Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Super Strong Nylon Leaders

Super Strong™ fly fishing leaders excel because the nylon material balances three crucial elements better than any other: elasticity, knot strength and suppleness. The absolute best nylon material on the market, a full 6 pounds in 4X. Super Strong's higher breaking strength will allow you to land and release fish quicker.
Average Customer Rating:
4.675 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (157 reviews)
5 stars
126
4 stars
23
3 stars
0
2 stars
4
1 star
4
150 of 157(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Review 1 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
An old friend,
April 10, 2014
By: wetwaders1942
from NC Mountains
"What can I say, i've been using Orvis leaders for years. I've tried others, but don't seem to be able to find anything better, and in most cases, as good."
Review 2 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Always consistent,
April 4, 2014
By: LonesomeYC
"These leaders have been my go-to for years. Low memory and strong."
Review 3 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Use these leaders exclusively.,
March 18, 2014
By: flyrod86
from CT. River
"Have tried others on rare occaisions but find the Orvis leaders are more durable, create better knots and straighten easier. The perfection loop provided is very convenient and they have never failed."
Review 4 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tapered Leader is great,
March 18, 2014
By: BB4851
from North Carolina
"Love this Tapered leader. Very convenient and easy to use."
Review 5 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
every time purchase,
February 20, 2014
By: bigstegg
from Riverside,Ca
"I've used this leader tippet line for several years very strong nylon and never lost a fish by using it"
Review 6 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My go to leaders,
February 3, 2014
By: TK121
from South Central Texas
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"These leaders work great for big largemouth bass. I fly fish from a kayak and have had several big bass tow me around while we battle. I have landed a few giant bass with 0X-3X depending on water clarity."
Review 7 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Excellent product,
February 3, 2014
By: Bluegiller
"Very good product, easy to use, holds knots nicely, very strong, turns flies over well."
Review 8 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Super Strong Nylon Leaders,
January 22, 2014
By: jshin
from Littleton, CO
"I have been using Super Strong Leaders for years. They have never failed me. I find that they work fishing nymphs and dries equally well."
Review 9 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Leader!,
January 20, 2014
By: TroutGuy1
"I have never lost a fish, no mater the size, do to these leaders breaking. Great leader!"
Review 10 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exceptional Link,
January 20, 2014
By: Norm
from Los Angeles, CA
"I used Orvis' 6x nylon leader on my 71 y/o Orvis Manchester cane rod to land a 23" 4lb 'bow on the San Juan river, NM, in June of 2013. I had a #24 dry fly when the fish "hit" and, even though it took me to backing 3 times, the leader allowed me to bring this beauty to net after almost 7 minutes."
Review 11 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice Leaders,
January 17, 2014
By: GSGAR
from Lima, OH
"I just like using these leaders, and would recommend their use to anyone who throw flies."
Review 12 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Go to Leader,
January 16, 2014
By: Missourimuddler
"i've tried other leader products, but the Orvis nylon leader is my go-to leader. It's strong and seems a lot more tangle free than its competitors."
Review 13 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great leaders,
January 15, 2014
By: Beargonefishing
from Washington DC
"I was very pleased with these leaders. They are strong and float well. Can't ask for more."
Review 14 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Really good,
January 15, 2014
By: smallstreamguy
from Northern NJ
"I have never had a problem using these leaders when I can use nylon. Knot strength is about as good as it gets. As all nylon leaders you should straighten them; the butt end, before use. I just pull tight between my fingers some five - six times and I'm in business."
Review 15 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Leader!,
January 15, 2014
By: HarleyFlyFishGuy
from Port Washington, NY
"I have been using these knotless tapered leaders in various X's and lengths for years. I find them to be strong, supple and durable. Attaching tippet, even fluorocarbon is easy. A great go to product at a reasonable price."
Review 16 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
easy peasy,
January 13, 2014
By: debblarr
from Louisville, ky
"love these... easy to use... and I can count on them to Turin my lure and hang onto a lunker!"
Review 17 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Go to Leaders!,
January 1, 2014
By: LunkerChaserToo
from NYC
"These Orvis tapered leaders represent excellent value for money"
Review 18 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Strong Leader at a low price,
December 20, 2013
By: bchavez
from San Antonio, TX
"great leader for the price and very low memory make for easy fly casting"
Review 19 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great leaders,
December 18, 2013
By: BobbyDrew
from NC
"I've been using these leaders for years as well as a few others. These are by far the mos durable out there. They have very little memory also,"
Review 20 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Only the best,
December 15, 2013
By: McGuig
from Glfd., Ct.
"My husband only deserves the best for his fly fishing and Orvis is the place for all of his supplies. A top notch product with service to match."