Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Ultra Wire

Ultra Wire is the hottest item in fly tying! A fine-gauge coated copper wire, this material is perfect for tying midges and nymphs of all types. Ultra Wire has changed fly tying as innovative patterns like the Copper John appear, using colored wire as a primary body material. A great material for tying Brassies of all colors. In red, black, yellow/chartreuse, gold, olive, copper, amber, Brassie, silver. Sizes extra small, small, medium. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.808 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (52 reviews)
5 stars
47
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
50 of 52(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Ultra Wire
Review 1 for Ultra Wire
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pleasant Surprise,
June 27, 2015
By: jwas3000
from Cotswolds, England
"I took a chance on the XS as I am tying up some very small nymphs. This is great. Now ordered more colours in bigger sizes. Olive is matt. Looks great."
Review 2 for Ultra Wire
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ultra Wire,
May 5, 2015
By: tonybonsai
"Bought this again, at a very good price, as it has previously proved to be a good useable product. Ties good flies and have experienced no negative issues."
Review 3 for Ultra Wire
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ultra Wire,
March 3, 2015
By: Robo22
"I have used the ultra wire for few years after is was recommended to me by a friend. It's so strong and easy to use and available in so many different colours and sizes. You won't be disappointed with the ultra wire range from Orvis."
Review 4 for Ultra Wire
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
smooth ultra wire,
February 26, 2015
By: junglecock666666666666666
from scottish borders
"this the best wire on the market,great value online with orvis"
Review 5 for Ultra Wire
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
uni wire,
February 9, 2015
By: whatthe
from Jersey shore
"This is a good product. Easy to work with and so many colors and different sizes. Easy to get one that suites your tying needs."
Review 6 for Ultra Wire
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Wire is AOK,
December 17, 2014
By: RhinoRoy
from VA
"The spool design allows the free end to be captured so it doesn't unravel. Nice touch."
Review 7 for Ultra Wire
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product,
November 14, 2014
By: flyfish42
from West Yortkshire
"Top quality product with a great range of wire diameters and colours. What more can one ask?"
Review 8 for Ultra Wire
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fly Tying wire,
November 14, 2014
By: Battey56
from Bognor Regis West Sussex
"I instruct fly tying with a branch of the fly dressers guild the UTC wires are soft with a good selection of colours, gaet Nymphs and Buzzers used in conjuction with a good quality varnish or quick drying clear resin."
Review 9 for Ultra Wire
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ultra wire,
November 13, 2014
By: Flatsghost
from Worcestershire. England
"This is excellent wire which will enhance any fly and the range of colours is excellent. Very pleased and would recommend to others."
Review 10 for Ultra Wire
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ulta Wire,
November 13, 2014
By: FlyFisher121
from Dunfermline
"This is an excellent wire, available in various colours and thicknesses. The range covers all aspects of fly tying."
Review 11 for Ultra Wire
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
good product,
October 29, 2014
By: DeniseCM
"I will know more when I use my newly tied flies, however it came quick."
Review 12 for Ultra Wire
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ultra wire,
June 10, 2014
By: whatthe
from Jersey shore
"This is a must ribbing for midges, the small works great, The medium for 14 and larger flies."
Review 13 for Ultra Wire
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ultra,
April 9, 2014
By: backcountrycutt
from Denver, CO
"This is high quality stuff. I use it for ribbing nymphs primarily. I'm not sure what else to say... It is easy to work with, comes in a bunch of colors and gauges of wire, and the quality is consistent. I couldn't ask for more!"
Review 14 for Ultra Wire
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
As expected,
March 17, 2014
By: lespaul
from CT
"Standard stuff but wish they made a few more colors in the xsmall but it's still very good quality"
Review 15 for Ultra Wire
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Strong and Bright,
March 12, 2014
By: VaTrout
from Fredericksburg, Va
"Excellent product. But you already know that if you are considering purchasing."
Review 16 for Ultra Wire
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ultra wire,
March 3, 2014
By: revenge
from Lewisburg, WV
"Excellent product in excellent color choice. Works great for ribbing and tying midges."
Review 17 for Ultra Wire
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great on small flies.,
January 27, 2014
By: ChattoogaRiverTroutBum
from Easley, SC
"I used to use brassie size Ultra wire even for small flies, but now that I see how well it ribs and how easily it helicopters (breaks) off when you have finished tying it off, I am sticking with this new x-small size."
Review 18 for Ultra Wire
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very good product,
January 16, 2014
By: JBCOLO
"I have used Ultra Wire for several years now and find it to be an excellent product. As an ingrediant for attractor patterns it is unsurpassed as far as I am concerned. I have found red to be the most productive even though I have most if not all the colors. I have most if not all the sizes also. Very good stuff."
Review 19 for Ultra Wire
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Wire,
December 8, 2013
By: Troutman1
from Addison, Vermont
"This wire is perfect for tying delicate segments of insect immitations in nymphs or drys. Protects against shred by trout teeth on any pattern. An excellent value."
Review 20 for Ultra Wire
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Orvis is a choice supplier,
December 7, 2013
By: Petesalmonla
from Uk game fishing sea and freshwater
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"These wires are ideal for the discerning fly dresser.
Various grades to utilise on differing size flies.
A great range from a choice supplier.
"