Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Super Strong Nylon Leaders

Super Strong™ fly fishing leaders excel because the nylon material balances three crucial elements better than any other: elasticity, knot strength and suppleness. The absolute best nylon material on the market, a full 6 pounds in 4X. Super Strong's higher breaking strength will allow you to land and release fish quicker.
Average Customer Rating:
4.716 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (225 reviews)
5 stars
187
4 stars
28
3 stars
0
2 stars
4
1 star
6
216 of 225(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Review 1 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Go to Product,
August 31, 2015
By: docinidaho
from North Idaho
"I've tried a variety of leaders and have settled on the Orivs Super Strong. These leaders wear well over heavy use and the knots hold. Well worth the price."
Review 2 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best leaders made,
August 3, 2015
By: bhuth
"orvis leaders are the best made, don't kink and always present dry flies just right, have used them for years. having tried other kinds but always return to orvis and leaders and wonder lines."
Review 3 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great leaders,
July 21, 2015
By: Anglingbri
from Gwynedd, North Wales
"I have used these leaders for some years now and they have never let me down. A length of Orvis super strength nylon of same tip diameter added to leader and they last all season.
The colour is excellent blending in with the peaty water of our local rivers.
"
Review 4 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Solid Leaders,
July 7, 2015
By: Concreterousse3
from Indiana
"These leaders are really good. They are as consistent as any I have used in the past. I use these for rainbows and browns and they last all day."
Review 5 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent turnover,
June 29, 2015
By: LezW
from Macclesfield Cheshire UK
"I have not bought tapered leaders for some time as I did not f\ind them satisfactory turning over dry flies. These were very good. Turning over both large Mayfly patterns and smaller dry flies down to size 18.
They helped attain satisfactory presentation
"
Review 6 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
12 foot leaders lengths are rare,
June 23, 2015
By: boxmaker
from Menlo Park, CA
"We like 12 foot 4X leaders on the Madison River in Montana and 12 foot length is hard to find without adding a tippet to a 9 footer. We start out at 12 feet and as we change flies we add tippet later if needed."
Review 7 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great leaders,
June 9, 2015
By: Chris63
from Los Altos, CA
"These have been my go-to leaders for 20+ years. They perform well for both dry fly and nymphs. They are durable and also have a very good strength to diameter ratio.
I highly recommend these leaders."
Review 8 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lives Up to Name,
June 5, 2015
By: docinidaho
from North Idaho
"These are my go-to leaders for fishing rainbows and cutthroats in North Idaho freestone rivers. Stand-up to heavy use. Wouldn't use anything but Orivs Super Strong."
Review 9 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Choice,
June 3, 2015
By: docinidaho
from North Idaho
"This is my go to set-up for cutthroat in North Idaho freestone rivers. This product has never let me down and I keep a supply for all summer. Strong it is and reasonably priced."
Review 10 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
6 ft super strong leaders,
May 28, 2015
By: thebuck
from Las Vegas, NV
"6 ft leaders are just what I need for the small streams that I fish."
Review 11 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My Go To Leader,
May 25, 2015
By: KevinAZ
from Bothell, WA
"I use these leaders, almost exclusively. I have never had an issue with them, in a variety of sizes"
Review 12 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
good product,
May 25, 2015
By: LEWR
"As good as I have ever purchased. Coils are easily removed and the product is definitely strong enough"
Review 13 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great leader,
May 5, 2015
By: Troutman67
"This is great leader material and I always carry extra 5X6X and 7X and as a leader gets cut back I just add tippit. It works extremely well and I get at least a week or two fishing three or four times a week with each of these leaders."
Review 14 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great price for a solid leader,
May 4, 2015
By: DWin1
from Boston -> White Mountains
"I normally fish fluorocarbon but decided to give nylon a try and save a few bucks. Great leader, I'm never happy with my purchase."
Review 15 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Leader,
May 1, 2015
By: Engineers
from Austin, TX
"I can always trust products from Orvis. This leader is only one of many things that I've bought from them over the years."
Review 16 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SUPER STRONG LEADER,
April 22, 2015
By: BOBK1959
from UK
"A GOOD STRONG RELIEABLE
LEADER WITH GREAT TURNOVER
AND PRESATION
"
Review 17 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Consistent,
April 14, 2015
By: lespaul
from CT
"Although I still make my own leaders, in a pinch I use these and they are consistent."
Review 18 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Go-To Leaders When It Counts,
April 11, 2015
By: 2Rustic
from Whever the Fish Are
"Super Strong nylon leaders from Orvis work. They are tough. You can work a big fish out of a log jam with them. They have the right stiffness to turn over flies in 7.5 feet and 9.0 feet. I use them for big trout during the salmon fly hatch as well as BWOs down to size 20."
Review 19 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Trout Leaders,
April 7, 2015
By: Fishermanbill41
from El Dorado Hills, Ca.
"The weave foot leaders are great for stealth fish in low clear water. I use them for both stream fishing got trout and shad. The leaders are strong and supple with very good knot holding strength."
Review 20 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Leaders,
April 1, 2015
By: DeadDrift1
"Hi
I've been using Orvis SS nylon leaders for years. It is a great product. It is quite resistant to abrasion, and features a good combination of suppleness and stiffness. I use these leaders around the country in all different size and length configurations and think very highly of them."