Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Helios™ 3-weight 8'4" Fly Rod—Mid Flex

2 oz. 8'4", 4-piece, Mid-Flex fly rod for 3-wt. line.We set out on an adventure to make the world's lightest fly fishing rod. Along the way, we also made the world's best.This is the mid-flex version of the classic 8-foot 4-inch 3-weight dry fly rod. The simple difference is where the rod is designed to bend—the mid-flex offers a bit more of a traditional feel. The length offers the casting control of a medium-length rod, but is still long enough to allow excellent reach for mending line. The 3-weight handles any size dry fly and allows you to drop a fly with delicacy and precision in just the right place. Helios is by far the most remarkable advance in graphite technology, offering effortless casts, startling accuracy, and presentations that are sure to improve your efficiency, yet this fly fishing rod has more than enough strength to handle big broad-shouldered trout. If dry flies are your passion, this rod will be the love of your life.The perfect fly rod for fishing small streams. Extreme accuracy. Lightest weight. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 of 12(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Helios™ 3-weight 8'4" Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Review 1 for Helios™ 3-weight 8'4" Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rocky Mountain Favorite,
December 26, 2012
By: zencast
from Wyoming & Colorado
"This is one of my all time favorites and just a fabulous trout rod. It nestles nicely into the power vs. finesse curve of Rocky Mountain fly fishing: mosquitos, gnats, crustaceans, streamers, droppers, dinkers, hogs, you name it. It’s glued to my hand until the wind knocks my hat off.
I fish this as a light 4wt and still think it's pretty fast with those lines. While no doubt the top of the three range would be fine, presentations under 25 feet are usually a priority.
If you always fish 9’ rods you will be amazed at how much fun and precision you get from a little less length. I have owned quite a few 8’6” 4wts, including two of the top five rods in a recent prominent “4wt Shootout” article. This rod, which was not tested, should be at or near the top of that list."
Review 2 for Helios™ 3-weight 8'4" Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The best dry fly rod ever,
June 22, 2012
By: Olejohan
from Roros; Norway
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I purchased the rod on saturday 16 of June 2012, in Roros in Norway fished with it in a beautiful river called the Haaelven and caught 10 graylings and two trout on that very first day. The biggest trout was 3 pounds. The rod is by far the best rod ever, and i have about 70 flyrods and among them 5 Orvis rods. The rod casts absolutely pinpoint accurate, and it has the backbone to deliver the dry fly precisely at distances of 25 meters."
Review 3 for Helios™ 3-weight 8'4" Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hours of Enjoyment,
January 12, 2011
By: PGACHS
from Alpharetta, GA
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I bought this rod not knowing exactly what I was getting into, just that it was considered by many to be the best in fly fishing. The first time I took it out, I realized how much I enjoyed my new Helios. It threw everything from a size 10 bh wolly bugger, to a size 22 griffins gnat with ease. The line gets out faster than any other rod I own. I enjoy the rod best when throwing small dry flies, but it can be used for an entire day throwing small streamers, weighted nymphs, and dry flies."
Review 4 for Helios™ 3-weight 8'4" Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Class of its Own,
August 10, 2009
By: JohnJA
from California
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"When I had a chance to cast a Helios at the 2008 Nor Cal fly fishing show, I thought it would be fun to try out one of those extremely expensive rods that I would never own.
After ten years of fly fishing, it did not occur to me that one rod could make a huge difference in my casting. Three minutes later, I had added fifteen feet to my casting range while increasing accuracy. For the last eight years I had been fishing with a Sage LL three weight. I loved (and still love) the feel of that rod, but he Helios retained the feel of the soft LL while adding yards to my range. I still prefer the softness of the LL when it comes to small fish, but the Helios has the backbone to land trout over 20 inches.
With the Helios line, Orvis has regained their place as a producer of first rate flyfishing gear.
But now to the price. Yes I did manage to secure a not exactly brand new 9.0 mid flex 3 wt.. It is a long story, but through a series of fortunate circumstances, it ended up costing much less than retail for a new rod. My Helios is a wonderful rod, but unless you don't need to every worry about making your rent payment....
If I win the lottery, I will end up with three or four more Helioses. (Or is it Heliai.)"
Review 5 for Helios™ 3-weight 8'4" Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look No Further For A 3 WT,
March 18, 2009
By: Doug
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"This is simply the finest rod that I’ve ever owned!
Our tackle was at our feet as we waited for the turntable to deliver our luggage inside the air terminal. A passing traveler looked at my rod tube, smiled and gave me a nod of recognition.
While catching a late meal in a local restaurant, a medical doctor began to quiz me about the attributes of my Helios. “Is it really as good as they say?” My reply, “Want to hold it?”
(Photo) A gentle roll cast places a BWO just upstream from a fallen cedar. Fishing the Holy Water just east of Grayling, Michigan can be a once in a lifetime experience. I find using this rod, complemented perfectly with a CFO II reel, makes casting as effortless as waving to a partner downstream.
Maybe I should have attached a photo taken this past fall in the White Mountains of Arizona. It’s early morning and the mist is just beginning to clear on a “catch and release” lake they call Earl Park. I was told that my 3WT was probably too light for the fish in this lake. Having read the reviews, I just smiled in return. Moments later, the Blue Dunn Superfine reaches out twenty-five feet and the leader down an additional thirteen more. I am mesmerized by the stillness in the air and by elk whistling on a nearby mountain pasture. Suddenly my rod is bent nearly in half! Over the next five minutes my stick accurately communicates to me every move the trout makes deep underwater. The rest is history.
For bass to brookies, I reach first for my Helios.
Oh, and should the unthinkable happen to you as it did to me and someone destroys your prized possession – Orvis will be there as promised!"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Helios™ 3-weight 8'4" Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Simply the Finest!,
March 9, 2009
By: Doug
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"This is simply the finest rod that I’ve ever owned.
Our tackle was at our feet as we waited for the turntable to deliver our luggage inside the air terminal. A passing traveler looked at my rod tube, smiled and gave me a nod of recognition.
While catching a late meal in a local restaurant, a medical doctor began to quiz me about the attributes of my Helios. “Is it really as good as they say?” My reply, “Want to hold it?”
(Photo) A gentle roll cast places a BWO just upstream from a fallen cedar. Fishing the Holy Water just east of Grayling, Michigan can be a once in a lifetime experience. I find using this rod, complemented perfectly with a CFO II reel, makes casting as effortless as waving to a partner downstream.
Maybe I should have attached a photo taken this past fall in the White Mountains of Arizona. It’s early morning and the mist is just beginning to clear on a “catch and release” lake they call Earl Park. I was told that my 3WT was probably too light for the fish in this lake. Having read the reviews, I just smiled in return. Moments later, the Blue Dunn Superfine reaches out twenty-five feet and the leader down an additional thirteen more. I am mesmerized by the stillness in the air and by elk whistling on a nearby mountain pasture. Suddenly my rod is bent nearly in half! Over the next five minutes my stick accurately communicates to me every move the trout makes deep underwater. The rest is history.
For bass to brookies, I reach first for my Helios.
Oh, and should the unthinkable happen to you as it did to me and someone destroys your prized possession – Orvis will be there as promised!"
Review 7 for Helios™ 3-weight 8'4" Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My Helios Journey Begins,
February 19, 2009
By: DustyPages
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"During my fifty years as an avid fly fisher I had never owned an Orvis rod. I have always desired the lightest rod possible, so after reading the Helios advertisements, I decided to check them out. When I picked up the 843-4 mid flex in an Orvis store I knew it was real light and when I cast it outside I knew it was really special. It only took one day of fishing it for me to see just how special this rod is. I spend most of my time fishing Midwestern Spring creeks. The trout are very shy and skittish. The best approach is to stay as far away as possible, keep the cast low, your line speed high and your accuracy on a dime. Prior to the Helios, I would try to get as close as possible and keep my profile very low,but it was very difficult to do a side arm cast to keep the line low. Consequently, more times than I care to admit, I would spook fish. I had to use this approach because I could not cast the distance needed. Now, I stay at the very back of a pool, fish the tail out, then the mid section, and the very head without having to move, thus decreasing my chance on spooking fish. I can generate enough line speed casting side arm over the water I already fished to achieve the distance I need to fish the pool completely from the tail to the head. I could not do this consistently with other comparable rods I owned. An added bonus, my accuracy with 16 foot leaders has improved so much that I tell my self, after all these years, I have finally turned out to be a pretty good caster. It is amazing how a really good rod can make you feel about your casting."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Helios™ 3-weight 8'4" Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
AWESOME 3 WEIGHT ROD!,
August 14, 2008
By: ALLABOUTTROUT
from EVERETT, WASHINGTON
"I HAVE TO FIRST SAY THAT I HAVE ALWAYS HAD SHORTER RODS FOR SMALL STREAMS (7 1/2') OR SHORTER. I PICKED THIS ROD UP AT THE DEALER AND CAST IT AND WAS VERY IMPRESSED BY THE CASTING DISTANCE WITH A 3 WT LINE. I BOUGHT IT AND THE 7' 4WT. I STILL WAS NOT COMFORTABLE WITH IT FOR AWHILE, UNTIL I STARTED CASTING IT MORE AND THEN REALIZED HOW SMOOTH AND HOW MUCH LINE CONTROL , DISTANCE, AND ACCURACY THE LONGER ROD OFFERED. I SOON UNDERSTOOD ALL THE ADVANTAGES OF A LONGER ROD WITH A LIGHT LINE ON A SMALL STREAM. I HAVE TO SAY THAT THIS IS NOW ONE OF MY FAVORITE SMALL STREAM RODS. THE HELIOS IS TRULY THE BEST FLY ROD IN THE WORLD."
Review 9 for Helios™ 3-weight 8'4" Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My new favourite rod,
July 27, 2008
By: Muskrat
from Oakville, ON
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"This rod is unbelievable. It is so light, yet so powerful and deadly accurate. The feel while casting is outstanding: with the rod loaded, the line in your hand ready to haul, your eyes locked several feet ahead of the last rise, everything meshes better than you would think possible. The rod balances perfectly when paired with the Battenkill Large Arbor 1. This 843-4 mid is my new favourite rod when targeting 8-14" trout in small streams. Even so, I've caught up to a 22" Brown, and it performed beyond what I would have expected a mid-flex 3 wt to be able to handle. If this is the type of fishing you do most often, get yourself one soon."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Helios™ 3-weight 8'4" Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Helios 3wt,
July 7, 2008
By: Thom
from Buffalo
"Anyone looking at the rod will see the quality of the finish right down to the beautiful cork in grip. You have to cast the rod a bit to go beyond the aesthetics to see what the technological advances in this rod have done.
The rod is very axis specific, that is, power and flex are directly down the plane of the reel seat. It casts accurately, and with incredible power when you are disciplined in your technique and stay nicely on plane. The rewards for doing so, and keeping that thumb up and "on the button" are incedible power and improved accuracy. This rod will help you stay focused on your technique.
This rod will cast a size 8 bead head Woolly Bugger or a size 20 midge pupae, and I have done both with this rod. I looked at this rod, picked it up in the store, and lusted for it for months. I finally took the plunge and bought it, and am very glad I did. The quality and innovation contained in this rod makes it easily worth the price. I went back and bought the 9 ft, 4 wt as well, and love it. Great range in these rods and there really is nothing else quite like the Helios right now.
"
Review 11 for Helios™ 3-weight 8'4" Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome Rod!,
May 12, 2008
By: Breamfly
from Brandon, MS
"I went to an Orvis event at the Orvis Store in Pigeon Forge, Tennessee. They talked me into trying the new Helios 3 weight against my better judgment. From the first cast, it was awesome! Quick response and absolutely the most incredible casting rod ever! It is so light, you don't even know you have it in your hand.
To say the least, I ended up leaving there with one and tried it out the very next day on the Smoky Mountain streams. The first fish I caught was an 18 inch rainbow and it handled it with ease. I then caught my first native Southern Appalacian brown trout. An awesome experience. Incredible rod and a real testament to the Orvis quality name. If you don't have one, you have got to try it. Now what we need is for you guys to make a 7 1/2 foot 2 weight and my life will be complete.
Thanks for the experience!
"
Review 12 for Helios™ 3-weight 8'4" Fly Rod—Mid Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Superb Rod,
May 1, 2008
By: ukmric1
from Northamptonshire England
"This is my third Helios and it is a gem, loads easily and gives tremendous feedback on a light line.
It has great backbone and on my first outing this rod was responsible for 2 x4lb + brown trout that gave a fantastic fight, using light tippets this rod never felt too stiff and gives the perfect flex.
Highly recommended
"