Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Poplin Expandable Comfort-Waist Pants

Wrinkle-resistant, polyester/cotton-blend pants and shorts. The hidden, sliding expansion belt waistband allows them to stretch up to 21/2" so you're always comfortable. Ever-popular Orvis chino styling—less roomy in the hips than our field pants, but fuller than most casual pants—for everyday use and comfort. Polyester/cotton. Washable. Belt not included. Imported.Even waist sizes 32-46. Cuffed up to 34" or plain finished up to 35" at no extra charge.
Average Customer Rating:
3.486 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (35 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
6
1 star
6
22 of 35(63%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Poplin Expandable Comfort-Waist Pants
Review 1 for Poplin Expandable Comfort-Waist Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
excellent product,
March 1, 2014
By: sergeantE5
"I really like the relaxed fit and I love the pleats and cuffs. Very classy. Also I think the khaki color can be dressy or casual. The adjustable waistband is a winner!"
Review 2 for Poplin Expandable Comfort-Waist Pants
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
baggy,
February 15, 2014
By: flyfssh
from Yarmouth, Maine
"i found these pants very uncomfortable. ...too baggy...not fitted. I prefer Orvis's better quality khakis."
Review 3 for Poplin Expandable Comfort-Waist Pants
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Poor hem,
December 30, 2013
By: Hermanesque
from Boston, MA
"The size is not true and the hemming job was very poor. The pants were at least an inch longer than they should have been. I will have them shortened to avoid the hassle of sending them back."
Review 4 for Poplin Expandable Comfort-Waist Pants
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Tighter fit than comparable fatigues,
December 13, 2013
By: TDCH
"Fatigue trousers generally have a roomier seat and thigh. These are tailored tighter in these areas. I'm 6'4"/250lbs. Got the 40" waist. Considering going up a size; however, next up is a 42. Will advise."
Review 5 for Poplin Expandable Comfort-Waist Pants
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
very satisfactory purchase,
September 21, 2013
By: spuffy
from staffordshire
"good fabric , well tailored, results in excellent fit - pity my first choice colour wasn't immediately available"
Review 6 for Poplin Expandable Comfort-Waist Pants
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Tight waist,
July 23, 2013
By: Howey
"Waist size not true to order. I ordered a size larger than normal and they were very tight even with the expandable waist."
Review 7 for Poplin Expandable Comfort-Waist Pants
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good product but limitations,
May 7, 2013
By: RGman
from WY and AZ
"I really like the pants. Significant limitations in having only even-sized waists and in color selection (e.g., no navy blue)."
Review 8 for Poplin Expandable Comfort-Waist Pants
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good But Expensive,
April 2, 2013
By: Gangesboy
from Northamptonshire
"I bought these Chinos in desparation having been unable to get a decent & comfortable fit elsewhere.
And I'm pleased I did as they fit perfectly.
However I can't see why they cost so much more than other brands as the quality of the material and finish is nothing special. In fact Iwas surprised to find some loose threads and untidy stitching, allbeit a small amount.
"
Review 9 for Poplin Expandable Comfort-Waist Pants
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Waist band Problem,
February 1, 2013
By: Agola
from Ireland
"These fitted perfectly but the waist band on the right side was not fastened. Now, I don't know if this was supposed to be the case and it was up to me to fix it. I probably should have returned them or at least contacted Orvis to see if this was the case, but my wife intervened as you knew too well that I would never get round to returning them. It would be interesting to know if anyone else experienced this, so be warned!"
Review 10 for Poplin Expandable Comfort-Waist Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
All set for Spring Break,
December 28, 2012
By: mrsart3
"I bought these very comfortable pants for my husband. He loves the light weight fabric, the expandable waist, and perfect length because of the custom hemming. We are all set for our Spring break in warm, relaxing Florida."
Review 11 for Poplin Expandable Comfort-Waist Pants
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
"washable",
June 13, 2012
By: Package
from toledo, oh
"Again, like the shirt I ordered at the same time, I was disappointed to read the care label and discover that these trousers required special handling in the clothes washer. What a nuisance!"
Review 12 for Poplin Expandable Comfort-Waist Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Absolutely Perfect,
May 25, 2012
By: Anonymous
from New York, NY
"I wrote a most favorable review yesterday. As I noted, I've been buying these comfort waist pants for years and have never been disappointed. Great fit, great look, great product!"
Review 13 for Poplin Expandable Comfort-Waist Pants
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Anything but comfortable,
May 21, 2012
By: STLBlues
from St. Louis, MO
"I knew the time would come when I would have to post a negative review of an Orvis item.
These Poplin Comfort-Waist Pants are best avoided. The first 2 pair I received did not fit like any other Orvis pants I own. The waist was tight by almost two inches. Even with the comfort featured expanded to the maximum, these pants were anything but comfortable. The space between crouch and belt is extremely short, commonly called “low rise”. I won’t detail the comfort problems “low rise” creates. but trust me it is best avoided at a 3+ hour college graduation.
If these pants fit better they would be a wonderful addition to any summer wardrobe. The poplin material is quite cool and almost impervious to wrinkles.
The Orvis customer service folks shipped a larger size the same day I called, but even these pants did not fit quite right."
Review 14 for Poplin Expandable Comfort-Waist Pants
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Nice Product,
May 3, 2012
By: aarogon
from Connecticut
"While I think this product has a high degree of quality, the color and especially the sizing (well within the upper layers of each size) caused me to return the products."
Review 15 for Poplin Expandable Comfort-Waist Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great fit khaki's,
May 2, 2012
By: durnie
"I finaly found trousers that stay up and feel great on. the deep pockets are a good sign of a good pair of trrousers. the material enhances the feel."
Review 16 for Poplin Expandable Comfort-Waist Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These have been consistently great,
February 13, 2012
By: Pamfooh2
"Best pants for me. I need the light weight and expanding waist."
Review 17 for Poplin Expandable Comfort-Waist Pants
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A boon to the portly,
January 18, 2012
By: Philtheflyfisher
"I love these trousers and have bought about a dozen pairs over the past three or four years. They are so comfortable for my portly shape that they are now my preferred attire.
My one criticism is that the elastic tends to age rather quickly, probably because the regular washing subjects it to 40 degrees. However, give they are light in colour, what a boon that they are machine washable. I will continue to buy these.
"
Review 18 for Poplin Expandable Comfort-Waist Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
top quality,
January 12, 2012
By: Hamarg
"The pants wear comfortably and properly in the fit all ways."
Review 19 for Poplin Expandable Comfort-Waist Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Much improved,
January 2, 2012
By: ndmick
"I love these pants which can be worn as casual or dress slacks. The elastic on the waist broke on the first pair I purchased. Because they are so expensive (more than they should be), I called customer service before buying a second pair and they indicated that they had fixed the problem with the waist elastic. I recently received the pants and the elastic had been noticeably improved and I was impressed that Orvis would respond so well to customer concerns."
Review 20 for Poplin Expandable Comfort-Waist Pants
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Trousers,
July 5, 2011
By: MarkA70
"I am wearing these trousers at the moment. I think they fit well and and I love the fabric weight. I believe they are good value."