Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Battenkill Gun Cases

Cushion and protect your valuable shotgun or scoped rifle in a thick acrylic shearling lining. Two sizes in the regular shotgun case; scoped rifle case designed to fit and protect a rifle with mounted scope. Crafted of moisture-resistant, rugged Battenkill® canvas and leather. Zipper “butterflies” the case for quick drying when hung from top muzzle-end D-ring. Deep tabs keep shearling from catching in the zipper. These gun travel cases have comfortable rolled handles. Shoulder strap included. Personalize with embossing on a leather patch, up to 6 letters. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.763 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (93 reviews)
5 stars
82
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
3
89 of 93(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Battenkill Gun Cases
Review 1 for Battenkill Gun Cases
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful Soft Case,
February 12, 2015
By: RHilton4u
from Manassas, VA
"This is a pricey item compared to competitors but it is of superb quality and workmanship. I particularly appreciate the delicate interior which protects my rifle like a baby in a blanket. This product is top of the line for rifle cases and I purchased it specifically to house my cherished Weatherby during my travels."
Review 2 for Battenkill Gun Cases
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Exceptional quality,
February 11, 2015
By: DPM17
"Love the case. Only thing I would wish for is the ability to put a lock on it for increased security."
Review 3 for Battenkill Gun Cases
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
quality case,
February 6, 2015
By: ARD60
"Case is quality, lining is white and plush but may be too nice for field. But great protection for gun."
Review 4 for Battenkill Gun Cases
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another great purchase!,
January 9, 2015
By: Elizabeth26
from Northern Michigan
"Orvis never lets us down. This gun case is top quality and better in person as the salesman promised.
Delivered in timely matter.
"
Review 5 for Battenkill Gun Cases
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Purchase,
January 1, 2015
By: 1Shibalover
from Pembroke, MA
"I bought this gun case for my husband for Christmas and he just loves it! Very durable, well made and he loves that the inside is wool lined. Excellent purchase!"
Review 6 for Battenkill Gun Cases
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
More than expected,
December 31, 2014
By: Larry13
from Yorktown,NY
"Having purchased an expensive shot gun I was looking for a case of equal quality and this case matched all my requirements"
Review 7 for Battenkill Gun Cases
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Everything I thought It would be !,
December 29, 2014
By: 2wolfhounds
from Catskills, NY
"This gun case has it all- Quality, Form, Function and style."
Review 8 for Battenkill Gun Cases
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Totally Like WOW!,
December 28, 2014
By: NockNockWhoDer
from Dover, OH
"Purchased for Son in Law hunting enthusiast. Gun case will hold and protect his various guns and rifles. Extremely well padded on the inside with a durable exterior that has HD leather handles for carrying on his outdoor hunting adventures. The plan is to wrap all of his guns/rifles in Battenkill gun cases. Superb gun case!!!!!"
Review 9 for Battenkill Gun Cases
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Expectations,
December 18, 2014
By: Escoe
"I purchased this for a 2014 Christmas present for my son and he hasn't gotten it yet! I know he will be excited because it is the second one we have given him!! Therefore I know it will be a big hit! He LOVES the first one and this one has room for the scope."
Review 10 for Battenkill Gun Cases
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battenkill Gun Case,
December 17, 2014
By: ugotarmstrong
from Texas
"Bought this for a Christmas gift for my son. Perfect for his shotgun and had it monogrammed with his initials to personalize. Highly recommend this for the hunter."
Review 11 for Battenkill Gun Cases
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Quality Product,
December 3, 2014
By: Reynard
from Potomac, MD
"I have a very fine scoped rifle that was given to me in high school many years ago. After suffering through several cheap gun cases, I purchased the Battenkill Case, Now I feel I have done justice to my rifle. The case is very well constructed of durable canvas and top quality leather. Has a soft pile lining to protect the gun and scope. I carry it with pride.."
Review 12 for Battenkill Gun Cases
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Happy,
November 17, 2014
By: ClayShooter101
from CT
"I bought this to replace the identical case that I purchased from Orvis 20 years ago.It looks great, and they obviously last a long time. The lining is great. First class."
Review 13 for Battenkill Gun Cases
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battenkill Gun Case,
October 28, 2014
By: Boomer10
from Houston, Tx
"I purchased two Battenkill Gun Cases. These are high quality gun cases with ample fleece padding protecting my shotguns. High quality zippers and handles. I would have given it a five rating but since they are not waterproof (and quite expensive) I stopped short of giving them a five rating."
Review 14 for Battenkill Gun Cases
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent,
August 25, 2014
By: MNWingshooter
from Twin Cities, MN
"Shining example of Orvis quality. Well made, strong, durable, and good looking. Purchased 1 for my shotgun, will buy another one shortly for my rifle."
Review 15 for Battenkill Gun Cases
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality Product,
August 9, 2014
By: PittsburghHunter
from Pittsburgh, PA
"I purchased this as a Father's Day gift for my Dad. As far as I can tell, the quality of the product is excellent. He was thrilled with the gift - beside himself really. He said, "I've always wanted a case like this but could never afford one." He's been using old, tattered cases for many years. He has not yet put it to use so I cannot yet comment on it's durability but from the looks of the item, I anticipate it will hold up nicely.
My only complaint: I decided to select the embossed option. While the initials came out correct, they are much lighter and smaller than I had hoped. They were done well but they look very small when compared to the giant "Ovis" logo that is embossed on the side (which is not really shown in the photos) If my Dad's name happened to be Orvis, I guess I would have really been in luck! All in all though, this was a minor detail and the overall quality of this product far outshined this minor detail.
Side note: I wanted this to arrive in time for Father's Day, which it did not. However, the website was very clear that it was out of stock. I double checked with customer service that this was indeed true and they were very helpful. The case actually arrived a day or two before it was said to be back in stock which was a pleasant surprise.
I would have given 5 stars if it wasn't for the, in your face embossed Orvis logo and the small and lightly embossed initials.
This was my first purchase with Orvis and unless this case falls apart after repeated use, I will continue to make purchases here.
Cheers!"
Review 16 for Battenkill Gun Cases
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Best,
August 5, 2014
By: wornboots
from Minnesota
"I love my new Battenkill gun case. It is built properly with the full length zipper that extends all the way to the very end of the muzzle. This allows you to open it completely for drying after a day in the marsh. Most others are closed off about six inches from the end which collects debris and traps moisture. Great function and fabulous looks. Five Stars!"
Review 17 for Battenkill Gun Cases
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great birthday gift - thanks!,
August 4, 2014
By: MDHuntandFish
from Blatimore, MD
"Got this beautiful case for my birthday, which nicely stores and carries my new .12 gauge. Pleasing to the eye, very protective of the gun and easy to carry with nice balance and weight, this is a great gun case."
Review 18 for Battenkill Gun Cases
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gun case of my dreams.,
May 12, 2014
By: al14
from Haddon Heights, New Jersey
"This is the finest gun case on the market. Best looking case ever and it protects the shotgun too. I have 2 and the matching large duffle bag. Classy look!!!!!!!!"
Review 19 for Battenkill Gun Cases
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gift for a 40th birthday,
March 20, 2014
By: spaniel17
from UK
"I bought this for a son who is very pleased with it. It is a lovely looking case and very strong. The service I received from Orvis was excellent and prompt"
Review 20 for Battenkill Gun Cases
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love Triangle,
February 12, 2014
By: NOLASOLEIL
from New Orleans, LA
"I so loved my first two scoped-rifle Battenkill cases that I ordered a third one.
It was flawlessly manufactured & monogrammed, securely packaged for shipment and delivered faster than the rifle which it'll protect.
Orvis fully deserves my five Gold Stars... again!"