Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Ultra Wire

Ultra Wire is the hottest item in fly tying! A fine-gauge coated copper wire, this material is perfect for tying midges and nymphs of all types. Ultra Wire has changed fly tying as innovative patterns like the Copper John appear, using colored wire as a primary body material. A great material for tying Brassies of all colors. In red, black, yellow/chartreuse, gold, olive, copper, amber, Brassie, silver. Sizes extra small, small, medium. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.763 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (38 reviews)
5 stars
34
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
36 of 38(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Ultra Wire
Review 1 for Ultra Wire
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ultra wire,
June 10, 2014
By: whatthe
from Jersey shore
"This is a must ribbing for midges, the small works great, The medium for 14 and larger flies."
Review 2 for Ultra Wire
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ultra,
April 9, 2014
By: backcountrycutt
from Denver, CO
"This is high quality stuff. I use it for ribbing nymphs primarily. I'm not sure what else to say... It is easy to work with, comes in a bunch of colors and gauges of wire, and the quality is consistent. I couldn't ask for more!"
Review 3 for Ultra Wire
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
As expected,
March 17, 2014
By: lespaul
from CT
"Standard stuff but wish they made a few more colors in the xsmall but it's still very good quality"
Review 4 for Ultra Wire
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Strong and Bright,
March 12, 2014
By: VaTrout
from Fredericksburg, Va
"Excellent product. But you already know that if you are considering purchasing."
Review 5 for Ultra Wire
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ultra wire,
March 3, 2014
By: revenge
from Lewisburg, WV
"Excellent product in excellent color choice. Works great for ribbing and tying midges."
Review 6 for Ultra Wire
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great on small flies.,
January 27, 2014
By: ChattoogaRiverTroutBum
from Easley, SC
"I used to use brassie size Ultra wire even for small flies, but now that I see how well it ribs and how easily it helicopters (breaks) off when you have finished tying it off, I am sticking with this new x-small size."
Review 7 for Ultra Wire
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very good product,
January 16, 2014
By: JBCOLO
"I have used Ultra Wire for several years now and find it to be an excellent product. As an ingrediant for attractor patterns it is unsurpassed as far as I am concerned. I have found red to be the most productive even though I have most if not all the colors. I have most if not all the sizes also. Very good stuff."
Review 8 for Ultra Wire
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Wire,
December 8, 2013
By: Troutman1
from Addison, Vermont
"This wire is perfect for tying delicate segments of insect immitations in nymphs or drys. Protects against shred by trout teeth on any pattern. An excellent value."
Review 9 for Ultra Wire
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Orvis is a choice supplier,
December 7, 2013
By: Petesalmonla
from Uk game fishing sea and freshwater
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"These wires are ideal for the discerning fly dresser.
Various grades to utilise on differing size flies.
A great range from a choice supplier.
"
Review 10 for Ultra Wire
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fine and Dandy!,
November 12, 2013
By: Chocky
from Teignmouth UK
"An excellent silver wire, fine and supple, ideal for those sized 10 to 16 flies for body ribbing.
Well recommended
"
Review 11 for Ultra Wire
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ultra,
June 22, 2013
By: Gallagher
from Mountain city , TN
"Awesome for tying zebra midges wish I could get some real wild colors"
Review 12 for Ultra Wire
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
June 7, 2013
By: savagefly
"I tie a lot of zebra midges. A LOT. This wire is perfect for ribbing of any kind or on any size hook. I also tie a lot of elk hair caddis' and this id perfect for the ribbing. Great stuff."
Review 13 for Ultra Wire
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ultra Wire Top quality,
March 28, 2013
By: FlyFisherJ
from Lorton, Va
"when you need the best quality in wire for tying midges, buggers, nymphs, etc the utc ultra wire will serve your needs"
Review 14 for Ultra Wire
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for ribbing and nymph bodies,
March 22, 2013
By: bamboo
from Virginia
"Wapsi makes a lot of great products and this one really shines as a must have for fly tyers. I tie mostly midges and you can get this wire in several sizes right down to a "midge" size that adds a minimal amount of build up to maintain slim bodies. With a huge selection of very vivid colors. Highly recommended."
Review 15 for Ultra Wire
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
UTC Wire,
February 27, 2013
By: PhxTier
from Phx, AZ
"What more to say, good stuff. Wish I could own every color in every size."
Review 16 for Ultra Wire
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Must Have,
January 16, 2013
By: streamsoul
from NW Pennsylvania
"With all the colors available a tying bench is incomplete without it."
Review 17 for Ultra Wire
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just the job,
December 5, 2012
By: Frankthesurf
from Llanarmon Yn Ial, Near the River Dee, North Wales
"Wanted to tye some small CDC with a bit of weight on. This wire did the job valiantly!"
Review 18 for Ultra Wire
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The best ribbing wire I know,
September 19, 2012
By: deespinner
from Liverpool UK
"UTC have found a ready market for this exellent product as both a strenghener and highlighter used as ribbing or entirely as a body. very well made"
Review 19 for Ultra Wire
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good teeth barrier,
September 10, 2012
By: cpl1775
"Use this to mostly reinforce bodies from sharp fish teeth and it works well! I like to get more than a dozen hits off of one fly before having to fix it and this really helps."
Review 20 for Ultra Wire
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Shortee than most,
August 16, 2012
By: Piker20
"I recently received various spools of ultra wire xsmall small and medium. The product itself is excellent for tying and ribbing flies.
My only gripe is that the small olive spool is nearly half empty. I can see the spool under some of the coils. I'm not sure if it was the end spool or a return. The other spools are all full to the brim.
"