Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Ventile Cloth Upland Shirt

The hardest-wearing upland shirt you'll ever own. And very likely the last you'll have to buy. 30% more cotton yarns per square inch than any other breathable hunting shirt for comfortable protection. Articulated underarms for expanded overhead reach and breathing ports for comfort. Double-layer elbow patches for field wear and briar resistance. Pure cotton. Washable. Imported.Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.524 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
1
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
0
20 of 21(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Ventile Cloth Upland Shirt
Review 1 for Ventile Cloth Upland Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Upland Shirt,
January 15, 2014
By: GrouseEnthusiast
from VT and ADK coverts
"By far best upland shirt I own. Ventile cloth much better suited for shirt than pants. At same time very warm but also regulates temperature on warm days. Water and thorn resistant. This one has really nice details."
Review 2 for Ventile Cloth Upland Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best shirt yet,
October 3, 2012
By: Gentleman
from Lower Gwynedd, PA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Bought both colors and they are superbly made. Slightly different fabric between the colors but still well worth the price. Despite cotton, they are exctly as water and wind proof as a hunter needs. Fit is quite large so consider a size down."
Review 3 for Ventile Cloth Upland Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Oregon comfort.,
September 27, 2012
By: DMILLER
from Sweet Home, OR
"Much of Oregons rain comes with moerate temperatures and needs a very breathable protection to remain dry. This shirt meets my need! In addition it has a wonderful fit and lasting durability."
Review 4 for Ventile Cloth Upland Shirt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Nice shirt, too big,
September 19, 2012
By: ShortMan
"I like the fabric, and the shirt seems well made. However, it's simply too big for me. I guess I need Orvis to make size XS in shirts. I'd recommend this to people who are larger than me."
Review 5 for Ventile Cloth Upland Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Upland Hunting Shirt Ever!,
June 27, 2012
By: FieldQuest
from Mississippi
"I have been wearing Orivs Ventile clothing for over 15 years across the US upland hunting. It repels water better than any other organic option and most synthetic ones. It's very thorn resistant and breathable. Try this wonder fabric and you will not be disappointed."
Review 6 for Ventile Cloth Upland Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
good shirt,
June 8, 2012
By: Photoman
from Florida
"Shirt fits well. Nice feel. Needs to be developed into a Photo Shirt with more pockets."
Review 7 for Ventile Cloth Upland Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Purchase Ever,
May 21, 2012
By: HVSPECIAL
"Outstanding value for a fantastic outdoor shooting shirt."
Review 8 for Ventile Cloth Upland Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Shirt,
May 16, 2012
By: RKP444
from Lovells, Michigan
"Love this shirt - good weight - good fit (sleeves the right lenght at last) - feels good - use it for dog training and field work on cool days. Warm and wind proof enough to wear as a jacket in the early fall. plenty on mobility for shooting. This shirt will see a lot of use."
Review 9 for Ventile Cloth Upland Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Impecable Quality,
April 11, 2012
By: DOLAN
from Eagle, CO
"Orvis has made this shirt in the tradition of Willis and Geiger, as they do with many other products; "Don't tell me how to make it cheaper, tell me how to make it better." It is hard to imagine anyone being disappointed with this shirt."
Review 10 for Ventile Cloth Upland Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ventile protects,
April 4, 2012
By: Bubbaholmes
from New York State
"I have owned Ventile garments for more than a dozen years. Not until
a damaged thermos poured a quart of just boiled water from my chest to my ankles did I expierence how much protection the fabric could actually provide. .Thankfully I was unharmed. Not a drop penetrated through to my skin. Ventile garments remain my preference in fabric, I recommend them highly to anyone serious about the great outdoors.
"
Review 11 for Ventile Cloth Upland Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
OK its expensive....,
February 24, 2012
By: curtis44520
from Cleveland, Ohio
"Yes its pricy but wait until you put it on. There is a softness to the material that envelopes you. Its very rugged and the cuffs are gusseted which allows them to roll up easily. Its the nicest hunting shirt Ive ever owned. I fish with it, hunt with it, and wear it on Saturdays!"
Review 12 for Ventile Cloth Upland Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Outdoor Shirt EverMade,
February 20, 2012
By: brooker1966
from Jacksonville, FL
"Ventile fabric can't be beat. The more you wear it and wash it the better it gets. Stops wind, water and briars and keeps you warm on cool days. Very comfortable design and true to size. Great travel shirt!"
Review 13 for Ventile Cloth Upland Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Rugged style,
January 28, 2012
By: uplandrose
from Pawlet, VT
"This shirt stands up to the brush and briars of the northeast grouse woods. It repells water and provides some wind resistance. One issue that leads to a 4 star rating is the lack of advice on the washing label for stain removal. However, I would highly recommend this shirt to anyone who upland hunts"
Review 14 for Ventile Cloth Upland Shirt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Sizes,
December 28, 2011
By: Clalude
from Dallas, TX
"Your clothing is VERY EXPENSIVE! It seems to me that you could offer Tall sizes in all of your shirts, coats and jackets for the prices that you charge. The product is good and is as advertised but your failure to offer tall sizes is a reason that I will likely purchase no more shirts from you as the sleeves are not really long enough especially after washing."
Review 15 for Ventile Cloth Upland Shirt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Great Srhirt,
December 28, 2011
By: trevathan
from Jackson, Ms
"This is a great shirt, but needs to be offered in a tall size. I made an inquire through "LIVE CHAT" to check on the sleeve length. When I received the shirt the sleeves were one and a half inches less than I was told. Orvis took it back. Very discouraging."
Review 16 for Ventile Cloth Upland Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
One of a kind,
August 17, 2011
By: Lawdocjoe
from Austin, Texas
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"Let me begin by saying that this is the best looking khaki shirt that I have ever seen. It feels almost like 1000 count cotton on your skin after washed. I wore them in South Africa stalking game for nearly 8 days in the thorny bush. No thorn penetrated these things. When I had to quickly "hug" a stone dam I was crawling across with a rifle, I thought that I would have a huge hole in my sleeve. Nope - not a mark. Now the not so good. HOT - would only wear if outside temp was 70F or less. Sweat is not absorbed, - runs off of your body onto binos, etc. Still, a remarkable shirt."
Review 17 for Ventile Cloth Upland Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Finest Field Shirt and Pants Made,
January 2, 2011
By: Otto1
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"The Ventile technology employed in these shirts and pants makes this clothing the most comfortable, toughest, and functional in the field. The next generation should add a nano technology antimicrobial such as that used by Vestagen. Breathable, inpenetrable, and bacteria, killing...Priceless."
Review 18 for Ventile Cloth Upland Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
No raingear required.,
October 1, 2010
By: doctorjim
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This shirt may seem overpriced if you haven't owned one, but it is worth it. As waterproof as a warmer weather quail hunter could ever require and pushes through brush and briars like they aren't there. I carry NO additional raingear regardless of the chance of rain and my hunting buddies tease me - until I am completely dry after the showers or brief storms without the weight or heat of their gear. A customer at my favorite local hunting store was bemoaning the cost to a salesman as I happened to be there with mine on. I invited him to walk to the nearest sink, where I turned on a running faucet and let it run over my sleeve for about 5-10 seconds. When I pulled it out and shook off the remaining drops to reveal a dry shirt and arm, the customer bought one on the spot. The fabric has NO stretch at all, so buy one with a little extra room if you are a borderline size."
Review 19 for Ventile Cloth Upland Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
simply the best,
November 13, 2009
By: Duce
from Illinois
"I hunt upland birds in Northern Illinois; I have had three of these shirts for at least seven years. When layered with quality wool sweater and gortex unlined camo rain jacket, one can adjust to all weather conditions. I hunt from early fall through February so weather extremes come into play. Same set up works well for elk."
Review 20 for Ventile Cloth Upland Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ventile is the Best all around Hunting shirt,
July 2, 2009
By: PBoocoo
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"The ventile product is just the very best.... Durable, breathable, warm when cold and cool when Hot, Rugged in Brush when chasing grouse or woodcock bird hunting, I use all of orvis ventile products and live in the Northeast and bird hunt everyday in season and the Ventile product doesn't get tired and if it can take the northeast cover if can take anything....."