Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Gokey® Custom Sauvage Oxford

In the more-than-150-year-old Gokey® tradition, these comfortable classic oxfords with rolled ankle collar for everyday wear are handcrafted in the USA of the highest-quality leather. In brown. Made in USA.Whole and half sizes: 6-15.Widths A, B, C, D, E, EE, EEE, 4E, 5E, and 6E.
Average Customer Rating:
4.875 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
15 of 16(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Gokey® Custom Sauvage Oxford
Review 1 for Gokey® Custom Sauvage Oxford
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Custom Shoe,
May 1, 2014
By: McKissk
"I bought a pair of these these custom oxford shoes about 4 years ago and I about to buy another one. Since I was little my Dad who had narrow feet as I do said son you will always have expense feet, and he was right. These shoes for just a few dollars more are absolutely the best fittings shoes I ever owned. Yes they are a little heavy but that is a small trade off for the confort and arch support they provide. I have always in the past had to try to get some sort of arch support which never quite fits just right.
For difficult feet these shoes are great.
"
Review 2 for Gokey® Custom Sauvage Oxford
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well worth it.,
March 25, 2014
By: NCJack
from Charlotte NC
"I have narrow feet, and right foot about 1/2 size larger than left, and high arches/instep. In other words, it's "Sorry, and good luck" at most shoe stores (and manufacturers). For so little more money, decided to take a chance on the Gokey custom, and all I can say is Halleluia! Not only did they match my skinny foot ( and ridiculous heel), but the footbed rises up nicely into the arch...no more inserts. Yes, they're a bit heavy, but this is looking like a twenty year investment."
Review 3 for Gokey® Custom Sauvage Oxford
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
comfortable, wonderful foot-bed,
March 6, 2014
By: Greenbrier
from Virginia
"It is hard for me to find comfortable shoes as I have a neuroma condition in my left forefoot. The Sauvage oxfords are very comfortable. I am pleased they do not have a thick rubber insert to provide cushioning. The comfort comes from a well designed foot-bed. They feel great - walking is a pleasure in these shoes!"
Review 4 for Gokey® Custom Sauvage Oxford
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great shoe for casual dress wear,
June 19, 2013
By: Rhino88
from Florida/North Carolina
"I have owned my Sauvage Oxfords for about 3 years now - wear them on average, once a week. There is NO apparent wear. They are a bit heavy but I like that, especially in the mountains. The tread pattern is very helpful on slopes and where you need a bit of grip. I wear them with orthodics and in wide size. They took a while to break in but well worth the wait. Will last forever at the rate I am on. They are very impressive looking shoes with jeans, chinos or even slightly more dressy slacks. A good shoe in-between my dress shoes and my usual boat shoes."
Review 5 for Gokey® Custom Sauvage Oxford
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bending over backwards,
May 9, 2013
By: Anonymous
from Montana
"I aged. My feet got worse. Surgery and orthotics followed. My wife persuaded me to contact Gokey about my Sauvage Hikers. I thought it a waste of time. I was wrong. My boots were stretched to accommodate the changes and the shoes put back into pristine condition. I am now a customer for life."
Review 6 for Gokey® Custom Sauvage Oxford
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Long-wearing shoes,
May 7, 2013
By: Adirondacker
from Boston, Massachusetts
"I'm 48 today, my dad bought me a pair of Sauvage Oxfords when I was 15, and I still wear them. Not every day, not as frequently as I have over the years up north, but they are in good enough shape and comfort to be worn out at night.
They are indeed the best shoes I have owned, I will now probably buy pairs for my kids when they reach 15 (in 10 years...!), and worth every penny."
Review 7 for Gokey® Custom Sauvage Oxford
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The best shoes ever,
October 13, 2011
By: GantzerC
"As I've aged my feet have taken a hit and bunions have developed.
Thank goodness for Gokey® Custom Sauvage Oxfords. The shoes are made to accommodate my bunions.
I just received my new pair and have been wearing them every day with no break-in, and no pain.
Thanks Gokeys (Orvis).
P.S: This must be my sixth pair since the 1980's."
Review 8 for Gokey® Custom Sauvage Oxford
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
An excellent rugged shoe that looks great,
September 2, 2011
By: Bradohboy
"I am a 28 year old male currently Volunteering with the Peace Corps, working in Southern Africa. My primary mode of transport is my feet and I needed a rugged shoe that would work in a business casual setting. I'm currently working as a school teacher.
I walk between 3 and 4 miles a day to work and back and have put well over 1500 miles on these shoes during the 16 months I have had them. They have been my only pair of shoes other than some running shoes.It is difficult to find shoes that hold up well under lots of miles and that are also appropriate for work. The Gokey Oxfords are a great solution.
After reading numerous reviews comparing gokeys, and redwings I took the plunge and mailed in my custom foot wear forms. One tip, make sure you trace your foot a few times on a few sheets to make sure you get a good outline. I had a friend do mine while wearing the socks I normally wear.
I'm used to wearing sneakers, hiking boots and sandals. These boots fall into the semi dress shoe category. Mine fit great but the design of the shoe allows for some heal movement (it's a roomy shoe). The fit is very unlike a tennis shoe and well ..like an oxford. The heel cup is decidedly not tight like on most modern shoes.
Since I had my shoes mailed to me abroad I paid extra and went with the Custom shoe. I'm glad I did, my right foot is wider than my left and it show on the shoes. It's not freakish by any means but it is noticeable when looking at each shoe.
Out of the box these shoes were quite comfortable. Understand that what you are getting is a classic shoe, with thick leather and great stitching. There is no padding, the soles are hard and flexibility takes a bit of break in. The steal shank also makes for a pretty rigid sole. The Vibram soles are holding up well and the heal is wearing as expected. The waxed laces look great but after a few months have started to wear around the top grommets. I'm due for a new pair of laces very soon.
As for waterproofing I have no idea, it rains only once every few years here and I'm surrounded by sand dunes, so getting them wet is not an issue. I do polish them often and use the Orvis Waterproofing to keep the leather from drying out.
The soles are wearing well and are tough, I walk over, sharp rocks, broken beer bottles and shards of metal and glass every day and have never come close to cutting or puncturing the soles.
Cons: They can be cold in winter, but thicker wool socks take care of that nicely.
Perhaps only coming in Brown could be an issue for some but they are a very classy shoe
Once someone called me out on my DAD shoes...(maybe good taste isn't a con)
A thanks to Orvis' Customer Service
Thanks to the online customer service representative, who believed me right away when I said I was in Africa. You were great.
They answered all my questions, found out about sole options ( you can get different ones for a fee but the Vibram's come standard) and responded to my emails. I also received an email when GOKEY finally got my shoe measurements.
I'm very pleased with my purchase (and this was the most expensive pair of shoes I have ever bought and not something I take lightly)."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Gokey® Custom Sauvage Oxford
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gokey Sauvage Oxford-Custom,
August 25, 2011
By: JollyGoodFellow
from Arlington, Virginia
"This is the best custom shoe value in America. The leather is good looking and substantial, the sole is a high quality Vibram sole that is non-marking. The measuring instructions were excellent and the custom cobblers used my instructions to make a shoe that fits my 10 A foot perfectly.
Bespoke or custom shoes in England cost between $3,000 and $4,000. I own a custom pair of shoes from New York that now cost $1,500. Orvis and Gokey only charge $250 for the Custom made Sauvage Oxford shoe. In addition, if anyone wears down the Vibram sole, Gokey will replace the sole for a service and shipping charge. The comfort and quality of the shoes are excellent. Gokey custom shoes have my highest recommendation."
Review 10 for Gokey® Custom Sauvage Oxford
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
High quality-Well Made,
March 18, 2011
By: Daytripper
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"After wearing my custom oxfords, I must say the leather quality and craftsmanship is excellent. The fit from the ankle to toe tips is as good as it gets, however the heel fits very lose. We should perhaps understand that Gokey is a boot maker and this oxford fits and wears more like a boot than a dress shoe. They are heavy... approximately 2 lbs each. If you have a narrow foot like me (B), you might want to reconsider purchasing this oxford. I would think "C" widths or wider would have no trouble with the heel. Good luck."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamMarch 31, 2011
Orvis Customer Service contacted this customer, apologized that the item did not meet expectations and offered a full refund or an exchange. Our goal is to make sure everything you buy from us is absolutely right. You can always shop with confidence at Orvis—everything we sell is backed by our unconditional 100% satisfaction guarantee.
Review 11 for Gokey® Custom Sauvage Oxford
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A unique purchase,
March 29, 2010
By: postpolio
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"The Gokey custom boot and oxford shoe are not only a great value but a unique service to people like me who need two different size shoes to make one pair (post-polio). I used to buy two pairs of shoe's and throw one set away until I found the Gokey custom shop at Orvis. I have to have extra sole and heel lifts put on the shoe's (they take them fine) and the shoe repair specialist observed that the Gokey custom was extremely well made. Now I have the best and save money too. Thanks."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Gokey® Custom Sauvage Oxford
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exceeded Expectations,
December 10, 2009
By: DWBryan
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I bought the ankle high version of this shoe ten years ago. The shoe/boot is excellent in looks, feel and wear. They look better with use, have always been very comfortable and they wear the best of any shoe or boot I have purchased. I keep my shoes and boots polished, keep cedar shoe trees in them and wiped down after the wear. Gokey has exceeded my expectations in footwear. The price is so reasonable for what you are receiving. Thank you for quality and craftmanship in footwear, Gokey."
Review 13 for Gokey® Custom Sauvage Oxford
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sauvage Oxford.,
May 5, 2008
By: TheCiscoSid
"The highest quality handsome and comfortable shoe made requiring mimimal break-in time of its kind on market. Equally at home in town on the week end or in the field during the week. Mine held shape extremely well after much use with mimimal wrinkling on top of foot and toe box area. True value receiving many compliments with a slight tone of envy from my peers.
Would love to see a similar Sauvage slip-on developed in brown, burgandy and black offered at Orvis.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Gokey® Custom Sauvage Oxford
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Shoes follow boots,
April 1, 2008
By: CaptMike
from Raleigh NC
"I was so satisfied with my custom 10" boots, I bought custom Sauvage Oxfords the following year. That was '69 so they are pushing 40 years and still going strong. The have seen lots of abuse -- hot steel decks on ocean going ships, camping and shop. I've had them resoled & heeled twice (by Gokey). They're still a favorite and fit like a glove -- no breakdown or loss of shape. I wish they made a Gokey loafer to go with them for a little more dress-up."
Review 15 for Gokey® Custom Sauvage Oxford
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Zero Disappointment,
October 5, 2007
By: Charles
from White salmon, Wa
"I have been exceptionally pleased that I had these shoes custom made for me by Gokey. In preparation I was very careful to measure my feet exactly as requested. What Gokey sent me absolutely nails the fit I had hoped for in going "custom." As my feet are long and narrow, this is a fit I've previously never known in store bought footwear. The quality of the leather is topshelf. Correspondingly, the workmanship is first class. This is a very durable, handsome pair of shoes that will be serving me for donkey years. I regularly get compliments on them and say with zero hesitation : Well done Gokey. I honor the standards that you hold your products to."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Gokey® Custom Sauvage Oxford
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1