Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Original "Ratcatcher" Moleskin Pants

Our midweight cotton moleskin trousers, slightly lighter in weight than our field moleskin pants for casual wear around town, sport the trademark brushed, suedelike hand and remain as tough as leather. Constructed in a venerable mill in England that has made the highest-quality moleskin in existence since 1901. Belt not included. Pure cotton. Dry clean. Imported of English fabric.Even waist sizes 30-46. Cuffed up to 33" or plain finished up to 34" at no extra charge.
Average Customer Rating:
4.356 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (118 reviews)
5 stars
71
4 stars
29
3 stars
12
2 stars
1
1 star
5
103 of 118(87%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Original "Ratcatcher" Moleskin Pants
Review 1 for Original "Ratcatcher" Moleskin Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
excellent,
March 3, 2014
By: 2185369lh
from Colorado
"very good quality, excellent fit ,and prompt delivery. I just wish you carried more pants in my waist size (30 inch) or had them available to order. Your products and service is very good."
Review 2 for Original "Ratcatcher" Moleskin Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Soft as a baby's behind,
January 20, 2014
By: TheOldDuckHunter
from Mississippi
"Orvis' moleskin pants have been around as long as I can remember, and they're still just as good. The fabric is warm in a cold wind, and soft as a baby's behind. They are feather light but durable. They look great, and I expect many years from them. They are comfy as can be. I'm very happy with them."
Review 3 for Original "Ratcatcher" Moleskin Pants
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Beautifully made pants,
January 13, 2014
By: DRinTX
from San Antonio, TX
"I bought two pairs of these pants on sale recently. As with pretty much everything Orvis makes, they are beautifully made pants. If you've never worn moleskin, they are some of the softest, warmest, most comfortable pants ever.
I bought both colors available, and my only complaint is that the lighter color is a bit more orange-ey than I'm comfortable with, and might be hard to coordinate with other clothes. Other than that, a great pair of pants at an excellent price - considering the quality you're getting."
Review 4 for Original "Ratcatcher" Moleskin Pants
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
nice pair of pants,
November 16, 2013
By: Asman
"Luxuriously comfortable, good fit,style and color."
Review 5 for Original "Ratcatcher" Moleskin Pants
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Enough Moleskin Pants,
October 9, 2013
By: Wonderdog
from Weston MA
"I was looking for really good moleskin pants in traditional colors. These aren't ."really good." They are good enough, but it doubt they'll look great and be comfortable for years.
I had bought a pair last season that I returned due to wrong color. I'm keeping these. They fit fine, but I wish the legs were less baggy."
Review 6 for Original "Ratcatcher" Moleskin Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
One of a kind,
October 2, 2013
By: bullettrace
from Florida
"I just purchased the Ratcatcher moleskin pants and I must say that they are excellent in quality and fit.
I was not sure what to expect when ordering these, but I must say if you are looking for a soft flannel type of feel and warmth, then these pants will fulfill your expectations."
Review 7 for Original "Ratcatcher" Moleskin Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durable Moleskin Pants,
September 29, 2013
By: FarandFine
from Alexandria, VA
"My first experience with moleskin fabric, these Orvis pants are extremely durable. I purchased the lovat (green) color and wore them for Thanksgiving, receiving many compliments. I since use these pants for chores around the yard to fishing and even travel; no wear after five years with occasional dry cleaning."
Review 8 for Original "Ratcatcher" Moleskin Pants
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice but not quite perfect!,
May 17, 2013
By: stauffenberg
from West Yorkshire, UK
"This is a nice trouser - and the only reason I don't give 5* is that they tend to dip or hang a bit at the knees when worn in. They are a really dapper pant though in my view and worth the kind of money one pays (around £100 or so if paying the full amount). However, at present nobody can buy any more Orvis Moleskin as barring a few oddments in the sale with abundant waistlines - they are off the menu!!! (as at May 2013) A faux pas I hope they will remedy shortly!!!!!!! Go on Orivis you know you want to - bear in mind in cold climates we are still wearing our moleskins!"
Review 9 for Original "Ratcatcher" Moleskin Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
moleskin pants,
March 20, 2013
By: arebol
"very comfortable pants. sized perfectly. you should have more pants with waist size 30"
Review 10 for Original "Ratcatcher" Moleskin Pants
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
When camel = lovat,
March 10, 2013
By: JM3RD
from Canberra, Australia
"Sorry, but I ordered lovat and got camel moleskin pants. I am mightily disappointed but they'll have to do, of course: too difficult to return them from the other end of the world. But more care your end would be terrific."
Review 11 for Original "Ratcatcher" Moleskin Pants
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Caveat emptor,
March 9, 2013
By: ccw3
"What I like about these pants: the long 10" rise is comfortable for tall men who are tired of short rise pants crowding the crotch.
What I didn't like: they narrow too much at the hem, ruining the classic look. Plus, the midweight cotton feels too "thin" and flimsy for this price."
Review 12 for Original "Ratcatcher" Moleskin Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
very comfortable,
February 26, 2013
By: Aluminumtraveler
from North Carolina
"These mole skins are the most comfortable pants that I have worn. I own many of the Orvis wool pants and these pants are full cut in the legs and actually feel like wind stoppers.
Great pants and I recommend buying a pair as you will not regret the purchase.
"
Review 13 for Original "Ratcatcher" Moleskin Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Moleskin pants are just wonderful,
February 8, 2013
By: Buppa
from Boston ,Ma
"These trousers are comfortable, warm but not overly so, and just ideal for longing around the house but still dressy enough to go out to a decent place for dinner. They feel great, fit well and now that I have two pair I am very pleased with them both."
Review 14 for Original "Ratcatcher" Moleskin Pants
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Pants,
February 4, 2013
By: phi2100gaa
from Tennessee
"I love the pants. The feel great and the color is perfect. My only issue is the sizing runs a little small. Thank goodness I ordered a size up."
Review 15 for Original "Ratcatcher" Moleskin Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Pants,
January 28, 2013
By: Bonasadbl
from Buckhannon, WV
"Simply the MOST Comfortable pants available, period. Soft yet rugged... do not let the price deter you...you get what you pay for and this will not dissappoint you."
Review 16 for Original "Ratcatcher" Moleskin Pants
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Waist/Waste,
January 28, 2013
By: Revvie
from Lakewood, Colorado
"These are nice pants. Unfortunately the marked waist size was not accurate: the waist was supposed to be, and was marked, size "38" but was actually a size "41." When tried on, the pants ballooned around my bottom and made me look a wee tad like a Zeppelin. So, if you order these pants, remember that the size you order is not necessarily the size you will get."
Review 17 for Original "Ratcatcher" Moleskin Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just right!,
January 25, 2013
By: Riverlad
from Padanaram, MA
"I had heard that moleskin is an excellent material and am delighted with it, the quality of construction and the fit -- everything I've come to expect from Orvis."
Review 18 for Original "Ratcatcher" Moleskin Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My Moleskins,
January 24, 2013
By: delawareguy
"My moleskins are ideal winter pants. They are comfortable, warm and come in good muted colors"
Review 19 for Original "Ratcatcher" Moleskin Pants
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good spring/autumn trousers !!,
January 21, 2013
By: jjscotman
from Edinburgh, Scotland, UK
"I got these trousers in dark olive and they look good with a nice trim cut.
Being midweight they will probably be too thin for cold winter days but good for autumn and spring.
One thing I like about Orvis trousers are the deep pockets. Too many trousers from other manufacturers have trousers with shallow pockets.
I would recommend the Orvis "ratcatchers" to potential purchasers.
"
Review 20 for Original "Ratcatcher" Moleskin Pants
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice weight, feel,
January 17, 2013
By: Dromos
from Brooklyn, NY
"The softness and heft of the fabric are great, not too heavy, but good for winters in NYC."