Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Braided Nylon Leader with Bimini Tippets

Ideal fishing leader and tippet for delicate dry-fly presentations. Superior turnover power allows for long tippet extensions. Original braided leaders are four times as supple as solid monofilament. Floating braided leaders are impregnated with a water-repellent formula that eliminates spray over wary fish. One fishing leader and two Bimini tippets per pack.
Average Customer Rating:
4.937 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (63 reviews)
5 stars
59
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
63 of 63(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Braided Nylon Leader with Bimini Tippets
Review 1 for Braided Nylon Leader with Bimini Tippets
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
New way for me!,
May 6, 2015
By: Frankthesurf
from Llanarmon Yn Ial, Near the River Dee, North Wales
"Thought I'd give these a try.
Only used them on a very windy day and they turned over a treat.
"
Review 2 for Braided Nylon Leader with Bimini Tippets
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
bimini tippets,
April 27, 2015
By: ridingrobo
from fishguard
"the only big trout I have caught on dry fly have been on these!Black sedge or midge on 6lbs tippet deadly!"
Review 3 for Braided Nylon Leader with Bimini Tippets
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Braided leader with Bimini tippets,
April 14, 2015
By: Master2
from Tavistock
"Excellent product for great presentation of dry flies"
Review 4 for Braided Nylon Leader with Bimini Tippets
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Braided leader - just the ticket!,
March 25, 2015
By: Graham666
from Surrey
"These braided leaders have been excellent for me and I love the convenience of the bimini tippet"
Review 5 for Braided Nylon Leader with Bimini Tippets
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Previously a 'doubting Thomas',
March 19, 2015
By: seanair
from North west Highlands
"I was recommended this leader by a keen fly-fishing friend who has fished a number of very 'respectable' trout streams in the South. His last Orvis braided leader lasted for eight years and is still going strong, but he has just purchased another 'in case'.
I have bought three, two of them in 5' length for my 7' rod lines, and the 7' one for my nine footer.
Magic ! During tests they turned over nicely and lay out well. I look forward to using them during my next visit to the South as our lochs in the North come into 'condition' a bit later.
Some fishers claim that these leaders are splashy on the retrieve. I don't see why they should be if the line is drawn in quietly - as I believe it should be - below the fish for the next cast."
Review 6 for Braided Nylon Leader with Bimini Tippets
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I reviewed this product, Nov-14,
February 26, 2015
By: HampshireFly
from Hampshire, UK
"I reviewed this product last year, "A major improvement to my fishing. - 11/13/2014. By: HampshireFly from Hampshire, UK" It's still my preferred leader configuration/"
Review 7 for Braided Nylon Leader with Bimini Tippets
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
At last!,
December 9, 2014
By: Priory
from Devon
"Braided leaders seem to be becoming more difficult to find these days. This one is therefore doubly welcome for both availability and quality. Well done Orvis."
Review 8 for Braided Nylon Leader with Bimini Tippets
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very versatile leader,
November 13, 2014
By: Egon
from Denmark
"Simply the most versatile leader........strong and is just there when you need it, especially after long long storage for winter you only need to connect a new Tippett of your choice, being thick or thin.
Turns over the fly elegant and cuts through the wind if it's blowing.
I find it overall the best compared to stretched / tapered leaders - and more versatile and economical as I can replace as many tippets as I want to, no wrinkling!"
Review 9 for Braided Nylon Leader with Bimini Tippets
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A major improvement to my fishing.,
November 13, 2014
By: HampshireFly
from Hampshire, UK
"I was introduced to braided leaders by an Orvis Podcast, so bought one to try out. I fish Helios(1) rods, wt3 & wt5. My casting turnover improved and provided excellent presentation fishing dry flies and small nymphs. Initially I was getting wind knots, which is a problem I do not often experience with nylon tapered leaders, however, with more attention to my casting style this was resolved. So win win all-around. I found 4x bimini with an additional 5x and 6x tippets (12” to 24”) to be a good leader configuration."
Review 10 for Braided Nylon Leader with Bimini Tippets
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Expensive but excellent,
May 15, 2014
By: Michael1
from Germany
"Roll over perfectly for dry flies, last long. I add a tippet ring to prolong the lifetime of the bimini-tippet as well.
When nymphing, I use a longer tippet sometimes. Nice for 4 wt lines.
The best out there.
"
Review 11 for Braided Nylon Leader with Bimini Tippets
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome leaders,
January 3, 2014
By: Rookhawk
from Chicago, IL
"Great product that casts beautifully and allows a proper dry fly presentation. A very good value in my opinion."
Review 12 for Braided Nylon Leader with Bimini Tippets
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Leaders and Tippets,
September 14, 2013
By: FarandFine
from Alexandria, VA
"I have used the Orvis braided leaders and bimini tippets since their introduction, in both 7.5- and 9-foot lengths and in all tippet sizes. Great for dry fly fishing and I only tie a single fly-to-tippet knot. Kudos!"
Review 13 for Braided Nylon Leader with Bimini Tippets
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best braided dry fly leader out there,
June 20, 2013
By: lilrhodes
from Southern Itlay
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Absolutely the best after years of on the water testing. . . always returning to this one! Please continue to make it, especially in the 4X & 3X size."
Review 14 for Braided Nylon Leader with Bimini Tippets
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Softest leader,
June 18, 2013
By: coteph
from Montreal QC
"I have been using these leaders for a number of years now and to me they are the best as they have no memory and always lay out very cleanly. They last a long time and are thus worth the price."
Review 15 for Braided Nylon Leader with Bimini Tippets
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wouldn't use any other leader!,
June 17, 2013
By: Sparkysemerger
from Vancouver, WA
"I have been using the Orvis Braided Nylon Leaders since the early 1980's and swear by them. I find them very effective both for dry fly fishing and nymph fishing. I have no trouble turning the fly over when casting. I would suggest that you try one and you may be hooked, no pun intended."
Review 16 for Braided Nylon Leader with Bimini Tippets
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Floating braided leaders,
June 12, 2013
By: sbuster
from South Carolina
"I have used Orvis Braided Leaders for many years and I think they are excellent. There are a lot of opinions of various brands of leaders and I've used most of them, but always wind up coming back the the Orvis Braided Leaders, especially for bass and brem. Some people think they are to thick and don't work well for trout but I don't agree. Stick with Orvis, you won't go wrong."
Review 17 for Braided Nylon Leader with Bimini Tippets
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My #1 go to dry fly leader,
June 2, 2013
By: lilrhodes
from Southern Itlay
"After testing these leaders along with the other major bran fluorocarbon & nylon leaders out there, I've always come back to this leader. It turns over tippet superbly & is delicate in presentation even to the most wary trout. . . able to connect about 6 ft of tippet with no problem working on crystal clear spring creek waters in Europe/Italy/Slovenia where lots of pressure are placed on fish and all of the trout in Italy are wild extremely wary tout. I like the 3X leader and just loop the tippet to leader with perfection loop. They don't twist like most braided leaders on the market, and the feel is is superb. Trying to buy more of the 3X but they are sold-out. Next time I'm going to stock-up on them."
Review 18 for Braided Nylon Leader with Bimini Tippets
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exceeds Expectations,
May 22, 2013
By: Ghost44
from Palos Heights, IL.
"I am a fan of furled leaders. Other brands have a tendency to sink causing me to try and use flotant to keep the leader from dragging my fly below the surface.
This braided leader floats very well on my 3wt rod.
"
Review 19 for Braided Nylon Leader with Bimini Tippets
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"leader that leads",
May 14, 2013
By: dcnpgs
from Northeast Pa.
"I love the braided leaders. They cast great and make changing the tippet a breeze. I am sorry that you discontinued the 9' for 3 weight line.
I am now using the 7.5'
"
Review 20 for Braided Nylon Leader with Bimini Tippets
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Time Saver,
May 13, 2013
By: Brookies1461
from PA
"Been using for years. Saves having to build a new leader in the middle of a hatch. ( Incase you hooked a very high tree limb.) Plus, no knots to fail."