Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Bush Shirt

Built from tightly woven pure cotton, our midweight Bush Poplin breathes well and wicks dust and moisture to keep you dry and cool on your adventures. Made to take on outdoor use, poplin has been standard issue in expedition and safari clothing for nearly a century and was used widely in the field during WWII. Two big button-through pleated pockets, working epaulets for binocular or camera straps, and roll-up sleeve tabs. Storage pocket on wearer's left sleeve, spread collar, two-button adjustable cuffs. Pure cotton. Washable. Imported.Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52). Tall sizes 2" longer in the body and sleeve.
Average Customer Rating:
4.638 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (373 reviews)
5 stars
287
4 stars
55
3 stars
19
2 stars
6
1 star
6
346 of 373(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Bush Shirt
Review 1 for Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent quality.,
July 4, 2015
By: cowboyray
from Devon
"The second I opened the parcel I knew it was the shirt for me , nice and soft , attractive looking and since I have worn it a few times it is as expected from Orvis . It is nice and cool in the hot weather and by the feel I am sure it will help keep me warm in the colder weather . I am very pleased with this shirt ."
Review 2 for Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bush Shirt,
June 30, 2015
By: Jimbo3448
from Spring Hill, TN
"First time purchase of this particular shirt. Love it. Sized appropriately. Will probably a second in a different color."
Review 3 for Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Favorite shirt,
June 22, 2015
By: groth
from Nashville, TN
"This bush shirt is my all time favorite shirt. It fits well, is cut full, and the fabric is very soft. The sleeves are a good length and have double buttons on the cuffs. I got a large, but did not think it would be big enough. It is perfect!"
Review 4 for Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
As expected, first rate.,
June 19, 2015
By: Sharpaxe1
from Colorado
"No surprises here. Both Bush Shirts arrived promptly. We opened both to check for any flaws - none found, as usual. I order these shirts a size larger than other shirts, so I can wear them over my usual flannels when walking about in the Colorado high country until winter arrives for real."
Review 5 for Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
disappointing,
June 19, 2015
By: Hedders
from Belfast
"Having owned two Montana Morning shirts for the last 10 years I was keen to replace my green one which I had split bleach on.
On receiving the shirt I tried it on, much smaller than my other shirts, felt much lighter, flimsy, large cheap looking buttons instead of Orvis poppers, looked like a private in someone's army.
The Orvis name was always worth paying for but this takes the brand down, not up"
Review 6 for Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well made Bush Shirt,
June 16, 2015
By: MarkCav
from Midlothian,Tx
"This will last along time. Bush shirt that can take some punishment and still protect arms and body in brush of Africia or South Texas."
Review 7 for Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Superb Cut and Fabric,
June 3, 2015
By: Ignatius
"Functional and stylish, this garment provokes one quibble: the Orvis catalogue specifies that the shirt sports a Spread Collar; it does NOT. Its Straight (or "Point") Collar is instantly recognizable for what it is. Attention Orvis Copywriters: Fact-check your work!"
Review 8 for Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
June 3, 2015
By: Chris6905
from North Carolina
"This shirt is tough and lighter in weight than the heavy bush poplin shirts offered by other vendors. Better for warm weather than the heavier cloth. I fly bush planes and look for 100% cotton clothes, as synthetics are really nasty in a fire (they melt to your skin and are worse than nothing between the fire and your skin).
The pockets are roomy and have enough space for plenty of essential items. These shirts do not really need to be ironed, which means wash and wear..."
Review 9 for Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great shirt,
May 19, 2015
By: Rogus
from Florida
"I liked the shirt but the sleeves were just too long. Also, a bit heavy for our Florida weather."
Review 10 for Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bush Shirt,
May 19, 2015
By: loneal28
from Tuscaloosa, AL
"Great shirt as advertised. However, the weight of the fabric was more than I wanted. If you are going to be hunting/traveling to remote areas, the shirt would be great. I will likely order one in the future, but may consider the linen option."
Review 11 for Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Safari Shirt...in Tall sizes,
May 18, 2015
By: HookShotJack
from Berkeley, CA
"I've been looking for Safari Shirts (for a trip to Tanzania). I always need Longs or Talls...because I have long arms. Orvis offered a Tall version (I.e., longer sleeves) of its Safari Shirt -- so I ordered one to give it a try. It's comfortable. The material is not harsh. The two chest pockets are taller than in other shirts I've tried, which I like. And the shirt-tails are long, so they tuck deeply into my pants and don't come out when I bend over or stretch.
I hope that Orvis decides to offer some of its other shirts in Tall sizes (e.g., the linen shirt -- hint, hint).
"
Review 12 for Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Shirt,
May 14, 2015
By: Larry123
from Orchard Park, NY
"This is the second Orvis bush shirt I own. The quality of the fabric, tailoring and style set it apart from all it's competitors. Fits true to size and quite comfortably. No shrinkage when laundered. Planning to purchase a short sleeved version in the near future."
Review 13 for Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best shirts you can buy,
May 13, 2015
By: truant
"Tough and smart but best of all, long tails that no amount of climbing in and out of shooting pits will untuck."
Review 14 for Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Superior Shirt!,
May 9, 2015
By: Shawn8857
from Indiana
"Excellent quality shirt! I am 5'10", 16.5" neck and 34" waist, so the Large fit great. It does run large in the waist area, but it is a bush shirt and in my opinion should fit that way. The chest pockets are perfect and are very practical. I wear this shirt when traveling on airlines and the pockets hold cell phone, ticket, keys, etc. The shoulder pocket is cool and can hold small items. The material is the best feature of the shirt...very comfortable and high quality. The shirt wears very well and gets better after a few washes. The roll tabs are slightly lower then I would like, but I simply roll the sleeves one turn higher than the button and it looks great. Superior shirt! Please bring back the Light Olive color as well!"
Review 15 for Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Happy Customer,
May 8, 2015
By: zonan
from Tucson,AZ
"Durable, stylish and exactly as described. Great for casual wear, hiking, hunting, etc.."
Review 16 for Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
tall size appreciated,
May 6, 2015
By: jaemdpc
"wanted tall short sl but tall only long sl, is AOK"
Review 17 for Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Like an Old Friend.,
April 28, 2015
By: SeamusinAyr
from Ayr Michigan
"Even before I was old enough to 'Serve' I loved Military inspired clothing.
This shirt has it all: Epaulets, Flap Pockets. A long enough tail to actually keep tucked in. Sturdy construction and a weight of material that won't see you wearing through the collar and elbows in a few seasons.
It's my new 'go too' shirt."
Review 18 for Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Where is BLACK????,
April 25, 2015
By: Mike4567
"Awesome shirt. Excellent hand. I even like the small should pocket for small items that get lost in big pockets.
I bought one in black several years ago and wanted to get a second one but that color is no longer offered. WHY???? It's stunning in black."
Review 19 for Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lose the sleeve pocked and its a 5,
April 22, 2015
By: danrhiggins
from Colorado
"I am 5'8" and not as athletic as I need to be. I wear a 40" Barbour Bedale. My arms are 32". This shirt fits well enough (I need to lose just a bit of the gut). I do like the heft of the fabric though it will not be a Summer shirt. I have it in the brown - nice and different color and just ordered on in the tan. The one thing I don't like and believe is silly is the pocket on the sleeve. But I can't get it any other way."
Review 20 for Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Large Tall Bush shirt,
April 22, 2015
By: RedLetterDays
from Preston
"As always with Orvis, this shirt is top quality. The bush shirt is very comfortable. I'm 6'6 with a 44 inch chest and this shirt is perfect.
Thanks Orvis.
"