Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Rough–Out Sahara Boots

Find surefooted comfort in a classic style crafted of sturdy rough-out suede, a leather-lined interior, cushioned insole, and natural gum-rubber sole. These Chukka boots for men are close relatives to those worn by some of Britain's 7th Armored Division as they stormed through Egypt and Libya on their way to Belgium, Holland, and finally across Germany. Chukka boots for men in tan. In medium width. Imported. Whole and half sizes: 10½, 11, 12.
Average Customer Rating:
4.083 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
1
18 of 24(75%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Rough–Out Sahara Boots
Review 1 for Rough–Out Sahara Boots
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Getting the right size is a problem,
October 31, 2012
By: Richo
from Surrey
"On your advice selected size 9.5 but too small, and exchanged for 10. Fitting a little too wide but have had these desert boots before and old pair still in use after 10 years now used while doing DIY though crepe soles do get mangled. My son in the British army had a pair while in Iraq and they proved so much more comforatable than army issue."
Review 2 for Rough–Out Sahara Boots
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Terrible fit,
October 9, 2012
By: Chris25
from Texas
"I don't see how anyone could possibly wear the boots I received. The length was fine but way too much room in the forefoot and toe. I bought these boots several years ago with no problems. They were great shoes. However, the fit of these shoes I currently received was horrible. Not even close. With both ways shipping I cant justify requesting another pair."
Review 3 for Rough–Out Sahara Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well designed.,
July 12, 2012
By: Ferminator
"The boots was perfect please don't mess up the design with any socall improvemnts."
Review 4 for Rough–Out Sahara Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Desert Boots,
June 21, 2012
By: KabulBob
from Kabul Afghanistan
"Great desert boots, am currently wearing them in Afghanistan. I ordered 1 size down as recommended and they fit great. The only improvement I can recommend is to make a version with a lightly lugged sole. This would provide more gripping in rocky or muddy conditions. I highly recommend this boot."
Review 5 for Rough–Out Sahara Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sahara Boots,
March 6, 2012
By: klumps1
from Freeport,Ny
"My recent purchase of these boots is my second backup pair for everyday use.They are without a doubt some of the most comfortable shoes I have ever worn and would recommend them to all who would listen .Great shoe and hopefully Orvis will still have them available when I need another pair. Thanks Orvis !"
Review 6 for Rough–Out Sahara Boots
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aspirational but missing the mark,
December 31, 2011
By: TxRider
from Texas
"The benchmark for desert boots are the Clark's- the originator and classic choice. Orvis' desert boots need to be a cut above to differentiate them in the market. The materials are a cut above but execution is the problem. These boots are sized wrong and they are way too wide and all in the toe box. Instead of trim trendy styling you end up with something that is heavy and looks like it belongs on a cartoon character's foot. It's a shame because there is much potential here but execution undermines the entire effort. I truly hope Orvis will take a look at thes boots and resolve the fit issues. A super premium desert boot would be a great thing to have in the market."
Review 7 for Rough–Out Sahara Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sad they no longer make womens,
December 20, 2011
By: SmokesMuse
from KC, MO
"I bought a pair of these boots when they came in women's sizes. I love them, wear them alot and get lots of complements on them. But, they no longer come in womens sizes and the mens sizes don't go small enough to fit me. I have some of the Clarks brand but they are not as substantial as the Orvis ones. Please Orvis, make them for women again!"
Review 8 for Rough–Out Sahara Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Actually in the desert,
November 9, 2011
By: Contractor
from Eastern Iraq
"I am wearing them in the deserts of Iraq. I have to say that I am quite happy with the weight, breathability, care and comfort so far. Light enough to not be a burden, durable ennough to handle the rocks and rubble. I am hoping for a long life cycle with these boots. Well done Orvis."
Review 9 for Rough–Out Sahara Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
good quality desert boot,
June 27, 2011
By: Qball
from Shushan, NY
"I tried this pair of boots after being disappointed withe and returning the original Clark's desert boot, which does not look like the original to me. The Orvis desert boot is more substantial and clearly better quality. It runs small. I wear a 9 1/2 to 10 and the size 9 fits me very well. I'd highly recommend it"
Review 10 for Rough–Out Sahara Boots
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Shoes,
May 18, 2011
By: crybabyranch
"These shoes are just like I remembered.Problem is getting the correct size"
Review 11 for Rough–Out Sahara Boots
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
End of a long search,
October 15, 2010
By: Traveller2010
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"These boots represent the end of a long search - for a good quality, crepe-soled desert boot. Very well made, comfortable (though the addition of an extra insole made them even more so), reasonably priced for the quality, but...very heavy.
I don't spend much time in the North African desert, but I'm sure these boots lasted the course!"
Review 12 for Rough–Out Sahara Boots
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Got Stamina? Wear These.,
May 6, 2010
By: NHRivertrails
from NH
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"True these do run a 1/2 size too large - so order down.
I had them overnighted then sprayed them with suede protection, put a pair of gel inserts in them, took them to the High Point furniture market the next morning and walked 9 to 10 hours a day for 6 full days. Should have taken a pedometer!!! I put serious miles on those new shoes.
Last words. Look great casual or donned up. Can handle trout hiking stream feet in a city environment."
Review 13 for Rough–Out Sahara Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A very good boot,
April 9, 2010
By: Buddye
from Sugar Land, Texas
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"First, I am a geologist and engineer and do go to the field a lot also hunt Africa (Cape and Lion). I have had many field boots these are better than expected. Good construction yet simple. One thing very important, I read other reviews before buying and it is correct. The sizing is wrong. I wear 10 w I bought 9 and the fit was perfect, so buy the next size smaller for the correct fit.
Someone can't find shoelaces, I use raw hide and just cut to length and they really last a long time.
Years ago a British hunting guide got me to wear the British north African ww2 boots, maybe that is why I really like them."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Rough–Out Sahara Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Shoes !,
June 9, 2009
By: jim4E
from Newfane VT
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I took a chance when I bought these shoes. I have a very hard time buying shoes because I have wide feet. I was so suprised when I put these on. The comfort was unbelieveable. No break in period is needed you can wear them right out of the box. I was also impressed with the quality of the shoes and how they were made. Also they look great. I can't say enough about them. When they wear out I will buy another pair."
Review 15 for Rough–Out Sahara Boots
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
tight around ankles,
May 13, 2009
By: urbancamper
from redwood city, ca
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"a little tight around the ankle due to the extra eye. well made. i wear them in the summer my blue jeans."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamJuly 19, 2009
Orvis contacted this customer and thanked him for the valuable feedback. We appreciate all comments as they help us develop products that will better meet the needs of our customers.
Review 16 for Rough–Out Sahara Boots
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Somewhat Ok, but ?,
April 30, 2009
By: Funirishman
Good Value: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
"I've had these about a year.
I like the look, but there are 2 things that bother me.
1. They are NOT that comfortable.
2. Everything stains them, water, dirt, etc. etc.
and the stains/marks do not wash or brush off. Have tried several "cleaners" and so far no luck.
I'm very easy on shows, take good care of them but these have not "lived" well.
MOW"
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamJuly 19, 2009
Orvis contacted this customer and apologized that these boots did not perform as expected. We want our customers to be completely happy with all their Orvis purchases so we did offer a refund or exchange, whichever the customer perferred.
Review 17 for Rough–Out Sahara Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best quality Desert Boots,
November 6, 2008
By: Left
from Central California
"These are the best quality desert boots I have been able to find. What differentiates these from other desert boots is the additional eye for the lacing--in my opinion this not only enhances the look, but makes them better walking shoes. I agree they run a little large but as soon as I received them I couldn't wait to wear them. An aftermarket insole provided an acceptable solution."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Rough–Out Sahara Boots
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
need to sell laces,
November 5, 2008
By: maine
"This is a great shoe but you can not find replacement laces for them once they wear out. I have shopped everywhere and can not find laces."
Review 19 for Rough–Out Sahara Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sahara Boot Width,
July 28, 2008
By: DavidG
"This is a great looking desert boot - the very best of the breed in my opinion.
May I have your opinion on the width? Does it run true to medium as cataloged?
I noticed an earlier review which suggested ordering a half-size shorter in length.
Many thanks.
"
Review 20 for Rough–Out Sahara Boots
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
great shoes,
July 25, 2008
By: kanaha01
"As in all the above reviews the sizeing was off - my shoe size is 9, ended up with a size 8 desert boot.
But otherwise they are great
"