Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Battenkill Gun Cases

Cushion and protect your valuable shotgun or scoped rifle in a thick acrylic shearling lining. Two sizes in the regular shotgun case; scoped rifle case designed to fit and protect a rifle with mounted scope. Crafted of moisture-resistant, rugged Battenkill® canvas and leather. Zipper “butterflies” the case for quick drying when hung from top muzzle-end D-ring. Deep tabs keep shearling from catching in the zipper. These gun travel cases have comfortable rolled handles. Shoulder strap included. Personalize with embossing on a leather patch, up to 6 letters. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.774 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (102 reviews)
5 stars
90
4 stars
8
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
3
98 of 102(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Battenkill Gun Cases
Review 1 for Battenkill Gun Cases
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect for the old guy's gun,
August 17, 2015
By: Bronx55
from EGV IL
"Dad passed away last December; I inherited his old Savage 12 gauge. I have been looking for something of a higher grade to transport this old piece to the field. This case is a perfect fit, looks great in an old school fashion and looks like it will well protect the contents.....Dad would be pleased. Thanks again, Orvis."
Review 2 for Battenkill Gun Cases
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
beautiful,
August 14, 2015
By: Raptor
from Michigan
"This gun case is beautiful. I love it. I wish the pocket was bigger with choke tube holders."
Review 3 for Battenkill Gun Cases
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Orvis Quality,
August 11, 2015
By: Mtnhunter
from Chattanooga, TN
"This case is the highest quality as you would expect from Orvis. It's not inexpensive but will likely last a lifetime. Smooth and substantial zipper also."
Review 4 for Battenkill Gun Cases
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Substance and form,
July 28, 2015
By: VictorHubertus
from Amsterdam Holland
"The gun case protects my hunting rifles when on the move, and it looks great. Not over the top, just exactly as you and me want it to look."
Review 5 for Battenkill Gun Cases
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
32" gun case that fits,
July 14, 2015
By: MichaelRelaxed
from Bluffton SC
"I purchased this case for an oil rubbed over and under shotgun, since my gun fell off the rack on the golf cart and banged up the stock. Having it now refinished, I did not want a repeat. The case looks well made. It fits a 32" barrel Caesar well. The lining is plush but does catch on the bead if you slide the gun in. I had to order from retail stock as it has been out on line for some time. Also, it looks nice without having to assemble my gun over rough ground overtime I shoot. This should be a permanent stock item for Orvis. It appears very well made but it is a recent purchase for me."
Review 6 for Battenkill Gun Cases
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Happy/Sad,
June 17, 2015
By: GAWingshooter
from Deep in the Georgia Pines
"Absolutely love the Orvis line of Battenkill Gun Cases! This is the second one I have bought within the past year, and they are the highest quality, and it saddens me that it looks as though they are discontinuing the line. The scoped version is no longer available and I would love to buy one, but it looks like they are discontinuing a lot of their hunting/shooting products. Unfortunate that I will have to buy these types of products from someone else."
Review 7 for Battenkill Gun Cases
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great gun case,
March 25, 2015
By: tgry
"This is a very handsome gun case. It is functional and the workmanship is very good."
Review 8 for Battenkill Gun Cases
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very good gun case,
February 26, 2015
By: TristanM
from Pittsburgh, PA
"I bought this case primarily for transporting a rather expensive O/U shotgun, and the fleece lining is excellent for protecting the gun. The overall quality is very good, although I did have to send back one case due to the shoulder strap connection points being improperly sewn on at an angle. Orvis was more than helpful in replacing the case. The new one is perfectly sewn.
The monogramming is a nice touch, and the green canvas and leather is a classic look. The only thing I wish this case had is a leather butt-stock envelope to ensure the gun would be retained even if the zipper were to split while being carried over the shoulder. This is a feature found on other high-end cases (which granted are more expensive) that would make this case truly excellent."
Review 9 for Battenkill Gun Cases
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful Soft Case,
February 12, 2015
By: RHilton4u
from Manassas, VA
"This is a pricey item compared to competitors but it is of superb quality and workmanship. I particularly appreciate the delicate interior which protects my rifle like a baby in a blanket. This product is top of the line for rifle cases and I purchased it specifically to house my cherished Weatherby during my travels."
Review 10 for Battenkill Gun Cases
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Exceptional quality,
February 11, 2015
By: DPM17
"Love the case. Only thing I would wish for is the ability to put a lock on it for increased security."
Review 11 for Battenkill Gun Cases
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
quality case,
February 6, 2015
By: ARD60
"Case is quality, lining is white and plush but may be too nice for field. But great protection for gun."
Review 12 for Battenkill Gun Cases
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another great purchase!,
January 9, 2015
By: Elizabeth26
from Northern Michigan
"Orvis never lets us down. This gun case is top quality and better in person as the salesman promised.
Delivered in timely matter.
"
Review 13 for Battenkill Gun Cases
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Purchase,
January 1, 2015
By: 1Shibalover
from Pembroke, MA
"I bought this gun case for my husband for Christmas and he just loves it! Very durable, well made and he loves that the inside is wool lined. Excellent purchase!"
Review 14 for Battenkill Gun Cases
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
More than expected,
December 31, 2014
By: Larry13
from Yorktown,NY
"Having purchased an expensive shot gun I was looking for a case of equal quality and this case matched all my requirements"
Review 15 for Battenkill Gun Cases
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Everything I thought It would be !,
December 29, 2014
By: 2wolfhounds
from Catskills, NY
"This gun case has it all- Quality, Form, Function and style."
Review 16 for Battenkill Gun Cases
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Totally Like WOW!,
December 28, 2014
By: NockNockWhoDer
from Dover, OH
"Purchased for Son in Law hunting enthusiast. Gun case will hold and protect his various guns and rifles. Extremely well padded on the inside with a durable exterior that has HD leather handles for carrying on his outdoor hunting adventures. The plan is to wrap all of his guns/rifles in Battenkill gun cases. Superb gun case!!!!!"
Review 17 for Battenkill Gun Cases
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Expectations,
December 18, 2014
By: Escoe
"I purchased this for a 2014 Christmas present for my son and he hasn't gotten it yet! I know he will be excited because it is the second one we have given him!! Therefore I know it will be a big hit! He LOVES the first one and this one has room for the scope."
Review 18 for Battenkill Gun Cases
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battenkill Gun Case,
December 17, 2014
By: ugotarmstrong
from Texas
"Bought this for a Christmas gift for my son. Perfect for his shotgun and had it monogrammed with his initials to personalize. Highly recommend this for the hunter."
Review 19 for Battenkill Gun Cases
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Something Special,
December 14, 2014
By: Tyogahog
from Corpus Christi, TX
"I was looking for a gift for the sportsman with everything. This gun case will be great for keeping his expensive toys in tiptop shape. The case is well made and should make keeping his shotgun on traveling trips a breeze."
Review 20 for Battenkill Gun Cases
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Quality Product,
December 3, 2014
By: Reynard
from Potomac, MD
"I have a very fine scoped rifle that was given to me in high school many years ago. After suffering through several cheap gun cases, I purchased the Battenkill Case, Now I feel I have done justice to my rifle. The case is very well constructed of durable canvas and top quality leather. Has a soft pile lining to protect the gun and scope. I carry it with pride.."