Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Dog's Nest® Liner with Polystyrene Bead Fill

This dog bed liner fits your original bed perfectly. Non-woven fabric is fully breathable. Polystyrene beads are great for dogs who like to dig in before settling down. Beads in this dog bed liner replacement are not recommended for dogs who chew. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
3.64 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
4
17 of 25(68%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Dog's Nest® Liner with Polystyrene Bead Fill
Review 1 for Dog's Nest® Liner with Polystyrene Bead Fill
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dog is happy!,
December 13, 2014
By: Reggiebelle
from Pennsylvania
"15 years is how long my old girl has had her Orvis dog bed. Every night for 15 years she has slept on this comfy pillow!!! I finally decided to get some new beads for inside. She is getting achy and I thought it would help her sleep. It does! What a great purchase, years ago and again!"
Review 2 for Dog's Nest® Liner with Polystyrene Bead Fill
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Dog rejected,
December 8, 2014
By: Spudunky
from Chicago, IL.
"The polystyrene beads were very loud when stepped or laid on. Even though we placed the new liner in the same bed, our family dog would step on it and it made a crunchy noise as the beads spread out. The result is, it made him uneasy and he would not use it."
Review 3 for Dog's Nest® Liner with Polystyrene Bead Fill
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very Happy Labrador,
December 2, 2014
By: Tal1sker
from NY, NY
"I bought this for my 2.5 Chocolate Lab as the pillow that I initially bought was getting a little flat and didn't have much support left. We have a friend who has the beaded filler and the first thing she does when going for visits, is curl up on their bed! Time for me to go shopping... it took her a while to get used to it as it's very full, and I was tempted to take some beads out, but then she climbed on top, did her usual 3 turns and settled down like a nest. She spends most of her days on the bed, it also comes on vacation with us and she's one happy Lab!! in fact, she used to lie next to me on the floor, so I'm sort of jealous!!"
Review 4 for Dog's Nest® Liner with Polystyrene Bead Fill
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Dog Bed Liner,
November 22, 2014
By: KK1967
from Holland, Michigan
"Perfect for our dog who loves to dig. This is our go-to for all of our dogs. My one complaint is the liner is a bit too thin, as it tears due to the digging action. The beads end up spilling out. ( but contained inside the bed cover). That would be something to improve upon."
Review 5 for Dog's Nest® Liner with Polystyrene Bead Fill
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Our Favorite,
November 12, 2014
By: GSPMamma
from Ponte Vedra Beach, FL
"Our German Shorthair Pointers love these beds. They are nesters and like to dig around and get everything "just so" before getting in.
My wish is that the liners were made with a heavier fabric. It is way too easy to puncture the liner and have beads everywhere. The covers are awesome and withstand weekly washings - they are at least 5 years old.
"
Review 6 for Dog's Nest® Liner with Polystyrene Bead Fill
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Know your dog's preference first,
December 20, 2012
By: LawmanWw
from Walla Walla WA
"We loved the cover with its thick soft fabric and discrete plaid. However, neither human or Labradoodle liked the noise nor squishiness of the bead fill. So, what does puppy do? Chew through both the cover zipper and then into the bead liner. Micro beads everywhere, looks like it snowed in our living room. Might work for other breeds, but we now need to replace this expensive piece in less than three months."
Review 7 for Dog's Nest® Liner with Polystyrene Bead Fill
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Need to replace the replacement!,
November 26, 2012
By: Becca713
"My dog has always had an Orvis round dog nest. We replaced the interior of her bed about a year ago, and I'm back again to order yet another. The zipper is faulty, so every once in a while I'll take the cover off to launder, and I discover that the zipper has come undone and have to deal with hundreds of tiny beads everywhere. It's frustrating. Here's hoping the next liner doesn't have a faulty zipper!"
Review 8 for Dog's Nest® Liner with Polystyrene Bead Fill
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
stands the test of time,
August 4, 2012
By: LOTZAdogs
from Colorado
"15 years ago I purchased 4 large Orvis beds and a year later 2 medium. All are round, poly bead filled with green hunter style covers. Liners have zippers and I did remove some of the beads in the large beds to make them more nest like less puffy. I STILL have all of these beds- each is a bit faded, but intact and very servicable. Zip off covers still look pretty good after washing. I have had a couple beds that had a seam come lose and required stitching, but the inside liner with beads have never broken and I have lost probably less than two cup fulls of beads from all six beds combined in that 15 years. And those are still within the cover, not on the carpet and are easily dumped out of the cover into the trash when the cover is washed. These are awesome beds, My dogs love them. They are warm in winter/cool in summer. Nine different dogs have used these beds on a daily basis over the years."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Dog's Nest® Liner with Polystyrene Bead Fill
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
disappointed in durability,
July 26, 2012
By: greysrgreyt
from Louisville, KY
"I have two rescued greyhounds who love their Orvis beds with the polystyrene beads. They love to dig and make their "nest". I have had these beds for about 3 years and the exterior cover has been very durable but when I took the covers off to wash them the interior liners with the beads were completely shredded and beads went everywhere. I am surprised that the outer cover is perfect while the interior is destroyed. I am ordering the waterproof liner in hopes that it will be more durable."
Review 10 for Dog's Nest® Liner with Polystyrene Bead Fill
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Very noisy,
May 2, 2012
By: BDonagh
"My dogs didn't like this filler. I thought they might because they like to dig before they lay down but they all avoided it and when they did step on it, the noise of the beads was enough to wake us up from a sound sleep."
Review 11 for Dog's Nest® Liner with Polystyrene Bead Fill
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
good replacement,
January 28, 2012
By: akitamix
from st louis mo
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"i ordered the large replacement insert, comes overstuffed, i took some beads out and now shoes is happy. i would rather have too many beads than not enough. orvis has really great customer service too."
Review 12 for Dog's Nest® Liner with Polystyrene Bead Fill
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Love the bed not the beads!,
November 18, 2011
By: lablover1
from West Grove, PA
"I bought 2 of these beds for my labradors and they love them! The first time I took the cover off to wash it the beads went everywhere! Both beds are a bit flat now but the covers are in good shape so maybe I'll try the polyester soft fill."
Review 13 for Dog's Nest® Liner with Polystyrene Bead Fill
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent!,
September 13, 2011
By: maggienyc
"My dog loves her Orvis dog bed! I bought this extra stuffing so that she can have two beds in the house and we are both very happy with it."
Review 14 for Dog's Nest® Liner with Polystyrene Bead Fill
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this bed!,
March 10, 2011
By: Brody
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I purchased this bed liner to replace the 12 year old one that I had. The first one lasted throughout the life of my previous golden retriever and even into month 6 of my new golden pup (who managed to get inside the cover and ripped open the liner sending styrofoam beads everywhere). Both dogs absolutely love these beds and I have to admit to catching a few z's on them myself. They're great."
Review 15 for Dog's Nest® Liner with Polystyrene Bead Fill
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bed Liner,
January 10, 2011
By: Dthesat
from Winder, GA
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Our original bed liner lasted for just over a year. This bed liner is expensive but works well. The outside still looks great with a wash."
Review 16 for Dog's Nest® Liner with Polystyrene Bead Fill
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great dog bed, great value,
December 21, 2010
By: elstar
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Our dogs absolutely love, love, love the Orvis dog beds with the bead filler - I just ordered more filler and now the bed is like new - the covers hold up amazingly and wash well
Orvis customer service is excellent - they really care about their customers being satisfied - thank you so much - I will order again!
"
Review 17 for Dog's Nest® Liner with Polystyrene Bead Fill
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice for naps,
July 18, 2010
By: JoMama
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"We originally bought this to keep in our dog's kennel so he could sleep on it at night. It turns out he prefers the soft filler to the beads in his kennel since the beads create a much higher profile on the bed (meaning he has less head room). Now we have the bed out in the living room so both our pups can use it during the day. They like to snooze on it from time to time, and they also like using it as a "landing pad" of sorts when they're chasing each other around the house and have no traction on the wood floors. Both dogs enjoy the bed a lot, and it looks great in our living room - not ratty and beat-up like so many pet beds become over time."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Dog's Nest® Liner with Polystyrene Bead Fill
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
My dog's disappointed!,
June 26, 2010
By: Bwana
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"This was a rectangular replacement for our Great Dane's favorite nesting bed. The replacement liner had half the fill of the original, and now he doesn't like it at all! It should've had all the fill and loft of the original. At 145 lbs, he goes right to the floor!"
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamJune 29, 2010
Orvis Customer Service immediately contacted this customer and apologized that this liner did not have enough fill. Orvis offered to exchange this liner or give a complete refund. We will cheerfully exchange or refund your purchase at any time, for any reason. Our 100% Satisfaction Guarantee is the strongest in the business.
Review 19 for Dog's Nest® Liner with Polystyrene Bead Fill
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Impressed with Orvis service.,
March 18, 2010
By: VeryImpressed
from Calgary, Alberta.
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I just want to sincerely thank Orvis for their incredible service. I needed more filling for my dogs bed and decided rather than just ordering 3 bags of filling as recommended, I would order a new lining which would include the filler for only $2 more. When the lining arrived I was disappointed that it was not totally full of beads, I phoned Orvis and they were so helpful and caring and immediately rectified the situation without question. Now of course I have plenty of filling! I will and have been recommending Orvis to all my friends, family and colleagues. They are so professional and customer satisfaction orientated. Thank you Orvis and well done!"
Review 20 for Dog's Nest® Liner with Polystyrene Bead Fill
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Older was better,
February 24, 2010
By: yellowlabowner
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"We have several Orvis dog beds. The older liners with the poly bead fill had zippers. This allowed removing beads or adding beads. Our old liner just got very thin and wore out from use, so I ordered a new one.
Unfortunately the new liner has no zipper, and when first received, it is very full, and it is difficult for our dog to use the bed comfortably.
Older was better - could you please put the zippers back?"