Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Mirage Trout Leaders

Some fluorocarbon leaders are blended with nylon, lessening the benefits of abrasion resistance and low visibility. Pure fluorocarbon Mirage™ has the highest abrasion resistance of any leader or tippet. And its refractive index is so close to that of water that Mirage is virtually invisible. With a specific gravity of 1.76, it breaks surface tension quickly and sinks quicker than nylon, perfect for nymphing. Fluorocarbon materials retain their knot and tensile strength in water. Preferred for nymphing, especially in gin-clear waters or where fish are educated. Great for large streamers too. Outstanding turnover power, the result of patented extrusion taper technology—an Orvis exclusive. Fly fishing leader preferred in spring creeks, stillwater situations, for use with large streamers, or when fishing with nymphs in clear water where trout are fished over heavily. 2-pack.
Average Customer Rating:
4.746 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (67 reviews)
5 stars
52
4 stars
14
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
67 of 67(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Mirage Trout Leaders
Review 1 for Mirage Trout Leaders
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Top Leader,
July 1, 2015
By: Lillois
from Sonoma
"Great for stealthy presentation. Great strength and can float well if greased.
Coils a little... Stretch it with a leader stretcher and you are set for the whole day.
"
Review 2 for Mirage Trout Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fluorocarbon Leader,
May 25, 2015
By: FireFly2
"This fluorocarbon leader works great with Orvis' Clear Intermediate fly line."
Review 3 for Mirage Trout Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tippet/Leader,
April 20, 2015
By: Dougie87
from Pittsburgh Area
"I would highly recommend this item. It has improved my yield dramatically. When guides recommend fluorocarbon leaders, they know what they are talking about!"
Review 4 for Mirage Trout Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
line,
April 16, 2015
By: Sandis
from Norfolk, VA
"Its is best line there is. it is stretching, it has very high snapping line. I have not seen much products with higher quality bar."
Review 5 for Mirage Trout Leaders
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great leader!,
April 9, 2015
By: monza66mo
from Bennett Springs, MO
"Initially, I thought the price was too high but after fishing this leader, I realized that I actually save money. Very strong and invisible in the water. Seems to have increased my success and never broke off even after catching 11 fish in 3 hours."
Review 6 for Mirage Trout Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Seamingly invisible,
February 26, 2015
By: LucasT
"When sight fishing in ultra-clear water for large spooky trout. The Mirage has out performed every other leader I've tried. Hands down the best"
Review 7 for Mirage Trout Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very good but an expensive product.,
December 20, 2014
By: jopa59
from Milford, OH
"I bought it to catch more trout. I'm sure it will be just fine. But, I won't be using it until at least March."
Review 8 for Mirage Trout Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Barely visible under water,
December 19, 2014
By: Peetza
from Bethlehem, PA
"This is my leader of choice for low water & fussy trout.. It also has very good knot strength."
Review 9 for Mirage Trout Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great leaders,
December 18, 2014
By: DWin1
from Boston -> White Mountains
"Can't beat the price for these leaders, good value for fluorocarbon"
Review 10 for Mirage Trout Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Leaders,
November 21, 2014
By: Jmmck
"The Mirage delivers a smooth cast and lifelike presentation of your fly. I
always have confidence in this product!
"
Review 11 for Mirage Trout Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I only buy orvis,
November 13, 2014
By: ed66
from new york
"all my fly gear is orvis,would not buy from anyone else."
Review 12 for Mirage Trout Leaders
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Golden,
July 9, 2014
By: NewFlyGuySoCal
from So Cal
"Very high quality line, amazing technology in the taper. I'm new to fly fishing so a little instruction on how to unroll the line would have been helpful. I tangled mine up pretty good the first time I pulled it out of the package to use."
Review 13 for Mirage Trout Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Flourocarbon leaders,
May 28, 2014
By: Peetza
from Mercerville, NJ
"I consistently use these leaders for all nymph and dry fly fishing. The knots hold well and the leaders have good strength to land large fish. They are pricey but worth it in my opinion."
Review 14 for Mirage Trout Leaders
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good product,
May 28, 2014
By: Bonehunter93
from Hawaii
"Leader is easy to straighten and comes with loop for easy attachment to leader. I bought the 1X, which was only 8.6 lb test. This is not strong enough for bone fishing."
Review 15 for Mirage Trout Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Invisible,
May 13, 2014
By: Nebraskaflyfisherwoman
from Central Nebraska
"They cost more than non-flourocarbon leaders but when you land the monster fish, you won't care. They are incredibly strong and invisible in the water."
Review 16 for Mirage Trout Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
May 5, 2014
By: kmett
from Austin,TX
"Been working great in the late Guadalupe trout season after so much fishing pressure"
Review 17 for Mirage Trout Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It landed my permit!,
April 19, 2014
By: ThiagoFSBrasil
from Brazil.
"The permit took the fly and ran straight to a coral, then the fish turned left in direction to the deep.
My heart was beating 140!
This leader stood the abrasive corals, the guide passed us over the coral and I could fight the fish clean on the deep water.
Checking the leader after releasing the fish, it had marks all over it.
Top quality leader that helped me add one more permit to my resumeé."
Review 18 for Mirage Trout Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great leaders,
January 15, 2014
By: Beargonefishing
from Washington DC
"Use these any time I fish a sub surface fly or if fish are particularly picky. Invisible in water and super strong. I always carry these and the tippet."
Review 19 for Mirage Trout Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Depenable Leaders,
January 13, 2014
By: RRJacobo
from Pinson, Alabama
"sometimes people balk at buying
better quality items. Lose a big Rainbow. I have tried others but not any more. Mirage Leaders are all that I will ever use.
RJ"
Review 20 for Mirage Trout Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent leaders,
September 9, 2013
By: Hefty1947
from Hendersonville, NC
"You pay a little more for mirage but the quality is worth it... flurocarbon holds up better."