Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

"No Knots" Super Strong Nylon Leader System

The No Knots™ fishing leader line system allows you to take full advantage of the turnover power and supple characteristics of Bimini tippets and switch tippet sizes without having to spend valuable stream time tying tippet-to-leader knots. Everything you need, including two knotless leaders with perfection loops on both ends, five perfection-looped Bimini tippets on a spool, and simple instructions. Leaders are 6' in length, taper down to either 0X or 2X (depending on the tippet size), and feature a loop connection to both the fly line and the tippet sections. The Bimini tippets are 5' in length, come in sizes 3X-7X, and connect to the end of the leader via a loop-to-loop connection. Fishing leader line in olive. Made in USA. Sizes: 3X, 4X, 5X, 6X, 7X.
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
19 of 21(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for "No Knots" Super Strong Nylon Leader System
Review 1 for "No Knots" Super Strong Nylon Leader System
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect for the occasional angler,
August 4, 2014
By: RB14
from Ottawa, Canada
"As I only get to fly fish a few times per year, I have trouble remembering how to tie various important knots. The "No Knots" system has made it easy to quickly start were I left off the previous year. This is the second time that I've purchased the leader and tippet system and I will continue to do so until I retire (in a couple of years) and do a lot more fishing. Truth be known, I will likely continue using the "no knot" system. The system is easy and quick to use and extremely effective"
Review 2 for "No Knots" Super Strong Nylon Leader System
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy and fast,
July 29, 2014
By: zonker1984
from St. Paul, MN
"This leader system is incredibly easy to get on and it is virtually invisible in the water. It has enough sink to let your nymphs hit bottom, but not too much to keep a dry fly from staying at the surface."
Review 3 for "No Knots" Super Strong Nylon Leader System
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knot Bad!,
February 24, 2014
By: Donfly
from Fort Worth, TX
"The "No Knots" Leader System is brilliant! The last thing I want to do while fishing is fumble around with knot-tying in the dark, cold, or rain. Let's face it. We can't catch fish unless the fly is in the water, right? We don't want our flies getting bored!"
Review 4 for "No Knots" Super Strong Nylon Leader System
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great system,
May 28, 2013
By: Billyco
"Very easy to use. Attach leader, strip off a tippet, straighten and you're ready. All loop to loop. The best is it turns over real smooth even with a popper for smallmouth."
Review 5 for "No Knots" Super Strong Nylon Leader System
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A winner,
March 25, 2013
By: JoJo1969
"Solid product which hasn't let me down - I wouldn't expect anything less from Orvis
Great service and help"
Review 6 for "No Knots" Super Strong Nylon Leader System
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
NO KNOTS PERFECTION,
June 27, 2012
By: 4thinfantrygrunt
from LOWELL, MI
"SO EASY TO USE, MAKES CHANGING LEADERS A BREEZE. SUPER SMOOTH AND STRONG, BEST IDEA EVER."
Review 7 for "No Knots" Super Strong Nylon Leader System
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great system.,
February 2, 2012
By: SoquelSlim
from Soquel, CA
"Looped leaders and Bimini tippets make a fantastic system. They cast well and lay out like they should."
Review 8 for "No Knots" Super Strong Nylon Leader System
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
5 Wt Super Strong 9 ft.,
February 2, 2012
By: Dave313
from Atlanta, GA
"I've used the Orvis Super Strong Leaders for years, not exclusively as they tend to be a bit expensive, but given how often I frequent my Orvis store they are just easy to grab. The last several leaders I have purchased have had line breaking issues with my new Hydros 5 wt rod. Literally the flies have been breaking off during casting, and noticeable ruff uneven sections have been forming in the line after only a few casts. I've been watching and tailing loops seem no more common than usual and I am not creating knots. Not sure if these line problems are do to the added power of my new rod or if I somehow got a batch that was defective but I'd recommend staying away. Paying $8 for a leader is bad enough, when you start burning flies at $2 a pop and losing fish this becomes not worth the trouble."
Review 9 for "No Knots" Super Strong Nylon Leader System
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wish there were more per pack!,
December 17, 2011
By: mzkatt
from Seattle, WA
"Very strong, quality material and I was up and running in a matter of minutes. The knots at each end are very strong."
Review 10 for "No Knots" Super Strong Nylon Leader System
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Change tippets in seconds!,
September 10, 2011
By: JMGross
from Ohio
"Using Orvis's knotless leader/tippet system saves me soooo much time out on the water, leaving me lots more time to fish! I've heard some shops say thaat this connection between the leader and the tippet causes a loss of energy through the line during the cast, but I just have not seen this in my experience. I'll use this system for as long as they keep making it!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for "No Knots" Super Strong Nylon Leader System
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Wrong size,
July 8, 2011
By: Parahandy
from Scotland
"Too light 7x for what I wanted due to my confusion with fly and line weights"
Review 12 for "No Knots" Super Strong Nylon Leader System
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
July 6, 2011
By: Patj
"Great advancement! A no brainer to use and you don't have to stand in mid-stream and attempt to retie your leader while trying to both beat the current and not drop your rod."
Review 13 for "No Knots" Super Strong Nylon Leader System
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent,
June 29, 2011
By: bigman
from Camp Springs, Md.
"I use this leader tippet combo on the Potomac river for Bass and Bluegills and it's very stong, just match it up to your flie size and your set."
Review 14 for "No Knots" Super Strong Nylon Leader System
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
good buy,
June 10, 2011
By: oldduffer
from chalk steams of Hampshire
"Good tapered leader combined with proven bimini tippet, turns over well, doesn't sit high in the water, however, I found I had to slow down my pickup otherwise it makes a noise when lifting off."
Review 15 for "No Knots" Super Strong Nylon Leader System
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knotless Leader System,
June 5, 2011
By: MiFlyGuy
"I used this for the first time yesterday and was quite impressed. I didn't spend a lot of time tying knots and adding tippets to the leader. When casting or when the line is in the water you can't see where the connection from tippet to leader is. If your concerned with the bimini twist that is at the top of the tippet don't be you can hardly see it."
Ratings-Only Reviews for "No Knots" Super Strong Nylon Leader System
Based on the average of (6) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 6 out of 6