Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Rabbit-fur-Trimmed Aviator Hat

The superior warmth of genuine rabbit fur combined with the weatherproof durability of leather makes this timeless aviator hat style an ideal choice for cold winter weather. Earflaps can be secured up or worn down. Fur leather aviator hat in brown. Leather, rabbit fur. Polyester lining. Professionally clean. Sizes S(6¾-6⅞), M(7-7⅛), L(7¼-7⅜), XL(7½-7⅝), XXL(7¾-7⅞)
Average Customer Rating:
4.643 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
26 of 28(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Rabbit-fur-Trimmed Aviator Hat
Review 1 for Rabbit-fur-Trimmed Aviator Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Winter Warmer,
October 21, 2012
By: Barto2Boats
from Nantwich, Cheshire
"I'm a keen Narrowboater and we enjoy boating in the winter months, so this hat looked like being just what the doctor ordered so to speak. When it arrived I was over the moon with it being so 'Fit for Purpose' It's so warm and cosy I'll actually look forward to those crisp and frosty days when it will certainly come into its own. Apart from fantastic, what more can I say, yet another ORVIS first, thank you for being there with all the perfect gear just when it's needed!
Andrew.
"
Review 2 for Rabbit-fur-Trimmed Aviator Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exactly as advertised,
December 7, 2013
By: Fishfan
from Hoover, Alabama
"The hat is the warmest I've worn. I liked it so much I got another for a gift. Essential for sitting outside in the cold."
Review 3 for Rabbit-fur-Trimmed Aviator Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
goofy looking -but what the heck,
December 4, 2013
By: tarponhunter
from Northern Virginia
"retro sylish if you're Elmer Fudd but functional. Warm and bearable looking with side flaps up. downright hot with flaps down and cuts sound down by 30db. Well made."
Review 4 for Rabbit-fur-Trimmed Aviator Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
childhood memory,
December 29, 2012
By: farmall
from raleigh nc
"purchased as a gift for a friend who had a hat like this as a young child. he was touched by the thought and we laughed but he told me it was probably the warmest hat anyone would ever wear."
Review 5 for Rabbit-fur-Trimmed Aviator Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding hat!!,
December 29, 2012
By: BobbyH
from Nashville, TN
"I received this hat as a gift from my wife. It is amazing and very warm. The quality of the hat is also first class. It is a real value at this price point."
Review 6 for Rabbit-fur-Trimmed Aviator Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Hat,
December 28, 2012
By: HINS
"Hidden in the corner of the store it is a gem of a discovery. This hat is well-made, good fit, and very soft and warm."
Review 7 for Rabbit-fur-Trimmed Aviator Hat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Hat!,
December 28, 2012
By: AviatorHatDavid
"I LOVE THE LOOK, CONSTRUCTION AND QUALITY OF THE LEATHER AND THE FUR!! I ordered the 2XL and it was tight on my head. I usually wear a 7 3/4 hat. My other hats from Orvis seem to fit bigger."
Review 8 for Rabbit-fur-Trimmed Aviator Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great looking,
December 12, 2012
By: vietnam
from landing n.j.
"true replica of the original aviator hat. very warm, can't wait to test it out when winter strikes.glad i ordered the xxl even though i measured for an xl. it fits great . perhaps the warmest i will ever own.well worth the $$. do yourself a favor and treat yourself"
Review 9 for Rabbit-fur-Trimmed Aviator Hat
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Warm but With Design Flaws,
October 15, 2012
By: Anonymous
from New York Metro Area
"This aviator hat is fairly nice looking and undoubtedly warm. The hat is very snug and runs small, so you should consider ordering a larger size than normal. The flaps use awkwardly designed ties to hold them up or down, and the ties simply do not work. No matter how tightly they were tied, they loosened after a minute. With the flaps up, this was extremely annoying and also looked silly. The faux pocket is also a questionable design."
Review 10 for Rabbit-fur-Trimmed Aviator Hat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Warm Ears!,
May 24, 2012
By: Treed111
from Texas
"Extremely warm. Old fashioned guy and this is definitely a throwback look. Well made."
Review 11 for Rabbit-fur-Trimmed Aviator Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best aviator hat ever,
January 2, 2012
By: AllyCat
"Warm, snuggly, and totally durable. And fashionable. I wear it to do chores in my barn and out in public. Awesome."
Review 12 for Rabbit-fur-Trimmed Aviator Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aviator hat,
December 30, 2011
By: Nanny1950
from The Woodlands, Tx
"Excellent quality. Easy to order
Was shipped when expected.
"
Review 13 for Rabbit-fur-Trimmed Aviator Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
very warm,
December 29, 2011
By: watchaholic
from Los Angeles
"I gave this hat to my brother for Christmas as he has to live through Iowa winters. He says it is the warmest hat he has ever worn and also that it is extremely well made. The rabbit fur is a dog magnet however."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Rabbit-fur-Trimmed Aviator Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
my distinctive hat,
December 29, 2011
By: pich
from central Virginia
"when I opened the present containing my hat (a Christmas gift), my wife got everyone's attention, saying: "he really wanted this gift." my daughter's reaction was "what is that?" my son-in-law was totally interested in every aspect of it. he wants one! my wife was happy that I was happy to receive it. been wearing it since and enjoy the interest when I'm out walking the dog. it does keep me warm, too!"
Review 15 for Rabbit-fur-Trimmed Aviator Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best gift this year,
December 28, 2011
By: crazy0007
from Oregon
"My husband put this hat on his Christmas list. He took a lot of time reading how to measure his head and told me what size per the instructions he would need. He is so very pleased with his hat. It fits well, it is made well and he is delighted with his gift. And ~ this type is "in" right now. Very warm and comfortable. The leather is of good quality and has silk-ish lining in the hat for comfort. Thank you Orvis."
Review 16 for Rabbit-fur-Trimmed Aviator Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice warm hat.,
December 27, 2011
By: segolene
from Berkshires, MA
"My husband likes it. Though extra large it is just barely big enough for his head. He says it will be great for really cold days."
Review 17 for Rabbit-fur-Trimmed Aviator Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
He will love it!,
December 6, 2011
By: OnlineShopper333
from Midlothian, VA
"My husband wears a hat whenever he is outdoors. This one is well made and very warm. It would be perfect for real cold weather."
Review 18 for Rabbit-fur-Trimmed Aviator Hat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Warm and comfortable,
November 20, 2011
By: Chiroman
from Boston, MA
"Great hat. Comfortable and warm, my only wish would be for it to come with Fox fur or another choice of fur that is thicker and even heavier than rabbit. Also it is a little hard to hear when the flaps are down but at least it keeps your ears very warm."
Review 19 for Rabbit-fur-Trimmed Aviator Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent hat in every way...,
October 5, 2011
By: wclegends
from West New York, NJ
"I have been looking to buy a hat like this for a very long time. Generally, they were either not very well made or the price was too high. But this hat is perfect...very well made and at a very reasonable price. I am very satisfied with my purchase from Orvis."
Review 20 for Rabbit-fur-Trimmed Aviator Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
At last, a warm hat,
February 4, 2011
By: Skymariner
from Evergreen, CO
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have lived in the mountains in Colorado for the last 20+ years and have been looking for a warm hat to wear when plowing the driveway on a cold morning. This hat fills the bill, even on a minus 20 degree F morning. I wish this company would design a glove for my hands now."