Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Helios™ 7-weight 10' Fly Rod—Tip Flex

3 1/8 oz. 10', 4-piece, Tip-Flex fly rod for 7-wt. line.We set out on an adventure to make the world's lightest fly fishing rod. Along the way, we also made the world's best.The new patent pending Helios fly rod is so far ahead of all other fly rods it skips generations in how a fly rod should feel, cast, and fish. Our steelhead rod is so sublimely light, incredibly responsive, deadly accurate, and just plain easy and enjoyable to cast that to compare it to other graphite rods is like comparing graphite to bamboo. There is no comparison. The Helios is that good. And everyone is noticing. Made in USA.This 10 foot fly rod offers extra length for improved line control and roll casting. Great Lakes and summer steelhead fisherman's dream. Ice cleans out of Recoil guides quickly and easily. A real plus when steelheading or trout fishing in cold conditions.
Average Customer Rating:
4.72 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
23 of 25(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Helios™ 7-weight 10' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Review 1 for Helios™ 7-weight 10' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Rod,
August 13, 2012
By: fife404
"The rod was recommended by my casting instructor along with a few others. Not having the opportunity to try it out beforehand I went online and looked at other reviews for this rod. Although it was the dearest suggested I 'm glad I spent the extra money buying it especially as I bought it at a promotional price although now having used it I would have paid the extra."
Review 2 for Helios™ 7-weight 10' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Light, but soft tip,
May 24, 2012
By: JTee
from New York, NY
"I cast a guide's rod while fishing the upper Delaware. I found that the extra length made the rid feel soft in the tip. I was longing for me 9'6" 6 weight Helios instead."
Review 3 for Helios™ 7-weight 10' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
First Negative Helios Experience,
March 13, 2012
By: WoodyNC
"I now own three Helios rods and while I can honestly say two of them are by far the best rods I've used in over 20 years of fishing, the 10ft 7wt has been a major disappointment. I bought this rod last summer before heading to Alaska thinking it would be versatile for numerous situations and species. Similar to my other Helios rods, it will enable you to effortlessly cast a significant amount of line, but it fails short on its feel and responsiveness as well as accuracy. I've now used this rod on several occasions and tried various line weigts and types hoping my opinion would change but I'm truly disappointed in this particular rod."
Review 4 for Helios™ 7-weight 10' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Perfect Steelhead Rod,
March 1, 2012
By: NNCC
from San Jose, CA
"This is absolutely the perfect single-handed Steelhead/Salmon rod on the market. Extremely lightweight, accurate, and does everything you want it to do. Cast it -- it will change your life!"
Review 5 for Helios™ 7-weight 10' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good power in 10 foot rod,
December 7, 2011
By: TenaciousP
"I bought this rod to use for GL steelhead. I wanted to replace a 9' 8wt with a 10' rod that could help protect the tippet a bit better.
My first attempt at a 10' 7wt left me thinking that a 10 foot rod would not have the backbone to move a few splitshot quickly in a single move. Sure I liked the extra foot for nymphing, but it felt like it added way to much "gelly" to the rod.
THEN, I updated to the Helios. Amazing... You get the benefit of a 10' rod but don't loose the control and ability to move a lot of line in the wind. It is by no means stiff. In fact it feels softer than the 9' model. It seems like the perfect balance between play and force.
It should be noted that I generally don't like very fast action rods. Even with the "tip" flex, this feels just right.
Hopefully I can get this out for schoolie stripers next summer!"
Review 6 for Helios™ 7-weight 10' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A rod that can do it all.,
July 29, 2011
By: Lillois
"I own this 10 foot 7 weight Helios for two years now. I fish for Atlantic salmon in Quebec, big rainbows on the Lower Sacramento and McCloud and steelhead on the Trinity... This rod can do it all!
It is light but well built and solid. It cast wonderfully, I never get tired of using it.
I caught 25 to 30 lbs Atlantic salmon with no problem at all, yet it is delicate and pleasant enough to land a 6 lbs steelhead or a 2 to 3 lbs rainbow.
I keep bringing many other rods during my fishing trip but always end up using my Helios...
I highly recommend that rod!
"
Review 7 for Helios™ 7-weight 10' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesomely awesome,
April 7, 2011
By: Haggis
from Cleveland, Ohio
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Hi,
Having grown up on the rivers of Scotland, I bought this rod for use while working in Cleveland Ohio along with a mirage reel.
What an incredibly light and quality casting rod, I love it. Perfect for the Steelheads or searching out that elusive trophy fish.
Don't try it just buy it!"
Review 8 for Helios™ 7-weight 10' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Simily the best,
April 26, 2010
By: coach32252
from Lafayette,la.
"I use this rod for bass and redfish--I have never thrown a better rod--matched with Battenkill reel and the bass big bug line----light enough to throw a heavy bass bug all day and still have the power to handle a 6 pound bass or a 8 pound red--the extra length let's you reach that tailing red before he spooks--simily the best rod on the market"
Review 9 for Helios™ 7-weight 10' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Fine Rod,
December 2, 2009
By: BKill
from Upstate NY
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Pricey? You bet it is, but the Helios 107 is also the finest steelhead stick I've ever had the good pleasure to fish.
Actually, it may be the very best rod I've fished ... regardless of length or line weight ... period."
Review 10 for Helios™ 7-weight 10' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great alaska rod,
November 17, 2009
By: magicman114
from Central Pa.
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"This rod can handle any trout or salmon Alaska can throw at it. Big silvers or Kivchak bow's are no problem,and at the end of a long day of casting you won't be fatigued.Swinging big flies or drifting is made easy."
Review 11 for Helios™ 7-weight 10' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My favorite fly rod,
October 13, 2009
By: justflyfishing
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"The orvis 10ft 7wt helios is the most responsive fly rod I have ever used. While fishing the salmon river in New York I landed a 30lb king salmon on this rod and it had plenty of backbone. These rods are cosmetically beautiful and are with a doubt the best fly rod on the planet. Try one and you will be impressed. Match this rod with one of the new Battenkill Large Arbor big game reels and you have a serious salmon/steelhead combo that will handle the biggest of freshwater species."
Review 12 for Helios™ 7-weight 10' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I Dream of Steelies,
June 2, 2009
By: flyfishingmack
from The Mountains, NC
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"My father and i took our first Steelie trip up to Michigan last fall and he purchased this rod for the trip. Unfortunately i couldn't talk him into buying two.
This rod is a steelheading machine. It handled the chuck & duck casts really well from the boat and when we waded, it handled the steelhead taper line easily and roll casted superbly. This rod is definately made with steelheading in mind.
Since then we have fished the famed striper run up the Roanoke River in eastern NC and the 10' 7wt threw a 300 grain sinking line like it was going out of style. There was know limit to how far the rod would cast the fly line only how far you could handle casting. Even the little 20" jacks felt great at the end of the Helios, what a fun rod. With the helios blank being so lite the 7wt is easy to cast all day and cast a long line really well. Its also a great rod for summer small mouth in the rivers down here in the south and fun to throw big poppers to the large mouth chilling out under the brush at our local farm pond.
"
Review 13 for Helios™ 7-weight 10' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
There are two forces in Nature that we experience,
March 15, 2009
By: SteelHQ
from Steelhead Alley, Ohio
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"There comes a time in everyone’s life when they make a decision to go the extra mile, to pamper and reward themselves, a time when you say; "hey, I’m worth it." It’s like buying that new car, only you get the Ferrari instead of the BMW, the crème de la crème so to speak.
Plato said it best; "There are three arts which are concerned with all things: one which uses, another which makes, and a third which imitates them." The Helios Zero Gravity fly rod by ORVIS is just that! The best of the best, and everything else is just an imitation of that craftsmanship, or an aspiration of what they want it to be.......
When I received the ZG Helios from ORVIS, and unwrapped the package. I took one look at the beautiful graphite woven rod tube, my pulse raced and I hungrily devoured the sight before my eyes! There was a brief moment where everything went quiet, and I held my breath as I removed the sock, and contents from that special place, securely nestled inside the protective tube.
Perfection is something that is obtained through countless hours, days, and even years of research and development! Some good wines are aged for a short while, and yet others are over 100 years old, and they all share some similar qualities. But some wines are even more palatable than their younger cousins. When you strive for perfection as ORVIS has since 1856, you come to learn a thing or two about the people who use those products. Their needs, their style, and most importantly the way they fish, and how they fish.
With the Helios 7 weight 10' ft. 4-piece fly rod, with a 9.5 flex tip, it’s sure to set new standards for Steelheaders and serious anglers across the globe, and will continue those standards for generations to come. ORVIS claims it’s the worlds best rod? Well, I claim it’s the center of the Universe when it comes to fly rod technology! This rod is by far, the most exquisite in my collection, almost bordering on classic art and futuristic form! I don’t know if I should fish with it, or hang it in my office, encased in safety glass!
From the delicate woven fiber graphite scrim technology, to the exclusive thermoplastic resin, once you pick it up you’ll notice right away that this is not your grandpa’s fly rod! It is far lighter than anything else on the market today, tomorrow, or even the future! This is where ORVIS has left the competition behind.
A few years back, ORVIS set out on a mission, to attempt to manufacture the worlds lightest fly rod, and thereby set some new standards in the industry. You see, the real problem with technology is, it can sometimes perform feats that are seemingly miraculous within the limits of physics, and the Helios has surpassed that in my estimation, by using futuristic Space Satellite Technology.
Sir Isaac Newton may be the founder of an explanation of Gravity, but when ORVIS named the Helios Zero Gravity, they understood the meaning of "acceleration due to gravity" theory, and you will to, once you pick one up and cast it for the first time, through the last cast of the day, it is an extension of oneself, and very easily the Best Fly Rod I’ve ever had the pleasure of fishing with for 9½ hours non stop. It is in my mind, the finest fly rod in my collection, and will be treasured for many years to come! With the first look and feel, you are instantly drawn in by the magnetism of the Zero Gravity fly rod from ORVIS!
"
Review 14 for Helios™ 7-weight 10' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Heavenly Helios!,
March 2, 2009
By: MrBill
from Edmond, OK
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I had a Zero G 107-4 fly rod that I thought was perfect for my trips to Alaska for big rainbows and char (and the occasional large mouth out of the local ponds), but then I picked up a ZG Helios in the same size and thought I had gone to Heaven. I replaced my Zero G with the Helios and found that perfection had been redefined!
Since I am on the north side of 60, I discovered a couple of extra benefits of having a Helios for us older guys. First, the lighter weight (over an ounce lighter than my Zero G) allows me to fish longer without getting tired. Second, the incredible performance advantage of this rod makes up for aging muscles that don't get to fish as often as I used to, but still allows me to keep the distance (in fact, has added distance) to my casts. It makes me feel younger and encourages me to get out there and fish more often. I truely am in fly fishing Heaven with my Helios!
Now I just need a 5 weight Helios for the trout streams in eastern Oklahoma and Arkansas......once you have found perfection, more is better!!!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Helios™ 7-weight 10' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Versatility, power and featherweight!,
February 18, 2009
By: mountaintrout
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"When I purchased this rod I was primarily thinking I would be steelhead fishing with it, but after casting it all day I soon realized the potential this rod has! I started using this helios to catch plump north eastern landlocked salmon and roll casting to smallmouth bass on summer tailwaters, along with continuing the initial reason for getting this rod: pursuing steelhead!
The ZGHelios 10' 7 weight has been a dream to fish with and I look forward to finding many more uses for this rod in the future! This is the most versatile rod I have ever owned!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Helios™ 7-weight 10' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The bees knees,
February 7, 2009
By: Stormy
from South Wales, United Kingdom
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Purchased 2 months ago have now found the rod I always wanted after fishing 40 years.
Has increased my distance casting by a good 10% but because of the incredible weight the rod can cast all day with a Di-7(It's still winter).
Can't wait to use with a floater and dries/buzzers.
One itsy bitsy moan there is no fly keeper ring,also every time I pick up the rod tube I get a small heart attack its so light it feels as if there is nothing in the tube.!!!!!!!!
Would recomend to anyone.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Helios™ 7-weight 10' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
perfect steelhead rod,
November 17, 2008
By: Danny13
"The only bad thing about buying this rod is that you will want to replace all of your rods with the Helios of the same length and line wt. Casts better than any 9ft rod I have ever had and gives you the extra foot which is nice to have when steelheadin' in the Great lakes tribs. I have 3 Helios rods now, the 8'4"3wt, the 9'6wt, and the one I am reviewing. I love them all. Well worth the investment."
Review 18 for Helios™ 7-weight 10' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Carp Rod!,
October 6, 2008
By: Sparkr
"Went on a quest to create a carp rod package and tried other brands only to come back to a Helios. Initially, tried a 9 ft. 7.0 and found that I loved it, but didn't have a chance to try the 10 ft. until a little later. After casting both, it was a difficult decision and advantages to each. Still, when it was all done with my LA Battenkill IV the balance was just a little better with the 10 ft. which offered a bit more alternative uses. What I found most interesting is that along with Helios 9 ft. 8 wt. I have a great med. wt. salt package and a great heavy fresh water package. The 10 ft. 7.0 casts like a dream and seems to have a bit nice taper to the end with a 9.5 flex. Just try it for yourself. I'm sure I'll end up using it when I would have even used a 6 wt.. It also offer the backbone for the carp I intend it for."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Helios™ 7-weight 10' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfection in motion,
October 5, 2008
By: Bilbo
from Steelhead Alley NW Pennsylvania
"O.K. what more can be said about PERFECTION! This is absolutely the greatest fly rod I’ve ever purchased PERIOD! The first time I took this rod out it felt so delicate and fragile I was afraid to cast it. Once I got over the initial fear and started to work the rod it was amazing this is an absolutely incredible fly rod. It’s so delicate and light, and super responsive. This rod will improve your casting ability 150%. I purchased this rod for Lake Erie Steelhead and in my opinion this rod will rule the stream. END OF DISCUSSION."
Review 20 for Helios™ 7-weight 10' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect for the big D,
July 11, 2008
By: Steelhead23
from Portland, OR
"I fish Oregon's Deschutes River for steelhead at least 15 days each year. Fishing techniques range from swinging wets through large arcs of river to drifing nymphs along underwater ledges and other holding spots during those long sunny afternoons. The Helios 10 for 7 does them all beautifully. No rod, none, nada is better for nymphing and few can match its casting prowess. And in its 4-piece configuration, perfect for tossing in the pack and bicycling down Macks Canyon. You're gonna love it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.