Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Bush Shirt

Built from tightly woven pure cotton, our midweight Bush Poplin breathes well and wicks dust and moisture to keep you dry and cool on your adventures. Made to take on outdoor use, poplin has been standard issue in expedition and safari clothing for nearly a century and was used widely in the field during WWII. Two big button-through pleated pockets, working epaulets for binocular or camera straps, and roll-up sleeve tabs. Storage pocket on wearer's left sleeve, spread collar, two-button adjustable cuffs. Pure cotton. Washable. Imported.Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52). Tall sizes 2" longer in the body and sleeve.
Average Customer Rating:
4.647 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (388 reviews)
5 stars
300
4 stars
57
3 stars
19
2 stars
6
1 star
6
361 of 388(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Bush Shirt
Review 1 for Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent shirt,
August 18, 2015
By: BillZJr
from Birmingham Al
"This shirt is excellent for cool weather African hunts. Button up sleeves good for those warm days."
Review 2 for Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great shirt,
August 17, 2015
By: rzeka
from Maine
"Great, sturdy shirt. I use mine for fishing. Love the big chest pockets for holding extra gear. Looks great too and is aging very well. An extremely well-made and functional garment.
The only caveat is they're huge. I usually wear mediums (occasionally large), and the small in this shirt fits me well with plenty of room. I'm 6' 165. Size down at least one size unless you want it really baggy."
Review 3 for Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for the generations,
August 16, 2015
By: JWC1964
from Florida
"Timeless, quality, and stylish. Definitely for the cooler weather but worth every penny. True to size."
Review 4 for Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just everywhere!,
August 12, 2015
By: Wombatpup86
from Miami, Florida
"Bush shirt? I wear iI on the farm and
in the city. "nuff said.
"
Review 5 for Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great shirt,
August 11, 2015
By: IrvB
"This shirt has everything one could ask for from a dressed up version of a military top. The material is extremely soft and pliable and feels good against my body. Well made and brings back college memories of shopping in army-navy stores"
Review 6 for Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great shirt,
August 10, 2015
By: rar63
from Adrian, MI
"Received this shirt in typical Orvis timming wich is always first rate tried it on and it ran bigger in size then most of their shirts so returned it and will have the new one in 3 days. Over all quality was orvis all the way well worth the money shirt last along time with many washings, it is a little hevier then a tyoical cotton shrt however that's what make it good for the field. Recommend this shirt to anyone that spends time outside and in the field ordered a short sleeve one when I called about exchange in size loved it that much."
Review 7 for Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Shirt,
August 10, 2015
By: CHLWGFP
"I bought this shirt for Mountain walks in Angel Fire NM, 8,500 ft level. It's mid weight and fits well and I like the pockets. It looks and feels good and appears to be durable. The pleated back allows one to bring up a shotgun smoothly as well as fly cast.
I like it!
"
Review 8 for Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great shirt!,
August 9, 2015
By: Goldnpaw
from St. Charles, IL.
"PLEASE, bring this shirt back in black!! I love this shirt. Wears great, very comfortable, layers well. Solid craftsmenship, washes easy, doesnt shrink! This is a high quality shirt. Add one to your collection, and you will buy more!"
Review 9 for Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bush shirt,
August 7, 2015
By: Bushshirt947
from Windham, NH
"My wife and I are going on a safari and needed some new clothing. I just tried my bush shirt on for the first time and I LOVE it! Fits great, stylish and very comfortable!"
Review 10 for Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
excellent buy,
August 4, 2015
By: Tesuque
from Frederick, MD
"A truly great shirt. Even in hot weather, it remains flexible and good looking. A great value !"
Review 11 for Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Favorite Shirt,
August 3, 2015
By: CJay
from Grafton, WV
"I have several of these "Bush Shirts" in various fabrics as offered by Orvis. They are my favorite design in shirts. I really appreciate the fact that the fit is consistant from fabric to fabric and even year to year. Excellent durability in a shirt that transitions from field or stream to evening out."
Review 12 for Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A perfect safari shirt,
July 29, 2015
By: Higuma
from Palo Alto, CA
"The thick cotton material is cool and soft, but still durable. All the details are nicely done (epaulettes, arm pocket, button-up loops for converting to short sleeve). Should be a great shirt for hunting upland game in the warmer months or taking on safari in Africa, or into the bush in Australia.
Finally Orvis offers a "Tall" size line, too. The sleeves are perfect and I wear a 37" sleeve on a dress shirt."
Review 13 for Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Smart yet functional. Great shirt,
July 28, 2015
By: Budifsu
from Malta
"A good, comfortable shirt that can be worn traditionally but also as an outer garment on a T-Shirt, depending on weather conditions. It's smart, sporty and very functional. A good all rounder for casual town wear, camp or travel."
Review 14 for Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice shirt, but hot.,
July 26, 2015
By: Winterhawk
from Midland Texas
"Writing from safari bush camp in Zambia. I bought three of these shirts to use in Texas and on safari in Southern Africa. The shirts fit and look great but are too heavy and hot for Zambia and Zimbabwe even in the winter. I am sure they will do better in South Africa next month where the temps are cooler. No way this shirt will work in Texas except in late fall and winter. I suspect they will be hard to wear out."
Review 15 for Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bush shirt,
July 7, 2015
By: Brian57
from Scotland
"The shirt was ordered on line and was posted from America so it did take the full 10 days to arrive, ok I guess. The shirt is quite a heavy material but this is great because it should last the wear and tear of my hill walking and trekking hobbies, living in Scotland it's ideal but in warmer climes it could be too warm. I ordered the large size and it is large, fits at the collar and shoulders but around the chest and tummy there sure is plenty of room this makes the shirt very comfortable. Time will tell how really good the shirt is."
Review 16 for Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent quality.,
July 4, 2015
By: cowboyray
from Devon
"The second I opened the parcel I knew it was the shirt for me , nice and soft , attractive looking and since I have worn it a few times it is as expected from Orvis . It is nice and cool in the hot weather and by the feel I am sure it will help keep me warm in the colder weather . I am very pleased with this shirt ."
Review 17 for Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bush Shirt,
June 30, 2015
By: Jimbo3448
from Spring Hill, TN
"First time purchase of this particular shirt. Love it. Sized appropriately. Will probably a second in a different color."
Review 18 for Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Favorite shirt,
June 22, 2015
By: groth
from Nashville, TN
"This bush shirt is my all time favorite shirt. It fits well, is cut full, and the fabric is very soft. The sleeves are a good length and have double buttons on the cuffs. I got a large, but did not think it would be big enough. It is perfect!"
Review 19 for Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
As expected, first rate.,
June 19, 2015
By: Sharpaxe1
from Colorado
"No surprises here. Both Bush Shirts arrived promptly. We opened both to check for any flaws - none found, as usual. I order these shirts a size larger than other shirts, so I can wear them over my usual flannels when walking about in the Colorado high country until winter arrives for real."
Review 20 for Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
disappointing,
June 19, 2015
By: Hedders
from Belfast
"Having owned two Montana Morning shirts for the last 10 years I was keen to replace my green one which I had split bleach on.
On receiving the shirt I tried it on, much smaller than my other shirts, felt much lighter, flimsy, large cheap looking buttons instead of Orvis poppers, looked like a private in someone's army.
The Orvis name was always worth paying for but this takes the brand down, not up"