Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Bush Shirt

Built from tightly woven pure cotton, our midweight Bush Poplin breathes well and wicks dust and moisture to keep you dry and cool on your adventures. Made to take on outdoor use, poplin has been standard issue in expedition and safari clothing for nearly a century and was used widely in the field during WWII. Two big button-through pleated pockets, working epaulets for binocular or camera straps, and roll-up sleeve tabs. Storage pocket on wearer's left sleeve, spread collar, two-button adjustable cuffs. Pure cotton. Washable. Imported.Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52). Tall sizes 2" longer in the body and sleeve.
Average Customer Rating:
4.63 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (289 reviews)
5 stars
222
4 stars
41
3 stars
16
2 stars
6
1 star
4
269 of 289(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Bush Shirt
Review 1 for Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Field Shirt,
December 16, 2014
By: Bruce25
from Colleyville, TX
"Washed the shirt and it fit perfectly. Heavy material for fall/winter. Great man's field shirt."
Review 2 for Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Bush Shirt Teddy Roosevelt Would Wear,
December 15, 2014
By: Papichulo2842
from Bayside, NY
"Rugged and good looking, this shirt runs true to size and is a complement to any man's wardrobe. From Sarasota to the Serengeti heads will turn as you walk or stalk whatever you game! A must for any man."
Review 3 for Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exactly what I wanted,
December 14, 2014
By: WandererGT
from New Mexico, USA
"This is an excellent shirt. I love the feel of the material and it wears well so far. Much more appropriate for me than the thinner version which wrinkles more. I am an archaeologist and work outside a lot needing protection in all weather, especially from the sun. I bought two so far and will probably get the third color."
Review 4 for Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Quality,
December 12, 2014
By: Gill2612
from Online
"Very heavyweight shirt. Surprised it was shipped from the states but did arrive quickly"
Review 5 for Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great shirt,
December 8, 2014
By: brian127
from Dover, UK
"Great well made shirt that looks good and feels just right."
Review 6 for Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Fitting Shirt!!,
December 6, 2014
By: Bruce25
from Colleyville, TX
"Great fit right out of the bag. I am on the line between XL and XXL, and the XL bush shirt was perfect with the right amount of room for a field shirt. The thickness of the material was great for fall/winter weather. I would recommend extending the shoulder flaps to the collar rather than partial. Overall, I am very pleased."
Review 7 for Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A mans shirt,
December 5, 2014
By: SgtMajor
from Edmonton
"A true to form, magnificently comfortable mans shirt. It harkens back to the ruggedness of the hunt, the style of the adventurer and all in colours that compliment any outfit. A true must have shirt for anyone wanting a classic rugged comfort in their wardrobe."
Review 8 for Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
most excellent bush shirt,
November 28, 2014
By: trishie
from cambridge,MA
"This bush shirt is simply excellent. It's incredibly durable and beautifully executed. It is my pleasure to write this review.
Thank you
"
Review 9 for Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Nice shirt, if you don't want any buttons,
November 27, 2014
By: JTWilcox111
"I really like this shirt. It feels good and fits well. I bought all three colours and wear them on most informal occasions, however it has a fatal flaw. The buttons come off far too easily. In the several months since I bought these shirts I've lost 4 buttons. I just sewed 2 back on the same shirt. More are loose. I bought a survival sewing kit just so I could keep these shirts."
Review 10 for Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
good solid purchase,
November 27, 2014
By: Chaco2
"I purchased a bush shirt previously and liked it. good material and good workmanship. I especially like that it comes in a tall size as opposed to most other Orvis clothing."
Review 11 for Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent shirt,
November 26, 2014
By: RANestor
from Milwaukee WI
"Well constructed
Soft to the touch
Will purchase another.
"
Review 12 for Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Shirt,
November 18, 2014
By: soldier06
from milton, FL
"washed up very good, hardly an wrinkies. Fabric feels very good, heavy against cool weather. Best of all WIFE loves it on me!!!!!! Will probably buy another one."
Review 13 for Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Ideal Bush Shirt,
November 18, 2014
By: monty948
from Orange County, Ca.
"I just bought my second shirt like this. I love the material. it is strong and comfortable. the shirt has features that make it stylish yet functional; For example Button tabs for the sleeves. a sleeve pocket for smaller items. I find the lapel excellent for holding gloves or securing binocular straps to your person."
Review 14 for Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great fit,
November 17, 2014
By: MrBond
from Minneapolis
"Great fit, comfortable and durable.
very good customer service.
"
Review 15 for Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Good One,
November 16, 2014
By: GHoward
from Greenville, SC
"I ordered this shirt with high hopes but had to send the first one back because of a defect in the fabric (be sure to check yours). The replacement I received was fine, and I am enjoying wearing this fine shirt."
Review 16 for Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Bush Shirt and why I woul dnot buy it again,
November 14, 2014
By: Chrisrow
from Southampton
"Whilst I very much like the style of this shirt it is made of a stiff material that is a lot thicker than it appeared. I have washed it but it still feels like the old style denim jeans that I had to wear as a kid. I do like the design and the rest of it. It would probably be fairly good as more of a second layer over a tee shirt worn open more like a jacket."
Review 17 for Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bush shirt,
November 13, 2014
By: Johnboy54
from Ross on Wye,Herefordshire
"A good All round shirt ,well made and good quality
The only gripe I have is that this is the second one I have bought and it was not as roomy in the arms as the first one .
Rolling the sleeves up is not so easy with this one as the first one was .
Apart from that I would recommend this product to anyone wanting a good hard wearing shirt
"
Review 18 for Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
my fond shirt,
November 13, 2014
By: omaordha
from dumfries, scotland
"i have two of these shirts which hark back to a time when shirts were made to a standard-not to a price-this is heavyweight cotton at its best-this is real comfort and quality rarely encountered these days"
Review 19 for Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well Pleased,
November 10, 2014
By: sundance1211
"The "Bush Shirt" was made from heavier Fabric than I anticipated and was similar to my "working blue" uniform while on active duty as a young Naval Officer. It would be perfect for that underway bridge watch on a cold night in the Pacific."
Review 20 for Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great shirts,
November 8, 2014
By: williamj888
from San Francisco Bay Area
"These are my everyday shirts through all seasons. The material is tough with a great look. They don't need ironing like the lighter cotton summer Bush shirts so they are perfect as an everyday shirt. Fit is a little big through the middle but expected and the overall size is true. Love these and have about a half dozen of them."