Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Super Strong Nylon Leaders

Super Strong™ fly fishing leaders excel because the nylon material balances three crucial elements better than any other: elasticity, knot strength and suppleness. The absolute best nylon material on the market, a full 6 pounds in 4X. Super Strong's higher breaking strength will allow you to land and release fish quicker.
Average Customer Rating:
4.679 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (196 reviews)
5 stars
159
4 stars
27
3 stars
0
2 stars
4
1 star
6
187 of 196(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Review 1 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ALWAYS PLEASED,
March 3, 2015
By: ZB12
from PENNSYLVANIA
"IF I NEED FLY FISHING EQUIPMENT ORVIS IS THE PLACE I WILL GO. IT'S TOP OF THE LINE. THE NUMBER OF YEARS IN THIS BUSINESS SHOULD TELL YOU SOMETHING."
Review 2 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Big Bass No Problem,
February 26, 2015
By: LucasT
"This leader can take a beating! Nothing compares to the top-water explosion of Big Large Mouth Bass slamming at the end of your lightweight gear. This leader can handle such a task for days on end"
Review 3 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
does the job,
February 18, 2015
By: flyfisher66
from Old Bridge, N.J.
"As good or better than any other factory leader I have used."
Review 4 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Always Excellent!,
February 16, 2015
By: nztrophybrown
from Upstate NY
"I have used Super Strong leaders for years. They always perform well on the water and come out of the package tangle free. Thanks for a great product."
Review 5 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Leaders,
February 9, 2015
By: Harlowmo
from Missouri
"Without any doubt Orvis has the best leaders bar none."
Review 6 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect roll-over,
January 2, 2015
By: BillKC
from Kansas City, MO
"I choose a big leader 0x for Alaska salmon and 7x for local trout of this long standing Orvis product. It ties nicely in freezing weather to hot Ozark summer days. I get upset hen I reach into my vest to find my favorite fly line leader is not there. So I carry a couple of extra for friends who run short when we're out in the mountain streams. Ties nicely to Tippett material."
Review 7 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Leaders,
January 1, 2015
By: Fastmover2
from Plymouth, UK
"I have used these leaders since starting flyfishing. They are very supple aid turnover and knot very well. I have tried other leaders and always come back to these. Another great Orvis product."
Review 8 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality product,
December 22, 2014
By: PL67
from Ludlow UK
"What more can one expect from Orvis, product lives up to the Orvis ethic"
Review 9 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Leaders of quality,
December 22, 2014
By: Petesalmonla
from Uk game fishing sea and freshwater
"Yes not only are the orvis leaders of quality so is orvis a leader of quality in service and customer care"
Review 10 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best leaders for me.,
December 5, 2014
By: Aruba
from Bethlehem Pa
"I have used all different leaders but for me these work the best. I fish a local stream all year these leaders hold up the best warm or cold weather. Been fly fishing for 41 years made my on at one time.
Thanks Orvis for another great product.
"
Review 11 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Leaders,
November 19, 2014
By: WDMMD
from Lander, Wyoming
"These nylon leaders are very elastic, they absorb shock better and are slightly soft in texture giving them excellent knot strength and reliability. They are competitively priced. Don't forget about nylon, it is a better material than flourocarbon for many fishing situations."
Review 12 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My Go-To Leaders,
November 14, 2014
By: KevinAZ
from Bothell, WA
"I use these in nearly every freshwater situation - from streamers, to nymphs, and occasionally use it for dries."
Review 13 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Nice Leaders,
November 4, 2014
By: Nicko
"the best leaders I have used so far, been fly fishing for over 20 years"
Review 14 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SuperStrong,
October 31, 2014
By: TNBud
from Smoky Mountains, TN
"I've used these leaders since I've started fly fishing and never had any issues. At least none that could be blamed on the leader/tippet. I've tried competitors and never felt confident in the setup. I'll continue using only Orvis leaders/tippet."
Review 15 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exceeds Expectations,
October 25, 2014
By: docinidaho
from North Idaho
"I fish two the three times per week from March through November in northern freestones, mostly chasing cutthroats and rainbows. This leader withstands days of heavy use and did not let me down once this year. I've tried a couple of other brands but keep coming back to the Super Strong. It lives up to its name."
Review 16 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Leaders,
October 13, 2014
By: tjscpa
from Missouri
"I have used Orvis leaders almost exclusively for over 20 years. I will try other premium brands at least annually but always find "Super Strong" to be the best. One reason is that knots with fluorocarbon tippet seem to be stronger with Orvis leaders. I'm usually using 3x, 4x, or 5x leader with down to 8x tippet."
Review 17 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A good leader makes a big difference!,
September 24, 2014
By: cdcovington
from King, NC
"Good leaders for a good price! I bought 4x in 7.5 and 9 feet, and these will do the job for any trout or panfish, or even smallmouth bass. Forget the silly loop, though; just cut it off and tie a nice nail knot, and you're ready to go!"
Review 18 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Better than most,
September 1, 2014
By: lespaul
from CT
"This is a good quality product and I use it for my top water dry fly fishing. It's getting pricey so I started to build my own based on the Harvey leader system. World of difference but just my opinion. Still a good product though. Would recommend!!"
Review 19 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Simply the best!,
August 11, 2014
By: Rancid
from Wausau, WI
"I have tried nylon leaders from just about every other major leader company for the past 30 years. Orvis Super Strong Nylon Leaders are the best in the business. They set the standard. Supple, easy to straighten, invisible to wary browns - these leaders are super strong...fish after fish. Now, I won't purchase any other leaders but the Super Strong leader. Thank you, Orvis!"
Review 20 for Super Strong Nylon Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
THESE LEADERS CATCH FISH!,
August 4, 2014
By: KSAG
from Kansas
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"We just returned from our Colorado vacation where my 12 year old was introduced to fly fishing for the first time. Everyone who has tried to catch native Browns in a clear running river knows the importance their leader and presentation play in catching fish. I purchased Orvis 9ft 5X leaders prior to our trip and that's the setup I used for my son's rig...and the proof is in the picture. My son with his first native brown caught on the Taylor River using Ovis Super Strong Nylon Tapered Leaders. I can't tell you how much I wanted my son to be successful so I could develop a fly fishing partner. Orvis made it possible.
Thank you!
"