Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Helios™ 5-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex

2 3/8 oz. 9', 4-piece, Tip-Flex fly rod for 5-wt. line.We set out on an adventure to make the world's lightest graphite fly rod. Along the way, we also made the world's best. Helios technology--with its incredible power-to-weight ratio--offers a new version of the 9-foot-5-weight fly rod with performance characteristics that are astounding. It feels like a 3-weight and yet has the ability to throw long casts in the wind across big water and fight big fish like no other 5-weight on the market. With its modern Tip Flex action, this rod is the gold standard by which all other trout rods will be measured. If you haven't cast this rod yet, make sure you do, as its performance can only be appreciated in use. Made in USA.The fast-action Tip-Flex is the go-to rod for big water and big trout.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (33 reviews)
5 stars
33
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
33 of 33(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Helios™ 5-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Review 1 for Helios™ 5-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Purchase Ever!!!,
December 25, 2012
By: SebH
from Bled, Slovenia
"Without doubt, if you can afford it, do it!!!
The the best fly rod that I bought ever!!!!
I do not know why I wait so long to buy it!"
Review 2 for Helios™ 5-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The lightest fly rod ever made.,
November 29, 2012
By: TLSchiavone
from Phoenix, AZ
"I've had two Orvis Helios 5wt fly rods for over two years now. I bought a second one because I wanted my back up fly rod to be just as good.
By far one of the best and lightest fly rods ever made.
If you spend a lot of time fly fishing, this fly rod will keep you on the water longer and reduce your arm from getting tired from casting.
The Orvis Helios fly rod is worth ever penny to a beginner and/or season fly fisher who wants to get the most out of every hour spent on the water doing what we love most."
Review 3 for Helios™ 5-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What more can I say??,
November 19, 2012
By: Frankthesurf
from Llanarmon Yn Ial, Near the River Dee, North Wales
"Just the best, if you can afford it, do it,
Without doubt... total magic!!"
Review 4 for Helios™ 5-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My first Helios,
August 19, 2012
By: CERMA
from Medellín - Colombia
"I'm happy using my new Helios (the first one). It has the best weight / speed relation. I used it for 12 continuous hours and ended up not tired."
Review 5 for Helios™ 5-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect,
June 30, 2012
By: fishonnw
from Eugene, OR
"This rod feels perfect. The rod is fast and extremely accurate. I notice how well the rod casts when casting heavy wolly buggers. The rod bombed the big fly like it was a much lighter fly. Expensive, but worth the money."
Review 6 for Helios™ 5-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
AMAZING ROD,
June 1, 2012
By: A111
from Va
"Just another long limber stick, right? Well, that is what I thought until I did the test cast at the store. The rod is amazingly sensitive and yet has handled some pretty good fish on my latest trip. Like the guy at the store said, "You don't want to try one unless your ready to spend the money". It really is the best rod I have ever used."
Review 7 for Helios™ 5-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
epitomizes the quality that Heliuos now represents,
May 24, 2012
By: JTee
from New York, NY
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Casts like a dream. Light, responsive. A really nice rod. Compares well to anything out there."
Review 8 for Helios™ 5-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
THE BEST,
December 19, 2011
By: villo1980
from Colorado Springs CO
"I have had my Helios for about 2 1/2 years now and I have to say it is still my baby when it comes to my fly rods. I own several brands of rods and have two orvis rods, TLS and my Helios. Hands down I just cant get enough of my Helios. This past weekend on the Arkansas River below Pueblo I was amazed again at how the rods was just chucking a size 8 Slump Buster to the oppisite bank. Man it was a great day of fishing, The lightness, the power, the BEST."
Review 9 for Helios™ 5-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Light and accurate,
July 10, 2011
By: WaynetheSceine
from Louisiana
"I had the Orvis store attendant rig up an Access 10' as well as a 9' Helios 5 wt., in order to try both out. The Acess was indeed a very nice and easy to cast rod...the attendant said, "Now try the Helios." Wow....light but more importantly it was a dream to cast and incredibly accurate. Lawn casting with a 10 -12 mph head wind I picked out a small leaf on the lawn approx. 70 feet away and told the guy I would try to hit it...bounced the yarn off the leaf. Figured it must be luck and tried 3 more times...each time landing the yarn within 6 inches of the leaf. Effortless to cast, as the rod loads like a dream. I recommend the Helios to anyone..and feel confident that you are doing business with the very best when it comes to quality and service."
Review 10 for Helios™ 5-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Rod!,
November 14, 2010
By: FlybumMedia
from Cleveland, OH
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I got this rod for a trip I had planned while traveling our west. The rod is surprisingly light. I am always amazed at the light weight of these rods. We traveled 1400 miles in 7 days, fishing 12 streams, and catching 8 different species of trout....this rod excelled in everything we did!"
Review 11 for Helios™ 5-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Helios 905-4 tip flex,
October 19, 2010
By: Sweden76
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I got my hands on this awesome rod in early spring this year. It really blew my mind! It outperforms all other 5-weigths I own or have owned. And that is a large number, thrust me. The only rod that comes to mind, that could match it in overall performance is the Sage Z-Axis 590-4. But the not quite, the Helios is more effortless to fish a full day, thanks to the low weight. During distance cast practice I also made casts longer than 120feet. I´d recommend this rod to anyone looking for the most versatile trout rod available. You can fish small drys and fine tippets or chuck away long casts with weighted buggers. Simply love it.
Best regards from Sweden
"
Review 12 for Helios™ 5-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Shockingly light weight,
October 8, 2010
By: Cbarney
from Kentfield, CA
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"So I am no pro but after a few years now of fly fishing I notice what helps my weak casting and what hinders it. I wouldn't know the difference of what is light and heavy as I have only really used my Sage and other's Sage rods. When I got the Orvis rod and put it together it felt almost cheap because it was so light. Then I used it casting hard into heavy wind in Canada and it was awesome. It gave me many yards of extra casting distance. It's delicate in it's accuracy and powerful in it's casting power. I'm super happy with it."
Review 13 for Helios™ 5-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
simply the best,
June 20, 2010
By: JLD50
"simply the best rod ; cast better then the sage tcx ; what more can i say ?"
Review 14 for Helios™ 5-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Helios 5wt 9ft. rod is a great rod,
November 14, 2009
By: DaveyJ
from Adirondack Mountains, New York
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I have used hundreds of flyrods over the years. Very few really achieve the qualities of a great fly rod, capable of casting far and fine and standing up to the elements. The Helios 9 ft 5wt. tip flex rod is the best rod I have used for overall fly fishing. It looks great with a Battenkilll Large Arbor gold (which holds 300 yds of gel spun backing with your 5wt wt forward line) and even lodge owners in Alaska rate this as a spectacular rod! Great credit for Orvis making this rod in Vermont!"
Review 15 for Helios™ 5-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
AMAZING ROD!,
August 22, 2009
By: Carioca
from Rio de Janeiro
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I'm a Brazilian flyfisherman and besides snooks in my backyard or peacock basses in the backcountry, it's quite easy travel to Patagonia looking for trout and salmon fishing, where I go twice a year.
In Chilean Patagonia (Coyhaique area) the wind blows hard all the time and fishing its bigs trouts in the lakes is always a challenge, because most of the times you have to cast your fly (#4 or #6 bugs or bulky EVA spiders) more than 70 feet - usually 90 feet - as the waters are incredible cristal clear. For this same reason, the leaders and tippets must be thin in order not to scare the trouts...
Well, when ORVIS released its Zero Gravity, I bought one #5, tip 9,5 just for fishing those lakes...And I was very happy...
But with my new Helios ZG #5 the world changed to better! Even in a strong wind conditions I can cast my fly where the trouts ares feeding, without scare them and, whem the batlle starts I have the needed backbonne and the sweet to protect my tippets...Moreover, the rod seems to be a number #3 in hands.
Simply the best!
And for this reason I'm buying another number #8 for the big brazilian Dourados and Tucunarés (peacock basses).
"
Review 16 for Helios™ 5-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Legendary Rod,
August 12, 2009
By: zerog
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This rod will exceed your expectations. When you pick it up, you will notice the cork is the best you will ever feel. The rod has a clasic color scheme and is as light as the folks at Orvis claim. The feel is delicate yet powerful. The responsiveness and action of this rod will help you to improve your line control and power management. In summary WOW, casting this rod is as fun as catching fish. It is a rod of a lifetime and worth the money."
Review 17 for Helios™ 5-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exceeded Expectations!,
August 2, 2009
By: ancib
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Took out my new Helios 905-4 tip flex this evening for the first time. Wow! I was skeptical about purchasing, but now that I have fished it, it is worth every cent. It casts effortlessly, throwing #20 dries, weighted nymphs and cone head buggers like a dream. Great touch and feel, the light weight makes it feel like I was fishing a 3 weight. I'm totally hooked, going to look into an 8 weight for steelhead. Would recommend to anyone."
Review 18 for Helios™ 5-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My new favorite rod - Helios,
March 27, 2009
By: Qman
from Prescott Valley, AZ
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My love for fly fishing crossed over to my business by naming it Caddis Advertising, LLC. I spent the last 30 years fly fishing and hiking throughout the Yosemite Valley and surrounding areas. I have always carried an Orvis rod(s). As recent as last summer, I packed my T3 2wt and a 5wt Zero Gravity, and they were awesome with the smaller streams in Yosemite. I think my backpack is quite a bit lighter these days with a single ZG Helios 905-4. This rod is phenomenal!!! It is light, gives me the distance I need and most importantly, the accuracy. The Helios gives me the flexibility of big casts against the wind as well as the little flick on those tight spots.
My 14 year old son is now fishing with my ZG and loving it.
All I can say is buy one, own one, get it as a gift or whatever, but get one.
Qman"
Video Review:
The Orvis Poster Boy
Review 19 for Helios™ 5-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Why I Love My Orvis Helios,
March 26, 2009
By: Anonymous
from Hawthorne, NY
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I heard the rumors and then read the reviews of the new Orvis Helios rod. Could this be the upgrade I’m looking for?
When Orvis offered a number matching set of Helios Rod, Battenkill Mid Arbor III Reel, Line and Carrying Case in 5 wt; I was hooked. My fly casting was decent with my TLS but the Helios proved to be better than expected in my hands.
While fishing off some boat docks on Canandaigua Lake in New York a carp found my fly irresistible and a battle ensued. This submarine wasn’t about to be landed quickly and was giving me quite a bit of trouble. The initial fight was out and away from the docks but neither of us would give in. The carp then turned and headed towards the dock I was standing on. I knew I was in trouble.
My son who was plugging for bass came over when he saw the excitement on my face and bend in my rod. As the carp headed under the dock and was about to wrap my leader around the piling; I told my son to reach under the dock and grab the tip as I passed it to him. My immediate concern was the carp breaking off and swimming away in victory. This passing of the rod back and forth occurred a few times which seemed to last an eternity.
Finally, the submarine surfaced in defeat, a photo was taken, and he was released unharmed. Looking back this was no way to treat my fly rod; but in the heat of battle common sense is no where to be found. Helios # 46 is ready for the next battle."
Review 20 for Helios™ 5-weight 9' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ZG Helios Performs like a Fighter,
March 14, 2009
By: OlyFlyFisher
from Olympia, WA
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Recently, I had the opportunity to cast a ZG Helios 905-4 tip-flex fly rod; in a word the whole experience was - phenomenal!
I’m a former Air Force pilot. I’ve had the privilege of flying in some of the finest fighters in the world including the F-15, F-16 and F-18. These jets all share a few things in common; they’re beautiful, powerful, require only a light touch to unlock extraordinary performance and they’re all deadly accurate.
It occurred to me the ZG Helios possesses the same enviable qualities as those remarkable fighters.
The rod is surprisingly powerful. It weighs less than my current Brand S 3 wt and yet I was able to repeatedly cast over 75 feet with minimal effort and with remarkable accuracy! You might think, “big deal, I can cast farther than 75 feet” - well I can’t; at least not with a 5 wt and certainly not with any accuracy; that is, I couldn’t until I cast the ZG Helios.
Great jets “communicate” how they’re responding to your inputs. Likewise, the Helios really allowed me to feel what was happening with my cast. During 60 minutes of casting in variable wind conditions the Helios seemed to compensate for my casting shortfalls. Simply put, the Helios made me a better and more confident caster. I felt like I could make any cast I wanted with the Helios in my hand.
Later this year, I turn 50 years old. I’ll give you one guess what’s at the top of my birthday wish list, that’s right, the ZG Helios 905-4 Tip Flex.
Powerful, responsive, maximum performance with a light touch and beautiful, the Orvis ZG Helios 905-4 is at the absolute pinnacle of current fly rod technology.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.