirage Big Game Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durable Flexible Leader,
July 23, 2012
By: ColemanSpecial
from Minneapolis, MN
"I use this for striped bass. Holds up in the ocean with no problems. The knots tie very tightly with no kinking. All the benefits of the Mirage material and you have a good selection of end tippet size/pound test. A little more expensive, but you get what you pay for and you don't want to lose fish with substandard leaders and tippet material."
Review 4 for Mirage Big Game Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Leaders,
March 25, 2012
By: permitfirstcast
from Jamestown, RI
"Fine workmanship. Excellent strength. Fish friendly."
Review 5 for Mirage Big Game Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Lakes Steelies/Salmon,
January 28, 2012
By: VJPLONEWOLF
from Whitewater, WI
"I have used this leader for the past two fall and winter runs on the tributaries of Lake Michigan in WI.
The leader is strong enough to handle rocky and driftwood bottoms, yet flexible enough to present flies ranging from 6-12 for the species I fish.
I am going Redfishing in La this spring and was advised by Orvis staff that this leader will handle the size 2-6 flies I will be using.
I have relied upon Orvis Staff for their advice for years and trust this leader to perform as required.
"
Review 6 for Mirage Big Game Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Work well,
September 13, 2011
By: fisherken
"You get exactly what you order. Leaders work well and are strong."
Review 7 for Mirage Big Game Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Go to leader,
August 21, 2011
By: CohoSammi
from Pulaski, NY and Chatham, MA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I fish the Salmon River in the spring for Steelhead, the fall for King Salmon, and Striped Bass in Chatham, Mass throughout summer on the fly rod.
If you are seeking one leader that does it all and well, I recommend the Orvis Mirage leaders.
Tightlines,
Mark A. in NH"
Review 8 for Mirage Big Game Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Leader,
August 18, 2011
By: CaptMike63
"Mirage Big Game are the best leaders I have ever used. They are strong, and invisable in the water. I use them to catch redfish, snook and sea trout in southwest Florida."
Review 9 for Mirage Big Game Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best leader out there,
October 8, 2010
By: olcrusty
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I put these leaders through a 2 month long test ,first a month fishing for stipers along the rocky coast of Maine, and then a month of Lake Erie steelhead fishing. These leaders are tough hold knots well and do everything that I can ask a leader to do."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Mirage Big Game Leaders
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
4.5 / 5
4.5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 2 out of 2