Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Super Strong Nylon Leaders

Super Strong™ fly fishing leaders excel because the nylon material balances three crucial elements better than any other: elasticity, knot strength and suppleness. The absolute best nylon material on the market, a full 6 pounds in 4X. Super Strong's higher breaking strength will allow you to land and release fish quicker.
Average Customer Rating:
4.67 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (176 reviews)
5 stars
141
4 stars
26
3 stars
0
2 stars
4
1 star
5
168 of 176(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Review 1 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Better than most,
September 1, 2014
By: lespaul
from CT
"This is a good quality product and I use it for my top water dry fly fishing. It's getting pricey so I started to build my own based on the Harvey leader system. World of difference but just my opinion. Still a good product though. Would recommend!!"
Review 2 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Simply the best!,
August 11, 2014
By: Rancid
from Wausau, WI
"I have tried nylon leaders from just about every other major leader company for the past 30 years. Orvis Super Strong Nylon Leaders are the best in the business. They set the standard. Supple, easy to straighten, invisible to wary browns - these leaders are super strong...fish after fish. Now, I won't purchase any other leaders but the Super Strong leader. Thank you, Orvis!"
Review 3 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
THESE LEADERS CATCH FISH!,
August 4, 2014
By: KSAG
from Kansas
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"We just returned from our Colorado vacation where my 12 year old was introduced to fly fishing for the first time. Everyone who has tried to catch native Browns in a clear running river knows the importance their leader and presentation play in catching fish. I purchased Orvis 9ft 5X leaders prior to our trip and that's the setup I used for my son's rig...and the proof is in the picture. My son with his first native brown caught on the Taylor River using Ovis Super Strong Nylon Tapered Leaders. I can't tell you how much I wanted my son to be successful so I could develop a fly fishing partner. Orvis made it possible.
Thank you!
"
Review 4 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Leader,
August 4, 2014
By: Jvskinn
from Breckenridge, CO
"Solid nylon leader that performs like it should. Great Orvis product."
Review 5 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Super Strong Leaders,
July 22, 2014
By: DPaine
"So far, so good - bought the 9' in 3x, 4x, and 5x, with idea of adding tippet later. The price is right, and Orvis never sells junk. Knotless but with a loop for easy bending onto fly line. Totally pleased!"
Review 6 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent and simple,
July 8, 2014
By: Mishky
from OH
"Was introduced to this by my Uncle at the Rockwell Springs Trout Club. Will never use anything else. Terrific quality and simple to use."
Review 7 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Simple and Good,
June 27, 2014
By: Flypastor
from Tx
"I took the advice of the online assistance and it turns out the advice was good. Simple product with excellent results. Durable with great fly presentation."
Review 8 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best,
June 25, 2014
By: Tanner1022
"works for bass trout and Sun fish cast it near the shoer you got a fish"
Review 9 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The only leader brand I use,
June 10, 2014
By: urbanamom2014
"I have used a number of different brands of leaders in the past and I have always gone back to these leaders. These are the only ones I use. I never had them break or snap. They are strong and can take a beating. Just this past weekend fishing in W.VA. , I had an absolute pig on the line and I thought I would lose it for sure with a 3x leader. Nope...the leader held but fish got off with a self release...."
Review 10 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good leaders,
June 10, 2014
By: Whataday
"Only leaders I have used but no reason to change as they work fine. Fish landed."
Review 11 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
leaders,
June 4, 2014
By: SpokaneBill
from Spokane, WA
"Product arrived on time, and as always, quality is number 1"
Review 12 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Still The Best,
May 21, 2014
By: 2Rustic
from Coast to Coast
"I have used Super Strong leaders for decades. They are the best tapered, knotless leaders on the market for wind resistant flies or heavy flies. They are also great for beginners because they turn over so well. I have tried other leaders, but keep coming back."
Review 13 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product,
May 13, 2014
By: Nebraskaflyfisherwoman
from Central Nebraska
"Easy loop to attach to fly line, good durability, disappears in the water so will not spook fish. I prefer the 9 foot leaders for trout fishing in smaller streams."
Review 14 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Super Strong Leaders,
May 8, 2014
By: docinidaho
from North Idaho
"Bought a few different wt's for the varied fishing conditions I face. Used a 5X the other day, high Spring melt fast current required going deep and keeping good control. Leader performed as advertised, which is a confidence booster when facing tougher conditions. Will purchase again in the future."
Review 15 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Super Strong Nylon Leaders,
May 7, 2014
By: steve4005
"Great product - very little memory and casts great with WF4F line.
I purchased 9 ft sets of 4x, 5x, 6x.
Tying on 2 ft of tippet maximizes the leaders for me and works for me.
"
Review 16 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic Leader,
May 7, 2014
By: RMFFlyFishingGirl
from Montana
"This leader is by far superior to other leaders I've used. It truly is super strong and after using it, I won't buy any other kind!"
Review 17 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Terrible,
April 25, 2014
By: jws1977
"Bouught this product in November. Went fly fishing for the first time this year and hooked several large fish that broke this leader. Thought I had tied bad knots but tested the leader and I could easily pull it and break it. Not worth the money at all."
Review 18 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
An old friend,
April 10, 2014
By: wetwaders1942
from NC Mountains
"What can I say, i've been using Orvis leaders for years. I've tried others, but don't seem to be able to find anything better, and in most cases, as good."
Review 19 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Always consistent,
April 4, 2014
By: LonesomeYC
"These leaders have been my go-to for years. Low memory and strong."
Review 20 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Use these leaders exclusively.,
March 18, 2014
By: flyrod86
from CT. River
"Have tried others on rare occaisions but find the Orvis leaders are more durable, create better knots and straighten easier. The perfection loop provided is very convenient and they have never failed."