Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Kettle Hill Fur Felt Hat

Bully hat! Handsome, warm, and naturally water repellent, our durable yet velvety soft 100% rabbit fur felt hat takes the shape you give it. A braided horsehair hatband—a replica of one in Roosevelt's museum—and satin lining provide a dignified contrast; a cool interior cotton/polyester headband gives a comfortable fit. 3½" brim. Men's fur felt hat in taupe. Spot clean. Shipped to USA only. Made in USA.Sizes: S(6¾-6⅞), M(7-7⅛), L(7¼-7⅜), XL(7½-7⅝)
Average Customer Rating:
4.458 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
22 of 24(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Kettle Hill Fur Felt Hat
Review 1 for Kettle Hill Fur Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stylish,
March 23, 2015
By: D35Martin
from SE USA
"Fine, Quality Product. The Kettle Fur (rabbit, I believe) Hat is a dressy, somewhat delicate, Classy, with a great, Go With Anything Color ( taupe)... Not as Stiff as Beaver, but able to maintain its structure well. I wear it without the center crease/fold on top, i like it that way. The Medium is good, 5'7, 165lbs, 7 1/4 hat sz, I think....Recd some Compliments first time out, church..."
Review 2 for Kettle Hill Fur Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warm and comfortable,
February 12, 2015
By: Perdido
from North Central, NM
"My wife gave me one for Christmas and I loved it. Unfortunately I lost it when it blew out of the back of my pickup.
I immediately ordered another one.
The hats are stylish, warm and comfortable.
My wife tells me it looks great with the Teddy Roosevelt coat I bought when I didn't get one for Christmas.
I'm all set."
Review 3 for Kettle Hill Fur Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Kettle Hill Fur Felt Hat,
February 11, 2015
By: rocket1
from Santa Fe, NM
"I am a Teddy Roosevelt fan and appreciate the Orvis Roosevelt Collection. I am proud to wear the had. It is a soft fur felt but will hold it's shape when a little steam applied."
Review 4 for Kettle Hill Fur Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This hat is fur real.,
February 11, 2015
By: livewell
"Great fit, great look. You can shape it into many different looks."
Review 5 for Kettle Hill Fur Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Light Weight, But Warm,
January 29, 2015
By: Perdido
from North Central, NM
"This hat came as a present. I love the cut, shape and weight of the hat. It's a rabbit felt so it's not stiff, but the brim trim keeps it shaped nicely.
I don't care for the stretch band/ sweat liner but that's not a big drawback, I just prefer leather.
The one given was accidentally blown out of the truck and lost.
I immediately ordered another.
Order the smaller size for your head.
"
Review 6 for Kettle Hill Fur Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Just What I Was Looking For!,
January 23, 2015
By: Weimguy
from Washington, DC
"Very pleased with quality of hat, a little softer than I expected, personal shaping will be an issue but it will keep my squash warm and dry. Service was superb, had to exchange original for smaller size and new hat arrived in two days."
Review 7 for Kettle Hill Fur Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product,
January 20, 2015
By: LookingforQualityshopper
from Washington, DC
"A great hat to accompany a long winter coat or a field jacket. I've been stopped twice in two weeks asking where I got the hat. It is a well made hat that makes a statement."
Review 8 for Kettle Hill Fur Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A Hat for the ages....,
December 27, 2014
By: CapeCodder02738
from MA
"I bought this hat as a Christmas present for my husband. Although it is expensive it is definitely high-quality and he loves it. It seems really well made. The tassel on the back is a bit big (you can't see this in the catalog picture)but other than that no complaints."
Review 9 for Kettle Hill Fur Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love the hat style!,
December 25, 2014
By: 1011dvw
from Norfolk, Va.
"I ordered this hat, tried it on and it was too tight, so, I returned it. I liked the style so much I reorded it. I understand that it can be steamed and stretched a bit. You should really offer the hat in XXL. Overall, very nice hat."
Review 10 for Kettle Hill Fur Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice brim,
December 18, 2014
By: ECstyle
from Bronx, NY
"I like everything about this hat: quality, style, and fit."
Review 11 for Kettle Hill Fur Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Teddy's Kettle Hat,
December 17, 2014
By: Coileane
from Livermore, CA
"The hat is a soft rabbit fur, waterproof, warm and comfortable,
between a Western cowboy style and Eastern outdoorsman.
If it set off Theodore Roosevelt at his Western ranch, that's good enough for me, I wear my hat proudly but carry a big stick
"
Review 12 for Kettle Hill Fur Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The best,
December 9, 2014
By: Clancyboy
"Craftsmanship still exist in Fall River, MA . Highly recommend this product. Wears well,looks fantastic Buy American!!!!"
Review 13 for Kettle Hill Fur Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
One of the best purchases,
November 3, 2014
By: ChrisJsr
"The hat is very good quality and sits
well, also the fact that is made in the US. I am very happy with this purchase.
"
Review 14 for Kettle Hill Fur Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice hat!,
October 15, 2014
By: Fugg
from Texas
"I've been wanting this hat for a long time. Gave my old hat to a dear person and purchased this one to replace. It will be my go to on fall trips and upland hunting."
Review 15 for Kettle Hill Fur Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Best,
September 24, 2014
By: survey
"Great quality, Great fit
I have purchased 2 of these hats
One for work and one for play
You will not be disappointed !
"
Review 16 for Kettle Hill Fur Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ketle Hill Fur Felt Hat,
September 18, 2013
By: Believer
from Los Alamos, New Mexico
"This is my second Orvis hat. The first is 3 years old Orvis Trail Rider and still in good shape. I find the Kettle Hill fur hat very comfortable, attractive, and serviceable in New Mexico as it has a wide brim all around that protects me from the sun and snow. One thing -it does not curl up at the brim like the illustration shows. Rather, the brim drops just a little that allows rain to run off. It's useful that way and quite attractive and masculine."
Review 17 for Kettle Hill Fur Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TR Hat,
March 1, 2013
By: JohnnieP
from Stuart, Va.
"This is a great hat which is stylish and comfortable to wear."
Review 18 for Kettle Hill Fur Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Beautiful hat,
December 25, 2012
By: M3TC
"I bought this hat for its great looks of course but also for the 4" brim described on the site. Unfortunately the brim is just 3 inches. A disappointment. Somebody please make this correction. Despite that, I'm still glad I made the purchase. If you guys decide to make this same hat with a wider brim, please let me know."
Review 19 for Kettle Hill Fur Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Dissatisfied,
November 12, 2012
By: Curly23Girl
from California
"Last item we'll buy from Orvis. Disappointed. The quality of Orvis items are made from cheap material and overpriced."
Review 20 for Kettle Hill Fur Felt Hat
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
poor quality,
October 29, 2012
By: Onestraightshooter
"Hat very flimsy, needs some quality beaver added to keep shape."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.