Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Mirage Trout Leaders

Some fluorocarbon leaders are blended with nylon, lessening the benefits of abrasion resistance and low visibility. Pure fluorocarbon Mirage™ has the highest abrasion resistance of any leader or tippet. And its refractive index is so close to that of water that Mirage is virtually invisible. With a specific gravity of 1.76, it breaks surface tension quickly and sinks quicker than nylon, perfect for nymphing. Fluorocarbon materials retain their knot and tensile strength in water. Preferred for nymphing, especially in gin-clear waters or where fish are educated. Great for large streamers too. Outstanding turnover power, the result of patented extrusion taper technology—an Orvis exclusive. Fly fishing leader preferred in spring creeks, stillwater situations, for use with large streamers, or when fishing with nymphs in clear water where trout are fished over heavily. 2-pack.
Average Customer Rating:
4.745 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (47 reviews)
5 stars
37
4 stars
9
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
47 of 47(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Mirage Trout Leaders
Review 1 for Mirage Trout Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great leaders,
January 15, 2014
By: Beargonefishing
from Washington DC
"Use these any time I fish a sub surface fly or if fish are particularly picky. Invisible in water and super strong. I always carry these and the tippet."
Review 2 for Mirage Trout Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Depenable Leaders,
January 13, 2014
By: RRJacobo
from Pinson, Alabama
"sometimes people balk at buying
better quality items. Lose a big Rainbow. I have tried others but not any more. Mirage Leaders are all that I will ever use.
RJ"
Review 3 for Mirage Trout Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent leaders,
September 9, 2013
By: Hefty1947
from Hendersonville, NC
"You pay a little more for mirage but the quality is worth it... flurocarbon holds up better."
Review 4 for Mirage Trout Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mirage Trout Leader,
July 23, 2013
By: Swearengen
from Connecticut
"I don't buy anything but the Mirage Leaders. When something works as well as this, it would be nothing less than foolish to add an inconsistent variable to my fly-fishing. They are too expensive, they are rarely on sale, but they are tried and true. I refuse to waste my time and lose a fine catch due to using something inferior."
Review 5 for Mirage Trout Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fish can not see this mirage,
December 28, 2012
By: ZachB
from Louisville, Kentucky
"This stuff is insane. Has great tensile strength yet very supple. Also can go up a size from normal since it is so clear under water. It's great on them light weight fly rods."
Review 6 for Mirage Trout Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fleurocarbon v. Nylon,
September 25, 2012
By: DMOP
from Kettering
"These leaders turn over beautifully on my 1 weight superfine touch and a hydros 1 line. However, having only used fleurocarbon for tippet before I didn't realise it sinks and mucilin does not keep it afloat!
So great for nymph and wets but not for dries - my personal choice!
So good product as usual - my fault in choosing the wrong product!
"
Review 7 for Mirage Trout Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Only leader I'll ever use for trout!,
September 16, 2012
By: MattL
from Winooski, VT
"After reading online a few years back about the best fluoro leader and tippet, I was directed towards Mirage. Thought I'd give it a try and bought a few leaders and a few spools of tippet. The leaders are fantastic, and along with being very strong for it's diameter, it has the stretch needed for when a huge landlocked or steelhead in VT explodes after a hookset. To be honest, I think the lb test on the leaders are MUCH higher than what it says on the packet. The 4X feels stronger than any 6 lb line I've ever used. Overall a perfect leader."
Review 8 for Mirage Trout Leaders
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Best leader for streamer fishing,
August 2, 2012
By: Paolino
from Mantova - ITA
"An excellent leader; butt, taper and tip well designed as lengths and diameters. Camouflage suitable for salt and freshwater streamer fishing. To be improved the loop end of the butt (it would be better to use a "perfect loop" knot). Excellent resistance to breakage and abrasion. Very good quality vs price ratio."
Review 9 for Mirage Trout Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
hands down the best,
July 9, 2012
By: CARPSPIT
from COLORADO
"I have used all sorts of leaders and tippet trying to find what suits me best for different fishing and water conditions, I have stuck with orvis superstrong leaders and tippet for years due ta strength and knowing a fluorocarbon line would be the best just havent found one that holds up to big trout or bulldozing carp till now just used mirage leaders for the first time and now just like the fish I caught im hooked and wont let go! THANK YOU ORVIS!!!"
Review 10 for Mirage Trout Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great,
May 21, 2012
By: Pipershuman
from snowmass, co
"have caught a lot of fish with this on water that sees a lot of pressure."
Review 11 for Mirage Trout Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hot Creek Ranch leaders,
April 18, 2012
By: flyfishingbear
from Bakersfield,Ca
"I fish Hot Creek Ranch for a week every year, it is a private, dry fly only ranch. I use tiny flies in the 18-22 range and need the strong, invisible long leaders like the Mirage series."
Review 12 for Mirage Trout Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great performance,
April 5, 2012
By: Shunderwood
from Estes Park CO
"Wonderful quality and invisible. What a wonderful trout leader."
Review 13 for Mirage Trout Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome Leader,
March 14, 2012
By: NNCC
from San Jose, CA
"This is the only leader I use for nymphing. Fluorocarbon is the clearest material in water and it sinks better than nylon monofilament. It's also a lot more abrasion-resistant and can be used multiple times. I have some of this leader that I've used for multiple weekends and is still as strong as it was out of the pack -- can't say that about my monofilament. It's also the best value for fluorocarbon out there: $15 for ONE Rio fluorocarbon leader vs. $19.95 for TWO Orvis leaders? And they are just as good? Choice is easy for me..."
Review 14 for Mirage Trout Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product,
February 25, 2012
By: fish4food
"best leader I have ever tried. if you fish high traffic waters like I do then this is the leader for you. I caught more fish on my last trip than the last 3 combined."
Review 15 for Mirage Trout Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Leader,
February 19, 2012
By: ScottyG
from Springfield, MA
"Great product. I use it as a basis for several size presentations. I have caught nice bows on everything from a small nymph to a streamer. One of the best I've used for midges as well."
Review 16 for Mirage Trout Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
invisible,
February 17, 2012
By: CaliSam
"This leader is so great for clear water. I also feel like when fishing my normal places, I can fish a heavier leader without the fish being any wiser.
Don't forget to pack your trash"
Review 17 for Mirage Trout Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Improve your nymphing,
February 15, 2012
By: AJtrout
from Central PA
"I recently switched from my own hand tied nymphing leaders (momo) to these Mirage flourocarbon leaders. I'd have to say that the difference in sink rates is very obvious and that I'm getting my nymphs into the feeding zone for a longer period of time, particularly in deeper water. The only improvement I can think of would be to somehow dye the first 2 feet of the butt section a flourescent or highly visible color to help with strike detection."
Review 18 for Mirage Trout Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
NIce leaders,
February 14, 2012
By: ISHI
from Berkley, Mi
"The Mirage Leaders are a very high quality fluorocarbon leader. They are not cheap so be sure to pick up some tippet material to make them last a bit longer."
Review 19 for Mirage Trout Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this leader,
February 11, 2012
By: ESPerry
from Houston, TX
"Spent some time last weekend casing big flies off a submerged seawall for Reds along Sabine Pass. The bottom was rocky with lots of shells, and this leader held up like a champ. Plenty of turnover power for big flies and spoons, completely disappears in the water, and very durable. Ties to Mirage tippet very easily too. Highly recommend."
Review 20 for Mirage Trout Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Orvis Fluorocarbon Leaders,
February 6, 2012
By: Chrisrod
from Aiken, SC
"These leaders are the gold standard for tapered leaders."