Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Helios™ 6-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex

2 1/2 oz. 9', 4-piece, Tip Flex freshwater fly rod for 6-wt. line.We set out on an adventure to make the world's lightest fly fishing rod. Along the way, we also made the world's best.The new patent pending Helios is so innovative and, frankly, so far ahead of all other fly rods it skips generations in how a fly rod should feel, cast, and fish. It is so sublimely light, incredibly responsive, deadly accurate, and just plain easy and enjoyable to cast that to compare it to other graphite fly rods is like comparing graphite to bamboo. There is no comparison. The Helios is that good. And everyone is noticing. Made in USA.A fast-action Tip-Flex to handle any size trout, steelhead, or warm water species. The fly rod of choice for streamer fishermen. Ice cleans out of Recoil guides quickly and easily. A real plus when steelheading or trout fishing in cold conditions.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
18 of 18(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Helios™ 6-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Review 1 for Helios™ 6-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The best fly rod,
October 18, 2012
By: Pereira
from Brasilia,Brazil
"I would like to know something better but i think it is impossible,congratulations Orvis!!"
Review 2 for Helios™ 6-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Helios 906-4,
July 25, 2012
By: BobGUY
from Midwest
"Was out-of-town when I ordered the rod on-line Wednesday. Rod arrived at my home Saturday. I returned on Sunday to find it on my doorstep and was casting the new rod Sunday afternoon. Very pleased. Nice Tip-flex action permits long range casts. Was contemplating this rod for a while. Was delighted to find the rod on sale. Thank you Orvis!"
Review 3 for Helios™ 6-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent rod,
March 28, 2012
By: LoveMyHelios
from Stockholm, Sweden
"Purchased my Helios in May 2011 and have used it in different fishing waters through Sweden, both lakes and streams, and also in Alaska.
Catching char, trouts, grayling, rainbows, pikes and even a few salmons (happened in Alaska).
It is by far the finest and lightest rod i have ever laid my hands on. It performs excellent and I just love fishing with it.
The only problem is that it isn´t as fun to visit the fishingshops as it used to be - I dont have the need to try out another flyrod anymore ;-)
"
Review 4 for Helios™ 6-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Home Run!!!,
March 23, 2012
By: wjr1949
from Dallas, TX
"Just returned from Patagonia (far southern Chile). For the first time I took a 6 weight rod....the 6 weight Helios...down to Patagonia. It rocks!
Down there I measure everything by its ability to haul through windy conditions, and I can promise you the Helios rod outperformed all the rest. You won't go wrong with this rod.
"
Review 5 for Helios™ 6-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
WOW!,
March 10, 2012
By: dpbrown76
from Zurich, Switzerland
"Light as a feather and easy to control, pinpoint casting accuracy. Tough as nails - an absolute gem of a Fly Rod. I wrap a 5wt TT Shooting head on my Helios Reel and do 40+ yard Single Handed Spey casts with this beast. This is including split and 2 weighted nymphs. WOW. Well done again Orvis."
Review 6 for Helios™ 6-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Incredible,
June 9, 2011
By: FishMaine
from Central Maine
"I bought this rod as a treat, knowing that it was a purchase I'd only make once. At first, I didn't feel like the rod cast very well, not shooting line as well as I thought. Being a loyal Orvis fan, I decided that I had to be doing something wrong. Having fly fished for the past 25 years, I decided that it must be something with my back cast, indeed it was. I discovered that the 906-4 tip flex rod was so fast, that I was waiting too long and the line was falling behind me. I made the adjustment and all I can say is WOW. This rod is incredible. I am able to cast a weighted nymph with a strike indicator 60' with ease. I have been nothing but impressed with all of my Orvis gear (this is my 4th Orvis rod) and continue to be impressed. This rod is equivalent to a rocket launcher. Fish beware. I've had the pleasure of catching some nice brook trout and landlocked salmon on the rod and it has handled everything very nicely. I don't worry about the wind anymore, or about reaching that extra 10' to the rising trout. Coupled with a Hydros III reel, I am confident it will last me many years. Thanks Orvis for developing such a fine rod. Tight Lines!"
Review 7 for Helios™ 6-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
FINALLY!!!!! truth in advertising,
November 23, 2010
By: btrt4
from australia
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"After 2 trips to New Zealand with a TCX i decided on a HELIOS 9' 6wt tip flex to take this time - nothing wrong with the TCX but after reading about the Helios i thought i may as well give it a try - and everything said in the adverts and of the reviews written on this site all i can say is they are all true - at least a three metre longer cast without even trying and as i have a play and get used to it, further and further - absolutely brilliant."
Review 8 for Helios™ 6-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
If I could keep only one... this one!,
June 20, 2010
By: Kojin
from Arizona
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Helios 9' 6 wt tip flex freshwater rod:
I have 4 high end rods. I'll sell a couple of them to replace them with Helios. What a sweet rod! It casts so effortlessly and accurately close up and out to where I need binoculars to see the fly. Anyone can readily see how well appointed these rods are, and even casting in the parking lot you can tell what a great casting tool it is. Spend a day fishing with it and you'll be the one who is "hooked." I just spent 2 weeks fishing and only took out another rod once (when I needed something shorter for a small stream in tight quarters). I just couldn't leave my Helios in the sock.
"
Review 9 for Helios™ 6-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
HELIOS 906 TIP FLEX,
May 3, 2010
By: EASYMEND
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This rod is a dream to cast. One should be reminded to use the line designed for tip flex which adds a half a line weight helping load the rod very well. Even a novice can cast 60 feet with little effort. 80 feet casts are well within your reach if you let the rod work for you! When your hooked up to a large one and the current is against you, this rod shows its stuff. I cast it mine some days just to enjoy the sensation of seeing a tight loop shooting out infront of me into the wind with no problem. There is a big difference and you can feel it."
Review 10 for Helios™ 6-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
zg Helios 906-4 tip-flex,
July 7, 2009
By: outback
from Adirondacks,New York
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"As a flyfishing guide I find this rod loaded with a large aber battinkill has perfpormed excellent.The sports that has used it gave it a 5 star.Also being a 9' 6 wt women can use this with no problem even on a wind day floating. Even beginers learn fast. Thanks Orivs for a great outfit."
Review 11 for Helios™ 6-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing, Simply Amazing,
June 19, 2009
By: drlgsideways
from Edmond, Ok
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have owned my Helios 906-4 Tipflex 9.5 for about 6 weeks. I had looked at one in the Orvis store in Jackson Hole and finally broke down and bought one while Orvis was offering reels at no cost.
Folks, have you wondered about all of the hype that has been published about this rod? I had but I can testify it is NOT hype! This rod will make you a better caster. No ifs ands or buts about it.
I am an okay caster. Seventy feet casts with no hauls is no problem with this rod. Putting a fly within 3 inches at 45 feet is no problem. You can gun out a TIGHT loop and surprisingly long cast with no false casts and a relatively short line on the water. This is very helpful given I do most of my fishing in the Oklahoma wind. I would have to describe it as though the rod is talking to you.
Yesterday, a friend that is a very raw novice cast it for the first time. He started exclaiming "what am I doing differently? I have never cast so far!". I did not want to write a review until I had fished it for a while but my buddy's reaction convinced me it was time and I had proof enough.
I have caught bass up to 4 lbs with it (lost an 8 pounder which the rod handled beautifully). This is a great streamer rod and is able to easily cast larger poppers and heavier clousers than you would think possible. But you can also cast small dries with delicacy and accuracy. Hopper/dropper and nymph combinations are no problem either. It is truly a great all around rod. You have to cast one to believe it. This is the first Orvis rod I have ever owned. I own three high end rods from a very reputable company whose four letter name begins with S and ends with E. I honestly don't see buying another one given the quantum leap in the Helios' technology."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Helios™ 6-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This rod was made for me!,
April 1, 2009
By: Fieldandstreamer
from Lexington, KY
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"In the past, those who have seen me cast have noted that it was not somethiing pretty. In fact, observers have felt compelled to voice, not always politely, suggestions on what to do. All that changed recently, after I picked up this rod.
The forecast earlier in the week had fortold that a balmy day would greet me this winter weekend. I awoke to a "steelheader's delight.". A cold front had moved in overnight, dragging with it a dark, wet curtain across the sky. Water drained almost continuously all day from the oversaturated, grey sponges floating overhead. It was a delightful day to test the outerwear of the fishermen who had ignored the cold wind's blustery commands to stay in bed.
Against such a backdrop, I entered the outdoor casting contest. With the Helios in my hand, I saw the meaning of accurate come alive. I pointed the rod at a target and the line tracked true. The loops were tighter than my bank's loan department. The rod is so light and so powerful that it didn't take much effort to load and unload it. I was able to false cast repeatedly without my arm crying "uncle."
Back and forth, the line danced above the water as I sought to place the fly above the target. The rod was so responsive. Again and again, the fly was easily snatched back, on command, for another false cast before it hit the water. When the fly was finally allowed to land, it settled softly, as if lowered by an invisible hand.
In the end, I got 3rd place in the competition. I had just missed 2nd place. Those who saw my performance said it was impressive. The accolades however, were directed at the rod. They all agreed, this rod was made for me.
"
Review 13 for Helios™ 6-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What a rod!!,
March 4, 2009
By: Scrumpie
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I've fished my whole fishing life with Orvis rods and from my loyalty to them, you can see that I like the product. I must have 8 Orvis rods, but I'm afraid that they aren't going to see much action now that I have a ZG Helios 906-4 Tip-Flex. It does whatever I need it to do including casting big bugs, tiny dries as well as slinging weight, nymphs and a big water indicator. I couldn't ask for anything else. I used to string up a rod for nymphing and a rod for dries and then pull whichever rod fit the bill out my truck, depending on the conditions. Not anymore. I fish only one rod. This one. I guess the only problem I have now is that I need two. That is, if that is even a problem. I love this rod."
Review 14 for Helios™ 6-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Joy of fatherhood!!,
February 17, 2009
By: OutdorDad
from North FL
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"The day my son was born all I could help to do was think of every thing I was going to teach him one day. Fly Fishing was no exception. Ever since my son was little he watched me practicing in the backyard and couldn’t wait till he was big enough to learn for himself. When we got ready to practice together for the first time I knew that this was the rod for him to learn on. Why you might ask well I have never used a rod so perfectly balanced and weighted. Although I knew this was an amazing rod and that the quality of craftsmanship was like nothing I had fished with before I still couldn’t help but be amazed at how quickly my 6 year old son was able to pick up the sport. Although this wouldn’t normally be classified as a beginner’s rod I couldn’t recommend the Helios any higher from beginners to experts alike. I am by no means a rich person but I am a believer in doing things right the first time and the smile on my son face after catching his first fish on our very first outing was worth every penny. I know that my son will be able to pass his Helios down to his children and it will perform with the same excellence as it did for him when he caught his first fish!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Helios™ 6-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
King Of the River!,
November 10, 2008
By: RiverOtter
from Blue Ridge Mountains
"This is not your grandfathers bamboo. If you like throwing meat all day - this rod is for you! Twelve hour days on the water and this rod is as light at the end as it is the beginning. Orvis has revolutionized their rod line-up and overnight claimed the throne as King Of the River!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Helios™ 6-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
One rod to rule them all.....,
September 12, 2008
By: ToddFFOTW
from Cincinnati, OH
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I absolutely love my 6 wt tip-flex Helios rod. It is so light and smooth I can use it to dry fly fish size 16 elk hair caddis flies on the Nantahala River, and yet I can use the same rod on the mighty Deschutes River and catch 10 lb steelhead skating and swinging streamers, as shown in the attached pic.
You can never own enough fly rods, but if you're just starting out and want to own just one rod that you can use all over the country, I would highly recommend this 6 wt Helios rod.
Over time you realize there is a difference between "value" and "price." Many times in life you wind up disappointed because a product never lives up to its perceived value. I can say honestly that this Helios rod is the best VALUE I have ever purchased in a fly rod - worth every penny, and then some! You will be utterly amazed at how easy it is to cast all day long without ever tiring, as well as how it improves your casting.
"
Review 17 for Helios™ 6-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Rod/Great Service,
August 31, 2008
By: Achilles
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I purchased my Helios in March and fished in Florida and Minnesota for 3 months. A fantastic rod, and very responsive for a wide variety of species. Able to handle large fish with a stiff butt-section, yet delicate enough for panfish. Then, in June I broke the rod on an underwater snag--just before the big summer action. I returned the rod to Orvis, and in about 10 days got a new one back without any hassle. Easiest replacement I have ever had to go through. I thank Orvis for a great rod, and a trustworthy return policy, would recommend without reservation."
Review 18 for Helios™ 6-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My 2nd Helios,
April 7, 2008
By: ukmric1
from Northamptonshire England
"I already have the 904-4 Helios and had been dissapointed mainly with quality of cork and I did not see any huge difference to my ZG 904-4 , until I tried another line was using my Orvis Gen 3 WF4 but this rod comes alive with a SA GPX or Cortland 444 Precision dont know why Gen 3 just does not suit me/rod, Orvis are taking care of my issues with the 904-4. cork grip and now am very happy. I decided to give another Helios a try and went ahead and bought the 906-4 tip flex.It is a dream, first my concerns over previous Helios cork are not repeated here, this rod is magnificent and allows incredibly tight loops and amazing control sensitivity. Fantastic outfit this rod suits Gen 3 wonderline/my casting and is effortless in use. Definite improvement over the Zero G well done Orvis! Next purchase will be 843-4 Helios"