Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Tie-Fast Knot-Tying Tool

Found hanging from lanyards and in drift boats all across the world, the Tie-Fast Knot-Tying Tool will have you tying nail knots in seconds. From seasoned guides to first-time anglers, nail knots will become an afterthought with this perfectly designed and extremely handy stainless steel nail knot tyer tool. Step-by-step instructions included. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.758 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (149 reviews)
5 stars
121
4 stars
24
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
2
146 of 149(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Stories:
Customer Reviews for Tie-Fast Knot-Tying Tool
Review 1 for Tie-Fast Knot-Tying Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Not Just for Anglers!,
September 1, 2015
By: Owheelie
from County Tyrone, Ireland
"Over the last few years, I have suffered a number of stroke. One of the ongoing legacies is the inability to close my right thumb and forefinger. The Knot Tyer has enabled me to join thin treads of cotton and wool together in my weaving exercises (good for mind & precision through repetition) with ease."
Review 2 for Tie-Fast Knot-Tying Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fast tye,
July 31, 2015
By: Wizarf421
from Westland Mi
"This is a great product. Ties a very good knot quickly. No fumbling with loose fishing line or getting hooked while tying aknot."
Review 3 for Tie-Fast Knot-Tying Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to use knot tying tool,
July 6, 2015
By: Pomfretian
from North of England, UK
"It only took me 15 minutes to master this tool and now as I get older my fumbling fingers are no longer an issue. I would thoroughly recommend this tool."
Review 4 for Tie-Fast Knot-Tying Tool
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Worthwhile purchase,
June 27, 2015
By: KB25
from Derby, United Kingdom
"The tool certainly makes an easy job out of tying the fiddly nail knot, although my particular example wasn't perfectly made in that it wasnt pressed/bent correctly. However, it appears to be more cosmetic an issue as Ive had not problems doing nail knots for leader loops on to the main fly line.
Overall I would recommend it.
"
Review 5 for Tie-Fast Knot-Tying Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tied up,
June 2, 2015
By: MarkA12
from San Luis Obispo Ca
"Handy for someone just starting out; I need glassed and know I use for the stable base to tie a fly easier."
Review 6 for Tie-Fast Knot-Tying Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
May 22, 2015
By: Inversnaid
"Does what it promises to do - easy, quick and safe nail knots!"
Review 7 for Tie-Fast Knot-Tying Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
An absolute must have for all hook tying,
May 19, 2015
By: OLDnHOPPY
from Middlesex
"I purchased this after browsing the Orvis website, intrigued with the look of it and the fact it was stainless steel and looked simplistic. I needed something that would make tying hooks easier as I was finding it difficult tying hooks by hand as my hands are not as nimble as they used to be and I was loosing fish due to poor hook tying. I purchased one and gave it a go, I found that it's the most easy tool to use and you can even cut the line right up to the hook without affecting the knot strength. Since using I have never lost a fish and I have purchased two more for my friends and will buy a few more. All I can say is buy and try and don't think twice as you will not regret it, 10/10+"
Review 8 for Tie-Fast Knot-Tying Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Simple and easy,
May 17, 2015
By: PhunWithPhysics
from Long Valley, NJ
"One of my most used tools. Easy. Simple. Fast. 'Nuff said"
Review 9 for Tie-Fast Knot-Tying Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Simple but effective,
May 8, 2015
By: Berkeley67
from England
"It's simple and makes great knots really easy. Get the bigger version if you can...think it would be easier"
Review 10 for Tie-Fast Knot-Tying Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great time saving product!,
April 27, 2015
By: KayackFlyFisher
from Fort Mill, SC
"I always fumbled trying to tie a nail knot - but no more - this tool made it very simple and fast. I can now tie a fly line to leader in a matter of moments. Great Tool!!"
Review 11 for Tie-Fast Knot-Tying Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nail Knot Tying Tool,
April 26, 2015
By: saltylady2
from Germanton, North Carolina
"I just bought this knot tool because when it comes to tying fly fishing knots, I am all thumbs! This tool is amazing. It makes knot tying a breeze. I highly recommend this product to everyone."
Review 12 for Tie-Fast Knot-Tying Tool
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Exactly as described,
April 6, 2015
By: GreggM
from Birmingham, AL
"Good illustrated instructions for beginner use. Need to practice before actual fishing"
Review 13 for Tie-Fast Knot-Tying Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice little tool!,
March 20, 2015
By: DonStanton
from Erie, PA
"I can turn nail knots in less than a minute with this little gem."
Review 14 for Tie-Fast Knot-Tying Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great purchase,
March 17, 2015
By: Flyeh41
from Haddington east lothian
"I bought this as I am new to fly fishing and I am not very clued up on knots.
It's very easy to use and the instructions are pretty straight forwards.
Would most definitely recommend this product.
"
Review 15 for Tie-Fast Knot-Tying Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TIE-FAST KNOT TYING TOOL,
February 26, 2015
By: MORTPilot
from Athens, Tennessee
"While nail knots are not really difficult to tie, they are time consuming. This small tool takes the labor and the wasted stream time out of the process. I do recommend this handy-dandy tool for other fly fishermen and women."
Review 16 for Tie-Fast Knot-Tying Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
elegant, efficient simplicity,
February 23, 2015
By: 4WDFlyfisher
from Ostrander, OH
"Best nail-knot tool around. I've tied a lot of nail knots, before and after the Tie-Fast was introduced, and this make for a fast, tight, consistent, neat, cylindrical, symmetrical knot, tie after tie."
Review 17 for Tie-Fast Knot-Tying Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
wonderfull tool to have,
February 9, 2015
By: piedpiperwales
from Blackwood South Wales U.K.
"This fast Knot tying tool has revolutionised fishing for me as I have trouble tying by hand hands as I have a problem with my fingers and cant grip
since bying this very reasonably priced item I have no problem at all its so easy and efficient
Thanks Orvis
"
Review 18 for Tie-Fast Knot-Tying Tool
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Easy to use,
February 3, 2015
By: Vadims
from Hastings
"Easy to use especially warm time spring and summer. I put 4 star only because this made from steel and cold time this is problem."
Review 19 for Tie-Fast Knot-Tying Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great tool,
December 22, 2014
By: PL67
from Ludlow UK
"took a bit of time to get the hang of this , but a god send especially in cold weather"
Review 20 for Tie-Fast Knot-Tying Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fly fishing knot-tying tool,
December 3, 2014
By: scarecrow66
"I found the tool difficult at first and spent some time teaching myself the dexterity needed in following the instruction leaflet . However , I have to admit that at my age these fingers lack the suppleness of former years . Nevertheless, I have become adept in using the gadget to good effect and continue to improve ."