Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Castle Island Tweed Plaid Jacket

Soft, subtly hued, all–wool tweed with accents of purple and green, woven in the heart of the Irish countryside. Beautifully constructed, with a notched collar, angled besom flap pockets, and genuine leather buttons. Fully lined. Ladies Irish tweed jackets in green plaid, blue plaid. Pure wool. Dry clean. Imported of Irish tweed. Regular sizes 6, 8, 14, 18; about 28" long.
Average Customer Rating:
4.298 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (94 reviews)
5 stars
64
4 stars
10
3 stars
8
2 stars
8
1 star
4
76 of 94(81%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Castle Island Tweed Plaid Jacket
Review 1 for Castle Island Tweed Plaid Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wardrobe staple,
March 6, 2014
By: grandmatee
from Indianapolis
"My Castle Island Tweed Plaid Jacket has been getting compliments everywhere I go. It's warm enough for quite cold temperatures we've had this winter with a sweater underneath and looks very classy with jeans or dress cords. I've been grabbing it every time I leave the house."
Review 2 for Castle Island Tweed Plaid Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product and service,
January 17, 2014
By: collegiate
"The jacket was just exactly like it appeared in catalog and the fit is perfect!"
Review 3 for Castle Island Tweed Plaid Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
T-mac,
January 16, 2014
By: McCargar
"Absolutely high quality. Would buy from them again."
Review 4 for Castle Island Tweed Plaid Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The best blazer ever!,
January 15, 2014
By: Phinn
"I received this for Christmas. Great cut, fit, style and construction. The weave is beautiful. Lining is great quality. The fit is true to size. I am 5 feet 6 inches tall and 125 pounds and it
fits beautifully. it is classic, versatile and feminine. Make more like this!
"
Review 5 for Castle Island Tweed Plaid Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Castle Island Tweed Plaid Jacket,
January 10, 2014
By: vms2468
from Ridge, New York
"This jacket is just beautiful! The buttons are real leather and the fit is great!"
Review 6 for Castle Island Tweed Plaid Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Castle Island Tweed Plaid Jacket,
January 10, 2014
By: vms2468
from Ridge, New York
"Beautiful jacket and very comfortable. It's a classic."
Review 7 for Castle Island Tweed Plaid Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A worthy splurge!,
December 23, 2013
By: dtruth
from MI
"Very classy purchase. I decided to treat myself and realized I will get so much wear out of this jacket that it justifies the price. Nothing like Orvis to give you top quality products that will last a lifetime. I can wear this jacket with dress pants and casual jeans. Worth every penny for such quality and versatility."
Review 8 for Castle Island Tweed Plaid Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Success after a long hunt!,
December 19, 2013
By: mgmg
from Oklahoma
"I've been looking for a quality wool jacket that will dress up (or down with jeans) for a couple of years. Love this one. Fit is great & if I had the cash I'd get another in green."
Review 9 for Castle Island Tweed Plaid Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Castle Island Tweed Plaid Jacket,
December 17, 2013
By: chickie8
from Brighton, MI
"The ideal blazer/jacket for all cool days. The colors are beautifully blended and the jacket tailored fit is perfect."
Review 10 for Castle Island Tweed Plaid Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Classic, warm, and well made,
November 12, 2013
By: TheFussyOne
from Chicago, IL
"I purchased the green color, which is darker than the web picture. It fits very well, and is warm but not hot, and works beautifully in a business casual office. Love it!"
Review 11 for Castle Island Tweed Plaid Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
perfect for my body type,
October 30, 2013
By: nylorac
from allendale, NJ
"I have wanted this jacket for years ,,,and since it is never going on sale, I decided to purchase it. It is a beautifully made jacket, which is warm and sits at the lower hip, covering the butt area. It has deep front pockets and an open pleat ed back. I chose a size 14 , which is one size larger than I usually wear so I could wear a sweater under it. The colors are muted and it goes beautifully with browns and all neutral colors. Goes well with slacks, jeans and skirts, dress or casual.. The sleeves were slightly long, but I turned them under and sewed them into place. I love it...it's perfect for my body type!!!!i"
Review 12 for Castle Island Tweed Plaid Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
So many compliments!,
October 9, 2013
By: shopgirl59
from Iowa
"Like some other reviewers, I'd looked at this jacket in the Orvis catalog for a couple years. I always thought it looked like something I "needed"! When the blue tweed was added to the catalog I ordered it, and I've never had so many compliments! When I opened the tissue-lined box to find the jacket on a shaped wooden hanger with a garment bag as well, I felt like a queen! There are lots of subtle colors in the tweed, but I pair it with a blue oxford cloth shirt and navy cords. It's perfect for early fall instead of a coat, and I love tossing it on with jeans to run errands. Great jacket! And now I want to order the green tweed as well!"
Review 13 for Castle Island Tweed Plaid Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Iv'e been looking for this,
October 4, 2013
By: tweedylady
from Essex, UK
"I have always wanted a tweed plaid jacket, but with a subtler pattern and in softer colours, that I can wear with jeans as well as more formal clothes. This jacket is just what I have been looking for. And the cut is excellent, feminine enough and comfortable.Well worth the price, even with shipping and the import duty I had to pay! Thank you.
Thank you
"
Review 14 for Castle Island Tweed Plaid Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please fix the scratchiness,
August 28, 2013
By: Lizaj
"I love this jacket. Love it.. That being said, I hardly ever wear it. Why? The neck is scratchy inside the collar, so the jacket can only be worn with a high turtleneck or a protective scarf. Is there any way this could be fixed? I have never had this problem - and I own several tweed jackets."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Castle Island Tweed Plaid Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Long Wanted Jacket,
July 12, 2013
By: DeeHu
from Matthews, North Carolina
"What a beautiful and well made jacket!The fabric is a lovely green plaid and the texture of the wool is rich.The cut is classic that fits gracefully over the hips and the sleeve length is perfect as are the four leather like buttons that add a classic style that Orvis is known for.Can be dressy or great with jeans. The delivery_boxed,on a wooden hanger and in a green Orvis garment bag!!As always, Orvis is a class act with classic clothes !!!"
Review 16 for Castle Island Tweed Plaid Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this jacket,
July 1, 2013
By: VickyeS
from San Francisco, CA
"The jacket is well made of nice wool material and it fits! I have a waistline problem and was concerned it would be too tight. Since I wear a 16 top (and sometimes a 14 bottom) I ordered the 14-16 size. It is perfect."
Review 17 for Castle Island Tweed Plaid Jacket
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
a disappointment,
February 13, 2013
By: Beartris
from Shelton, CT
"I am less than 5 feet tall, 103 pounds.
I called and asked about the accurate sizing of this jacket and the person told me that they were very generously sized. When it arrived, I realized that the jacket was "too short"--and returned it.
Obviously, it was not "generously sized" as that is what I regularly wear. If this were a lower priced item I would expect it to be sized accordingly. But at $300., this jacket was far from the usual generous sizing.
And to top it off, it cost me near $25.00 for shipping and handling--when your merchandise is truly at fault.
I complained and did get a $6.95 refund for the returned shipping cost, but the item was not sized appropriately in the first place.
"
Review 18 for Castle Island Tweed Plaid Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful Jacket,
February 1, 2013
By: poppins
from California
"A few years ago I bought this jacket in blue. Love it, fits perfectly and looks very expensive. I had to get the green (my favorite color) becuse I love the blue one so much. The quality is excellent, as always. I have been shopping with Orvis since the 1990's and have returned maybe 3 or 4 items, not because of quality, but because they just were not right for me. I don't know what I would do without Orvis. I get at least 90% of my clothes from Orvis. You can't beat them for style and quality."
Review 19 for Castle Island Tweed Plaid Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
English Hunting Blazer,
February 1, 2013
By: KateMacClean
from Green Bay, WI
"Excellent quality in the jacket with earth tone green plaid. The jacket was delivered quickly with quality apparel bag.
As for Sizing; the jacket runs small - so if you would like the look seen on the photo order it at least a size larger than you usually wear."
Review 20 for Castle Island Tweed Plaid Jacket
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not Up to Standard,
January 28, 2013
By: MountainBluebird
"I owned the green version of this jacket and it was a favorite. I used it so often that the elbows wore out! The fabric for the blue version (current purchase) appears to be a looser weave, though I cannot do a side-by-side comparison. The plaid on the blue version does not hold a straight line and the fabric does not appear to be equal in quality to the retired green version which I used for several years. I am returning this purchase."