Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Gokey® Sauvage Hikers

Hand crafted by one of America's oldest bootmakers, this 5"-high hiking shoe is rugged and built to take anything the trail offers. Superior ankle support with a rear tab for easy pull-on. Men's leather hiking shoes in brown. This classic style tends to run narrow, so if you prefer heavier socks you should order a wider size for the best fit. Made in USA. Whole and half sizes: 8-13½; In D, E, widths.
Average Customer Rating:
4.6 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (50 reviews)
5 stars
40
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
1
45 of 50(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Gokey® Sauvage Hikers
Review 1 for Gokey® Sauvage Hikers
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Overpriced,
February 26, 2014
By: JayG
from Northeast Mass
"Sloppy stitching
Tongues of uneven sizes
Sizing awkward unlike any other expensive brand, on my second trial pair- custom made may be only way- extra cost probably not justifiable given dilatory quality control and exaggerated claims. Is it worth the hassle? Certainly in store fitting is required which means increased stocking but better fitting and some semblance of quality control. Perhaps one size of each style per store would suffice, after all , stores provide opportunity for personal attention and better fitting plus greater product knowledge / experience / quality control.
"
Review 2 for Gokey® Sauvage Hikers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Useful,
January 28, 2014
By: andrewb823
from Oregon
"I'm very happy with the Sauvage Hikers. They look great with jeans or khakis, can be re-soled, and are made in the USA. My son has a vintage pair with even heavier leather, but these are still very solid. The Vibram mini-lug (430?) soles are perfect - low-profile, so they don't look too clunky for office wear, but with solid grip for walking or on my bike pedals. The heels are a little bit noisy on a hard floor, but I can live with that for now and look for a quieter compound at repair time.
Re sizing, I take a wide shoe so ordered the 10.5E. Width was fine but the shoe was way too long. Returned them for a 10E, which was backordered for a few weeks but worth the wait."
Review 3 for Gokey® Sauvage Hikers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Old school quality now with modern features!,
January 18, 2014
By: Bltprf502
from TN
"I have had 2 other styles of Gokey. Both great! I had an issues with my oxfords and decided to send them back and exchange them for the hikers. I am glad I did and the timing was right. Gokey recently made some changes to build design.
I received the hikers and they were so soft and more padding in the sole. I thought "a Gokey soft leather with padding?" They usually take months to break in. I called the MO shop and spoke to Jerry Doss. Sure enough, Orvis listened to customer comments and complaints and made some changes. They still use bullhide. But for the hiker they now use a 5.5oz as opposed to 8.5-9oz like before. Quicker break in time. Also, the footbed has support and mild padding. It is all a change for the good. I loved the old grocord and even the flat moccasin sole style. But, with these changes I now have a new favorite pair of shoes. Not to fret... Still same guarantee. Quality is excellent! I think these will last a long time and they are totally recraftable.
Same rule stood for me on sizing. I went up a half size and from a D to an E width. They were a little big at first. But, they mold to your feet and somehow "shrink?"... Either way sizing up was right for me.
Its ok to change a classic... As long as its for the good. These changes to the Sauvage Hiker are positive changes. Great boot, great company!"
Review 4 for Gokey® Sauvage Hikers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Surpassed Expectations,
January 3, 2014
By: lighttippet
from East Coast USA
"I wanted a pair of Gokeys for years. I purchased the Sauvage Hikers as a gift to myself for Christmas. These shoes surpassed the already high expectations I had for them. The quality of workmanship, the timeless style, and the appearance are incomparable. After two days of wearing them, the shoes began to "learn" my feet. They were comfortable right out of the box. I am certain that after a few more days of walking in them, they will fit and feel like a well-worn glove. I ordered up a half size and an extra width than my loafers. Excellent! You will not be disappointed with these shoes."
Review 5 for Gokey® Sauvage Hikers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Satisfied,
January 3, 2014
By: pastel
from Austin, Texas
"This is my second pair of Orvis-Gokey shoes. My first pair were oxfords purchased 20 years ago and are still going strong. I wanted a hiking shoe so naturally I came back to Orvis-Gokey. I was glad to see that nothing has changed over the years! Same high quality. Call me very satisfied...again!"
Review 6 for Gokey® Sauvage Hikers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sizing,
November 13, 2013
By: jsdkms
"First of all I received my boots a couple of days ago and they were very comfortable right out of the box. I had to return them as they were about a half size too big! I take a 10.5 Regular and they were about .75 inches too long and a little wide. I am going to get them in a size 10 and try them. Great boots!"
Review 7 for Gokey® Sauvage Hikers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SCORE!,
October 14, 2013
By: BeardedPhantom
from Northeastern Wisconsin
"I read about Gokey Sauvage snakeproof boots decades ago when I read my dad's Field & Stream. Now I finally have a pair of Gokeys, though a different style. These appear to be exceptionally well made and were comfortable right out of the box. They look good enough to bring compliments. I'm reminded of an ad for piston rings years ago: "Tough, but Oh, so tender".
Highly recommended.
"
Review 8 for Gokey® Sauvage Hikers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First class,
September 26, 2013
By: Dogriver
from South Carolina
"I am very particular about my foot ware. Comes from 30 years in the army. My Gokey boots were perfect right out of the box. No break in required. Well made, look good enough to wear with khakis or dressier pants. Will definitely buy Gokey again."
Review 9 for Gokey® Sauvage Hikers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Shoes,
July 18, 2013
By: wms13
from Troy, OH
"This is my second pair of these hikers. The other pair is over 20 years old and have been resoled twice. Tough, comfortable for walking, what more can you ask of a shoe?"
Review 10 for Gokey® Sauvage Hikers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These boots are the best,
July 15, 2013
By: NattyBumpo4point0
from Saranac Lake, NY
"I've tried a lot of boots and these are tops. The impressively thick uppers mold to your foot within a few wearings. I like the true moccasin construction and minimalist design. I am certain this will be a long wearing, go-to boot for many years."
Review 11 for Gokey® Sauvage Hikers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
New soles are great,
June 21, 2013
By: DMILLER
from Sweet Home, OR
"I have had a pair of these for years. Took almost as long for the soles to breakin. I bought a new pair because of the review on the new soles. COMFORTABLE OUT OF THE BOX!"
Review 12 for Gokey® Sauvage Hikers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Improved,
May 14, 2013
By: JPCIII
from Columbia
"First off, I'm a third generation Gokey wearer. This would be my fourth style and I like the oxford chukka very much. My size is a 12.5 D so I ordered a 13 D as always because Gokey's can shrink a bit and form due to the construction. I know there are some purist out there who swear by the old gro cord sole, but that is foolishness IMHO as that sole was rock hard and unforgiving to your foot. The new softer sole makes the shoes far more comfortable and functional in terms of really wearing them for extended periods."
Review 13 for Gokey® Sauvage Hikers
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fantastic...but wrong sizing...,
March 27, 2013
By: Mouching
from Paris, France
"Those shoes are fantastic, the leather is one of the best, the Vibram sole is great and the handcraft is amazing...but the size is not right !
I am 10,5 D and the ones i have ordered are... too big. although they are the right width... I should have got a 10 E....
My advise : do not buy without trying them on.
"
Review 14 for Gokey® Sauvage Hikers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
January 22, 2013
By: BillyMD
from Charleston sc
"So fine that first pair stolen from bag not right until got a new pair"
Review 15 for Gokey® Sauvage Hikers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great boots,
January 7, 2013
By: Mav615
"I got a lot of use out our these boots while hiking in the Ecuadorean Andes this past summer. Never had hot spots or sore feet from the shoes."
Review 16 for Gokey® Sauvage Hikers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great purchase,
December 29, 2012
By: 24modelT
"I received my Hikers just before a business trip to Europe. I knew I would be walking a lot and gave the Hikers a good test. Breakin was minimal. I ordered one width larger based on earlier reviews. They fit well, kept my feet dry in snow and slush. I intend to buy a pair of oxfords in the spring."
Review 17 for Gokey® Sauvage Hikers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
December 28, 2012
By: redfox
from Santa Barbara, Ca
"I would order an order larger This is a little tights"
Review 18 for Gokey® Sauvage Hikers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Darn good outdoor shoe,
December 24, 2012
By: tomdhracer
from Monroeville In
"I have lived on my farm since 1979. Bought a pair od hikers about 25 years ago and still wear them. They hold up because I guess they are made well for outdoor work and play. Hiking is much safer with a well made boot. Most off pavement stuff I do is wearing my hikers. Afer moving to town I have worn down the soles and heals a bit and plan to send them in this spring for replacement but would hate to part from them in winter!"
Review 19 for Gokey® Sauvage Hikers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Best !,
October 12, 2012
By: Snakeman
from West Virginia
"I like to wait a while to write a review so I can test the item. I have now owned my Gokey Hikers almost two years and I wear them 3-4 days per week. They have been wet, muddy, hiked in, walked in ....well you get the picture. They still look brand new and show no wear. My feet stay dry and comfortable regardless of weather or where I wear them. Gokeys have all the essentials, style, comfort,superb construction and value. I'm quite sure my Gokeys will last longer than me. I'm sorry I waited so long to purchase a pair."
Review 20 for Gokey® Sauvage Hikers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A deal I just couldn't pass up!,
September 3, 2012
By: sspGregg
"I've wanted these shoes for a while. They're perfect for fall in the Northeast, and Winter in the Midwest.. Wear with one of my Harris Tweeds, in jeans or gabardiines, and I can go just about anywhere!"