Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Braided Nylon Leader with Bimini Tippets

These braided nylon leaders with Bimini tippets are ideal for delicate dry-fly presentations. Superior turnover power allows for long tippet extensions. Original braided fly-fishing leaders are four times as supple as solid monofilament. Floating braided leaders are impregnated with a water-repellent formula that eliminates spray over wary fish. One leader and two 4' Bimini tippets per pack. Leaders come in floating or original design, in 7.5' and 9' lengths. Choose desired leader type, then length, and finally match it up with the rod weight of your choice. Bimini tippet spools sold separately, and contain four 5' tippets. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.946 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (56 reviews)
5 stars
53
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
56 of 56(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Braided Nylon Leader with Bimini Tippets
Review 1 for Braided Nylon Leader with Bimini Tippets
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very versatile leader,
November 13, 2014
By: Egon
from Denmark
"Simply the most versatile leader........strong and is just there when you need it, especially after long long storage for winter you only need to connect a new Tippett of your choice, being thick or thin.
Turns over the fly elegant and cuts through the wind if it's blowing.
I find it overall the best compared to stretched / tapered leaders - and more versatile and economical as I can replace as many tippets as I want to, no wrinkling!"
Review 2 for Braided Nylon Leader with Bimini Tippets
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A major improvement to my fishing.,
November 13, 2014
By: HampshireFly
from Hampshire, UK
"I was introduced to braided leaders by an Orvis Podcast, so bought one to try out. I fish Helios(1) rods, wt3 & wt5. My casting turnover improved and provided excellent presentation fishing dry flies and small nymphs. Initially I was getting wind knots, which is a problem I do not often experience with nylon tapered leaders, however, with more attention to my casting style this was resolved. So win win all-around. I found 4x bimini with an additional 5x and 6x tippets (12” to 24”) to be a good leader configuration."
Review 3 for Braided Nylon Leader with Bimini Tippets
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Expensive but excellent,
May 15, 2014
By: Michael1
from Germany
"Roll over perfectly for dry flies, last long. I add a tippet ring to prolong the lifetime of the bimini-tippet as well.
When nymphing, I use a longer tippet sometimes. Nice for 4 wt lines.
The best out there.
"
Review 4 for Braided Nylon Leader with Bimini Tippets
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome leaders,
January 3, 2014
By: Rookhawk
from Chicago, IL
"Great product that casts beautifully and allows a proper dry fly presentation. A very good value in my opinion."
Review 5 for Braided Nylon Leader with Bimini Tippets
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Leaders and Tippets,
September 14, 2013
By: FarandFine
from Alexandria, VA
"I have used the Orvis braided leaders and bimini tippets since their introduction, in both 7.5- and 9-foot lengths and in all tippet sizes. Great for dry fly fishing and I only tie a single fly-to-tippet knot. Kudos!"
Review 6 for Braided Nylon Leader with Bimini Tippets
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best braided dry fly leader out there,
June 20, 2013
By: lilrhodes
from Southern Itlay
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Absolutely the best after years of on the water testing. . . always returning to this one! Please continue to make it, especially in the 4X & 3X size."
Review 7 for Braided Nylon Leader with Bimini Tippets
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Softest leader,
June 18, 2013
By: coteph
from Montreal QC
"I have been using these leaders for a number of years now and to me they are the best as they have no memory and always lay out very cleanly. They last a long time and are thus worth the price."
Review 8 for Braided Nylon Leader with Bimini Tippets
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wouldn't use any other leader!,
June 17, 2013
By: Sparkysemerger
from Vancouver, WA
"I have been using the Orvis Braided Nylon Leaders since the early 1980's and swear by them. I find them very effective both for dry fly fishing and nymph fishing. I have no trouble turning the fly over when casting. I would suggest that you try one and you may be hooked, no pun intended."
Review 9 for Braided Nylon Leader with Bimini Tippets
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Floating braided leaders,
June 12, 2013
By: sbuster
from South Carolina
"I have used Orvis Braided Leaders for many years and I think they are excellent. There are a lot of opinions of various brands of leaders and I've used most of them, but always wind up coming back the the Orvis Braided Leaders, especially for bass and brem. Some people think they are to thick and don't work well for trout but I don't agree. Stick with Orvis, you won't go wrong."
Review 10 for Braided Nylon Leader with Bimini Tippets
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My #1 go to dry fly leader,
June 2, 2013
By: lilrhodes
from Southern Itlay
"After testing these leaders along with the other major bran fluorocarbon & nylon leaders out there, I've always come back to this leader. It turns over tippet superbly & is delicate in presentation even to the most wary trout. . . able to connect about 6 ft of tippet with no problem working on crystal clear spring creek waters in Europe/Italy/Slovenia where lots of pressure are placed on fish and all of the trout in Italy are wild extremely wary tout. I like the 3X leader and just loop the tippet to leader with perfection loop. They don't twist like most braided leaders on the market, and the feel is is superb. Trying to buy more of the 3X but they are sold-out. Next time I'm going to stock-up on them."
Review 11 for Braided Nylon Leader with Bimini Tippets
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exceeds Expectations,
May 22, 2013
By: Ghost44
from Palos Heights, IL.
"I am a fan of furled leaders. Other brands have a tendency to sink causing me to try and use flotant to keep the leader from dragging my fly below the surface.
This braided leader floats very well on my 3wt rod.
"
Review 12 for Braided Nylon Leader with Bimini Tippets
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"leader that leads",
May 14, 2013
By: dcnpgs
from Northeast Pa.
"I love the braided leaders. They cast great and make changing the tippet a breeze. I am sorry that you discontinued the 9' for 3 weight line.
I am now using the 7.5'
"
Review 13 for Braided Nylon Leader with Bimini Tippets
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Time Saver,
May 13, 2013
By: Brookies1461
from PA
"Been using for years. Saves having to build a new leader in the middle of a hatch. ( Incase you hooked a very high tree limb.) Plus, no knots to fail."
Review 14 for Braided Nylon Leader with Bimini Tippets
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Presentation,
April 2, 2013
By: Bishthefish1
from North Yorkshire
"At my local store at the back end of last season, I was struggling to decide which tapered leader to get (super strong or fluorcarbon?), when the store manager came over to provide advice. After discussing the type of fishing I was doing, he recomended the braided leader to me. What he said made sense, the supple material gives a more natural presentation and the taper provides a good turn over. The trouble was, I only had to wait 5 months to try it out!
I did get out for a few hours this weekend and I must admit that they do perform brilliantly - nice turnover, accurate and delicate presentation. It was a shame the trout never played ball!"
Review 15 for Braided Nylon Leader with Bimini Tippets
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Braided Nylon Leader,
March 18, 2013
By: FireFly2
"Have been using furled leaders for about 5 years because I did not care for the old braided leader or the factory nylon leaders. Saw these new impragnated nylon leaders and gave them a try. They work great. Better than the furled leaders. Will put these new leaders on all my lines."
Review 16 for Braided Nylon Leader with Bimini Tippets
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tremendous for Dry Flies,
February 11, 2013
By: tshall
from Missouri
"I can only give you one day's worth of review here, but if this product continues to perform as it did on that day, then it will have revolutionized the way I fish with dry flies. I used the 5X braided leader with the enclosed Bimini tippet with a DT5 line on a 7.5-foot medium action bamboo fly rod. I fished small dries to medium beetles, with the best turnover and presentation I have ever achieved. It is doubtful that my casting had improved so much in one day, so I attribute the cause to this system. This is the way to fish, at least for me."
Review 17 for Braided Nylon Leader with Bimini Tippets
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
7.5' vs 9',
January 11, 2013
By: troutguy7
from Montreal CA
"I have used the braided leader in past and liked it so recently I’ve ordered 2 new 7.5’leaders one original the other floating. I was expecting the braided part to be 7.5’ as I use a tippet of 2-3’ that would be perfect for the fly rods I use (8-9’). Got the shipment today and found out the braided leader is 4’long with the long tippet total is 7.5’ I am not unhappy, guess it is my fault, next time I order the 9’ leader."
Review 18 for Braided Nylon Leader with Bimini Tippets
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
absolute best leader,
December 29, 2012
By: GermanWirehairPointer
from Central PA
"Have used these braided leaders the past 15 years on all my trout rods. Excellent turnover. Very durable. Worth every penny!"
Review 19 for Braided Nylon Leader with Bimini Tippets
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Leaders Live Up to Hype,
October 25, 2012
By: dragfreedrift
from Arkansas
"I began flyfishing about 15 years ago and always used standard tapered leaders. Following the initial use of a tapered leader, I would have to straighten coils out of the leader prior to use and after 3 or 4 outings replace the leader due to knots, nicks, and shortening from changing tippets. A friend put me on to the Orvis braided leader and I wish that I had tried them 15 years ago. I like the way they cast dries and many other varieties of flies. The braidede leder does not have a coil memory and is very light yet durable. I highly recommend the Orvis braided leader. Compared to replacing tapered leaders they are a bargain."
Review 20 for Braided Nylon Leader with Bimini Tippets
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Its the future,
October 5, 2012
By: RIKEB
from Hull Yorkshire. England
"Was advised to purchase these leaders by the guy in the Orvis shop, I thought at first he was just up selling, but credit were its due he gave me one of his own out of his tackle bag, he said if it did not improve my presentation just bring it back. the following week i popped in the store and gave him his original back and asked for 2 off the shelf. He said I would only need one as they last for ages. These are the best leaders on the market and i use 1 meter fluorocarbon tippets for prefect presentation. I can not see me going back to mono leaders again."