Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Braided Nylon Leader with Bimini Tippets

Ideal for delicate dry-fly presentations. Superior turnover power allows for long tippet extensions. Original braided leaders are four times as supple as solid monofilament. Floating braided leaders are impregnated with a water-repellent formula that eliminates spray over wary fish. One leader and two 4' Bimini tippets per pack. Leaders come in floating or original design, in 7.5' and 9' lengths. Choose desired leader type, then length, and finally match it up with the rod weight of your choice. Bimini tippet spools sold separately, and contain four 5' tippets. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.895 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
19 of 19(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Braided Nylon Leader with Bimini Tippets
Review 1 for Braided Nylon Leader with Bimini Tippets
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great leaders,
August 9, 2013
By: wildlifepro
from Colorado
"I love because these leaders because they so simplify attaching tippet to leader, turnover well, and are incredible shock absorbers."
Review 2 for Braided Nylon Leader with Bimini Tippets
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
July 31, 2013
By: Mambo5
"Like the subtle nature of the leader.It allows for delicate presentation, yet strong. Tippets can be made in advance for quick replacement."
Review 3 for Braided Nylon Leader with Bimini Tippets
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Leaders 101,
July 23, 2013
By: Hardly
from Roanoke, VA
"Used with a 2 wt rod for the most delicate of presentations to skittish clear water brooks and bows...the braided (furled) leader allows for a feathery landing"
Review 4 for Braided Nylon Leader with Bimini Tippets
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
braider adiction,
July 22, 2013
By: Anonymous
from Argentina
"I love fish with braiders and in my country is very difficult get ones. These are wonderful."
Review 5 for Braided Nylon Leader with Bimini Tippets
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Solid Performance,
July 17, 2013
By: Swingflies
from Downingtown, PA
"Have used these for years. They perform very well and limit your needs to tippet only .... with or without a bimini twist."
Review 6 for Braided Nylon Leader with Bimini Tippets
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Rolls right out,
July 16, 2013
By: 123bar
from Polonia, WI
"I've been practicing and they do a fine job of rolling out.
I gave it four stars because there hasn't been a fish on one as yet.
I expect it will do its job well.
If it doesn't I'll let you know.
"
Review 7 for Braided Nylon Leader with Bimini Tippets
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent!,
July 15, 2013
By: BlooMagoo
from Westwood, MA
"These braided leaders lay out beautifully and last forever. Better than a mono leader because they have little to no memory and don't need to be stretched or straightened. The loop attachments at both ends make it a snap to change leader to fly line or leader to tippet. The leader is the star here, the bimini tippets are a bonus."
Review 8 for Braided Nylon Leader with Bimini Tippets
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Braided Leader,
July 12, 2013
By: DryFlyFisherman
from North Bend, WA
"I purchased these braided leaders for my 3wt and 5wt rods. For tossing dries nothing presents the fly better than a braided leader. My success catching fish on the surface has been noticeably improved! And, Orvis includes two Bimini tippets in each pack. If you want better dry fly presentations then attach a braided leader to get results."
Review 9 for Braided Nylon Leader with Bimini Tippets
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Not ready yet,
July 7, 2013
By: 123bar
from Polonia, WI
"I'm new into fly fishing although I've had a rod and reel for 30 years. work and all those little things have gotten in the way. now at 77 I'm learning how and why to fly fish. I haven't used the leaders as yet but will shortly I hope. I've read braided leaders are the best to use. You are the only source of them I've found to date.
I found some nymphs purchased from you many years ago but they were all dried out and fell apart, they came in a nice wallet. I'l get some more soon.
Keep up the good work, we need you.
Bruce
"
Review 10 for Braided Nylon Leader with Bimini Tippets
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great,easy set up,
July 1, 2013
By: Dingo77
"Nylon leader has been the best I've ever used and loved the ease of connecting the tippets, especially in low light conditions"
Review 11 for Braided Nylon Leader with Bimini Tippets
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Top level Product,
June 7, 2013
By: Herringchoker
from New Brunswick, Canada
"Discovered the braided leader system about 20 years ago and have been a huge fan ever since.....turns over beautifully and changing tippets is a snap.......less down time, more fishing time. You gotta love it!"
Review 12 for Braided Nylon Leader with Bimini Tippets
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wortk great for Trout!!!,
May 28, 2013
By: BLT1
from Clifford, Pa.
"Just got these and used right away, work great for "stream" trout !!! Dont let "bimini" in the description scare you !!!!"
Review 13 for Braided Nylon Leader with Bimini Tippets
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best leaders ever,
May 22, 2013
By: jfrharley
from Greenville ME
"These leaders are the best, often last the life of the fly line .Much better than furled leaders."
Review 14 for Braided Nylon Leader with Bimini Tippets
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great,
May 8, 2013
By: whitebuffalo
from up state ny
"The braided leader and bimini tippets work great for me. they just shoot out so nice !!"
Review 15 for Braided Nylon Leader with Bimini Tippets
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great leader,
May 8, 2013
By: RBaer
from Wilksbarre Pa
"Used this leader for years and lost the wallet they were held in and did without for a long time gave up and ordered more they are that good"
Review 16 for Braided Nylon Leader with Bimini Tippets
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I always have extras,
April 23, 2013
By: Unclepard
"Been using these leaders for over 25 years. I keep extras on hand because when I show them to a fishing buddy, of course they want to borrow one to use. Somehow they never get returned."
Review 17 for Braided Nylon Leader with Bimini Tippets
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
won't coil, stays flat!,
April 8, 2013
By: wynnster
from West Virginia
"It just stays flat like you just took it out of it's package.....Wow!!"
Review 18 for Braided Nylon Leader with Bimini Tippets
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Smooth Casts,
March 16, 2013
By: skeeb
from Minneapolis, MN
"Not all braided leaders are created equal. I go nowhere without an extra one of these in my fly vest."
Ratings-Only Reviews for Braided Nylon Leader with Bimini Tippets
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1