Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Lightning Bug

The curved hook of this great prospecting nymph fly gives it a natural look. The colors and flash of the nymph make it attractive to feeding trout. The Lightning Bug is a great nymph to fish when other flies are not working and you don't know what is hatching. It imitates many natural nymphs and has a flash to it that trout can't seem to resist. Sizes: 12, 14, 16, 18.
Average Customer Rating:
4.647 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
16 of 17(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lightning Bug
Review 1 for Lightning Bug
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Nymph!,
August 22, 2014
By: CSpringsflyfisher
"Sunny day on the South Platte and this fly made it a great day. Fished a size 18 in the pockets and both browns and rainbows went right after it. One pool I caught and released 5 rainbows. Used with and without an indicator. This is definitely my go-to nymph when starting the day."
Review 2 for Lightning Bug
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Prospecting Fly,
July 15, 2014
By: Gunner61
from Frederick, MD
"Great for covering a lot of water caught bows and browns"
Review 3 for Lightning Bug
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The curved hook wins,
June 22, 2014
By: Yetiologist
from IA
"It is difficult to find the lightning bug with a curved hook anywhere else but here. This is a great looking fly, well tied, which will catch many fish.
Thanks Orivs for the May sale!!"
Review 4 for Lightning Bug
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
December 14, 2012
By: MayoroftheSFk
"Great quality. I already knew they'd catch fish, and they do. There's a reason the guides on the Madison use them."
Review 5 for Lightning Bug
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Catches Fish,
May 18, 2012
By: WoolyB
from Weston CT
"When all else failed, pheasant tail, hairs ear, zug bug, the lighting bug landed two rainbows and a brown. Great go to fly."
Review 6 for Lightning Bug
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lightening Bug Fly,
May 16, 2012
By: CMLJR
from North Carolina
"I had read about this fly in an Orvis publication and in another article. So, I ordered a series of sizes. The fly was very productive as the dropper on a two fly rig on a 4 weight line. I like to dead drift flies and this one was obviously appealing to a number of browns and a rainbow on a day where they were very selective."
Review 7 for Lightning Bug
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome,
May 6, 2012
By: Jefferey
"Just finished fishing this and it was awesome! I caught about 10 in 40 minutes with this. It caught brown, bow, and white. Then I got a tangle and decided to switch it out to see what would happen with a different fly. I put on a prince and fished it for 15-20 minutes and didn't catch one.
Buy this fly.
"
Review 8 for Lightning Bug
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nicely made with flash!,
October 20, 2011
By: GreenT
from MA
"Nice little sub-surface fly with a lot if shiny flash. Nice sharp hook."
Review 9 for Lightning Bug
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great midge attractor,
August 26, 2011
By: lespaul
from CT
"Used this during a midge barrage and landed a few smaller salmon. would use with a dropper with a stimulator on top."
Review 10 for Lightning Bug
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
April 29, 2011
By: Corkey
"On a recent trip this spring to Colorado to visit my son we took some time to wet a line. The water was a little high and slightly colored, tipical for spring fishing. I used the Lightning Bug as an attacker with a phasent tail and it was the only fly that was productive that day. My son did not have this fly in his fly box and I only had the one left that I was using. He said that it was only the secoud time in the 15 years fishing in Colorado that he did not catch fish."
Review 11 for Lightning Bug
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Brook Trout Killer,
August 2, 2010
By: Ribjunkie
from Scottsdale, Arizona
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I recently went to Colorado for a guided small creeks trip. My guide Kevin recommended these and they caught a lot of Brookies. I now use these here in AZ and they are great when fished from a large stimulater as a dropper. I highly recommend picking some up."
Review 12 for Lightning Bug
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lightning Bug Review,
December 13, 2009
By: RAflyfish
from St. Louis, MO
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"When I purchased this fly I was skeptical because of its unnatural look. I used it for the first time at a local pond with stocked rainbows with good results. A week later I went fishing on a spring creek and all day I did not catch any fish on the usual flys. In a last attempt to not get skunked, I tied on the lighting bug and I caught a rainbow within two casts. Unfortunately the only lighting bug that I had purchased broke off. I would definately purchase the lighting bug again."
Review 13 for Lightning Bug
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ross won't fish without this fly!,
November 13, 2009
By: ZFisher
from Newtown, CT
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"My buddy Ross won't nymph without this fly. And his results have caused me to start carrying it as well. It's a great fly for the "top" fly on a two or three nymph rig. It gets the rig deep and gets a fair amount of fish as well."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Lightning Bug
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Slightly dissappointed,
March 3, 2008
By: LIFlyman
"I got this fly because of the great things I have heard about it. But when I got the fly, I was somewhat dissappointed. There was no dubbing on the fly. This was one of the reasons I got this fly. Because of the flashiness. It was just a bead head with tinsel wrapped around the shank. This is not what I usually expect from Orvis."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamMay 2, 2008
Orvis Customer Service contacted this customer and requested that he return a fly so that we could inspect it for quality purposes. This fly is supposed to have drubbing on it. As a result of his inconvenience, we also offered him an exchange or a refund. We also gave him the option of returning the flies to his local Orvis retail store. You can always shop at Orvis with complete confidence. We will cheerfully exchange or refund your purchase at any time, for any reason. Our 100% Satisfaction Guarantee is the strongest in the business.
Review 15 for Lightning Bug
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My new go-to all-purpose nymph,
January 18, 2008
By: Muskrat
from Oakville, ON
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"By the fall on the Grand, when the water is low and the fish have been educated by the constant pressure, it becomes ever more difficult to hook fish. My previous outing had turned a few Browns, but very few took. My guide on the Bow introduced me to the Lightning Bug late in the summer. I brought some back and decided to try them on the Grand. What a revelation! I use these now instead of an Hare's ear; at least, I suppose, until the Browns catch on."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Lightning Bug
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fishing the Ausable,
October 4, 2007
By: Mariner63
from Orange, Connecticut
"I was up on the Ausable in September nymphing the fast water. The lightning bug was amazingly effective on both the large browns and some smaller rainbows in the riffles at the head of several large pools. I would highly recommend this fly in several of the sizes available (12 & 16). I usually use it as the dropper and it works very well!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Lightning Bug
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1