Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Ketchum Release

Release fish safely, quickly, and easily without ever handling them. The best way to assure reduced fish mortality. Keeps hands from getting wet (great for cold days). Ends damage to flies, too. Rugged carbon fiber construction. Easy-grip handle. Two sizes. Standard for medium-size streamers to drys and nymphs hook size 18-20. Midge for flies size 20 and smaller. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
23 of 24(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Ketchum Release
Review 1 for Ketchum Release
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great little tool,
November 18, 2014
By: Scalp
from Castlerock
"Very handy little tool.Works a treat .Catch and release has never been so simple."
Review 2 for Ketchum Release
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Tool,
October 13, 2014
By: DRTEA
"If you have never used a Ketchum Release, I highly recommend you give it a try. It is one of the best tools out there to minimize contact with the fish and get them back into the water with as little stress as possible. The minimally invasive tool for the catch and release fisherman."
Review 3 for Ketchum Release
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look Ma, No Hands!,
August 8, 2014
By: hikerfisher
from Sierra Neveda,CA
"Great little light gadget to remove hook witout touching trout and removeng thier mucas membrane. Great for backpacing. Attach it to a retractable spool with nippers and you have all you need!"
Review 4 for Ketchum Release
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Workes as described,
August 4, 2014
By: acar
"I purchased this because of my grandson who just started fishing and wanted to protect the fish as much as possible so we could release them back to the water.
We have used it twice and it made it much easer to get the hook out with minimal stress. good tool.
"
Review 5 for Ketchum Release
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Life saver,
July 31, 2014
By: Thenatural1
from Elverson , PAj
"You don't have to net or touch the fish leaving them in great shape for next time. Excellent tool I'm sure the fish think so too"
Review 6 for Ketchum Release
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
catsmeow,
May 2, 2014
By: monkeywrench
from crawley lake, ca.
"when it comes to removing flies from trout without even lifting the net out of the water, or restraining the fish this is the tool of choice, perfect for the serious catch and release fisherman"
Review 7 for Ketchum Release
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Practical fishing tool,
March 3, 2014
By: Freeportwannabe
from Meriden, CT
"I always wanted a simple tool to help me with catch and release without harming the fish. I have heard others speak about this tool. It is smaller than am antiquated tool I had from years ago. The price for some may seem accessible, but it will last me for years."
Review 8 for Ketchum Release
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Essential Kit,
September 10, 2013
By: Kapone
from South Kesteven
"When I catch a Trout the hook must come straight out.
This passed my test so it must be the best.
Simple,humane and efficient.
"
Review 9 for Ketchum Release
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing Tool,
May 15, 2013
By: FranklinFlyFisherman
from Franklin, Maine
"The Ketchum release is an amazing tool hands down. When it comes to releasing fish in a time sensitive matter to ensure survivability for the fish, there is no other tool that can deliver the quality and efficiency that the Ketchum release does. In fact I ordered two because I wanted to give one to my son. This tool provides more then one amazing feature because it also protects your fly as you release your fish. Have you ever struggled with those forceps trying to release that fish and then realize you tore your fly apart. Protect your fly from forceps damage and release those fish as quick as possible.
That is what I do with a Ketchum Release.
"
Review 10 for Ketchum Release
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Hasn't Worked for Me,
March 23, 2013
By: JohnJA
from California
"I usually don't have much trouble removing hooks. I have pulled this out a couple of time when the hook was pretty deep in the trouts gullet. Haven't been able to get it to work. I read over the other reviews. Everyone else seems to think it is great. I might try it again. I is very well made."
Review 11 for Ketchum Release
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Useful,
February 6, 2013
By: Flytrier
from Las Vegas
"I bought this to replace the same one that was lost on a fishing trip in Utah. Easy to use, and easy on the fish...what's not to like."
Review 12 for Ketchum Release
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gotta have a Ketchum,
October 17, 2012
By: Kdenver
"This is a great product to keep fish in the water. Although it is better for smaller fish than large ones. I've found it prolongs the fight with large fish versus using a net."
Review 13 for Ketchum Release
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to Use,
October 8, 2012
By: KevinAZ
from Phoenix, AZ
"Easy to use - doesn't damage the flies. Also works great for one-handed releases."
Review 14 for Ketchum Release
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great tool,
June 27, 2012
By: rudyd
from missouri
"this is an awesome tool- takes a little practice to use but once you get the hang of it you never use your net-fish never leaves the water-"
Review 15 for Ketchum Release
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
does what it says,
June 5, 2012
By: Chris195
from Kent, United Kingdom
"release your fish fast without damage , great product"
Review 16 for Ketchum Release
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ketchum release,
April 12, 2012
By: LeeJ5905
"Great size so as to not to become cumbersome in its use. Glides down the line without snagging and enables the quick and humane release of the fish."
Review 17 for Ketchum Release
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Works!,
October 20, 2011
By: GreenT
from MA
"Nicely made and unlikely to break - but I still like using foreceps."
Review 18 for Ketchum Release
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best in the bag,
July 21, 2010
By: Paulmac
from glasgow scotland
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"best release tool on the market without a doubt although double the price dont be fooled into buying the cheaper tool i bought a cheaper one wen my orvis zinger gave way and i lost it to the water and i used this new tool once now i leave it at home back to forceps it just does not compare to the orvis in anyway great product and my favourite"
Review 19 for Ketchum Release
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A relief for both you and the fish,
October 15, 2008
By: DeanH
from Columbus, OH
"Catch and release has placed the focus (and rightly so) on more than just catching the fish but on returning it healthy to the water to be caught again. This tool makes the healthy release of the fish much easier. All plastic construction means no rust but more than enough strength to release the hook. This is a great tool for anyone who actually catches fish."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Ketchum Release
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
One of the best tools I carry,
October 26, 2007
By: JohnH
from Idaho
"Next to my line clippers this is the best tool I carry fly fishing. It works better than any other tool I have tried to remove hooks. I have purchased both sizes, but prefer the smaller size for trout. You will want to put it on a large pin on reel or a snap release connector so you can easily use the tool to reach the fish."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.