Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Super Strong Nylon Leaders

Super Strong™ fly fishing leaders excel because the nylon material balances three crucial elements better than any other: elasticity, knot strength and suppleness. The absolute best nylon material on the market, a full 6 pounds in 4X. Super Strong's higher breaking strength will allow you to land and release fish quicker.
Average Customer Rating:
4.706 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (218 reviews)
5 stars
180
4 stars
28
3 stars
0
2 stars
4
1 star
6
209 of 218(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Review 1 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent turnover,
June 29, 2015
By: LezW
from Macclesfield Cheshire UK
"I have not bought tapered leaders for some time as I did not f\ind them satisfactory turning over dry flies. These were very good. Turning over both large Mayfly patterns and smaller dry flies down to size 18.
They helped attain satisfactory presentation
"
Review 2 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
12 foot leaders lengths are rare,
June 23, 2015
By: boxmaker
from Menlo Park, CA
"We like 12 foot 4X leaders on the Madison River in Montana and 12 foot length is hard to find without adding a tippet to a 9 footer. We start out at 12 feet and as we change flies we add tippet later if needed."
Review 3 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great leaders,
June 9, 2015
By: Chris63
from Los Altos, CA
"These have been my go-to leaders for 20+ years. They perform well for both dry fly and nymphs. They are durable and also have a very good strength to diameter ratio.
I highly recommend these leaders."
Review 4 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lives Up to Name,
June 5, 2015
By: docinidaho
from North Idaho
"These are my go-to leaders for fishing rainbows and cutthroats in North Idaho freestone rivers. Stand-up to heavy use. Wouldn't use anything but Orivs Super Strong."
Review 5 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Choice,
June 3, 2015
By: docinidaho
from North Idaho
"This is my go to set-up for cutthroat in North Idaho freestone rivers. This product has never let me down and I keep a supply for all summer. Strong it is and reasonably priced."
Review 6 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
6 ft super strong leaders,
May 28, 2015
By: thebuck
from Las Vegas, NV
"6 ft leaders are just what I need for the small streams that I fish."
Review 7 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My Go To Leader,
May 25, 2015
By: KevinAZ
from Bothell, WA
"I use these leaders, almost exclusively. I have never had an issue with them, in a variety of sizes"
Review 8 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
good product,
May 25, 2015
By: LEWR
"As good as I have ever purchased. Coils are easily removed and the product is definitely strong enough"
Review 9 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great leader,
May 5, 2015
By: Troutman67
"This is great leader material and I always carry extra 5X6X and 7X and as a leader gets cut back I just add tippit. It works extremely well and I get at least a week or two fishing three or four times a week with each of these leaders."
Review 10 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great price for a solid leader,
May 4, 2015
By: DWin1
from Boston -> White Mountains
"I normally fish fluorocarbon but decided to give nylon a try and save a few bucks. Great leader, I'm never happy with my purchase."
Review 11 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Leader,
May 1, 2015
By: Engineers
from Austin, TX
"I can always trust products from Orvis. This leader is only one of many things that I've bought from them over the years."
Review 12 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SUPER STRONG LEADER,
April 22, 2015
By: BOBK1959
from UK
"A GOOD STRONG RELIEABLE
LEADER WITH GREAT TURNOVER
AND PRESATION
"
Review 13 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Consistent,
April 14, 2015
By: lespaul
from CT
"Although I still make my own leaders, in a pinch I use these and they are consistent."
Review 14 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Go-To Leaders When It Counts,
April 11, 2015
By: 2Rustic
from Whever the Fish Are
"Super Strong nylon leaders from Orvis work. They are tough. You can work a big fish out of a log jam with them. They have the right stiffness to turn over flies in 7.5 feet and 9.0 feet. I use them for big trout during the salmon fly hatch as well as BWOs down to size 20."
Review 15 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Trout Leaders,
April 7, 2015
By: Fishermanbill41
from El Dorado Hills, Ca.
"The weave foot leaders are great for stealth fish in low clear water. I use them for both stream fishing got trout and shad. The leaders are strong and supple with very good knot holding strength."
Review 16 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Leaders,
April 1, 2015
By: DeadDrift1
"Hi
I've been using Orvis SS nylon leaders for years. It is a great product. It is quite resistant to abrasion, and features a good combination of suppleness and stiffness. I use these leaders around the country in all different size and length configurations and think very highly of them."
Review 17 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
all the right stuff,
March 31, 2015
By: gehb
from MT
"A high quality tapered leader. No kinks, no loops. Certainly adds convenience and efficiency on the water...more time fishing less time tying knots...whats that worth?"
Review 18 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Leader among Leaders,
March 31, 2015
By: Flyfserman
"This is the only leader that I use. Most of the streams I fish I use a 9 foot 7x Orvis nylon leader and I have had to sneak up on many pools and the leader works wonderfully with all types of nymphs and dry flys."
Review 19 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LAND A STRONG FISH,
March 31, 2015
By: FACEANDCRANE
"WHAT YOU NEED TO CONTROL AND LAND A GOOD SIZE TROUT--ESP INTO THE CURRENT."
Review 20 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ALWAYS PLEASED,
March 3, 2015
By: ZB12
from PENNSYLVANIA
"IF I NEED FLY FISHING EQUIPMENT ORVIS IS THE PLACE I WILL GO. IT'S TOP OF THE LINE. THE NUMBER OF YEARS IN THIS BUSINESS SHOULD TELL YOU SOMETHING."