Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Tie-Fast Knot-Tying Tool

Found hanging from lanyards and in drift boats all across the world, the Tie-Fast Knot-Tying Tool will have you tying nail knots in seconds. From seasoned guides to first-time anglers, nail knots will become an afterthought with this perfectly designed and extremely handy stainless steel nail knot tyer tool. Step-by-step instructions included. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.71 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (93 reviews)
5 stars
74
4 stars
15
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
2
90 of 93(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Stories:
Customer Reviews for Tie-Fast Knot-Tying Tool
Review 1 for Tie-Fast Knot-Tying Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Simply the Best,
April 16, 2014
By: River51
from Davis, CA
"There are a lot of knot-tying tools on the market, but this one is simply the best. Easy, versatile, slim profile, and a must for every vest or lanyard."
Review 2 for Tie-Fast Knot-Tying Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellant,
March 31, 2014
By: Jarhead57
from Wyoming
"Makes it easier for us "older" visually challeged to tie them little knots :)"
Review 3 for Tie-Fast Knot-Tying Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Basic,
March 22, 2014
By: Otch
from Grosse Pointe Farms, Michigan
"What else can be said about this tool. You either have one on your lanyard or in your vest, or you aren't a fly fisher. A classic design that design. Easy to use and ties perfect knots."
Review 4 for Tie-Fast Knot-Tying Tool
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
NEVER KNEW SOMETHING LIKE,
March 21, 2014
By: DIMARVI
from COLOMBIA
"I'm starting fly fishing and one of the problems I found was able to carry out the knots but this element has been solved my problem. It is easy to use and that I will enjoy it for a long time"
Review 5 for Tie-Fast Knot-Tying Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
a must have,
March 19, 2014
By: btv22
"Excellent tool. There are several on-line videos showing how to use the Tie-Fast, and these are much easier to understand than the included instructions. Takes just a few minutes practice, and it works perfect."
Review 6 for Tie-Fast Knot-Tying Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Simple,
March 5, 2014
By: RDstream
from New Jersey
"Easy to learn. easy to use. makes knot tying much easier in early morning/late afternoon."
Review 7 for Tie-Fast Knot-Tying Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fantastic,
February 26, 2014
By: 075692d
"The best tool I've ever purchased to tie fly line and flies."
Review 8 for Tie-Fast Knot-Tying Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Did what it said,
February 20, 2014
By: Rev1952
from Franklin in
"This little knot tie gizmo works. After just a few attempts I was on to it, and will keep it on my vest from now on. Well worth the money"
Review 9 for Tie-Fast Knot-Tying Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product and service,
December 17, 2013
By: DollyBumHead
from Tyne & Wear
"A fantastic little gadget to have with you. Whether you are pre tying at home or on the bankside this is a great tool to tie quick and very strong knots.
Would definitely recommend this apart from the fact it has the usual Orvis quality and the order update service is top rate.
"
Review 10 for Tie-Fast Knot-Tying Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Handy tool,
December 8, 2013
By: Leo111
from Southern England
"It assists in tying those knots where you need a third hand. This is it"
Review 11 for Tie-Fast Knot-Tying Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just the job,
November 6, 2013
By: Frankthesurf
from Llanarmon Yn Ial, Near the River Dee, North Wales
"Great tool. Use it for attaching tapered leaders to my fly line particularly the lighter weight lines.
Gives a smooth knot that does tangle.
"
Review 12 for Tie-Fast Knot-Tying Tool
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
gota have it,
November 5, 2013
By: oldrookie
from Northern NY
"New to fly fishing and all thumbs and bad vision. Tried tying basic knots without and almost gave up. This is a great tool. I've been practicing at the desk and gaining proficiency and confidence. A follow-up in the Spring will tell."
Review 13 for Tie-Fast Knot-Tying Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great For The Beginner.,
November 1, 2013
By: GSGAR
from Lima, OH
"Very useful tool for the beginner. I bought two of these in case I lost one."
Review 14 for Tie-Fast Knot-Tying Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A little Gem.,
October 28, 2013
By: al1956
from Broxburn, Scotland.
"This is a clever little tool, it makes tying the nail knot so easy, it is something every angler should have in his bag, not only fly fishermen, but also course fisherman would find it useful. once you have one you will wonder why it took so long to have one, yes I recommend this little gem, tight lines my friends."
Review 15 for Tie-Fast Knot-Tying Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
If you are not naturally nifty with your fingers,
October 1, 2013
By: Bramblebush
from Surrey, England
"This is a tool for those who could do with an extra finger to tighten a knot and a help for the rest of us."
Review 16 for Tie-Fast Knot-Tying Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nail knot tool,
September 27, 2013
By: Hep24
from Midlands
"This tool is a must for me as I struggle seeing fine fishing line.I have it attatched it to a retractible zinger so I can use it when wading ."
Review 17 for Tie-Fast Knot-Tying Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent little gadget,
September 20, 2013
By: Barbelman
from Hornchurch, Essex. England
"What a little find this is, an excellent little knot tyer that ties lots of different knots with ease."
Review 18 for Tie-Fast Knot-Tying Tool
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Excellent knot-tying tool,
July 28, 2013
By: Sandyman
from Taos, NM
"Like many of my fellow fishers, I had trouble with efficient knot-tying skill. My first few trips out it would, I am embarassed to say, take almost an hour to rigged-up. So I adjusted my attitude and purchased the $10 Tie-Fast Knot-Tying Tool. Some of my knots are still lousy, but at least I can repair the damage quicker. Patience and practice are the keys. However, I feel this tool is a great addition to my kit. Esspecially if you have 63 year old eyes and hands."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Tie-Fast Knot-Tying Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Simple Tool Makes Knot-Tying Simple,
July 22, 2013
By: Suge
from Murfreesboro, TN
"As a beginner, I was becoming increasingly frustrated in learning to tie the various knots required for fly fishing. The Tie-Fast Knot-Tying Tool makes it simple. If you're frustrated with tying knots, you need to get one of these."
Review 20 for Tie-Fast Knot-Tying Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
this is a re-buy for me - A+ unit,
July 2, 2013
By: solocanoe
from Fort Smith, AR
"I am not sure where mine got off to. The sad part is I took it from it's normal spot in my bag....but I can't find it from the 'smart spot' I put it. ha!
anyway, this is one of those really simple, very effective tools that you grow to depend on over time. I am sure that I could 'muddle thru' without this tool....but I surely don't want to. This is just as easy as it gets - and easy on older eyes too.
and yes...I put this one back in the usual spot for this tool in my bag!"