Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Foam Terrestrial Kit

Four kits make it easy to tie with foam and are a great gift item. Each individual kit contains enough hooks and materials to tie two dozen flies, and come with complete tying instructions. The Complete Foam Terrestrial Kit is a combination of the other kits and allows the tyer to create over $100 worth of flies. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
14 of 14(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Foam Terrestrial Kit
Review 1 for Foam Terrestrial Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Foam flies,
April 9, 2014
By: Hamster1034
from Polk City, FL
"These kits are neat! They make tying the four foam flies so easy! Directions are clear and easy to follow and quick! You folks should consider packaging other types of kits, i.e., dries, nymphs, tricos, etc., for sale."
Review 2 for Foam Terrestrial Kit
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
wrong hooks,
November 1, 2013
By: aced
"The foam spider hooks that were in the kit 3nw3sz8 a wet fly hook. The other hooks nw3sz10 a wet fly hook .I replaced them with a 94833 dry fly hook and they worked fine. Makes you wonder who does the quality control. The Chernobyl ant hooks were a .curved nymph hook I replaced with a 2xl straight shank fine wire hook worked fine. had fun with the kit well worth price"
Review 3 for Foam Terrestrial Kit
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Nice kit but misleading...,
July 3, 2013
By: biter72
from Newport Beach, CA, USA
"kit has everything you need and the flies are easy to tie. as previously mentioned though the foam for the ants are not the hi-vis foam (i.e. they are just one color WITHOUT the indicator). This is what I was really looking for so was a bit disappointed. But still, overall a nice easy kit to tie some flies with"
Review 4 for Foam Terrestrial Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Gift,
February 21, 2013
By: Limefish
"Got this for valentines day present for my boyfriend and he loved it"
Review 5 for Foam Terrestrial Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Foam Terrestrial Kit,
February 18, 2013
By: Bluegills
"I purchased this for my Grand Child 7 yeras old And he was able to follow the instriction very good.It was a great gift."
Review 6 for Foam Terrestrial Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Kit,
July 27, 2012
By: AceCurry
from Charleston, West Virginia
"A great kit for a small price. Allows you to tie a lot of flies."
Review 7 for Foam Terrestrial Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun and easy to tie,
July 4, 2012
By: Anonymous
from Dillon, SC
"Tied and was catching the same day. East to tie and a good starter set for the beginner!"
Review 8 for Foam Terrestrial Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great and Easy,
January 26, 2012
By: OleGreyFox
from Atlanta, GA
"I love this kit. It is easy to use for the beginner and yet very good material. I have had fun tying these patterns. I would recommend all three kits in one. Better price!!"
Review 9 for Foam Terrestrial Kit
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Makes tying a bit easier,
May 16, 2011
By: CultureBearer
from Virginia
"I'm a new fly tyer, and I find it hard to piece together all the materials I need with good instruction for how to put them together. This kit makes it a bit easier. Now that I know how to tie these terrestrials, I think I'll be able to buy more materials and continue. The instructions could be better, and this isn't for absolute never-tied-a-fly beginners. But it works for someone who has tied just a few."
Review 10 for Foam Terrestrial Kit
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
January 5, 2010
By: Dave068
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"The spider was the best deal with foam bodies precut and preshaped.
Hoppers had 3 pieces of foam that had to be cut for each fly. No big deal.
But the ant/beetle kit was a let down. the picture showed the and foam piece with a white indicator. but they are one color.
On a high note the instructions are clear and have color photos. and the spider kit comes with 2 sizes and 2 colors of foam bodies. If I had to do it again I would but just the spider kit."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamOctober 26, 2010
Orvis Customer Service contacted this customer to express regret that this terrestrial tying kit didn't meet his expectations, and to apologize for any inconvenience. We want our customers to be 100% pleased with all of their purchases from Orvis. We will gladly exchange or refund any purchase.
Review 11 for Foam Terrestrial Kit
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Complete materials,
October 5, 2007
By: Tesi
"Good quantity of tying materials. Instructions are adequate, but not extremely detailed. Might be difficult to follow for beginning tyers."
Review 12 for Foam Terrestrial Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
October 3, 2007
By: Johnny
"I recently received the Chernobyl Ant Kit, and I am happy I purchased it. It comes with everything you need to tie the flies (except thread). I am new to fly tying and I now find it very enjoying. Over all this is another excelent product from Orvis. Thanks Orvis."
Ratings-Only Reviews for Foam Terrestrial Kit
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 2 out of 2