Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Gokey® Sauvage Hikers

Hand crafted by one of America's oldest bootmakers, this 5"-high hiking shoe is rugged and built to take anything the trail offers. Superior ankle support with a rear tab for easy pull-on. Men's 5-oz. pebble-grain bullhide leather hiking shoes in brown. This classic style tends to run narrow, so if you prefer heavier socks you should order a wider size for the best fit. Made in USA. Whole and half sizes: 8-13½; In D, E, widths.
Average Customer Rating:
4.634 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (71 reviews)
5 stars
58
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
2
65 of 71(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Gokey® Sauvage Hikers
Review 1 for Gokey® Sauvage Hikers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gokey Sauvage Hikers,
August 10, 2015
By: mattfromminneeesota
from Stillwater, MN
"As a kid I always wanted a pair of these. I finally bought a pair at 52 years of age. The wait was worth it.
They are extremely comfortable and yes they do run narrow. After reading several other reviews I ordered a pair in E width. Fit perfectly. I had a pair of Russell slip-on hunting bouts. The Sauvage hikers are why more comfortable.
I would highly recommend these to anyone."
Review 2 for Gokey® Sauvage Hikers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Most comfortable shoe ever,
July 21, 2015
By: TedG
"The Sauvage Hikers are the most comfortable shoes I have ever purchased. They fit like a glove right out of the box (one size wider than I normally wear). I would have preferred if they were lined, but this is a small complaint. The only footwear I own that is this comfortable for all day walking is a pair of Orvis upland hunting boots I bought 25 years ago--still going strong."
Review 3 for Gokey® Sauvage Hikers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perhaps the best shoes I ever had.,
May 7, 2015
By: WMJK
from Brecksville, Ohio
"This is my second pair of Sauvage Hikers. The first pair lasted over 30 years and were still in great shape. The only reason I let them go is that my feet grew and the shoes no longer fit. I replaced soles and heals several times, and otherwise did nothing else except apply mink oil about once per year. These shoes look great, are very comfortable, and suit almost any weather or occasion. A terrific product."
Review 4 for Gokey® Sauvage Hikers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality American made boots,
April 10, 2015
By: ALDirty
"It took me three tries, but I finally found the correct size in these boots. I went 1/2 a size down and wide. I have a narrow heel and my foot is broad at the toes (feet like a duck). I have been wearing mine with medium weight wool socks and they feel great. The leather is of high quality and I think the soles are rugged without being too much for a boot of this type. In a typical day I might be in the office, walking quite a distance, or even out in the woods and these boots are versatile and suitable for all."
Review 5 for Gokey® Sauvage Hikers
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great, With a Few Downfalls,
January 16, 2015
By: MarkBolton
from Florence, MS
"I bought these with the main intention being to wear to work as something that won't leave my arch sore and provides ankle support. When I say wear to work, I mean wear to Orvis because that's where I work! Anyhow, I carefully scoured through our collection of shoes and felt the quality of the Gokey boots that we had in store, and I couldn't resist. They were a bitlarger than expected, so bear that in mind; however, with socks on you will probably be alright. I'm normally a 9, but an 8.5 probably would suit better. In the end, I've been fine with it. The biggest complaint is how soft the leather is; it's almsot as though it came broken in. I'm not comlaining about that, but rather that it scratches easier than the leathers that I'm used to. You can barely tape your foot on it's side against anything, and you have an annoying scratch. Nevertheless, the soft leather provides for the scratch to buffed out by fingers rather easily. All in all, I recommend the boot for sure!"
Review 6 for Gokey® Sauvage Hikers
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice boots, but not what I expected.,
December 30, 2014
By: Ranger78
from Virginia
"Very nice, comfortable, well-made boots. I own the Gokey Lug Sole Chukka Boots, which are super comfortable, but they don't provide enough support for hiking, so I purchased the Sauvage Hikers. Unfortunately, I returned the Hikers for the following reasons:
1. Size was awkward compared to other Gokey's I own, but I went extra wide based on reviews - so size was actually a good fit. What wasn't such a good fit, were the tongues -- they were of uneven sizes and cut on an angle. When I laced up the boots, the tongues were not centered, but were off to one side. You could see my sock where the tongue should be. Not good while you're on the trail.
2. The primary reason for the return were the heels. Unlike the pictures in the catalog and online, the Vibram soles were matched with a very low, smooth heel. The heel was more for a dress shoe, than a hiking boot. Not rugged looking at all - it really made the boot more like a fashion boot, than a hiking boot. (Both associates at the retail store where I made the return, agreed the tongues and heels didn't look right ... not sure if the boot was finished properly -- looked like they needed another layer of rubber tread on the heel!)
Gokey's are awesome quality -- still a high score, but these Hikers weren't for me. FIx the tongue/heels and I'll buy a pair in a heart beat!
US Army Ranger"
Review 7 for Gokey® Sauvage Hikers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The best!,
December 19, 2014
By: TonyJ
from Palmdale, California
"These shoes are incredible! They are perfect! The quality is unquestionable! You will be impressed with your purchase! Really!"
Review 8 for Gokey® Sauvage Hikers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Classic hikers,
December 17, 2014
By: Steakman55
from Tallahassee, FL
"First, they are very good looking. I was tired of wearing Topsiders or,loafers with khakis or jeans. These are just right. Color nice. Fit is standard but get one size wider. And if you throw on a blazer with those khakis later that night, no need to change shoes. I may even go hiking!"
Review 9 for Gokey® Sauvage Hikers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good shoes, keeping these,
December 8, 2014
By: Nellieandgeorge
from Virginia
"I also wrote a review for the Sauvage Oxfords, which I am returning. The Hikers, on the other hand, are keepers. There is enough space over the tongue to lace the Hikers tight enough for my narrow feet -- something not possible with the Oxfords. The softer leather of the latest models also is a big plus. They feel broken in from Day One."
Review 10 for Gokey® Sauvage Hikers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfortable boots at last!,
November 10, 2014
By: JeremyF
from Santa Maria, CA
"These boots are amazing. comfortable right out of the box and look good to boot. These are some high quality boots that I can see last many years."
Review 11 for Gokey® Sauvage Hikers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent,
November 3, 2014
By: BF2013
from Arkansas
"I was hesitant about purchasing these shoes because they're on the expensive side, but all the reviews convinced me that it would be worth the money. Boy was it ever! These boots are fantastic, hands down the best casual-everyday-camping-walking-whatever i want to wear them with- shoes I own. Quality of the shoes is great, comfort is great, Vibram soles are the best out there. No complaints whatsoever."
Review 12 for Gokey® Sauvage Hikers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Best !!,
October 4, 2014
By: Snakeman
from West Virginia
"I bought a pair of Gokey Hikers years ago and just recently bought my second pair. I had to purchase the second pair because my foot has changed and I needed a little wider boot. The original pair is still in great shape (really like new) even after extensive wear. These boots will last a lifetime because of the high quality. Good fit, comfortable, rugged, good for dress, casual, or the forest. They run a little narrow so purchase one size wider than normal. Gokey boots are the greatest and I look forward to wearing mine for many more years."
Review 13 for Gokey® Sauvage Hikers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good value shoes,
October 3, 2014
By: shopper59
from Upstate, NY
"Just took delivery on a pair of Gokey Hikers. They are very comfortable, simple attractive design, and will probably last a long time. Plus you can't beat Orvis for customer service."
Review 14 for Gokey® Sauvage Hikers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Comfortable,
September 11, 2014
By: mydogcares
from Sonoma
"I ordered my Hikers a half size larger and "E" Width and they are fantastically comfortable. Suggest getting the Gokey boot creme to aid the leather softening process."
Review 15 for Gokey® Sauvage Hikers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great shoes!,
July 15, 2014
By: romsdal
from Ketchikan, AK
"I have already put many miles on these Sauvage Hikers. They are sure-footed and comfortable for city and country walking (in Alaska) as well as for dressy/casual wear."
Review 16 for Gokey® Sauvage Hikers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Walk on!,
June 13, 2014
By: witinthepinteum
from Near Yosemite in California
"I have had these Gokey Sauvage Hikers for at least 12 years, and doubt if they will ever wear out. I wear them all the time and every-where I go people remark on what nice looking shoes they are. I was a little reluctant to purchase them 12 years ago, because of the price. I have since learned that the adage is true: "Quality is not expensive." Conversely, a higher price is no guarantee of quality."
Review 17 for Gokey® Sauvage Hikers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These boots were made for walking,
May 13, 2014
By: GeetsRomo
from Brooklyn, NY
"Very comfortable. The lighter weight from older versions of the boot makes breaking in easier. You may want to remove the foam insole and replace with one that's a little more supportive. The factory insole is very squishy. But if it's good for you then you'll be very happy with these Hikers. Gokey makes a great product. I owned a pair of the older version a"few" years ago but they were damaged beyond repair and now I've replaced them and like these better. You only need to address the insole issue - more or less support. That's all. Oh yes - they're also very handsomely styled."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Gokey® Sauvage Hikers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
As comfy and rugged as you'd expect,
May 5, 2014
By: GeetsRomo
from Brooklyn, NY
"While the company may have changed the weight of the leather used in these hiking boots for the lighter, it just makes for easier breaking in and an easier moccasin wrap around your feet. I have these 5 days now and have not worn anything on my feet since. Any thickness of sock is okay but I recommend changing the foam footbed for something more firm as the stock item lets your feet spread too much. Use something like SuperFeet "green" and your feet will thank you. Otherwise look into the additional advantage of having these custom-made. I recommend the stock item unless you have issues with your feet."
Review 19 for Gokey® Sauvage Hikers
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Overpriced,
February 26, 2014
By: JayG
from Northeast Mass
"Sloppy stitching
Tongues of uneven sizes
Sizing awkward unlike any other expensive brand, on my second trial pair- custom made may be only way- extra cost probably not justifiable given dilatory quality control and exaggerated claims. Is it worth the hassle? Certainly in store fitting is required which means increased stocking but better fitting and some semblance of quality control. Perhaps one size of each style per store would suffice, after all , stores provide opportunity for personal attention and better fitting plus greater product knowledge / experience / quality control.
"
Review 20 for Gokey® Sauvage Hikers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Useful,
January 28, 2014
By: andrewb823
from Oregon
"I'm very happy with the Sauvage Hikers. They look great with jeans or khakis, can be re-soled, and are made in the USA. My son has a vintage pair with even heavier leather, but these are still very solid. The Vibram mini-lug (430?) soles are perfect - low-profile, so they don't look too clunky for office wear, but with solid grip for walking or on my bike pedals. The heels are a little bit noisy on a hard floor, but I can live with that for now and look for a quieter compound at repair time.
Re sizing, I take a wide shoe so ordered the 10.5E. Width was fine but the shoe was way too long. Returned them for a 10E, which was backordered for a few weeks but worth the wait."