Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Helios™ 8-weight 9' Fly Rod—Mid Flex

3 oz. 9', 4-piece, Mid-Flex fly rod for 8-wt. line.We set out on an adventure to make the world's lightest fly fishing rod. Along the way, we also made the world's best.The new patent pending Helios saltwater fly rod is so far ahead of all others it skips generations in how a fly rod should feel, cast, and fish. It is so sublimely light, incredibly responsive, deadly accurate, and just plain easy and enjoyable to cast that to compare it to other graphite rods is like comparing graphite to bamboo. There is no comparison. The Helios is that good. And everyone is noticing. Throw big saltwater flies all day with accuracy and far less fatigue than with any other fly rod. This all around 8 weight fly rod offers great fighting power. Ice cleans out of Recoil guides quickly and easily. A real plus when steelheading or trout fishing in cold conditions. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.909 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 of 11(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Helios™ 8-weight 9' Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Review 1 for Helios™ 8-weight 9' Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ZG Helios 8 Middy,
January 23, 2012
By: SurfaceFilm
"I purchased this stick with Redfish in mind, so many "Saltwater" rods are made with tip actions these days and for many situations, they are simply not the best tool for the job. I wanted a rod that was perfect for close up accurate shots, 1/0 and larger weighted/non-weighted flies and was not "tip heavy" like so many mid-flexing rods are, in fact it was down right spooky how light this rod is. This rod exceeded all expectations I had, simply put, a truly amazing fly rod for a wide variety of situations. Don't let the mid-flex designation fool you, lined with a Hydros Redfish fly line, it was effortless to punch 1/0 weighted Clousers into a 25 knot wind. Quite possibly what impressed me the most was the strength/durability of this rod, it put a beat down on 20-30 pound Redfish like no other 8 weight I have ever fished. I have to admit, I put more pressure on fish with this rod than I would ever feel comfortable doing with other companies fly rods, it took everything I put it through and never skipped a beat. Don't take my word for it, try one for yourself, I do not think you will be disappointed. - KB"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Helios™ 8-weight 9' Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Helios 8wt (mid flex),
October 4, 2011
By: rsamber
from Anchorage Ak
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Great rod. Awesome customer service.
I have used my 8wt Helios for two seasons (or is it 3?) and I love it. It is amazingly light and casts very well for me and handles 5 to 15lb Salmon nicely.
My prior favorite rod is my 81/2' 3 wt. I call it my magic wand. The 8 wt helios is 1/8 oz lighter than my 3 wt.
I'm not a great caster. This rod makes me better than I am with most other rods.
I have landed well over a hundred Silver Salmon, dozens of Red Salmon, bunches of Pink Salmon and a handful of King Salmon on this rod. I took the early Helios advertising to heart and I put a heck of a bend in the rod while fighting my fish. I used to break one or more rods each season. I finally managed to break the Helios this year on a large, stubborn fish in a tight spot on my 5th or so attempt to beach it.
I sent the rod to Orvis ASAP with my $30 and waited, praying that it would be back to me within a month for my last of the year annual Silver Salmon trip. Monday the 3rd of October I called to inquire. The rod was being worked on. My plane leaves Thursday. Not looking good... Orvis then stated that they would send me a new rod in place of the broken one. I needed it ASAP so I offered to pay for overnight shipping. They said not to worry, the $30 will cover that. Today, Tuesday the 4th, my new 8wt Helios arrived via UPS! UNBELIEVABLE!!!
I have also had 3 other very good experiences with the Orvis Rod Repair dept.
I have zero affiliation with Orvis and I do not automatically love everything Orvis or anything remotely like that. That said, I very highly recommend this rod and I will own a 5 wt Helios in the near future plus probably a couple others over time...
"
Review 3 for Helios™ 8-weight 9' Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feels so good to cast.,
November 6, 2010
By: BestDays
from Madison, WI
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"The ZG Helios™ 908-4 Mid Flex 6.5 Fly Rod is simply the best rod I've ever owned for salmon, steelhead, bonefish, or any time you need to throw big flies or tussle with big fish. It feels so good to cast, I find myself using it for all sorts of things, and just ordered a similar 6 wt rod to compliment it.
Owned many quality rods, from top companies, and for casting comfort and accuracy, mending, sensitivity, and fighting fish, this is the best ever."
Review 4 for Helios™ 8-weight 9' Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Rod and Great Service,
April 14, 2009
By: sbretting60
from Northern Wisconsin
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I bought this rod for a May bonefishing trip to Mexico. I got it n March and decided I would try it out on some Lake Superior Steelhead first. It is the best rod I have ever cast. It handles my sink tip well and I can put the fly where ever I want it. I consider myself a mediocre caster and with this rod I have no problem making a 60 or 70 foot cast and landing it on target every time.
Orvis also has the best rod warranty of any rod manufacturer. They will replace any of their premium rods no matter how it breaks for only a handling fee of $30. The third time using the rod it got shut in the car door and broke the tip of the mid butt section. I next day aired it to Orvis because they said it could take 4 to 6 weeks to get the rod back and we were planing to leave for Mexico in 6 weeks. They got the rod back to me in 2 weeks good as new. This is one of the main reasons I will be looking at an Orvis rod for my next fly rod.
The only reason I rated the rod a 4 in the features is because it does not have a hook keeper on the butt section. It is more of a convienience thing than neccesity though.
"
Review 5 for Helios™ 8-weight 9' Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Five & Not Looking Back,
March 3, 2009
By: DustyPages
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I recently purchased my fifth Helios and I feel really good about it. There is little fly fishing in February here in Wisconsin. The lakes are frozen so I have no stories about experiences with it, though I know just like with the other four, there will be many. I have been casting it on my snowy back yard. The distance I can achieve has the fly landing two neighbors' yards over. This is hard for me to imagine. I have always valued distance. I think that is partly due to my lack of it. I am now doing 65 to 80 foot casts at will (I have been measuring). How this feather light rod can perform so well is beyond me. So Orvis, for the fifth time, thanks again!
I think my next purchase will be the 910-4 tip flex to fish the Pike and Muskie's residing in my great state. I have cast this rod twice now, and just like all the others, mighty impressive. I have a few rods remaining I formerly used, like the sixteen others I sold this past year. It just does not make sense to keep rods around that you no longer desire to use when there should be another Helios in your future.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Helios™ 8-weight 9' Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
February 26, 2009
By: WadinBoot
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"He threw more casts, neat, long, monstrous hauls that shot out near ninety-feet. With his peaked European-style hat, and my Helios in hand, he looked like a wizard. Between the vivid blues of his pipe smoke, the variegated camouflage of the scattered Madrone, Doug Fir and Cedar, the greens of the waters, the slates and granites of that pebbled beach and a background of coppered sky, you might of thought Easy was fishing a different, untouched era. But look closer, in those seconds, double hauling, line slipping through guides like a phantom channeled, this final cast now, dredged up out of this rod, a well-flogged stick of resins, graphites and mojo-stained cork, a veteran of a thousand trips, look how timeless he makes it.
Now he’s laying my rod parallel to the water, tip pointing like ballplayer calling a homer, the looped bolt of line straightening in slow, unwavering motions and settling in that precise vicinity, settling like parachute silk on a long bubble of air.
When you see all that, it’s almost a letdown to watch this fat Coho corrupt the stillness, explode on the surface, grab fly and vanish. Not for him though, Easy set the hook with gentle certitude, made his way down thigh-high water towards me, my rod-held off-angle to the side, my reel whirring with piscine strengths. Every third pace or so a new blast of pipe smoke emerged, synchronous with the reel, spinning now like a governor. Here’s a man you say, powered by steams and fumes and only harnessed with such a fine rod. I’d say perhaps, wishing, again, that I could fish like Easy. But know this my friend, although I love that rod, it was Easy that conducted that day, it was Easy that made it magic."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Helios™ 8-weight 9' Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
February 11, 2009
By: berkshiremike
from Ma
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This customer did not provide a text review.
Review 8 for Helios™ 8-weight 9' Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cork is not as expected,
December 29, 2008
By: Anonymous
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have 3 Helios rods. 5wt, 8wt, and 9wt.
Out of the three, the cork on the 8wt is not the quality I expected! when comparing the 8wt to the 9wt the difference is extreme. The 8 wt handle is rough, cheap looking and feeling with cork filler and ridges, the 9wt is perfect. I would expect better quality control from Orvis. Comparing the price, the Sage and Scott rods have MUCH better cork. It is a great casting rod.
"
Review 9 for Helios™ 8-weight 9' Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MOST VERSATILE AND EASIEST TO CAST 8 WT.,
September 25, 2008
By: ALLABOUTTROUT
from EVERETT, WASHINGTON
"I BOUGHT THIS ROD EARLIER THIS YEAR FOR SALMON AND STEELHEAD FISHING. ALSO, I PLAN TO USE IT FOR VERY LARGE TROUT, SALTWATER SPECIES OF FISH AND SINKING, SINK-TIP LINE AND DROPPERS. I MUST CONFESS THAT I HAVE NOT ACTUALLY HAD A CHANCE TO USE IT YET, BUT I'VE CAST IT A LOT AND IT IS A GEM. AT 3OZ. THIS ROD CAN DO SO MUCH WITHOUT WEARING OUT YOUR ARM AND SHOULDER. THIS IS THE ONLY WAY TO FISH A HEAVY FLY LINE. I HAVE IT WITH A BATTENKILL LARGE ARBOR IV BLACK FLY REEL WITH POWERTAPER 8 FLOATING LINE. THIS OUTFIT WORKS AND LOOKS GREAT! I CANNOT WAIT TO USE THIS OUTFIT AND CATCH MY FIRST LARGE FISH! THIS ROD CAN CAST A MILE WITH SUCH LITTLE EFFORT. I RECOMMEND IT HIGHLY."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Helios™ 8-weight 9' Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This rod is incredible!,
May 12, 2008
By: odoylerulez2
from Northville Mi
"I was wondering just how far Orvis could go after owning the T3 and now I know. I just purchased the 908 mid flex and it cast like a 5 wt. You can cast this rod all day without blowing out your shoulder because it is that light. If I can figure out finance them I think I will be getting a 6 wt. and maybe a 4 wt to go along with these."
Review 11 for Helios™ 8-weight 9' Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Because I'm Worth It!,
May 12, 2008
By: bonefishfool
from Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
"The new Orvis Helios ZG has been, for me at least, a classic example of what psychologists refer to as an approach-avoidance conflict. Initially, I was competely turned off by the cost. However, owning a number of Orvis rods, I knew the quality of Orvis rods to be superb, even when compared against the very best on the planet. When I read that the Helios had won best of thye best among fly rod products by Field and Stream magazine, I knew I HAD to cast the rod. Fortunately for me, a new Orvis company store has just opened in my area, so I made my way to the fly fishing department and beheld the array of new Helios rods on the display stand. When first I lofted the 8 weight, I was amazed at the sheer lightness of it. I expressed concerns about its ability to handle my favorite target, the rocketship of the flats known as the bonefish, but was reassured by the staff that this rod possessed the right stuff to bring these fish to hand. I was also comforted by the 25 year guarantee.
It was only when the salesman took me outside to a casting area and let me try it, that I was sold. That particular day, the wind was blowing at what I guessed at 15 mph. I was able to cast the entire 100 foot fly line downwind and all but 15 feet or so upwind. The strength of the rod seemed at polar opposites to its delicate feel, but it delivered in spades. I knew I would leave the store with the rod in an Orvis shopping bag. And I did!!
"