Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Wet Wading Shoe

A fully supportive wading shoe designed for hot-weather wet wading. Inspired by the look and functionality of a hiking boot. Technical outer shell boot provides lightweight durability and fast-drying characteristics. Removable neoprene bootie with elastic side panels seals out sand. In a pinch, bootie can be removed and shoe can be used with stockingfoot wader to replace a full wading shoe. All-nylon straps won't corrode. Wading shoes in green/black. Imported.Men's whole shoe sizes: 7-14. 44 ounces in size 10.
Average Customer Rating:
4.048 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (42 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
11
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
3
34 of 42(81%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Wet Wading Shoe
Review 1 for Wet Wading Shoe
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Deal!,
July 30, 2012
By: ncrokhopr
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Finding proper fitting fishing gear is a NIGHTMARE for the female angler. While men have dozens of choices in everything from waders to wading foot gear, women are lucky if we even have a choice of models. I have a pile of ill-fitting, used once or twice, men's wading shoes I've purchased over the years trying to find something for my women's size 7 feet so when I saw these on sale I had to make another stab at finding a decent wading shoe. I bought the Men's 7 and while they're still a tad long in the toe for my petite feet (which is what I'm use) with the included stocking feet, which are decent quality and haven't come apart like some reviewers report (probably because I don't have to pull on them a lot to get them on my small feet) the shoe fits pretty good and without the stocking foot, I can easily wear these over my men's size small waders. Fishing the S. Appalachians I do a lot hiking in and these Orvis wet wading shoes are not only nice and light they're even comfortable. I give the felt a B-, it definitely helps with traction but its slightly inset and doesn't cover the entire footbed. These wading shoes are easy to get on and off, I've been wearing them a lot this summer and they're holding up, and considering you're getting the stocking foot included, these wading shoes are a good deal on sale. If you can wear a men's size 7, I'd definitely get them!"
Review 2 for Wet Wading Shoe
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
What a sale!,
November 2, 2011
By: ossiecat
"I would like to order a pair of the wading shoes for my son for Christmas, but your sale only ghas one size on sale. Why would you offer a sale on only one size?"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Wet Wading Shoe
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Superior Wading Shoe,
August 4, 2011
By: Budro
from Western Virginia
"This wading shoe has great support for my ankles and the no slip felt bottom keeps me from slipping on moss covered rocks.
Just remove the inner boot and they can be used with my featherlight hip waders for early and late season trout fishing.
The perfect wading shoe for the rivers and creeks of western Virginia.
"
Review 4 for Wet Wading Shoe
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Summer Wading Shoe,
July 19, 2011
By: NYFlyfisher
"Great for hot summer days when you want to forget your chest warers and just wear short pants and wading shoes."
Review 5 for Wet Wading Shoe
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
great wading shoes,
July 6, 2011
By: jeffe
from Wy outdoorsmen & fishing guide
"After using these great wading shoes, I was very please on how comfortable they are and how well they work from not slipping on the rocks ect. The only bad thing about them is that they have a felt sole and not a rubber sole for the environment."
Review 6 for Wet Wading Shoe
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not for me,
June 15, 2011
By: Soybean
"This looked like a nice product, however, I wear extra wide shoes, and although the wading shoe was the right size the neoprene booties compressed my feet in a most uncomfortable manner such that I would only have been able to wear the shoes with regular socks. I exchanged the item for a more conventional wding shoe."
Review 7 for Wet Wading Shoe
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Almost as good as sliced bread,
June 3, 2011
By: Wildbilly
from Gods Country
"Have not had any of the issues that others have regarding putting on and taking off the booties. I have used them with waders as well and they fit great. I was worried about the ankle support since they are a low cut shoe but I haven't had anything negative about them. Great shoe for the price."
Review 8 for Wet Wading Shoe
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not good,
March 20, 2011
By: Quickdraw
from Michigan
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"I purchased these as they were on clearance, and after trying them on promptly returned them. The liners were way too small, but more importantly the felt bottom is smaller than the overall sole of the boot making it difficult to balance on them. Makes no sense. If they made the liners bigger, and removed the felt sole it would be a nice shoe."
Review 9 for Wet Wading Shoe
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great,
February 1, 2011
By: wyfisherman
from Jackson, Wyoming USA
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have owned several pairs of these shoes since they were introduced and they are excellent. I almost never wear waders (too hot) and wear these boots 75-80 days per season. I get about 3 seasons out of them before they start to fall apart, but for the amount of hard miles I put on them that's not bad. I only wish the would come in a rubber sole since felt is on it's way out."
Review 10 for Wet Wading Shoe
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Booties Are too Small !!!!!!!,
October 9, 2010
By: svidguy
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"The booties are almost impossible to put on and take off!!! The openings of the booties are too small and the elastic side panels are not flexible enough to allow one to put them on with reasonable effort. I ripped one of the pull tabs on the back of a bootie the first time I tried to use it. I wear a size 9 1/2, bought a size 10, and even tried a size 11 bootie and they are almost impossible to put on. Orvis needs to have their supplier in China redesign the booties so that they can be put on and taken off with reasonable ease.
On the plus side the shoe itself is well made, comfortable to wear, and more than adequate for wet wading. Just don't expect to use the booties that are provided with the shoe.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Wet Wading Shoe
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Almost a Great Product,
October 8, 2010
By: tshall
from Missouri
Good Value: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"Orvis once again comes close to creating an industry standard, but is hamstrung by some design and quality control problems. The booty's seams began to pop the moment I tried to put them on my foot, which is not a large foot by any means. On my first trip out, on a small stream, the glue that holds the gray rubber gave out and pebbles became stuck between it and the green border. The booty needs a zipper, and the sole needs to be stitched."
Review 12 for Wet Wading Shoe
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
very good product,
October 8, 2010
By: ckfromWyoGoPokes
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Wore the shoe 2 consectutive days on the Big Horn in Mt. Very comfortable. BOT for wet wading but used with full chest wader and were great. Do yourself a favor and purchase a pair. The liners are to small."
Review 13 for Wet Wading Shoe
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
So far, So Good,
August 6, 2010
By: Tbone5
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I usually use waders but on a hot July trip this year I decided to wet wade. Instead of wearing my old "river shoes" I decided to try these shoes. Orvis did not get my 2-day shipping correct and I almost didnt get them for my trip. However, their customer support was Awesome and they arranged to have another pair shipped overnight (free of charge) to my hotel room. If you are like me, order these one full size larger than you usually wear as they will be much more comfortable. I've only worn them 2 days (combined 19 hours of fishing) but hope they last a while!"
Review 14 for Wet Wading Shoe
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Value,
July 11, 2010
By: FlylineCutty
from Spokane, WA
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Good shoe for the price, the only problem was one of the socks ripped after the first trip."
Review 15 for Wet Wading Shoe
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Satisfied,
July 8, 2010
By: RayMissouri
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"The shoes are made well, high quality and good value. The problem I had was with size, my feet are wide and there is only one width (whatever that is). I wear a size 10 shoe so that is what I ordered. I was not able to use the neoprene socks at all, to tight on my feet and could not get shoes on. I now ware the shoes with a double set of white cotton socks and that seems to work reasonable well. I would not want to go hiking in these shoes, but I can work a small stream for a day without much discomfort, stay away from sand and mud. Overall they are a great asset and I expect them to only get better with time."
Review 16 for Wet Wading Shoe
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Price,
July 4, 2010
By: WVFlies
from West Virginia
Good Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Was very disappointed with the purchase I made yesterday 7/3 at a local Orvis dealer. I loved the look of the shoe in the store and made the purchase. My problem with the purchase was looking at the price on the Orvis website today. $59, and I paid $89 yesterday."
Review 17 for Wet Wading Shoe
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Suggestion,
July 1, 2010
By: PhilT
from New Braunfels, TX
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I come from water skiing and we have hard to put on bindings.
Try keeping a spray bottle of water with a little dish soap in it handy. Wet the bootie and your foot before putting them on. The little bit of soap will wash away as soon as you get in the water.
Try to use as little soap as possible. You might have to experiment a little to get it right so that the bootie doesn't stay slippery."
Review 18 for Wet Wading Shoe
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Nice shoe but...,
June 28, 2010
By: Dervinski
from Northern Utah
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I purchased these shoes after bashing my toes in a pair of sandals while wet wading our northern Utah streams over the last two years, and they certainly are an improvement. My only complaint (all together now) are the booties. By design, the mouth of the booty must fit tightly to prevent rocks and gravel from finding their way into the shoe, and they certainly do that! The first time I managed to pull the booties on, the stitching on the right foot came apart like opening a sack of feed corn. The rest of the shoe is such a quality product, however, I am keeping them, and will either retrofit the booties to fit my size-13 feet, or wear an old pair of feet from a trashed pair of waders. To their credit, Orvis has offerred a 100% refund, but I'll pass, as I think this is basically a good product."
Review 19 for Wet Wading Shoe
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would Highly Recommend,
June 10, 2010
By: cheechako77
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have to admit that when I ordered these I was concerned most of all about the color. This being because I have never had an Orvis product I didn't like, thus this somewhat picky attitude. However, was very happy to find that the colors in the photo are darker and more subtle which gives the boot an appearance of what it is supposed to be. A wading boot rather then a glorified tennis shoe. As for the boots themselves I think they're great. Have only used them once Grayling fishing the Chena River here in Fairbanks, but no problems slipping on the gravel or good size rocks. And, best of all they are very comfortable to walk in. I know one person brought up about the felt protruding beyond the edges of the sole, and that's true. Was a little leery of that myself, but wasn't noticeable at all when walking or wading in them. Only thing I would caution anyone about is the sizing. I wear a size ten shoe and any other wading boot I've had have been size eleven which usually gives me a good fit. However, these in an 11 are just a touch big even with a sock and the neoprene boot on my waders. Thus if you wear a half size I would recommend you just go with the next full size. As for the booties that come with them, haven't tried them but I can see what everyone else has said. Think they would be a night mare to put on and take off. Overall, a great boot especially at the sale price."
Review 20 for Wet Wading Shoe
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Buy,
June 4, 2010
By: NewHampshireJoe
from Bedford, NH
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I read all the reviews on this shoe and was concerned with the two primary complaints - felt pad did not extend all the way to the edge of the shoe and bootie was too tight. After a few trips out on the streams here in NH I can say that the shoes are a great buy. The felt looked like it would feel "tippy" when walking, but once they are on and you are in the stream the are very stable. The bootie was tight, but the trick is to only have your thumb in the back when sliding them on, when you put on a normal shoe or boot you grab both the front and back. The tightness if typical of wet-suit gear to keep water from sloshing around in your bootie. I always seem to be hot in wadders and it is so refreshing to feel the cool water moving past. I won't be wearing my wadders again until the late fall!"