Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Uplander Shooting Gloves

An exact copy of an old pair of shooting gloves a top grouse hunter swears by—made exclusively for Orvis. Made from rugged, yet sensitive, deerskin for maximum softness, grip, and dexterity. Cut long at the cuff to protect wrists from briars. Unlined. Upland shooting gloves in brown. Imported. Sizes: S(8½), M(8½-9), L(9-9½), XL(9½-10).
Average Customer Rating:
4.568 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (74 reviews)
5 stars
54
4 stars
14
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
2
69 of 74(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Uplander Shooting Gloves
Review 1 for Uplander Shooting Gloves
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent gloves,
April 15, 2014
By: SWVAbrdhntr54
from Abingdon, VA
"Great gloves and great value! Gloves fit true to size and I have used them several times and will be buying a spare pair soo!"
Review 2 for Uplander Shooting Gloves
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
THE VERY BEST,
March 25, 2014
By: SFROG
from MARYLAND
"HAVE BEEN USING THE UPLAND SHOOTING GLOVES FOR DOVE, GOOSE AND DUCK HUNTING [AND DRIVING] FOR AT LEAST 6 YEARS, AND HAVE NEVER LOOKED FOR AN ALTERNATIVE ... THE VERY BEST AND WORTH THE INVESTMENT"
Review 3 for Uplander Shooting Gloves
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
High quality purchase,
March 21, 2014
By: Seafood
from Texas
"First pair of these gloves lasted 7 years with heavy use during hunting seasons.
Fit is perfect, gloves are soft yet rugged. Feel when glove is on is almost same as when not wearing.
Great all around hunting glove."
Review 4 for Uplander Shooting Gloves
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Comfortable,
March 16, 2014
By: archaicboy
from Michigan
"I really like these gloves. Sizing was spot on from the chart. The leather is soft and flexible. Lining is very warm even in quite cold conditions. I might want less in the way of lining bulk as spring eventually arrives. That said, gloves are such that I can maintain good finger dexterity even with relatively small objects. Nice product!"
Review 5 for Uplander Shooting Gloves
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
An unnecessary addition,
February 24, 2014
By: MDBirdHunter
from Baltimore, MD
"I've had a pair for years. I loved these gloves. Used them so much they are stained w/ bird and deer blood. Decided to buy another pair and was disappointed to see they were changed. There is now a leather tab on each glove whose only purpose is to provide a place for an elastic strap for holding the gloves together for packaging and display. The leather tabs stick out from the glove and are aesthetically and functionally annoying. Otherwise, the glove is beautiful and functional. Too expensive a glove for me to cut off the tabs so I sent it back."
Review 6 for Uplander Shooting Gloves
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Third time around,
February 13, 2014
By: MacParrott
from Lexington, NC
"These gloves are great. The ones I bought recently have the same great feel and quality that my first pair, purchased years ago had. They are very durable given their suppleness. These gloves give you full fell and control while protecting your hands. If they only were smart enough to keep from getting lost, they would be perfect!"
Review 7 for Uplander Shooting Gloves
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Gloves,
February 7, 2014
By: Mark041357
from Kerrville, Texas
"I have owned several pair of these gloves over the years. I use them while quail hunting. They have a great feel on the gun, and great protection against briars and thorns. Same great quality as always."
Review 8 for Uplander Shooting Gloves
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
just the ticket,
February 3, 2014
By: bobalouie
"just the ticket for shooting your double at clay pigeons to keep hand cool or in the field so you are not covered in gooie blood...well made fit well and old timey...feel just right"
Review 9 for Uplander Shooting Gloves
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit like a glove,
January 27, 2014
By: luv2hunt
from Dallas, TX
"Great gloves that are cut so well they feel almost like a golf glove."
Review 10 for Uplander Shooting Gloves
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
shooting gloves,
January 15, 2014
By: dopey1
from Edmonton Canada
"these gloves fit very well...very supple & offer good grip...however I think the cuffs should be finished better."
Review 11 for Uplander Shooting Gloves
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My Husband loved them,
January 4, 2014
By: AJBreckgirl
from Pa
"I ordered these gloves for my husband who loves to go Pheasant Hunting. He absolutely loved them and said they were the softest gloves he has ever had and cant wait to try them out next time he hunts. He's been wearing them daily to break them in and says they just fit like a glove!"
Review 12 for Uplander Shooting Gloves
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Shooting gloves,
December 25, 2013
By: Anet
"I bought these shooting gloves for my husband for Christmas and he loved them. They fit well and are high quality."
Review 13 for Uplander Shooting Gloves
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The best hunting,
December 10, 2013
By: MarcioPassos
from Brasília - DF - Brasil
"Provides everything a hunter want in a glove. Top quality material."
Review 14 for Uplander Shooting Gloves
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Orvis Uplander gloves,
October 9, 2013
By: KFerguson
from Indiana
"I have owned three pairs of these gloves over the year - two are still in use. There are the best gloves available for upland hunting. I bought this pair as a gift to a friend."
Review 15 for Uplander Shooting Gloves
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Fitting Gloves,
August 13, 2013
By: Lensso
from Minneapolis, MN
"While I have not used them int he field I can honestly say I am really looking forward to wearing them on my first hunt. These gloves are a perfect fit and feel for shooting."
Review 16 for Uplander Shooting Gloves
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Really great product,
April 8, 2013
By: GRTallman
from Chester County, PA
"This is my second pair; the first pair will now be used for yard work rather than general outdoor sporting. I buy the glove one size up and use it with a glove liner. The glove liner is longer in the wrist, providing more protection. I prefer this system to the lined version of the glove which I have owned as well. If I need touch or feel rather than warmth, all I need to do is remove the outer glove."
Review 17 for Uplander Shooting Gloves
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Hunting Glove Available,
February 24, 2013
By: Gundog
from Grand Rapids, MI
"I have owned these gloves for over ten years. They are, without a doubt, the best all around shooting/hunting gloves I have every owned. Soft and supple, but tough as nails. I shoot a classic side by side with double triggers and these gloves never cause me to hang up. I gave a pair to my son in law, and he loves them as much as I do."
Review 18 for Uplander Shooting Gloves
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Not bad,
February 9, 2013
By: TreeFarmer
from North Florida
"I was unsure about size ordering so I did a large and medium. I usually wear large in most other gloves, light winter or leather work. The medium was the right size. A pain to order both sizes bu. At least I had the correct one when they got here. Finger dexterity is pretty good. Glove is light but not wafer thin. Have not shot with them yet but should be ok. The color is a bit on the orangegy side. Dirt, sweat,dog and bird blood will help that. Sporty in price. They better hold up. The additional leather for the wrist I do not think is necessary, for some maybe. Hard to find a plain leather shooting glove w/o bells & whistles."
Review 19 for Uplander Shooting Gloves
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Gloves,
January 11, 2013
By: deucemydog
"Always great gloves I have been buying these gloves for about 10 years sometimes i get a couple of years out of them it depends how hard you work in them.Once you wear the gloves in they becme like a second skin great for the trigger finger.Exelent upland glove. Thanks Brad"
Review 20 for Uplander Shooting Gloves
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
good gloves but,
January 7, 2013
By: DocBob
from Grosse Pointe Woods, MI
"I purchased these gloves because I wanted a light tight fitting glove with excellent tactile feel for warm to cool weather hunts. I was not disappointed, these were exactly what I was looking for. The fit was superb with just the right amount of stretch without the binding I have experienced with thicker deer skin work gloves I have used in the passed. The raw edge on the cuff was a bit of a suprise but these gloves are minimalist in nature, so I guess thats in keeping with their design. The only complaint is that the leather was so thin in one spot on the cuf that it tore putting the gloves on. This appears to be the only spot that is this thin so I suspect it is not common. I will be sendiing them back for another pair, maby two I liked them that much. A bit pricy but well worth the money."