Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Bay Rum After Shave

This is the original, subtly scented skin tonic that refined gentlemen have used since the early 1900s. Dominica Bay rum aftershave is fresh and completely natural, with no artificial ingredients. Cools and soothes, a natural antiseptic for minor cuts. 10-oz. bottle. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.378 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (45 reviews)
5 stars
32
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
4
40 of 45(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Bay Rum After Shave
Review 1 for Bay Rum After Shave
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
killer toner for skin..,
August 8, 2013
By: Anonymous
"i bought it for my husband as a light aftershave, but I love it myself. very nice, light and refreshing."
Review 2 for Bay Rum After Shave
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best of the Best,
June 14, 2013
By: friendwife
from Paris, TX
"My husband just had to open the box before Father's Day because he suspected what was in it.
He immediately washed his face, no shave, and applied this heavenly scent.
Last bottle was a different brand, more expensive, but he's now back to Dominica...more subtle he says
"
Review 3 for Bay Rum After Shave
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Packaging needs work,
June 12, 2013
By: GaltJohn84
from Saint Augustine, FL
"Bay Rum After Shave is absolutely the best I've used in years. And my wife loves it also (which is extremely important). Of note is she spent 25 years in corporate retail in the fragrance and cosmetic industry; she knows of what she speaks (or smells).
The key question: would I buy another! Not likely until I can figure out a better method of dispensing the lotion. The opening on the bottle is just too large, unmanageable and you leave more on the counter than on your face. I'm not in favor of beer bottle openings, unless they're on beer bottles.
Back to the package engineering designers.............
"
Review 4 for Bay Rum After Shave
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
May 22, 2013
By: JPW13
"Picked up the lime version. The wife really likes it. Very distinct smell, heavy at first but wears light. Does not last long and would not recommend as an after shave--by now most men know alcohol based aftershaves are not great for skin."
Review 5 for Bay Rum After Shave
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aftershave before anything else's,
April 15, 2013
By: RobertBG
from Sacramento, CA
"Good enough when I was 6 and learning to "shave" without a blade with Papa. Better with a blade now. Memories last forever"
Review 6 for Bay Rum After Shave
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
DOMINICA BAY RUM,
August 25, 2012
By: Honolulu
from Honolulu, HI
"While in the Sutter Street store I saw several different types of Royall after shaves, but they did not carry the Bay Rhum, and strongly recommended the Dominica Bay Rum, and I bought a bottle.
I recommend that you stock the Royall Bay Rhum; it has better and more persistent scent and does not have a feeling of residue on the hands. I have used the Royall for several years and think that it is superior.
Thank you.
"
Review 7 for Bay Rum After Shave
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Aroma!,
July 17, 2012
By: Saxx
from Naples, Florida
"Great aroma! Very soothing and pleasing to the skin. A terrific value for the money...."
Review 8 for Bay Rum After Shave
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best aftershave experience,
July 14, 2012
By: alfoglen
from Pocatello, ID
"I wanted to change my after-shaving experience and ordered both the Dominica bay rum (lime) and Porter's lotion from Orvis. My beard is like wire, my skin is very tender and I am difficult to please. However I am very pleased with both Dominica and Porter's. First I use the after shave, then the lotion. The scent is pleasing but not overwhelming. Pain from any nicks or scrapes leaves immediately, I heartily recommend both Dominca and Porter's. I just ordered my second bottle of both."
Review 9 for Bay Rum After Shave
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
April 10, 2012
By: Chuchu
from Salisbury, CT
"I like this after shave lotion very much. I always buy it. It's very pleasant and fresh."
Review 10 for Bay Rum After Shave
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ok product,
April 2, 2012
By: steveh2o
from new jersey
"A little pricey for what it is. But it is ok I guess."
Review 11 for Bay Rum After Shave
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
the best of the best,
January 2, 2012
By: piddler
from bluff city, tn
"if i had the money, i would shop only at "Pigeon Forge Orvis", but i still love the catalogs too, keep up the good work.bluff city/holston river is the best trout fishing in tenn."
Review 12 for Bay Rum After Shave
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A unique scent,
December 30, 2011
By: lennyloo
from Newbury, VT
"A manly aftershave. My husband has been using this for the last 30 years. It's subtle and consistent. Also, well-priced."
Review 13 for Bay Rum After Shave
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Superb Bay Rum,
December 28, 2011
By: Zeissler
"Over the past 40+ years I've tried just about every Bay Rum available - this is quite simply the best I've ever found.
Dominica Bay Rum has a strong, clean and pure top note of excellent Bay Rum and doesn't leave lingering cinnamon or clove notes like many of the other major brands do. It goes on with a heady initial blast that quickly dies down to an intriguing spicy/woody aroma that faintly stays with me until I'm in the shower the following morning.
It works wonders on razor burn, scrapes, small cuts and the like - and I use it all over my skin and scalp. No residue whatsoever, and it's the only scent my wife has approved of for long term use.
The bottle could use a better dispenser of some sort, but I transfer the juice into a smaller bottle for that purpose anyway.
This is the scent that really separates the real men from the posers."
Review 14 for Bay Rum After Shave
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Smells nice!,
November 6, 2011
By: dacuzz
from Maryland
"A very pleasant fragrance and not overpowering. I only wish it had a spout or smaller cover as one tip of the bottle and its all gone."
Review 15 for Bay Rum After Shave
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Rare Find,
August 12, 2011
By: Awitong
from Arlington Texas
"This stuff is good .. it stops razor burn and i also use it as a first aid balm on insect bites and small cuts on the skin .. it works great and i love the smell.. i only wish Orvis would offer free shipping so that i can put automatic restocking.. also i wish bottle design would prevent over pouring .. i knocked over a couple of times and watched in horror as the golden liquid went to waste"
Review 16 for Bay Rum After Shave
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Only after shave I would buy,
July 13, 2011
By: b100
"i love this stuff. My wife calls it mosquito spray. She says as long as I wear it, she doesn't have to worry about me picking up other women. I do think this is the kind of after shave that James Bond would wear. Not a sweet scent, but a tropical sunset on a beach somewhere."
Review 17 for Bay Rum After Shave
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great After-Shave or Skin Bracer,
May 18, 2011
By: DrDon
from Ashland, OR
"I have purchased this item several times in the last twenty years for its soothing after-shave properties. It feels great on my skin and smells good without leaving an oily residue like after-shave balms tend to do. My wife loves and uses it regularly also...says it's aromatherapy for her. So, there you have it, she's VERY selective so it must be good! All I know is I'm glad Orvis sells it so I can replenish it when it's time. Good job Orvis!"
Review 18 for Bay Rum After Shave
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Dominica Bay Rum Aftershave,
May 6, 2011
By: watermite
"I remember my grandfather wearing bay rum. When I found bay rum while living in the Caribbean a couple years ago, I was sure to try it. I became quite fond of bay rum and wore it every day. Now that I am stateside I found Dominica Bay Rum on the internet. The Dominica Bay Rum is nearly non existent of any scent of bay leaf. Sure with I was back in the islands where there are plenty of Bay Rum's available."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamMay 23, 2011
Orvis Customer Service contacted this customer, apologized that the item did not meet expectations. Our goal is to make sure everything you buy from us is absolutely right. You can always shop with confidence at Orvis—everything we sell is backed by our unconditional 100% satisfaction guarantee.
Review 19 for Bay Rum After Shave
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Smell,
April 1, 2011
By: Fastwalker
from Atlanta, Georgia
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I was in the Buckhead store where I usually shop and my salesperson who knows me by name, she recomended this product and I tried a little bit on my face. It immediately brought back memories of my father who used this product. I called him and he confirmed it, and I bought it. I have three grown boys and two grandkids who are a little young but this will be a family tradition. It feels good and refresshing after a nice hot shave and razor burn goes away because it has contains an antisceptic ingredient, that just feels good. I get more compliments in the morning on how good I smell. It wears away after an hour. It is kind of expensive but I have forgotten the price now. This is going back to buy ten bottles to make this a family tradition since my meories of my dad come back every morning. How do you put a price tag on that?"
Review 20 for Bay Rum After Shave
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pleasantly surprised!,
March 18, 2011
By: Springbok
from Denver Colorado
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I bought a bottle of the Lime frangrance last weekend. I'm an avid cyclist from Colorado and the air is cold and dry. This product made a difference from the first use. This will be in my sports bag permanently in future. I agree with others, a cologne would be great in the original fragrance."