Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Helios™ 5-weight 9' Fly Rod—Mid Flex

2 3/8 oz.9', 4-piece, Mid-Flex fly rod for 5-wt. line.The Helios 905-4 is a big water fly rod that feels like a lightweight, small-stream rod in your hand. What is surprising is how powerful it is and how it booms casts across big rivers and handles large fish with ease. There is perhaps no greater example of the benefits of Helios technology than this rod. Spend a day on an Alaskan river or an Arkansas tailwater and you'll be sold. Everyone who has handled and fished this fly rod has fallen in love with the combination of near weightlessness, which suddenly turns to superior power when a big fish strikes. The Helios 905-4 Mid Flex is a must-have addition to any angler's arsenal. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.917 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (48 reviews)
5 stars
46
4 stars
0
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
46 of 48(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Helios™ 5-weight 9' Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Review 1 for Helios™ 5-weight 9' Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Only 5-wt. I Need... Ever!,
April 24, 2013
By: NNCC
from San Jose, CA
"This is the last 5-weight rod I will need. I won't be buying another 5-weight for a very long time, if ever again. This rod has improved my casting abilities greatly and makes fishing more fun. A few things to note: I'm almost certain that my toothbrush is heavier than this rod, the rod can read my mind... it will put the fly exactly where I want it and how I want it, the tip is very sensitive, it doesn't feel like I'm casting a tree branch but has as much power as a much stiffer rod, long-line nymphing is great, short-line nymphing is great, dry fly and streamer fishing is great. This rod is, dare I say, the perfect fly rod. Bravo, Orvis! You've done it again!"
Review 2 for Helios™ 5-weight 9' Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very smooth,
March 6, 2013
By: hansthenewbie
from Los Angeles, CA
"This rod is very accurate, 1 1/2 month ago, I thought that the Access 905-4 Mid was accurate. Then, I bought this Helios. It is even MORE accurate. The rod weight is the same, but the lifting power and shooting ability is in a different class. If I were going to take the Access and the Helios together, I won't be hesitated to put a long sink tip on the Helios. One roll cast, a back cast and a haul on the forward cast. I will use the Access for dry presentation. Good tools are expensive."
Review 3 for Helios™ 5-weight 9' Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
September 4, 2012
By: MAnMT
"I was in stunned and speechless the first time I broke this rod within of month of purchase. I was in disbelief after the second time it broke. I don't know how I feel now...it broke for the third time the very first time I took it out after getting it back from the previous repair.
What was intended to be my "everyday" rod is quickly becoming one that I'm reluctant to take out very often.
That being said, the rod is beautiful and absolutely amazing to cast! Too bad it's spending so much time in the repair department rather than on the river..."
Review 4 for Helios™ 5-weight 9' Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Rod!,
February 13, 2012
By: Scotman
from Lake Alfred, FL
"This is a terrific multi-purpose rod. Whether I'm high stick nymphing on Eastern trout streams, making short casts in tight cover on Florida rivers for bass and panfish, or punching Grass Flats Minnows through a stiff wind for shad on the St. Johns, this rod excels! It's light enough to fish all day and can easily handle tiny dries and mid sized bass bugs. I have an older model Clearwater 5wt and I can really feel the difference with the Helios. It loads and stops cleanly with no wasted energy which increases casting distance and accuracy. For almost 3 years it has easily been my favorite rod!"
Review 5 for Helios™ 5-weight 9' Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome,
January 17, 2012
By: Chrisnotopher
from Hopefully - Beaverkill River
"I like to wade in deeper water and hold the rod/reel high sometimes. This rod is so light. It really helps prevent arm fatique for more time on the water. It also casts much further than my other rods to help reach the furthest rises."
Review 6 for Helios™ 5-weight 9' Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic All Around Trout Rod,
August 2, 2011
By: Rowa
"This is an all around outstanding rod with power and precision. It is unbelievably light. It will be your favorite rod after only a few casts."
Review 7 for Helios™ 5-weight 9' Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Add it to your arsenal,
June 21, 2011
By: Cardo
from Shendoah Valley, Virginia
"Local shop recommended this mid flex for all around fishing (I also have a 9' 7wt and a 7' 4wt). This is a fantastic rod—lightweight with tons of power. I balanced it with a SAGE 4250 and together they are wonderful. I expect this rod to last for years."
Review 8 for Helios™ 5-weight 9' Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ZG Helios,
June 7, 2011
By: hankster
from Clayton, Georgia
"Excellent rod - strong and flexible. Recommend to everyone that loves to flyfish. Light weight and can fish all day but strong to handle large fish."
Review 9 for Helios™ 5-weight 9' Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The rod is defective,
January 26, 2011
By: Anonymous
Appearance: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"The rod is defective or not properly be joined graphite,
also has a bubble in one of the sections.
"
Review 10 for Helios™ 5-weight 9' Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Helios trout rod,
November 30, 2010
By: FishingRod
from California
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have been fishing a 5wt Helios since they first came out and have been very pleased with the rod. If you want to cast short, it's soft enought, if you want to cast long it has the power. Of course the best part of the Helios is the weight, it's so light in the hand. Even though the rod is very light, it has held up well to a couple years of fishing. It's got a few scratches and nicks, but I haven't had any problems. I just purchased a 10 wt. and may eventually replace my 8 and 9 wts with one. I think the Helios weight advantage in the heavier saltwater rods is where the Helios will really "shine"!"
Review 11 for Helios™ 5-weight 9' Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What Can I Say?,
September 27, 2010
By: ape25
from Missouri
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Simply stated - this rod makes me a better fisherman. I have only been "obsessed" with the sport for three years and started off with a mid-level rod from another American rod manufacturer. That $400 rod now sits in my truck with a "backup" designation. With the Helios, I instantly experienced at least 20% more on my casting distance and higher than that from an accuracy perspective. I fish a lot of free stone creeks that require a lot of roll casts, my Helios shoots line like nothing I've ever seen.
Expensive? - Yes. Worth it ? - Of Course."
Review 12 for Helios™ 5-weight 9' Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Allrounder,
July 9, 2010
By: OakCrick
"This is the best 9' 5wt I have ever owned and I have owned a bunch over the past twentyfive years. A great allround big water trout rod. From 22 midges to 6 coneheads this rod does it all. A joy to cast short or long. This rod does it all."
Review 13 for Helios™ 5-weight 9' Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
like nothing you've ever casted,
June 25, 2010
By: ChrisS
from Chicago, IL
"I received one of these as a gift for Christmas, (along with a trip to the Kootenai River MT). The first time I casted it I was blown away. I've used the T3s in the past, but noting compares to the power this rod has. I was so used to having to do a little more work to get line out that my first cast shot into the water so quickly that I was actually startled, it's like the first time you fire a .44 Magnum handgun. Once I adjusted and allowed the rod to do its thing, I tested it casting directly into strong wind and directly through a heavy cross wind. The rod was dead on accurate in each scenario, and amazingly (at least to me), it didn't require a double haul to accomplish that. The feel is also absolutely insane, I've never felt a rod load up like this one.
I have not put a fish on the line yet with it, but hopefully I get my chance in MT in about a week. But even without having that experience, I would say this rod is worth it on casting performance alone.
Plus, the thing is just dead sexy, the Ferrari of Fly Rods"
Review 14 for Helios™ 5-weight 9' Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wow wow we wow,
December 4, 2009
By: NotSteveToepke
from Denver, Colorado
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I am a poor grad student who works and goes to school to support his fishing habit and wife. I have been having really explicit fishing dreams since since I first picked up and sampled a Helios Rod in the Orvis Cherry Creek Store in Colorado. I felt like the bionic man, the rod was part of my arm. I immediately put it down as it was the same price as my text books I needed to buy for the semester. I tore my old waders a few weeks later bushwhacking on the Colorado River. So I did the responsible thing and bought some Pro Guide III's. AWESOME. While in the store the fishing manager who shall remain nameless handed me the Helios again. Like two opposite magnets it shot into my hand and I was casting pretend fly line to try to hook the lady looking around in the menswear section. I immediately gave it back to Kerry and wiped the smirk off my face. Two months later I was fishing a super secret place in way northern Colorado. I hooked a 28 inch brown trout on my old 5wt. It could not handle the pressures and failed. So at that point I knew what I must do. I started fishing my 4wt and started saving my nickles. Ramen for lunch. Frozen Pizzas for dinner. Then last week I got my bank statement and a great job offer! First thing I did was called my wife to tell her I got the job, while putting on my jacket and running for the car. I made it down to Orvis in record time. Regained my cool outside the store and walked in. Kerry the fishing manager greeted me and asked if I was doing some holiday shopping. I said "Yes my good man, I would like to take a gander at a new fishing rod". He smiled and we went to the back alley to try out a Helios 5wt 9 foot mid flex. It was like coming back from Christmas break to College when you were underage and cracking open a fresh Natural Lite. Amazing. I purchased it right there and got a free reel! I just saved myself $219! I felt like my wife at a shoe sale.
I used it for the first time on Clear Creek in the City of Golden, CO on a 10 degree morning. I took 5 casts and caught a tree in my back cast, some Christmas lights in my back cast and two brown trout. all in all a success for only standing outside for 5 min before class. ( I go to Colorado School of Mines).
Now the technical review.
Looks: like a stealth Black 2010 Porsche Carrera 4 Turbo.
Feel: Like heaven on earth. Light yet strong and stable.
Cast: It has the accuracy of shooting a pin through the eye of a needle.
Power: Ever gone pheasant hunting with a bazooka?
Its worth the hefty price and if you buy it before the end of 2009 you get a free reel!"
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Helios™ 5-weight 9' Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
WOW! What else is there to say?,
November 14, 2009
By: shifty2009
from Hooper, Utah
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I bought this Rod when it first came out and the first thing that cought my eye is how absolutely beautiful it is. Than I got to cast it, and I must say it was Love at First Cast! This Rod makes casting with distance and precision seem effortless. ZG Helios is the lightest rod I have ever held! There's really nothing else to say but WOW! I HIGHLY recommend these Rods."
Review 16 for Helios™ 5-weight 9' Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Helios 5 weight,
November 10, 2009
By: tfolarry
from Germantown,Tn.
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My wife and I both have this rod and find it to be beautiful and wonderful to fish with. My brother in law says I can be proud to go to the river now. This is a great product that I would recommend to everybody. I love the color and the reel seat."
Review 17 for Helios™ 5-weight 9' Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Will Be Imitated, But Never Duplicated,
August 15, 2009
By: MrPebbles
from Roanoke, Va
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Is it just me; or does everyone else hear an angelic choir sing everytime you first pull the butt section out of the rod sock? The first part that I noticed about the rod was dang good it looked. As soon as I cast the rod, I realized the rod's significant power. By the second cast I realized the precision. The third cast ended with a test of its strength: me vs. the biggest smallmouth I have taken by a fly rod. The battle was brief, but intense. After about five minutes I was able to look at the smallmouth and think to myself "This rod will be imitated, but never duplicated"."
Review 18 for Helios™ 5-weight 9' Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Overall 5wt,
August 7, 2009
By: tntrout
from TN
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"After casting nearly every hight end rod on the market and fishing with a few, I chose the 905 mid. z-axis may be slightly better for distance and heavier flies, more like tip flex helios, reel seets just arent very "secure" feeling. biix may have a sweeter feel and better at up close presentations but tip is easily overpowered and doesn't like to be driven. Glx is completely different rod but only in group that could compete with helios mid as best overall 5wt. I chose helios over GLX basically on coin flip, but have since actually gotten to fish with both. I don't regret my decision, I am personally more accurate with helios and distance is comparable. Bottom line helios just has a real nice damp but lively feel, great tippet protection, excellent reel seet, no need to switch to the 6wt on a windy day with hoppers on tirp outwest and no need to worry about 7x on tn tailwater trout, and the crush proof guides will save you a $50 dollar repair fee at least once or twice if you fish hard with your rods. Only weakness is close presentations, the mid flex is more of a cannon than its rating would suggest."
Review 19 for Helios™ 5-weight 9' Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look no further for the best!!,
July 28, 2009
By: Fishunter
from Denver, CO
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I am very impressed with this rod.
Tough - I have another high quality rod that's been repaired twice. Not my Helios. Not my baby. Tough as nails.
Nimble - The best dry fly rod I ever casted. Even able to lay it down in the small pockets.
Light - You diehard angler's like myself... It's a must when making 500 cast a day.
"
Review 20 for Helios™ 5-weight 9' Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
FINEST 5WT. EVER MADE,
April 24, 2009
By: ALLABOUTTROUT
from EVERETT, WASHINGTON
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"THIS IS REALLY AN EXCEPTIONAL ROD. IT CAN BE USED FOR VIRTUALLY ANY TROUT SITUATION IN THE WORLD. THE ONLY EXCEPTIONS ARE WHEN YOU NEED VERY SOFT PRESENTATIONS WITH A SHORTER, LIGHTER ROD OR POSSIBLY A LARGER ROD FOR EXTREMELY CHALLENGING CONDITIONS SUCH AS HIGH WINDS, OR PRESENTING LARGE FLIES AND RIGS DOWN DEEP, THEN YOU MIGHT NEED A HELIOS 906-4. BUT FOR 95% OF THE SITUATIONS, THIS ROD CAN DO IT ALL. IT IS HARD TO ELABORATE ABOUT IT, SINCE SO MANY PREVIOUS OWNERS HAVE ALREADY. WHAT CAN I SAY. I OWN 6 HELIOS AND I LOVE EVERY ONE OF THEM. I AM CONSIDERING GETTING THE 864-4 AND WOULD ORDER A 1 WT, IF ONE COMES AVAILABLE. ANYHOW, THIS 5 WT. IS INCREDIBLY LIGHT, ACCURATE, POWERFUL, AND HAS SO MUCH FEEL, THERE'S JUST NOTHING ELSE TO SAY...... BUY IT!"