Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Super Strong Nylon Leaders

Super Strong™ fly fishing leaders excel because the nylon material balances three crucial elements better than any other: elasticity, knot strength and suppleness. The absolute best nylon material on the market, a full 6 pounds in 4X. Super Strong's higher breaking strength will allow you to land and release fish quicker.
Average Customer Rating:
4.691 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (204 reviews)
5 stars
167
4 stars
27
3 stars
0
2 stars
4
1 star
6
195 of 204(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Review 1 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Consistent,
April 14, 2015
By: lespaul
from CT
"Although I still make my own leaders, in a pinch I use these and they are consistent."
Review 2 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Go-To Leaders When It Counts,
April 11, 2015
By: 2Rustic
from Whever the Fish Are
"Super Strong nylon leaders from Orvis work. They are tough. You can work a big fish out of a log jam with them. They have the right stiffness to turn over flies in 7.5 feet and 9.0 feet. I use them for big trout during the salmon fly hatch as well as BWOs down to size 20."
Review 3 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Trout Leaders,
April 7, 2015
By: Fishermanbill41
from El Dorado Hills, Ca.
"The weave foot leaders are great for stealth fish in low clear water. I use them for both stream fishing got trout and shad. The leaders are strong and supple with very good knot holding strength."
Review 4 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Leaders,
April 1, 2015
By: DeadDrift1
"Hi
I've been using Orvis SS nylon leaders for years. It is a great product. It is quite resistant to abrasion, and features a good combination of suppleness and stiffness. I use these leaders around the country in all different size and length configurations and think very highly of them."
Review 5 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
all the right stuff,
March 31, 2015
By: gehb
from MT
"A high quality tapered leader. No kinks, no loops. Certainly adds convenience and efficiency on the water...more time fishing less time tying knots...whats that worth?"
Review 6 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Leader among Leaders,
March 31, 2015
By: Flyfserman
"This is the only leader that I use. Most of the streams I fish I use a 9 foot 7x Orvis nylon leader and I have had to sneak up on many pools and the leader works wonderfully with all types of nymphs and dry flys."
Review 7 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LAND A STRONG FISH,
March 31, 2015
By: FACEANDCRANE
"WHAT YOU NEED TO CONTROL AND LAND A GOOD SIZE TROUT--ESP INTO THE CURRENT."
Review 8 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ALWAYS PLEASED,
March 3, 2015
By: ZB12
from PENNSYLVANIA
"IF I NEED FLY FISHING EQUIPMENT ORVIS IS THE PLACE I WILL GO. IT'S TOP OF THE LINE. THE NUMBER OF YEARS IN THIS BUSINESS SHOULD TELL YOU SOMETHING."
Review 9 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Big Bass No Problem,
February 26, 2015
By: LucasT
"This leader can take a beating! Nothing compares to the top-water explosion of Big Large Mouth Bass slamming at the end of your lightweight gear. This leader can handle such a task for days on end"
Review 10 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
does the job,
February 18, 2015
By: flyfisher66
from Old Bridge, N.J.
"As good or better than any other factory leader I have used."
Review 11 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Always Excellent!,
February 16, 2015
By: nztrophybrown
from Upstate NY
"I have used Super Strong leaders for years. They always perform well on the water and come out of the package tangle free. Thanks for a great product."
Review 12 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Leaders,
February 9, 2015
By: Harlowmo
from Missouri
"Without any doubt Orvis has the best leaders bar none."
Review 13 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect roll-over,
January 2, 2015
By: BillKC
from Kansas City, MO
"I choose a big leader 0x for Alaska salmon and 7x for local trout of this long standing Orvis product. It ties nicely in freezing weather to hot Ozark summer days. I get upset hen I reach into my vest to find my favorite fly line leader is not there. So I carry a couple of extra for friends who run short when we're out in the mountain streams. Ties nicely to Tippett material."
Review 14 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Leaders,
January 1, 2015
By: Fastmover2
from Plymouth, UK
"I have used these leaders since starting flyfishing. They are very supple aid turnover and knot very well. I have tried other leaders and always come back to these. Another great Orvis product."
Review 15 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality product,
December 22, 2014
By: PL67
from Ludlow UK
"What more can one expect from Orvis, product lives up to the Orvis ethic"
Review 16 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Leaders of quality,
December 22, 2014
By: Petesalmonla
from Uk game fishing sea and freshwater
"Yes not only are the orvis leaders of quality so is orvis a leader of quality in service and customer care"
Review 17 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best leaders for me.,
December 5, 2014
By: Aruba
from Bethlehem Pa
"I have used all different leaders but for me these work the best. I fish a local stream all year these leaders hold up the best warm or cold weather. Been fly fishing for 41 years made my on at one time.
Thanks Orvis for another great product.
"
Review 18 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Leaders,
November 19, 2014
By: WDMMD
from Lander, Wyoming
"These nylon leaders are very elastic, they absorb shock better and are slightly soft in texture giving them excellent knot strength and reliability. They are competitively priced. Don't forget about nylon, it is a better material than flourocarbon for many fishing situations."
Review 19 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My Go-To Leaders,
November 14, 2014
By: KevinAZ
from Bothell, WA
"I use these in nearly every freshwater situation - from streamers, to nymphs, and occasionally use it for dries."
Review 20 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Nice Leaders,
November 4, 2014
By: Nicko
"the best leaders I have used so far, been fly fishing for over 20 years"