Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Helios™ 4-weight 9' Fly Rod—Mid Flex

2 1/8 oz. 9', 4-piece, Mid-Flex 8.0 fly rod for 4-wt. line, We set out on an adventure to make the world's lightest fly fishing rod. Along the way, we also made the world's best.The Mid Flex version of the 904-4 Helios offers a more traditional casting style combined with the length and power to fish any large stream or river in the world. As with the 904-4 Tip Flex, the Mid Flex combines extraordinary lightweight and sensitivity with remarkable power to offer the angler perhaps one of the best large stream rods ever made. There is nothing on the market today that can compare to Helios graphite technology and the proof is in the casting. If you're looking for that perfect big water trout rod, cast both the Mid and Tip Flex and you'll surely find the rod of your dreams. Made in USA.The fly rods of choice for dry-fly and nymph fishing medium-sized rivers.
Average Customer Rating:
4.529 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
16 of 17(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Helios™ 4-weight 9' Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Review 1 for Helios™ 4-weight 9' Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect for the Rocky Mountains,
March 12, 2012
By: ScottGraham
"For years, a 9-foot 5-weight has been the 'go-to' rod for fly fishing the Rocky Mountains. For me, the Helios 9-foot 4-weight is my new rod of choice. It's super light, perfectly accurate when presenting a dry fly, and extremely powerful when switching to a nymph or streamer. In my opinion, Orvis has once again raised the bar with this fly rod!
-Scott Graham
Professional Guide, North Park Anglers, Walden, Colorado
"
Review 2 for Helios™ 4-weight 9' Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Versatile beyond expectations,
July 30, 2009
By: Sylvaneous
from Western PA
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I got the 904 mid flex upon recommendation of a friend who fished with one. I wanted a 4 pc. that I could pack given the new luggage restrictions on airplanes. The Helios rods have been pretty fast or stiff rods across the spectrum with the mid flex being favored by fishermen whom I know. I expected to use this 4 weight as a 5 weight and a 6 weight back-up. I fished it one day with a 5 wt line at medium distances and it performed excellently. The rest of the week, I fished a 6 + wt FWD line and this light 4 wt. handled it with aplomb. It bent a little further down the rod on the cast and I had to wait just a hair longer for the line to straighten, but this rod didn't fold. 60 foot casts and more were really not much of a chore with this heavy line on a 4 wt. rod. It didn't cast any of the lines with a really tight loop, but it had great energy transfer and recovery. Its casting was astoundingly consistent over a range of line weights and distances. Despite the more open loop than some other rods, distance and accuracy were no problems. The energy transfer and recovery allowed by the new rod material allowed for a more open loop that prevented tangles with double nymph and dry-and-dropper rigs that I used most all week. Tangles were nearly non-existent. Accurate casting became very natural once I got used to the rod: look to the spot, and the fly goes there. The rod is also quite tough. I put the heave on some big browns and rainbows in heavy current and some that were making it for brush piles and downed spruce trees. I had that thing bent over and didn't sense that I was taxing the rod. $800 is a dear price to pay for a fishing rod, but if any deserve a price near this, the Helios does. Top notch in all respects, even if the gold reel seat nut is a little gaudy."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Helios™ 4-weight 9' Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It really is that good,
August 18, 2011
By: FeatherFly
from Northern California
"After spending a couple days fishing this rod exclusively I understand why it has won all the awards it has over the last couple of years. This rod is truly awesome. I opted for the mid-flex model and it delivers remarkable feel and power. It is amazing how light and well balanced the rod is. From a double nymph rig with split shot and an indicator, to a dry dropper, to size 20 dry flies this rod does it all... and it does it wonderfully. It is certainly not cheap, but if you can swing it you won't be disappointed. I can honestly say I've never cast another rod like it."
Review 4 for Helios™ 4-weight 9' Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feels like a 2 weight, fights like a 8 weight,
May 14, 2011
By: MontanaJim
from Helena, MT
"Light. fast. smooth. greatly reduces hand/arm fatigue. handles nymph rigs or large salmon flies with ease. makes mid air cast corrections a breeze to complete! When you cast correctly, this rod responds so well and lets you feel it so quickly, it engrains proper technique every time you cast. This 4 weight casts so well and fights big fish with such ease, it's become my number 1 rod. I waited two years to write this because I needed to give the rod a good test drive before doing a review. It's going on season #3 with no issues (including two winter seasons)."
Review 5 for Helios™ 4-weight 9' Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love at First Cast,
November 9, 2009
By: CharlieB
from Pittsburgh, PA
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have a 9 ft. 4 wt. midflex. It was love at first cast in the flyshop parking lot. It was even better on the water. It's incredibly light. It loads easily in close but really casts beautifully out to at least 60 feet (maybe longer, no reason to even try that in PA). It tracks perfectly with zero wobble in the tip. It really allows terrific casting accuracy. It really shines as a dry fly rod. Excellent protection of light tippets. It balances perfectly with a Battenkill barstock 3/4."
Review 6 for Helios™ 4-weight 9' Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
VERY LONG, NIMBLE 4WT.,
April 24, 2009
By: ALLABOUTTROUT
from EVERETT, WASHINGTON
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I ORDERED THIS ROD WITH THE 864-4 HELIOS AND I DID NOT PERSONALLY CARE FOR THIS ROD. IT FELT WAY TOO "SOFT" FOR ME. IT IS GREAT FOR DELICATE PRESENTATIONS IN CLOSE, BUT ON LONGER CASTS IT FELT TOO "SPONGY". I PREFERRED THE 864-4 AND WHEN I PUT THE 4WT POWERTAPER FLY LINE ON BOTH OF THE RODS, THE 904-4 FELT REALLY OVERLOADED. IT IS STRANGE SINCE THIS HAS A 8.0 MID-FLEX AND THE 864-4 HAS A 6.5 MID-FLEX WHICH IS SUPPOSED TO BE SLOWER. ANYHOW, EVERYONE LIKES SOMETHING DIFFERENT AND I FEEL IT IS STILL AN EXCELLENT ROD FOR THOSE WHO WANT A HELIOS WITH A SOFTER FEEL."
Review 7 for Helios™ 4-weight 9' Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
How not to treat your new friend,
March 2, 2009
By: JJB2
from Long Valley, NJ
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
""I bought my new Helios while fishing in the Catskills of NY last year. I stopped by my favorite Orvis dealer and after a brief throw or two...I was hooked on this beautiful rod.
I was spending the weekend with my son and family on my birthday weekend in late April. I purchased the rod and new large arbor reel and went right out to the Beaverkill the same day. It wasn't too long that I realized that of the 4 Orvis rods I own, this one is majic. I mean it is so light and so well balanced I could throw it all day. I have never casted so well.
My story began about an hour into our fishing on the stream. My wife and daughter who wanted to enjoy the weekend with me, asked to go get their nails done in town and being that we only had one vehicle, she wanted me to take her into town. Well she stopped by the stream where she dropped us off (an hour earlier) and politely beeped the horn. My son and I walked out of the water and up the short berm to our suburban. I quickly took my new Helios and my son's 8 Foot Trout rod and set them on the roof of my truck. We took our boots off and vests and placed them in the back of the truck. As my wife and daughter waited inside the warm truck.
My son and I felt the pressure of the moment and we shut the back door and jumped in. As my wife pulled out of the drive and down the road I heard the sickening sound of my new rod and my son's bink, bonk, bink and off the roof they came ...on the road, at about 30 miles an hour.
Now I must tell you that I am 45 years old and tied flies with my father at 11 years old and never, never, treated my fly fishing gear in such an ungraceful manor but I can't tell you how sick I felt. At that moment I knew my rod and my marriage, just hit the hard pavement!
My wife looked at me and quickly stopped the vehicle. I jumped out and ran to my friend on the road and quickly realized it had gashes in the cork handle and scratches down the entire rod length. I could have cried.
My son's rod was worse. The reels had deep wounds and scuffs where they slid down the road.
Well, I took my rod and reel right back the Orvis dealer and the owner was shocked to hear my story.
I never used the rod repair service that Orvis provides, but I was ready with two patients!
My son and I fished the rest of the weekend in solitude and sadness but my wife's nails did look nice I guess.
That week end I sent my rod and reels back to Orvis and in May, yes May, I had both rods back in less than three weeks. My Helios rod is perfectly repaired and I think I got a new 8 foot trout rod replacing the other.
Thank you Orvis for a life time of enjoyment. I love nothing more than standing in the middle of a beautiful stream with my best friends, my son, and our wonderful Orvis rods.""
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Helios™ 4-weight 9' Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My Second Helios,
February 23, 2009
By: DustyPages
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My second Helios was the 904-4 mid flex. I wanted a rod that could do everything and anything with small flies; be it a lake, a small stream or a large river. I especially wanted help fishing a small lake I frequent that requires long casts with spotty at best room to back cast ( only bank fishing is allowed). The trout receive more pressure then any still water, or tail water for that matter, I am aware of. The spin fishers with their live bait and bubble floats with flies to get distance along with the fly fishers keep these trout well educated and on their toes. The fish have also learned to stay away from any proximity to the bank. There are some flies that hatch larger than #20s, but not many and sporadically. For the most part, 22's to 26's are the best producers. Long casts with fourteen foot leaders, and 7 and 8x tippets, and very small flies is what it takes to consistently catch fish. Prior to my Helios 904-4, I would attempt this with 5 and 6 wt rods to get the distance, but it was next to impossible for me to get the fish to the net on 7 and 8x tippets. Plus these heaver wt. rods were not much fun to fish like this, and with lighter wt rods I could not get the distance I needed to put my fly where the fish were. Well, let me tell you, I am now considered one of the best fishers on this lake! People can not believe my catch (and release) rate. With my 904-4 med flex, I get all the distance I need and it protects my tippets. An added bonus, I am now more able to make those controlled, tricky back casts; threading my line through tree branches to keep from losing my flies. I am so pleased with my Helios 904-4 mid flex, and I am so pleased with my improved performance."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Helios™ 4-weight 9' Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great balanced rod,
February 6, 2009
By: cutty42
from WY
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Love this rod!! The pmd hatch on the South Fork of the Snake in Idaho is a great hatch, with big yellowstone cutts and browns sliding up into the shallow riffles late morning to start feeding. You can often spot and target the best fish in the group, but you better be ready to give him the perfect, delicate presentation. That's where the Helios comes in. A light, strong rod that can handle itself if there's a breeze in the canyon, but soft enough to deliver your size 18 pmd cripple on 5x just right for that big, fat cutty. It is a fantastic rod in many situations, but when on the riffles, the Helios is the ultimate weapon."
Video Review:
a smaller cutt, from cast to hookset and landing
Review 10 for Helios™ 4-weight 9' Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
February 3, 2009
By: Apachetrout
Good Value: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I recently bought the 904/4 mid flex Helios rod and must say is as near perfect as 4 wt. I have ever owned. It seems like this rod and the Rio Gold WF 4 line were made for each other. I have a Z Axis 4904/ and like it very much but I think the Helios is a lighter better casting rod. This rod will cast 20' of line with percision and then throw 70' of line with little or no effort. It also cast s larger flies and indicator rigs great. I mainly use a 4 wt. for most of my trout, bass and panfish fishing and this rod will get allot of use. For the most part this rod lives up to all the hype this series has gotten. My only complaint is the finish on the guide and ferrule wraps. It is way too thick and uneven on several wraps. The finish work on this rod is average. But it does not effect the way the rod casts. Over all a great rod. Also love the reel seat, REC did a great job with this one. I have owned many Orvis rods in the past and the Helios series are the best rods Orvis has ever produced."
Review 11 for Helios™ 4-weight 9' Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Absolutely Amazing Rod,
October 15, 2008
By: RunnerRiver
from Boise, ID
"I had extraordinarily high expectations for this rod. After researching it and reading various reviews, as well as meeting with Orvis Field Guides, this rod did not disappoint at all. It is exceptional in every facet of the game. I was able to fish the Middle Fork of the Salmon River with exciting results. The rod is perfect."
Review 12 for Helios™ 4-weight 9' Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
even better than i'd thought,
August 23, 2008
By: gilbar
"Just bought this 909-4 helios. I figured that it'd be nice, but never suspected HOW nice. It casts great, and presents the fly even better"
Review 13 for Helios™ 4-weight 9' Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Really disappointed,
May 9, 2008
By: Anonymous
"After reading reviews and magizines I ordered the 4 wt 8.0 mid flex to go with my z-axis 5 wt and was excited to get in in the over night mail. When I begin to put it together however, I was extremely disappointed with the quality at the points of contact with the other pieces. They tell youto match up the dots and that they will not ever meet, but in my case they could not get closer than over an inch apart between any of the pieces. This left a rough poor quality look on the completed 4 piece rod. I heard that some of these early rods were recalled due to breakage and I can see why if this is the best they can do. I was hoping for more........."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamMay 12, 2008
Orvis Customer Service immediately contacted this customer and apologized that the spacing on this rod made it appear low quality and explained that the reason for the spacing is to reduce tension that could break the rod. Orvis offered to exchange this item or give a complete refund. We will cheerfully exchange or refund your purchase at any time, for any reason. Our 100% Satisfaction Guarantee is the strongest in the business.
Review 14 for Helios™ 4-weight 9' Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Superb rod,
April 24, 2008
By: GreenSandpiper
from Cumbria, England
"I already own a Zero Gravity 904-4, which is a first class rod. After reading the early reviews of the ZG Helios I was intrigued to see if it matched the very complimentary words that were being written about it and also to see how it compared to the original Zero Gravity.
The Helios is perfect for casting a dry fly on medium to large rivers. It is very light, accurate and responsive. The quality of it's manufacture is very high, with lovely blanks, good cork handle and first class lightweight fittings. It appears that a great deal of research and development has gone into it.
Because of it's lightness, it can get blown about by a strong wind and in this regard it comes second to the original Zero Gravity. I also prefer the latter for nymphing with heavy nymphs or when using more than one. The Helios is in it's element when searching upstream runs and glides with a single lightweight nymph. It also recovers more quickly than the original Zero Gravity when casting.
The mid - flex actions of both rods are much more enjoyable than stiff tip actioned rods.
I recently used the Helios on the first warm day of Spring in the Upper Eden valley. The day consisted of warm sunshine, Kingfishers, Dippers, Lapwings, Curlews, Primroses etc. and some superb wild brownies. I used the Helios to cast a small dry fly all day in beautiful surroundings and it fitted perfectly. At the end of the day I felt no strain from casting for over five hours. It is a very easy rod to use.
Is it better than the Zero Gravity ? That depends upon your personal point of view. If you only have room for one rod you must choose the one that suits your requirements best. Personally, I have found both rods to be far ahead of anything else on the market. They are slightly different to each other and each has it's strengths without any real weaknesses. Price is important but, rest assured, both are outstanding value, particularly when compared to competitors.
You can believe all the reviews; the Helios is that good. So too is the original Zero Gravity."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Helios™ 4-weight 9' Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
versitile,
April 18, 2008
By: JATSTANIC
from Derbyshire, England
"What a cracking rod, with a #4 throwing delicate little dries or chucking nymphs and spiders! Stick a #5 on it and it laps it up throwing big flies highly recomended"
Review 16 for Helios™ 4-weight 9' Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Orvis Helios #4 9',
April 1, 2008
By: stig
"I have been looking forward to compare the new 9' #4 from Orvis with my until now favorite Winston BIIx. I can say right away, I'll find room for both of them.
The helios is so easy casting, with such a great action, that it will be a dreamrod for many fishermen in medium to big trout waters.
First of all this is meant to be a dryfly rod, but after having cast beadheads too, I'm sure I will leave my #5 rod home for many trips,
The only thing that bugs me just a little bit, is in my hands the oversized grip....I simply made it the shape I wanted on my own, and I have even more feel with the rod, just like on my beautiful Winston rods. I'm in love with this Helios rod allready, simple as that, it may not fish as well with just some feet of line out, as my BIIx, but man does this rod come alive with just some more line out, and it is a true #4 rod.
I use SA Sharkskin #4 on it, and it loads easy, and carry a lot of line easy, and shoots like a dream.
Underhand casting the same easy task.
And all this without feeling stiffish and uncomfortable in any distance.
I read that someone was not sattisfied with the cork quality, I can only say that we must have seen different rods, mine is perfect. As good as any.
This is beatiful craftmanship, though I normally don't care too much about those details, I fancy the way a rod works for it purpose: Load an unload.
I highly recomend this rod, it deffinately can stand the price level...even here in Norway.
Thanks Orvis! I finally found a rod that fit my perfect from first stroke.
"
Review 17 for Helios™ 4-weight 9' Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Better Than Zero G ?,
March 24, 2008
By: ukmric1
from Northamptonshire England
"Fished my 4wt 9ft Helios for the first time today, rigged with gen 3 wonderline WF4, I can not really feel any noticeable differance to my last years Zero G apart from obvious lighter weight, Orvis need to improve quality of cork on handle it is still behind other rods at this premium price, in the UK this rod is £579. Really beautiful is the only way to describe the rest of the rod and tube, so please address quality of cork! I will take this rod back for refund if any more filler comes out of handle. I am going to give the Helios in 5 and 6wt a try to see if they are streets ahead of last years Zero G or is it just marketing hype. Please see my other reviews as I really am a very loyal Orvis customer with many fine rods purchased over 20 years, and I really want the Helios to be as good as it gets but at this moment I am not convinced with this new range. I still had a very enjoyable days fishing with this rod but bottom line is not convinced this rod is worth the premium and especially if cork is at this poor level. In this line weight try a Superfine 8ft for 4 wt as it is a great rod that packs a hidden punch for £200 less"