Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Watershed Fly Box Series

A brand new series of innovative, exclusive fly boxes to fit every fly fishing need and situation—fresh and saltwater. And the best value going. Special O-ring gaskets keep boxes watertight and flies dry. Durable, shock-resistant, yet lightweight plasticholds up to hard fishing. Secure clasp locks fly box closed in a snap.
Average Customer Rating:
4.556 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
2
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
17 of 18(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Watershed Fly Box Series
Review 1 for Watershed Fly Box Series
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Why are they being discontinued?,
July 20, 2009
By: JonF
from Boise, Idaho
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Great product, and with the discontinuation, a really, really good deal. The local dealer sold me his inventory at $20 each for the large, swing leaf box. The local dealer couldn't understand why Orvis would discontinue what for him, was a very sucessful product to the local customer base."
Review 2 for Watershed Fly Box Series
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great weekend box!,
May 7, 2009
By: SWANK
from Hammond, LA
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I bought this after a week of fishing dropper rigs in NC. I see great advantages of being able to hold all your flies for a trip and pre-rigging several droppers before hitting the water. Save a lot of time on the water retying. I have it loaded now, just waiting to go back in May!"
Review 3 for Watershed Fly Box Series
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
A good box but not perfect,
March 5, 2009
By: Imago
from North Yorkshire, UK
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Waterproof boxes like this are a real boon; no more rusted flies. I like the box with the dropper rig built in. Often a change in leader is more useful than the fly and it is nice to have them all in one place. However, what I miss is attachment points for a lanyard so I could hang the box round my neck. Not even a single attachment point as I like to attach my boxes to zingers so I can't loose them. Also the slotted foam is rather thin and doesn't hold the flies as well as some others. I'd also prefer individual lids to each compartment; as it is I'm worried flies will blow away. The box is also a bit bulky compared with some other similar boxes. I do like the green colour."
Review 4 for Watershed Fly Box Series
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A mansion for my flies...,
December 31, 2008
By: jgflyfish
from Pasadena, California
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I purchased the large swing leaf box that holds close to 700 flies. This box fully loaded looks like a christmas tree, with all of the ornaments! It fits perfectly in the front pocket of the Orvis hydration pack that I own (see photo attached). I have my eye on the Large compartment/dropper rig box for my next purchase. This is a great fly box to have!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Watershed Fly Box Series
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My favorite,
December 22, 2008
By: Thom
from Buffalo
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have a rediculous number of fly boxes really. I have foam boxes, other compartment boxes, cheap ones, expensive ones, but my favorite box is the Watershed large slotted foam box.
1) It is flexible and will store anything from a #4 wooley booger on one side to a #26 nymph on the other side and I have done this with these boxes.
2) While it shouldnt make a difference, the box does make a nice presentation of the flies. It also has enormous capacity for those of us who likely carry too many flies (if there is such a thing).
3) The large box fits perfectly in the bottom zippered pouch on virtually any fly vest and for wading jackets with breast pouches, it fits there as well.
4) A tip with this box: if you are storing some small flies or you are going to fish until dark, take a fly threader and imbed the wire in one of the foam slots just like you would a fly. Makes it handy, and saves a lot of "misses with the leader" when those fish start rising at dusk.
This is a great box at an affordable price and when I tie a batch to present to a friend, this is the box I use for the gift. You can't go wrong with this box due to its flexibility.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Watershed Fly Box Series
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice Box!,
November 18, 2008
By: FishyDan
from Conway, AR
"I purchased the small foam version of this fly box and really enjoy using it. The slotted foam holds the flies tightly, but releases the fly cleanly when you're ready to use it. It is made of sturdy, thick plastic with a really nice clasp and it has a watertight seal. I dropped it in the river and can confirm that it does indeed float. My only constructive criticism is that I think it needs a method to tie on a length of string so it doesn't get too far away from you if it accidentally pops out of your vest."
Review 7 for Watershed Fly Box Series
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice box but a little heavy,
November 10, 2008
By: Hooch
from Belle Vernon, PA
"I have three of the smaller boxes and use them to store my inventory of midge size flies. I really like the design, but for me, I find the box is a bit too heavy to carry several of these in my vest. Wish this design could incorporated into a lighter weight box like the lock and load fly boxes. All in all, they are well made, very useful and a good product."
Review 8 for Watershed Fly Box Series
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best of all worlds,
August 29, 2008
By: Bilbo
"Purchased 3 of the Large compartment dropper rig boxes. Two as gifts and one for me. Almost hate to give the other two away but they will make great gifts. THE BEST OF ALL WORLDS
You've got it all in one box. You can set up for the whole day. It cut the number of fly boxes I carried in half. I currently use this in conjuction with the dropper rig box Orvis also sells which has 5 dropper rigs I just swap them out as I use them . Nice addition However this box is weather tight. only minor Negative is its size Its plenty big. But Its a must have for any serious F.F.F. (FLY FISHING FANATIC)
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Watershed Fly Box Series
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Box for Nymphs and Drys,
July 14, 2008
By: JLMTX83
from Dallas, TX
"This is a great product for keeping your dry flies dry and your nymphs from falling into the drink when tying one on. Gotta love the snap and locking covers that keep your flies where you want them, but allow you to find exactly what your looking for before you open the lid."
Review 10 for Watershed Fly Box Series
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
amazing fly box,
June 27, 2008
By: QueenOTrout
from Central Maine
"This is truly a great fly box. I love the water tight seal, if you have ever dropped a box in a stream, you know what I mean. I bought the large size with the extra leaf. All of the storage area has made it possible to travel lighter with less boxes. I take a lot of flies when I fish as you never know for sure what is going to entice the fish. The white background also makes it easy to see the individual flies. Another great feature is the slot system, no more little white foam pieces when you take the fly out of the box. I actually have two of these now and am recommending this box to all of my fly fishing buddies. It also fits superbly in my vest pocket and is a comfortable size to fit in my hand. I just can't say enough great things about this fly box!"
Review 11 for Watershed Fly Box Series
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Watershed Flyboxes,
June 4, 2008
By: Anonymous
from Waco, Texas
"I have 6 of the Large Slotted Streamer Fly Boxes and 6 Large Slotted Swing Leaf Boxes that I am filling with a variety of fly styles as I tie. These are great boxes for fly storage because of the convenience of the slotting method for holding and preserving flies, and the fact they can be used and reused time after time without destroying the slotted liner.
I recommend Orvis. I am extremely pleased with the quality, cost, construction and appearance of these great boxes. I had considered another name brand but am extremely happy I chose Orvis' Watershed Flyboxes.
"
Review 12 for Watershed Fly Box Series
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Bulky design,
January 22, 2008
By: pescator7
from New York, NY
"I am always searching for the ultimate dry fly box and this was not it. I purchased the medium box with 24 compartments. The 14 compartments in the lid portion are very shallow and will fit only small dry flies or terrestrials. The remaining 10 compartments are deeper, but some are so small that it is difficult to get the flies out. The placement of the hook hone makes it inconvenient to use. Overall, this box does not fit as many flies as I thought that it should given its size. It is however, very solidly built and the clear windows make fly identification much easier than other similar boxes."
Review 13 for Watershed Fly Box Series
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Some drawbacks,
December 28, 2007
By: Thetrier
from Northern Virginia/DC - not famous for trout
"I picked up the medium box using the 25% discount voucher at my local Orvis retail store. Its a solid box that holds a lot of flies and is easy to use. However, many of the compartments are just too small - luckily in Northern VA we use a lot of small flies. I also wish Orvis had incorporated the rounded corners available in some of their other boxes."
Review 14 for Watershed Fly Box Series
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product,
December 17, 2007
By: BMoffitt
from Fort Worth, TX
"I recently purchased the large dropper rig box and absolutely love it. I mostly fish either dropper rigs or streamers and found I was carrying too many small boxes holding flies for dropper rigs, which was cutting into the number of streamer boxes I could carry. Also having to tie dropper rigs on stream was really cutting into my fishing time.
Now before I head out I ensure I have dropper rigs tied and I can keep extra flies for additional dropper rigs in the box if I need to time some up during lunch.
My only complaint is that with larger flies the slit foam rows are too close together. It would have been nice if the rows were offset a little from the previous row so more flies can be added. I've found my larger Copper John's do not fit well with other flies on the adjacent row. Offsetting the rows a little would have made it easier to squeeze in additional flies.
Overall a great product and well worth the money!
"
Review 15 for Watershed Fly Box Series
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Practical flybox,
December 5, 2007
By: Stony
"I purchased the large compartment box w/ dropper rigs a few months ago, and it is now my best river fly box. It fits in my lower vest pocket but it has enough room and sections for a full assortment of every type of fly I need for the river (dry, wet, nymph, streamer), it has a rubber gasket seal, and everything is visible and accessible. The dropper rigs save time on the river in rerigging. The price is good. No more leaky flyboxes and rifling through 7-8 boxes to find the right fly. I have had many boxes over the years, expensive and cheap. This is bar none the most versatile and effective box for the money."
Review 16 for Watershed Fly Box Series
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Must have.,
November 28, 2007
By: Crockett
from Knoxville, Tennessee
"I picked up the mid size box a couple of months ago and it has already saved me from disaster a couple of times.
Very nice construction, easy to work out of, and holds tackle securely."
Review 17 for Watershed Fly Box Series
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
watershed fly boxes,
November 24, 2007
By: trout9
from florence sc
"Can not find a better box for all types and sizes of flies, GREAT product"
Review 18 for Watershed Fly Box Series
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
An Excellent Idea,
October 5, 2007
By: Anonymous
from Shushan, NY
"I purchased the large compartment dropper rig box last spring, and I am glad that I did. In the hot summer months, I prefer to fly fish with minimal gear. I limit myself to only one fly box and this is the one I take. It fits easily into my wader or shirt pocket. This box holds a sizable assortment of streamers, nymphs and dry flies, so I have any pattern or size that I need. The dropper rig is great because it saves me time and is easy to use. It has slotted foam and flip top compartments, which is an excellent combination. This is definitely one of my favorite fly boxes."