Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Custom Sandanona Pull On Boots

Ten-inch-high oil-tanned leather boots with a lower made from 9-oz. bullhide and a lighter-weight, 6-oz. bullhide upper. These men's traditional leather boots feature cinch straps at ankle and top. Warm and comfortable insulated option uses the finest-grade shearling. Men's traditional leather boots weigh 3.83 lbs. per pair in size 10. Made in USA.Whole and half sizes: 6-15.Widths: A, B, C, D, E, EE, EEE, 4E, 5E, and 6E.
Average Customer Rating:
4.615 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
12 of 13(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Custom Sandanona Pull On Boots
Review 1 for Custom Sandanona Pull On Boots
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Uncomfortable,
November 12, 2014
By: Gterry
from Tuscaloosa, AL
"After talking to many friends about how awesome the Custom Gokey Boots were, I decided to make the large investment in a pair. I have had them for almost 3 years now and they still rub my heels raw every time I wear them. I have tried to wear them in and simply can not get them to be a comfortable boot. I was a little let down when the customer service man told me he was sorry and there was nothing that he could do. Not worth the expensive price..."
Review 2 for Custom Sandanona Pull On Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent custom-fit Sandanona boots,
February 17, 2014
By: MStiegel
"The only thing to say about these boots is "excellent". They fit like a glove and are great to wear all day, whether at the office or in the field."
Review 3 for Custom Sandanona Pull On Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Albeit Fortuitous But My Best Boot Purchase Ever,
January 26, 2012
By: rmtlaw
from Moscow, Russian Federation
"I have two pair of what Orvis now denominates as "Sandanona Pull On Boots." One pair are 30 years old & the other is 20 plus. Both are paragons of comfort, durability, and elegant styling. I am so relieved & heartened that Orvis has undertaken to continue the manufacture, sale, plus repair of these remarkable boots! Kudos to Orvis & the great Gokey tradition!"
Review 4 for Custom Sandanona Pull On Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Boots Around,
January 11, 2012
By: Slipknot
from Georgia
"This is my fourth pair of Gokeys, and all are still in active service. The thick leather and quality construction makes them almost indestrucable and also allows them to retain their good looks forever. My first pair, which are snake boots, was given to me over 17 years ago, and are still a staple in all of my quail hunting endeavors. (Even if it is too cold for snakes, they make great riding boots.) This shorter pair is perfect for any outdoor activity. This is my second custom pair. The non-custom Gokeys that I have fit just fine, but I do like the zipper in the back of the custom boots, which just makes them easier to get on and off."
Review 5 for Custom Sandanona Pull On Boots
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fits perfect,
January 6, 2012
By: okiegopher
from OKC, OK
"I decided to buy the Custom Sandanona boots because of the reviews i had read about the non-customs. The customs take a little bit longer to ship, but well worth the wait! They fit perfectly right out of the box and are very comfortable to wear for long periods of time, standing and walking."
Review 6 for Custom Sandanona Pull On Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My third pair of Gokeys...,
December 21, 2011
By: TheFishingLibrarian
from Arlington, TX
"And, these are quite possibly my favorite. They're comfortable, sturdy, and they look sharp with anything I wear with them either on the town, at the office, or in the woods. I have gotten more compliments on these boots than any I have ever owned."
Review 7 for Custom Sandanona Pull On Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome boot,
December 12, 2011
By: nat22
"I received my custom Gokeys and tried them on. Wow the fit, craftsmanship are top notch. USA made all the way. Thanks Orvis!!!"
Review 8 for Custom Sandanona Pull On Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
One Tough Wearing Boot,
July 27, 2011
By: Rassler
"I have had a pair of Gokeys' Sandanona Boots for 25+ years; before Orvis acquired Gokey's or they were called Sandanona Boots. They are great boots for any outdoor activity. Mine still look and feel as good as ever except for the sole which is about worn out. The sole is the old white/clear Vibram sole that was used before the current "non-marking" black soles were introduced. The change in soles is the only thing that's changed and I'm confident it's a better sole or it wouldn't have been changed. Get a pair. You won't be disappointed."
Review 9 for Custom Sandanona Pull On Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Always wanted a pair....,
April 20, 2011
By: Bradtoothdoc
from GA
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Got my new Gokey custom boots first of week, upon trying them on.... can honestly say that I could feel the immediate sized to my foot feel... It was nice to not feel any pressure points... Will see how time and wear affects fit, but so far...Wow, they are nice. I will call custom shop and see if they can tweak my stock Gokey snake boots to feel as wonderful as my new pull ons."
Review 10 for Custom Sandanona Pull On Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
More than worth the investment,
September 9, 2010
By: BigR
from GA
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Great looking and most comfortable pair of footwear I've ever owned. Looking forward to having them for the rest of my life."
Review 11 for Custom Sandanona Pull On Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
4 Years Later...,
November 6, 2009
By: chris10452
from Gallupville, New York
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I wrote my first review of these boots just about 4 years ago and now that the weather is turning cold and I'm wearing them a lot, I felt prompted to note that this long after buying them, they may have grown better with age. They have many miles on them and the soles have held up wonderfully, the uppers are handsomely creased. The boots have a character that grabs comments frequently. Boots are all the rage this year, say the "style" experts and I know I'm covered."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Custom Sandanona Pull On Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful boot,
October 19, 2007
By: woodsman
from Basalt, Colorado
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I realized today my Gokey Pull On boots are 30 years old! Although they show plenty of character, they remain sturdy, comfortable and an ideal fall weather boot."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Custom Sandanona Pull On Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great boots,
October 4, 2007
By: burny
from Florida
"Best boots I have ever owned. I would recommend them to anyone. I put them on right out of the box, and no problems. No break in period at all. Went hunting all day, and felt that I had house slippers on."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.