Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Super Strong Nylon Leaders

Super Strong™ fly fishing leaders excel because the nylon material balances three crucial elements better than any other: elasticity, knot strength and suppleness. The absolute best nylon material on the market, a full 6 pounds in 4X. Super Strong's higher breaking strength will allow you to land and release fish quicker.
Average Customer Rating:
4.683 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (186 reviews)
5 stars
150
4 stars
27
3 stars
0
2 stars
4
1 star
5
178 of 186(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Review 1 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best leaders for me.,
December 5, 2014
By: Aruba
from Bethlehem Pa
"I have used all different leaders but for me these work the best. I fish a local stream all year these leaders hold up the best warm or cold weather. Been fly fishing for 41 years made my on at one time.
Thanks Orvis for another great product.
"
Review 2 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Leaders,
November 19, 2014
By: WDMMD
from Lander, Wyoming
"These nylon leaders are very elastic, they absorb shock better and are slightly soft in texture giving them excellent knot strength and reliability. They are competitively priced. Don't forget about nylon, it is a better material than flourocarbon for many fishing situations."
Review 3 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My Go-To Leaders,
November 14, 2014
By: KevinAZ
from Bothell, WA
"I use these in nearly every freshwater situation - from streamers, to nymphs, and occasionally use it for dries."
Review 4 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Nice Leaders,
November 4, 2014
By: Nicko
"the best leaders I have used so far, been fly fishing for over 20 years"
Review 5 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SuperStrong,
October 31, 2014
By: TNBud
from Smoky Mountains, TN
"I've used these leaders since I've started fly fishing and never had any issues. At least none that could be blamed on the leader/tippet. I've tried competitors and never felt confident in the setup. I'll continue using only Orvis leaders/tippet."
Review 6 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exceeds Expectations,
October 25, 2014
By: docinidaho
from North Idaho
"I fish two the three times per week from March through November in northern freestones, mostly chasing cutthroats and rainbows. This leader withstands days of heavy use and did not let me down once this year. I've tried a couple of other brands but keep coming back to the Super Strong. It lives up to its name."
Review 7 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Leaders,
October 13, 2014
By: tjscpa
from Missouri
"I have used Orvis leaders almost exclusively for over 20 years. I will try other premium brands at least annually but always find "Super Strong" to be the best. One reason is that knots with fluorocarbon tippet seem to be stronger with Orvis leaders. I'm usually using 3x, 4x, or 5x leader with down to 8x tippet."
Review 8 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A good leader makes a big difference!,
September 24, 2014
By: cdcovington
from King, NC
"Good leaders for a good price! I bought 4x in 7.5 and 9 feet, and these will do the job for any trout or panfish, or even smallmouth bass. Forget the silly loop, though; just cut it off and tie a nice nail knot, and you're ready to go!"
Review 9 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Better than most,
September 1, 2014
By: lespaul
from CT
"This is a good quality product and I use it for my top water dry fly fishing. It's getting pricey so I started to build my own based on the Harvey leader system. World of difference but just my opinion. Still a good product though. Would recommend!!"
Review 10 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Simply the best!,
August 11, 2014
By: Rancid
from Wausau, WI
"I have tried nylon leaders from just about every other major leader company for the past 30 years. Orvis Super Strong Nylon Leaders are the best in the business. They set the standard. Supple, easy to straighten, invisible to wary browns - these leaders are super strong...fish after fish. Now, I won't purchase any other leaders but the Super Strong leader. Thank you, Orvis!"
Review 11 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
THESE LEADERS CATCH FISH!,
August 4, 2014
By: KSAG
from Kansas
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"We just returned from our Colorado vacation where my 12 year old was introduced to fly fishing for the first time. Everyone who has tried to catch native Browns in a clear running river knows the importance their leader and presentation play in catching fish. I purchased Orvis 9ft 5X leaders prior to our trip and that's the setup I used for my son's rig...and the proof is in the picture. My son with his first native brown caught on the Taylor River using Ovis Super Strong Nylon Tapered Leaders. I can't tell you how much I wanted my son to be successful so I could develop a fly fishing partner. Orvis made it possible.
Thank you!
"
Review 12 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Leader,
August 4, 2014
By: Jvskinn
from Breckenridge, CO
"Solid nylon leader that performs like it should. Great Orvis product."
Review 13 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Super Strong Leaders,
July 22, 2014
By: DPaine
"So far, so good - bought the 9' in 3x, 4x, and 5x, with idea of adding tippet later. The price is right, and Orvis never sells junk. Knotless but with a loop for easy bending onto fly line. Totally pleased!"
Review 14 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent and simple,
July 8, 2014
By: Mishky
from OH
"Was introduced to this by my Uncle at the Rockwell Springs Trout Club. Will never use anything else. Terrific quality and simple to use."
Review 15 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Simple and Good,
June 27, 2014
By: Flypastor
from Tx
"I took the advice of the online assistance and it turns out the advice was good. Simple product with excellent results. Durable with great fly presentation."
Review 16 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best,
June 25, 2014
By: Tanner1022
"works for bass trout and Sun fish cast it near the shoer you got a fish"
Review 17 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The only leader brand I use,
June 10, 2014
By: urbanamom2014
"I have used a number of different brands of leaders in the past and I have always gone back to these leaders. These are the only ones I use. I never had them break or snap. They are strong and can take a beating. Just this past weekend fishing in W.VA. , I had an absolute pig on the line and I thought I would lose it for sure with a 3x leader. Nope...the leader held but fish got off with a self release...."
Review 18 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good leaders,
June 10, 2014
By: Whataday
"Only leaders I have used but no reason to change as they work fine. Fish landed."
Review 19 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
leaders,
June 4, 2014
By: SpokaneBill
from Spokane, WA
"Product arrived on time, and as always, quality is number 1"
Review 20 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Still The Best,
May 21, 2014
By: 2Rustic
from Coast to Coast
"I have used Super Strong leaders for decades. They are the best tapered, knotless leaders on the market for wind resistant flies or heavy flies. They are also great for beginners because they turn over so well. I have tried other leaders, but keep coming back."