Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

SonicSeam® Pack and Travel Jacket

Packs down to half the size of conventional rain jackets and weighs up to 30% less, big time protection against the wind and rain. If you're going on a trip where you need to keep gear and weight to a minimum, this is your jacket. Super lightweight and packable, it goes into a stuff sack and fits easily into a backpack. Using our patented SonicSeam technology eliminates leaking points stitches can cause. Waterproof handwarming pockets and left chest storage pocket for fly boxes. Waterproof zippers and roll-and-store full-coverage hood. Elastic draw cord at the waist. Adjustable, elastic cuffs for a comfortable fit. In misty sage. 100% nylon face with polyurethane laminate. Washable. Imported.Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52), XXXL(54-56).
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
18 of 20(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for SonicSeam® Pack and Travel Jacket
Review 1 for SonicSeam® Pack and Travel Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Waterproof, light, unobtrusive,
September 21, 2012
By: cameroia
from Aberdeen, Scotland
"Even on the sunniest day in Scotland, you'd be mad to leave the house without some rain protection... so I need something light, packable, reliable.
So far, the SonicSeam jacket is perfect - it's kept me dry in a couple of long full days interspersed with very heavy downpours. Had three 6-8 hour float-tubing sessions - again, it's kept out the rain/water - that's good, because when tubing your arms are often pressed against the sides of the tube, or are bent, and than can cause water to get pushed through - hasn't happened with this jacket yet.
Also worn the jacket when out for casting practice sessions - it hasn't impeded me or even been noticeable - ideal.
It's not a warm jacket - it's not intended to be - but with suitable fleece or long-sleeve layers underneath, I'm happy. Overall, 5* so far."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for SonicSeam® Pack and Travel Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First-class jacket,
June 7, 2012
By: fionn
from Scotland
"For the price, this is an excellent and very well-made product. It seems to be really waterproof and yet does not create the clammy feeling that often accompanies such clothing. It is also lighter than one would normally expect for good rainwear. As it is longer that the average wading jacket, it is suitable for boat and bank, where waders won't be worn, whilst also looking smart for everday wear. Many jackets, including those that claim to be waterproof, suffer from water entering via the pockets. You won't encounter that problem with this jacket. I also really like the way in which the hood can be tucked away when not needed. Another high quality Orvis item!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for SonicSeam® Pack and Travel Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
storage bag,
October 25, 2014
By: 2620Iris
from Northern Iowa
"the storage bag included with my new jacket is a little confusing and I see no diagrams, can you tell me where I can find an explanation on how to use it? Thanks"
Review 4 for SonicSeam® Pack and Travel Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Buy,
October 7, 2014
By: 2SaltyDog
from Ogden, UT
"Used the jacket on drift boat fishing. In two days of wind and rain I stayed perfectly dry and warm. Did everything it is advertised to do!"
Review 5 for SonicSeam® Pack and Travel Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
New jacket,
September 1, 2014
By: Bavaria
from MS
"My wife wore the coat everyday on our fishing trip to Alaska and loved it. Perfect for putting over layered clothing"
Review 6 for SonicSeam® Pack and Travel Jacket
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
1 Major Omission,
August 2, 2014
By: Roudy
from Kaysville, UT
"I just purchased this jacket and received it. I love everything about this jacket! The fit and feel is superior to other jackets I have compared it to. It is very packable and comfortable.
Unfortunately, there is one major omission on this jacket that will require me to return it. The hood is rather large, and there are only adjustments on the sides which cinch down the hood around the face, but there is no crown adjustment; so in combination with the large size of the hood and the missing crown adjustment, your head moves freely within (and separate from) the hood, causing visibility/mobility problems. With the addition of a crown adjustment this would be the best packable/breathable rain jacket I have come across."
Review 7 for SonicSeam® Pack and Travel Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
dry and storable,
June 4, 2014
By: jonsport63
from Memphis,TN
"This packs away nicely, is very convenient, and keeps you dry. It works well with waders. I am glad I got this wading jacket since that is what it's designed for."
Review 8 for SonicSeam® Pack and Travel Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Rain Jacket,
April 29, 2014
By: Walio352
from Barkhamstead, CT
"I bought this jacket a few days before a weekend fly fishing trip to the Farmington River in CT. Im so glad i did. It rained on and off the whole weekend. Standing in the river with my waders on fishing, this jacket not only kept me completely dry, but also did a great job of blocking the wind too. I really like the velcro around the wrists, and of course the over sized hood.
Excellent purchase.
"
Review 9 for SonicSeam® Pack and Travel Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Excellent Jacket,
August 15, 2013
By: Bishthefish1
from North Yorkshire
"The jacket is very comftable, good sized pockets, looks smart on, nice and lightweight and packs down small into its own (robust) carry bag. Only slight issue is the hood is a bit on the large size form me. Other than that I can fully recommend it."
Review 10 for SonicSeam® Pack and Travel Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent jacket,
February 25, 2013
By: olylaw
from Washington State
"I bought this jacket for fishing but find I wear it all the time. In the NW we have plenty of rain. This jacket not only keeps me dry but it is warmer than you would expect of a coat this light and packable. I did have to return the first one after a couple of months because the interior seams were coming apart. Orvis replaced with no problems and I am back in business. The zippered pockets are well positioned, secure and large enough to hold what you need. The hood rolls up and hides in the collar. Great coat."
Review 11 for SonicSeam® Pack and Travel Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good purchase,
January 15, 2013
By: Hurckles
from Pennsylvania
"What a great shell layer! I picked one up at the local fly shop. The sonic seam is really cool, all the stitching is reinforced on the underside by extra layers of material. I hike a lot as well and appreciate the shapr and structure of the jacket, as well as the hardware. my only gripe is the length, it does not come down past most of my fleeces. But it is a fishing jacket and most of those are deisgned higher and to be the outermost layer."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for SonicSeam® Pack and Travel Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent jacket,
October 3, 2012
By: Matt1540
from Frisco, TX
"Bought this jacket right before heading to CO for a trip. It fit perfectly in my day pack and worked even better when caught in a little afternoon showers & snow.
Have since worn it out in TX during recent rain events. This jacket is lightweight comfortable and packs easily. All around a great purchase.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for SonicSeam® Pack and Travel Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Kept me dry!,
October 19, 2011
By: Catchmorefish
from Princeton, NJ
"I just tried out this jacket this morning in a soaking rain for two hours. It kept me dry, but not warm - wear long sleeves underneath if the temperature is below 60 degrees. The cuffs have a nice velcro closure,
which must be cinched tight,or water will run down your wrists into your sleeves when you cast. There are three big pockets, and indeed, the zippers kept out the wet and kept in the dry.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for SonicSeam® Pack and Travel Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Kept You Dry,
October 12, 2011
By: Declan
"Wore as outer layer during recent fishing trip to CO. Broke the wind and kept me dry while fishing through an eight inch snow storm."
Review 15 for SonicSeam® Pack and Travel Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent choice for light rain/wading jacket,
September 21, 2011
By: AMoney77
"The jacket runs a little big, but once i found my size it became my go-to jacket for hiking and fishing in the rain. The jacket is breathable but is useful in the spring through the fall. I was using this jacket in late october fishing the landlocked salmon on grand lake stream in central maine. The jacket compacts to easily fit in your camping pack but it is more substantial than most other compacting parkas or anoraks."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for SonicSeam® Pack and Travel Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for the back pack,
August 31, 2011
By: jaly
"I wanted a light weight rain jacket to bring on a long hill walking trip to a remote Scottish hill loch and also one I can use fishing on warm summer days instead of my heavy wading jacket. I decided on the Orvis jacket judging from the specs. online
I used the jacket when walking with a 40lbs rucksack and during a hole days fishing in heavy rain. It didn't let me down very breathable during the walk and very dry in the rain and packed down effectively in the compression bag included.
Great product...
"
Review 17 for SonicSeam® Pack and Travel Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Impressive,
June 27, 2011
By: FeatherFly
from Northern California
"I purchased this jacket as a companion to the SonicSeam Waders. The seamless technology is really impressive. It stands up to tough rain and wind or submersion without leaking at all. Add to that its warmth and light weight and you have a near perfect wading jacket. I really appreciate, in both the waders and this jacket, how compact and light they are for traveling or hiking back to water. I highly recommend."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for SonicSeam® Pack and Travel Jacket
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 2 out of 3