Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Power Jaws Forceps

The jaws on this stainless steel hemostat plier make handling and removing smaller hooks and flies easy, while the patented “Power Jaws” are ideal for de-barbing hooks and crimping split shot. The tips of the Power Jaws Forceps have a combination of ribbed and smooth surfaces for large and small hooks. Built-in eye cleaning tool. In silver. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.769 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
13 of 13(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Power Jaws Forceps
Review 1 for Power Jaws Forceps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
August 13, 2014
By: AdoptedColorado
from Florence, CO
"Fit my fingers which has always been a problem. Great locking strength."
Review 2 for Power Jaws Forceps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
very nice,
April 26, 2014
By: keenan
from Illinois
"I have been looking for some quality pliers for some time now, I have got to say I'm impressed, and they are magnetic too, really cool.
Keenan
"
Review 3 for Power Jaws Forceps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product,
May 16, 2013
By: Jmc225
"This is a great product. Don't need a second tool for pinching barbs"
Review 4 for Power Jaws Forceps
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good for the price,
January 30, 2013
By: Kawickstrom
from Westminster, MD
"This is a great little set of forceps. They work smoothly and lock holds well."
Review 5 for Power Jaws Forceps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great forceps,
October 28, 2012
By: OregonTroutBum
from Oregon
"These will probably be the last pair of forceps I ever buy. Not because I won't use forceps, but because these particular forceps are so strong and well crafted that i can't imagine i will ever wear them out."
Review 6 for Power Jaws Forceps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great,
January 11, 2012
By: Angelo87
from NJ
"great forceps! at 1st it's little tight just needs to be broken into."
Review 7 for Power Jaws Forceps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Purchase,
September 8, 2011
By: AceCurry
from Charleston, West Virginia
"I am glad i purchased these, they seem very strong and easy to use. They were a little tight when they first arrived but after working with them they are loosing up nice. I can see these lasting me for many years to come."
Review 8 for Power Jaws Forceps
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Solid product,
August 26, 2011
By: PapaDato
"Great fit and finish, much higher quality than the inexpensive types. My only reservation is that the tips of the forceps are a bit wide which makes it somewhat difficult to remove a size 18 or smaller hook. On the other hand the beefier tips make them more durable."
Review 9 for Power Jaws Forceps
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sturdy and well made,
July 9, 2011
By: DoUlikeFishsticks
"I always wait a while before reviewing a product... so I have been using these guys for about 2 years now. They are well made and quite sturdy... they still look like new and I have been using them quite a bit.
The power jaw works perfectly for split shot and de-barbing hooks, and the main forceps work hold strongly to hooks... very useful when fishing with very tiny flies, to unhook the fish.
But that said, removing a hooked fish with these, is the fly is deep in the mouth or is the fish is small is challenging, I would recommend looking into other tools for that."
Review 10 for Power Jaws Forceps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product,
May 31, 2011
By: Johnny83
from NY
"I am glad i purchased these, they are very strong and easy to use. Takes the flies out quickly and easily!"
Review 11 for Power Jaws Forceps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love the curve,
January 2, 2009
By: Hooch
from Southwestern PA
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Bought a pair of these three or four years ago and really like them. They are my favorite pliers for trout and I guard them with my life as Orvis dropped them from their catalog shortly after I bought mine. I'm glad to see there back as the curved tips are far easier to use than the straight ones. The crimper is ideal for shot and if you can pick up one of the discontinued "split shot removers", your set. Wish they made these in a thinner tip for midge hooks. Also the curved tips clamp far more securely on your vest than the straight ones. Better buy a couple pair before they go south again."
Ratings-Only Reviews for Power Jaws Forceps
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 2 out of 2