Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Highway Patrol Pants

The same dress pants for men worn by the California Highway Patrol. Handsome and rugged military-type twill with a heft that's double the weight of our Rhinohide and built for the comfort, softness, and performance demanded by CHP motorcycle officers. Sturdy 2" x ¾" belt loops. Rear pockets. Button-through front. Dress pants for men in taupe. Polyester/wool. Dry clean. Made in USA. Even waist sizes: 32-46. Cuffed up to 34" or plain finished up to 35" at no extra charge.
Average Customer Rating:
4.538 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
0
12 of 13(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Highway Patrol Pants
Review 1 for Highway Patrol Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Superb Twills!,
August 28, 2014
By: Wconly
from Topeka, Kansas
"These are truly excellent slacks! Rugged, yet very comfortable. The cloth is outstanding. I have a couple pair of British Naval Officer's trousers in cavalry twill and these are of the same quality. Style is excellent, however I would change the left rear back pocket by adding a cover for it, like the right rear pocket -- would look better and be more functional, as well. Other then this -- two thumbs up and especially at the sale price I was able to take advantage of. W>"
Review 2 for Highway Patrol Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best purchase ever,
August 5, 2014
By: Flyfishsten
from Sugarloaf Pa.
"I have been buying and wearing these pants from Orvis for over fifteen years.Three trips to Alaska and even Paris these pants have always served me well while flyfishing or out on the town."
Review 3 for Highway Patrol Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product!,
June 6, 2014
By: jhd039
from Atlanta, GA
"Very nice, high quality product. The fabric is sturdy. but not too heavy. Fit, including custom inseam length was excellent."
Review 4 for Highway Patrol Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GREAT TROUSERS!,
June 5, 2014
By: jayharley
from raleigh, nc.
"long time orvis customer. products are outstanding. logistics of getting items good.
pricing ... i keep getting caught in the pickle of purchasing at a price and then a short time later ... bam ... lower price. these "california highway patrol" trousers arrived. the next day i received a promotional email stating if i bought today "save 20%" more. outch this happened several years ago when i purchased a stetson hat. just say'in ..."
Review 5 for Highway Patrol Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality All Around,
May 6, 2014
By: ProfessorPat
from Scarsdale, NY
"These pants are high quality in all areas from fit, to drape to durability.
In fact, I am wearing them now, as I type this review and they are quite comfortable yet substantial and not flimsy at all.
"
Review 6 for Highway Patrol Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product!,
February 3, 2014
By: Logman
"The Highway Patrol pants arrived on time, look great, and fit perfectly. The fabric is fine looking and the inseam length was just right. The construction is first rate. These are a fine pair of pants and are suitable for nearly all occasions."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Highway Patrol Pants
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
great pant but miss marked,
December 28, 2013
By: tucumcari
from Egg Harbor Wi
"Marked correctly but not 38size Do hope you have a real 38 It was more like a 34. We have sent it back and need the pants hemmed."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Highway Patrol Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Officer trousers,
December 27, 2013
By: Lochinvar
from Alexandria, Va
"These trousers were manufactured from a material similar to Wor;ld war two officer "pinks'. I have some of those trousers dating from 1946--still wearable and good looking slthough not used continuously for the entire time."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Highway Patrol Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durable Dress Pants,
December 26, 2013
By: FarandFine
from Alexandria, VA
"I recently received the highway patrol pants as a gift. They are exactly what I was looking for in a durable dress pant. The fabric is incredible and should last forever. Great construction and attention to detail."
Review 10 for Highway Patrol Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fine Threads !,
December 18, 2013
By: Tomaso
from Las Vegas
"These finely tailored pants will surely satisfy the most critical buyer. There is 35% wool content which is just enough to hold a nice press yet not be scratchy to wear. The weave gives a substantial feeling to the fabric and I' sure will give many hours of wear. You won't regret buying these pants"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Highway Patrol Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
As permanent as wardrobe gets,
October 28, 2013
By: RichardCareaga
from Seattle
"I've had these sort of forever (10, 15 years?) and they are what I pack or wear whenever I need something dressy that can stand up to the travel."
Review 12 for Highway Patrol Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exactly what I wanted,
October 17, 2012
By: Ridgeoak
"I had long wanted a pair of what I call "Cavalry Pinks" and now have them with this pruchase. Thank you !"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Highway Patrol Pants
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Less than luxurious fabric,
October 17, 2012
By: TownandcountryinPA
from Lancaster, PA
"I found these to be less than satisfactory: while an attractive weave and color, the feel of the fabric was not pleasant and I have returned them. 65% polyester is too synthetic for me, resulting in a slippery, almost plastic feel. While I have no doubt they will resist wrinkles (whether on a motorcycle or not) I didm't find the feel comfortable or the drape satisfactory."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.