Orvis Ratings and Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Turn-On Strike Indicator

Secure fly fishing strike indicator system floats high in the water. Indicators attach quickly without having to snip your fly off and reposition easily. Available in yellow/multi, pink/multi, orange. Six fishing strike indicators per pack.
Average Customer Rating:
3.684 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
2
13 of 19(68%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Turn-On Strike Indicator
Review 1 for Turn-On Strike Indicator
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good visibility and sticking power,
March 5, 2013
By: HatchMatcher
from London
"Previous strike indicators I've use have either required knotting to the line or have had a tendency to come off while I cast. These avoid both issues and the dual colour provides great visibility."
Review 2 for Turn-On Strike Indicator
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
gone with the cast,
February 8, 2013
By: Fireball
from Research Triangle Park Area, NC
"I've only tried them a few times, since I got them. But I've already lost one on a cast. No idea where it went! Just disappeared."
Review 3 for Turn-On Strike Indicator
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
See the bites,
January 9, 2013
By: waterspider
from Fairfax, VA
"Excellent bite visual indicator. Easy to put on line and I like the reverseable colors to accommodate water colors and sunlight."
Review 4 for Turn-On Strike Indicator
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Work great,
December 22, 2012
By: JMS43
from Westchester, ny
"I have tried several strike indicators. They all slide or I can't remove them. These stay where you put them and are easy to remove or move when you need too."
Review 5 for Turn-On Strike Indicator
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
works great.,
September 20, 2012
By: rvator
from Prescott, Az.
"easy to put on, adjust up or down and remove. Works as advertised. Large size is easy to see, floats the line nicely."
Review 6 for Turn-On Strike Indicator
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Design Faults,
September 4, 2012
By: Namrap
from Blue Springs, MO
"I was trout fishing on Labor day and purchased a package of Turn-On strike indicators. They were a bit expensive but I figured they were reusable so the price was not to bad. On all 4 that came in the package the rubber band that held them together broke after 7-10 casts. I went thru all 4 within 2-3 hours."
Review 7 for Turn-On Strike Indicator
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice,
September 3, 2012
By: KevinAZ
from Phoenix, AZ
"Purchased on sale. small, great for the small streams that I fish (attempt to fish)."
Review 8 for Turn-On Strike Indicator
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Turn On Strike Indicators,
May 6, 2012
By: TheRev
"Easy to put on the line, easy to move and stays put whilst casting. An excellent product."
Review 9 for Turn-On Strike Indicator
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not for little guys,
September 21, 2011
By: treyalex10
"To start I want to say that I would recommend this product to a friend, if the product was used in certain circumstances. The circumstances are that you cant use these indicators with super fine tippets or leaders, 6x or 7x. If you twist 3 times they slide down to the tip, if you twist 4 times, POP! they break. I do think Orvis should advise clients of this when they buy it. I will also tell you that Orvis did refund my purchase with no questions. Great customer service."
Review 10 for Turn-On Strike Indicator
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Best I've Found,
May 10, 2011
By: JohnJA
from California
"Over the years, I have tried many different indicators. All of them have draw backs. Some are simply too heavy for light line trout fishing, many require that you remove the fly to put the indicator on, and others (ball and toothpicks) cause tangles. This design has solved each of those problems. They are easy to put on (five or six quick half turns prevent them from sliding), they cause a minimum of tangles, and the light weight minimizes any effects on your cast.
However, they are far from perfect. In only a few cases have the foam pieces split, but the little rubber inserts go fairly regularly. I have gone through an entire bag of them in a weekend. My guess is that the rubber may age. The group that failed on me stayed in my vest over the Winter. Finally, the price is outrageous. A container of the putty style indicator stuff lasted me five years. I have gone through as many as three bags of these things in a season. If you make minimum wage, they aren't for you. If you can afford them, they are the best I have found."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Turn-On Strike Indicator
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Great for about five minutes,
March 30, 2011
By: SpiffyPuffendoogle
Good Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"These indicators were great until they broke, one after another. The little rubber band in the middle either slides on your leader- or you give it a couple more wraps and the leader cuts the band in half. I went through one pack in about 3 hours... good-bye 10 bucks."
Review 12 for Turn-On Strike Indicator
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Looks better than it performs,
October 24, 2010
By: OldSchool
Good Value: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I bought a pack thinking that they will be highly visible and easy to use. They are easy to put on the line but will occasionaly slide down an unknotted leader. In addition, sometimes will cause tangles in the line. The biggest problem is that they sit halfway submerged and when you use a bead head nymph or some split shot they get pulled below the surface."
Review 13 for Turn-On Strike Indicator
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
love these indicators,
July 7, 2010
By: windknot7979
"these indicaters are the best out there.they are so fast and easy to work with.I would hightly recommand these to anyone."
Review 14 for Turn-On Strike Indicator
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
stirke indicator,
December 20, 2009
By: dduffyarch
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Easy on and easy off. I like the ability to adjust it and i don't have to break the line or tie any knots. Keeps one fishing instead of rigging gear."
Review 15 for Turn-On Strike Indicator
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Strike indicator of choice,
May 29, 2008
By: trouthunter223
from St Louis
"Must have for anyone who likes to use indicators. Very easy to use, low profile in the water, and easy to cast.
Downside: With heavily weighted nymphs or tungsten can pull indicator under water
"
Review 16 for Turn-On Strike Indicator
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Turn-On Strike Indicator,
April 3, 2008
By: tarheeltrout
from North Carolina
"Several things make this strike indicator useful. First, the twist on design holds the indicator at the desired level, yet allows for the height to be adjusted easily. The two colors allow for contrast while floating in and out of different light conditions. These float high in the water, but are not extremely bulky."
Review 17 for Turn-On Strike Indicator
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Turn-On Strike Indicator,
March 11, 2008
By: HuckFinn
from CT
"The great things about these is that you can change the depth with out it starting to slide on your leader like stick on indicators do. I agree with Wooly. Five turns solves the problem of it falling off and sliding entirely. These are by far the best indicators you can use, once you know how to use them."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Turn-On Strike Indicator
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Turn-On Strike Indicator,
October 1, 2007
By: RHicks
"Nice idea but the indicator rarely stays on the leader for long and usually flies off into oblivion during your fourth of fifth cast. The constant loss of this item makes it a potentially expensive indicator to use on a continued basis."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamOctober 15, 2007
Orvis Customer Service contacted this customer and offered a replacement at no cost. You can always shop at Orvis with complete confidence. We will cheerfully exchange or refund your purchase at any time, for any reason. Our 100% Satisfaction Guarantee is the strongest in the business.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Turn-On Strike Indicator
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1