Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Battenkill Gun Cases

Cushion and protect your valuable shotgun or scoped rifle in a thick acrylic shearling lining. Two sizes in the regular shotgun case; scoped rifle case designed to fit and protect a rifle with mounted scope. Crafted of moisture-resistant, rugged Battenkill® canvas and leather. Zipper “butterflies” the case for quick drying when hung from top muzzle-end D-ring. Deep tabs keep shearling from catching in the zipper. These gun travel cases have comfortable rolled handles. Shoulder strap included. Personalize with embossing on a leather patch, up to 6 letters. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.763 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (97 reviews)
5 stars
85
4 stars
8
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
3
93 of 97(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Battenkill Gun Cases
Review 1 for Battenkill Gun Cases
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Happy/Sad,
June 17, 2015
By: GAWingshooter
from Deep in the Georgia Pines
"Absolutely love the Orvis line of Battenkill Gun Cases! This is the second one I have bought within the past year, and they are the highest quality, and it saddens me that it looks as though they are discontinuing the line. The scoped version is no longer available and I would love to buy one, but it looks like they are discontinuing a lot of their hunting/shooting products. Unfortunate that I will have to buy these types of products from someone else."
Review 2 for Battenkill Gun Cases
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great gun case,
March 25, 2015
By: tgry
"This is a very handsome gun case. It is functional and the workmanship is very good."
Review 3 for Battenkill Gun Cases
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very good gun case,
February 26, 2015
By: TristanM
from Pittsburgh, PA
"I bought this case primarily for transporting a rather expensive O/U shotgun, and the fleece lining is excellent for protecting the gun. The overall quality is very good, although I did have to send back one case due to the shoulder strap connection points being improperly sewn on at an angle. Orvis was more than helpful in replacing the case. The new one is perfectly sewn.
The monogramming is a nice touch, and the green canvas and leather is a classic look. The only thing I wish this case had is a leather butt-stock envelope to ensure the gun would be retained even if the zipper were to split while being carried over the shoulder. This is a feature found on other high-end cases (which granted are more expensive) that would make this case truly excellent."
Review 4 for Battenkill Gun Cases
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful Soft Case,
February 12, 2015
By: RHilton4u
from Manassas, VA
"This is a pricey item compared to competitors but it is of superb quality and workmanship. I particularly appreciate the delicate interior which protects my rifle like a baby in a blanket. This product is top of the line for rifle cases and I purchased it specifically to house my cherished Weatherby during my travels."
Review 5 for Battenkill Gun Cases
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Exceptional quality,
February 11, 2015
By: DPM17
"Love the case. Only thing I would wish for is the ability to put a lock on it for increased security."
Review 6 for Battenkill Gun Cases
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
quality case,
February 6, 2015
By: ARD60
"Case is quality, lining is white and plush but may be too nice for field. But great protection for gun."
Review 7 for Battenkill Gun Cases
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another great purchase!,
January 9, 2015
By: Elizabeth26
from Northern Michigan
"Orvis never lets us down. This gun case is top quality and better in person as the salesman promised.
Delivered in timely matter.
"
Review 8 for Battenkill Gun Cases
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Purchase,
January 1, 2015
By: 1Shibalover
from Pembroke, MA
"I bought this gun case for my husband for Christmas and he just loves it! Very durable, well made and he loves that the inside is wool lined. Excellent purchase!"
Review 9 for Battenkill Gun Cases
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
More than expected,
December 31, 2014
By: Larry13
from Yorktown,NY
"Having purchased an expensive shot gun I was looking for a case of equal quality and this case matched all my requirements"
Review 10 for Battenkill Gun Cases
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Everything I thought It would be !,
December 29, 2014
By: 2wolfhounds
from Catskills, NY
"This gun case has it all- Quality, Form, Function and style."
Review 11 for Battenkill Gun Cases
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Totally Like WOW!,
December 28, 2014
By: NockNockWhoDer
from Dover, OH
"Purchased for Son in Law hunting enthusiast. Gun case will hold and protect his various guns and rifles. Extremely well padded on the inside with a durable exterior that has HD leather handles for carrying on his outdoor hunting adventures. The plan is to wrap all of his guns/rifles in Battenkill gun cases. Superb gun case!!!!!"
Review 12 for Battenkill Gun Cases
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Expectations,
December 18, 2014
By: Escoe
"I purchased this for a 2014 Christmas present for my son and he hasn't gotten it yet! I know he will be excited because it is the second one we have given him!! Therefore I know it will be a big hit! He LOVES the first one and this one has room for the scope."
Review 13 for Battenkill Gun Cases
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battenkill Gun Case,
December 17, 2014
By: ugotarmstrong
from Texas
"Bought this for a Christmas gift for my son. Perfect for his shotgun and had it monogrammed with his initials to personalize. Highly recommend this for the hunter."
Review 14 for Battenkill Gun Cases
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Something Special,
December 14, 2014
By: Tyogahog
from Corpus Christi, TX
"I was looking for a gift for the sportsman with everything. This gun case will be great for keeping his expensive toys in tiptop shape. The case is well made and should make keeping his shotgun on traveling trips a breeze."
Review 15 for Battenkill Gun Cases
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Quality Product,
December 3, 2014
By: Reynard
from Potomac, MD
"I have a very fine scoped rifle that was given to me in high school many years ago. After suffering through several cheap gun cases, I purchased the Battenkill Case, Now I feel I have done justice to my rifle. The case is very well constructed of durable canvas and top quality leather. Has a soft pile lining to protect the gun and scope. I carry it with pride.."
Review 16 for Battenkill Gun Cases
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Happy,
November 17, 2014
By: ClayShooter101
from CT
"I bought this to replace the identical case that I purchased from Orvis 20 years ago.It looks great, and they obviously last a long time. The lining is great. First class."
Review 17 for Battenkill Gun Cases
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battenkill Gun Case,
October 28, 2014
By: Boomer10
from Houston, Tx
"I purchased two Battenkill Gun Cases. These are high quality gun cases with ample fleece padding protecting my shotguns. High quality zippers and handles. I would have given it a five rating but since they are not waterproof (and quite expensive) I stopped short of giving them a five rating."
Review 18 for Battenkill Gun Cases
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent,
August 25, 2014
By: MNWingshooter
from Twin Cities, MN
"Shining example of Orvis quality. Well made, strong, durable, and good looking. Purchased 1 for my shotgun, will buy another one shortly for my rifle."
Review 19 for Battenkill Gun Cases
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality Product,
August 9, 2014
By: PittsburghHunter
from Pittsburgh, PA
"I purchased this as a Father's Day gift for my Dad. As far as I can tell, the quality of the product is excellent. He was thrilled with the gift - beside himself really. He said, "I've always wanted a case like this but could never afford one." He's been using old, tattered cases for many years. He has not yet put it to use so I cannot yet comment on it's durability but from the looks of the item, I anticipate it will hold up nicely.
My only complaint: I decided to select the embossed option. While the initials came out correct, they are much lighter and smaller than I had hoped. They were done well but they look very small when compared to the giant "Ovis" logo that is embossed on the side (which is not really shown in the photos) If my Dad's name happened to be Orvis, I guess I would have really been in luck! All in all though, this was a minor detail and the overall quality of this product far outshined this minor detail.
Side note: I wanted this to arrive in time for Father's Day, which it did not. However, the website was very clear that it was out of stock. I double checked with customer service that this was indeed true and they were very helpful. The case actually arrived a day or two before it was said to be back in stock which was a pleasant surprise.
I would have given 5 stars if it wasn't for the, in your face embossed Orvis logo and the small and lightly embossed initials.
This was my first purchase with Orvis and unless this case falls apart after repeated use, I will continue to make purchases here.
Cheers!"
Review 20 for Battenkill Gun Cases
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Best,
August 5, 2014
By: wornboots
from Minnesota
"I love my new Battenkill gun case. It is built properly with the full length zipper that extends all the way to the very end of the muzzle. This allows you to open it completely for drying after a day in the marsh. Most others are closed off about six inches from the end which collects debris and traps moisture. Great function and fabulous looks. Five Stars!"