Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Tailwaters Wading Jacket

Keep fishing in comfort no matter the rain or wind. Every detail of The Tailwaters™ is made with the angler in mind. The waterproof breathable fabric repels rain and seals you off from the wind whilst it breathes to maximise your comfort. Two large bellowed pockets keep your fly boxes at the ready so you don't have to unzip the jacket in the rain to get at them. Two interior zip storage pockets keep gear, wallet, license, and more stored away and dry. Easy-access magnetic closures on front pockets. Full-coverage hood rolls and stores away for when the rain stops. Fleece handwarmer pockets keep hands warm. Adjustable Dolphin Skin® Cuff system keeps out wind and water and minimises lines tangling on cuff. Drawcord at hem. In smoke. Shell: 100% nylon. Laminate: 100% polyurethane: Lining: 100% nylon. Washable. Sizes: XS(30-32), S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52), XXXL(54-56).
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (33 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
32 of 33(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Tailwaters Wading Jacket
Review 1 for Tailwaters Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great quality,
October 13, 2013
By: Hollar1
from KY
"This Jacket fits very well. The medium size fits perfect, even though I wear a large in general clothing. The jacket Is breathable, and it doesn't "bunch up" when wearing. You have plenty of freedom to move around and cast when wearing."
Review 2 for Tailwaters Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Can't wait to try it fishing.,
October 11, 2013
By: obaky
from Gatlinburg, Tn
"I have only worn this jacket once when I needed a quick cover up in a rainstorm. The fit was generous and I love the pockets. The sleeve closures look like they will work really well while fishing. Can't wait!"
Review 3 for Tailwaters Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wading jacket,
October 7, 2013
By: Dooby51
from Hackettstown NJ
"The jacket arrived fast and I haven't go to use it in the elements yet but I feel it's going to be great it's light wieght warm and has tons of pockets to keep things dry while fishing"
Review 4 for Tailwaters Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dry on the Salmon River,
October 7, 2013
By: MarDelo
from NE PA
"I'm about 5'7" and 135lbs so the small jacket fit me good. I can even layer a nice Simms hoody under this which I did on the Salmon River the other week. It started raining and got a little windy while I was fishing and I stayed completely dry. The cuff system is nice and most of the reason I bought this jacket as I was sick of getting my sleeves wet when I had to dip into the water.
I did not use the outside chest pockets yet, seems like ample storage for things you wouldn't access all day long as I still kept all my flies and such in my sling pack.
Can't wait to use it more this fall/winter. Nice jacket and nice sale price!"
Review 5 for Tailwaters Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dry and functional,
September 10, 2013
By: summitsmitty
from Silverthorne, CO
"My motto: Great gear, great time...Bad gear, Bad time. Nothing like walking into bad weather with nothing but confidence. Dry, warm, functional, what more do you need. DId I mention style. Always fun when you look on top of your game. Love this jacket."
Review 6 for Tailwaters Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
tailwaters wading jacket,
September 9, 2013
By: michaelht1
from Northwest Montana
"Jacket if of high quality, all seams are very well finished, I purchased the XL, could have gone with a large but I like cloths lose so its still good. Had it outside in some heavy rain, stayed completely dry. looking forward a long usage"
Review 7 for Tailwaters Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Fishing Jacket,
September 7, 2013
By: ATJ916
"This is an excellent jacket for fishing. Well made and lightweight. Ample size for fleece/warm layering"
Review 8 for Tailwaters Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tailwaters Wading Jacket,
September 4, 2013
By: CMLJR
from North Carolina
"Product received very promptly w/out incident. Fit was perfect and per size chart. The jacket is exactly as described and the construction quality looks excellent. I have been fly fishing a couple of times since receiving and took my Orvis waterproof shell as a precaution but have not had the weather need to use the Tailwaters jacket. I am looking forward to wearing in a stream but also this fall on a rainy day when I am out doing errands."
Review 9 for Tailwaters Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tailwaters Wading Jacket,
September 3, 2013
By: joeMaMaNC
from Charlotte, NC
"purchase this item when it went on sale for 50% off. I've had my eye on this for quite a while and the deal was enough to get me to pull the trigger. Great jacket and well thought out for fishermen.....can wait to try it!"
Review 10 for Tailwaters Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best wading jacket,
August 29, 2013
By: YakFisher71
from NJ
"Been wanting to buy this jacket a while now. Picked it up on sale which makes it even better. This is another high quality product by Orvis. Nice fit with room for layering and the hood can be adjusted to fit over a baseball cap which is nice."
Review 11 for Tailwaters Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very good jacket,
August 19, 2013
By: FelipeR
from Coyhaique, Chile
"Very good jacket, excentes endings, appropriate color to conceal the silhouette with Patagonian sky, wide range of sleeves to cast.
I recommend it.
"
Review 12 for Tailwaters Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
a good wading jacket,
August 14, 2013
By: guillote
from argentina
"It's the first time I buy a product orvis, I am impressed by the quality of the materials. fit snugly to the body allowing cast comfortably.
I do not like the division of the front pockets, and I would like to be a little easier access
"
Review 13 for Tailwaters Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality Product,
August 3, 2013
By: Lank1982
from Pennsylvania
"It is an Orvis so of course it is an excellent product. Could use a little more storage. The issue is the retail price. I purchased mine on sale for a large savings so I was satisified with the price. I would not purchase at full price - wait for the sale and purchase. You will be pleased."
Review 14 for Tailwaters Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Trout Fishing,
July 26, 2013
By: cshbos
from MA
"I purchased this coat for a fishing trip to upper New Hampshire. The fit is great and I like the design of the cuffs. Comfortable and no water running up your arm when you reach in the water to grab the fish. The hood is also great and you can adjust not only the draw around your face but also the draw at approximately eye height. Great for keeping the hood from falling in your face. The pockets are a little deep for small fly boxes and I wish that the flap opened just a little bit more for easier access. The magnets are great as you do not need to fumble around with snaps or zippers. Great price too when you catch it on sale."
Review 15 for Tailwaters Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Jacket,
March 20, 2013
By: ctcnc
from NC
"Very well made like other Orvis products. I love the cuffs!"
Review 16 for Tailwaters Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
good jacket,
March 18, 2013
By: sgtbowhunter
from MI
"I tried my new jacket out today. Temp was 35 down to 25 degrees. With a light base layer and 2 fleece jackets, I was toasty. The jacket seems sized to accommodate some layers underneath and the jacket kept the wet snow off of me. Freedom of movement is good and I really like the magnetic closures on the two outer pockets. Haven't tried the watertight cuffs out yet but they were comfortable and didn't let the wind in. I'm very happy with this jacket and would buy it again."
Review 17 for Tailwaters Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Workhorse,
March 14, 2013
By: royzboy
from Los Angeles, CA
"This jacket is perfect for the task. The fit is comfortable and allows all the movement necessary. Fishing in the rain is no problem with the jacket's properties and the sleeves keep water out. Plenty of pockets. This things works!"
Review 18 for Tailwaters Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Okay for light use,
March 9, 2013
By: DonnyMac
from Florida
"Okay for light use but not for the conditions encountered fly fishing in Alaska.
Jacket collar and hood are cumbersome to work with.
I returned the jacket."
Review 19 for Tailwaters Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best in the West,
November 30, 2012
By: Duckwright
from Seadrift, Texas
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I have been a guide for over 15 years and I can say, without a doubt, that the Tailwaters Wading Jacket is by far the best
wading/rain jacket on the market!
"
Review 20 for Tailwaters Wading Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
After 20 days of use...,
August 1, 2012
By: DelawareTroutStalker
from New York, NY
"I have used the Tailwater jacket app 15-20 fishing days this year and thought I might share my impressions. Overall the fit and comfort is great. The hood, zipper & dry cuffs are especially well considered and the fabric construction is robust and has held up well.
The front pockets are generous in size but can be frustrating at times as the internal mesh divider can make it harder to quickly reach and find what you are looking for. The magnetic closure on the pockets also made all my scissors, forceps, nippers etc. magnetic (I do not store these tools in the pockets but on a chest pack). Not a huge problem but it can be frustrating when you try to trim a knot and the fly get magnetized to the scissor/nipper. The other thing I have noticed is the longevity of the DWR coating. I have already needed to re-apply the coating and I have not put this jacket through any extreme conditions, just plain drizzly North-East day's on my local river. The jacket won't leak but when the outer fabric holds on to water the breathability is poor and you quickly get condensation on the inside. However this issue can be fixed quite easily by washing the jacket and by re-applying the DWR coating according to Orvis fabric maintenance instructions.
Ideally I would have liked it to remain water repelling for longer but overall I'm happy with my purchase.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.