Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Bush Shirt

Built from tightly woven pure cotton, our midweight Bush Poplin breathes well and wicks dust and moisture to keep you dry and cool on your adventures. Made to take on outdoor use, poplin has been standard issue in expedition and safari clothing for nearly a century and was used widely in the field during WWII. Two big button-through pleated pockets, working epaulets for binocular or camera straps, and roll-up sleeve tabs. Pure cotton. Washable. Imported.Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52). Tall sizes 2" longer in the body and sleeve.
Average Customer Rating:
4.597 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (231 reviews)
5 stars
173
4 stars
35
3 stars
15
2 stars
4
1 star
4
214 of 231(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Bush Shirt
Review 1 for Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exactly what I hoped to receive..,
April 7, 2014
By: Sarbones
from Rural TN
"As a tall older man, who spent many years without access to appropriately sized shirts, this Orvis Bush Shirt is exactly what I hoped for. The cut is generous, the pockets large enough for a small spiral notebook and a pair of glasses, and buttons and stitch lines tidily sewn and secure. The fabric is sturdy but comfortable. I am very happy with the shirt, and have ordered another in a different color."
Review 2 for Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
rugged but dressy bush shirt,
March 31, 2014
By: kiwi52
from Colorado
"needed a shirt better suited to the temperature differences here in Colorado and that fishing shirts do not handle without multiple layering in evening. good enough for dinner in Vail as well"
Review 3 for Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What Can I Say?,
March 28, 2014
By: pacificmm
from Olympia, WA
"What can I say? My closet will speak for itself. I have a closet full of these shirts. I wear them nearly every day and love them. Nice and roomy, functional, smart looking. Just received my last one - an update of one of my first colors I got years ago and nearly wore it out. The new one looks even richer than I remember the original looking. Enjoy!"
Review 4 for Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Thank You!,
March 26, 2014
By: Kabob1865
"Orvis, Thank you for selling shirts in a tall size for grown men. There is nothing more frustrating than putting on an expensive shirt and the cuff only reaching halfway down my forearm. I will be getting one in every color. Please make more shirts in a tall size. I haven't had the shirt long enough to speak of it's durability, but if and when it breaks down, you'll be the first to know!"
Review 5 for Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great with Khakis,
March 25, 2014
By: Headhunter9701
from Ohio
"This is a medium to heavy gage cotton shirt that looks great with Khakis."
Review 6 for Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent garment,
March 19, 2014
By: flintarrowhead
from West Tennessee deer country
"True-to-size fit; strong, breathable fabric; practical design; good color."
Review 7 for Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Barely OK,
March 14, 2014
By: Jimage
from Tucson, AZ
"Color was great, but the fabric is too heavy....it feels more like a "work" shirt, not the lighter weight safari like shirt I expected. Thus, I have worn it only once, and not certain when I would wear it again."
Review 8 for Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My favorite shirt,
March 11, 2014
By: TXRudy
from Texas
"These bush shirts are comfortable and versatile. They fit right, feel right, and look right. I often get complements on the shirts. The quality is excellent, and they last a long time."
Review 9 for Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Bush Shirt,
March 4, 2014
By: Allenjr
from N. Virginia
"Unusual combination of durability and comfort, wore the first time like I had it for a year, tough good looking shirt for the outdoors."
Review 10 for Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
As good as expected,
February 3, 2014
By: JWMc
from Encino, CA
"This is the third bush shirt I have purchased. Quality and fit are consistent with my expectations of Orvis. Comfortable in all four seasons, wears like iron."
Review 11 for Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Worst Purchase Ever,
January 28, 2014
By: Jackiemjj
from Boynton Beach Florida
"The thickness of the cotton on this shirt makes it look cheap."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
January 18, 2014
By: Detto
from Michigan
"Tough ,well made utility shirt that has a more casual look"
Review 13 for Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Top-Notch Shirt,
January 16, 2014
By: Shawn8857
from Indiana
"Orvis got it right! Excellent quality and good looking shirt. Plenty of room and lots of versatility. I use this for outdoor use and even when I am flying...the pockets come in handy and the sleeves can be up or down. Light olive, dark olive and tan are the best. I have several of these shirts. Keep making them Orvis."
Review 14 for Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this shirt!,
January 15, 2014
By: Tbullock
from Memphis, TN
"My husband loves this shirt! Whenever a new color comes out we buy one! He's wearing the ones we bought 6 years ago still!"
Review 15 for Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality Bush Shirts,
January 4, 2014
By: MarkoPolo
from Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
"I purchased two of these bush shirts for cargo pants and a multi-pocket utility vest. They really suit the bill. Comfortable and robust. Quality throughout. They have the outdoor adventure look and feel that I love. The bellowed pockets, role up sleeves and shoulder epaulets really add to the functionality. I highly recommend these shirts if you like this style. Great job Orvis!"
Review 16 for Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Practical Purchase,
January 2, 2014
By: FrankyO
from New York,NY
"I am going on top to India this month and I bought this shirt to take along. Traveling from the north to the south of this country I felt that this Bush shirt would a wonderful and practical asset in handling the changing temperatures. It could be used as a basic shirt or a light weight outer shirt or jacket and it's color goes with everything."
Review 17 for Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Shirt,
January 1, 2014
By: flower791
from Ohio
"Love the retro design and color. Nice roomy casual shirt."
Review 18 for Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rugged,
December 26, 2013
By: zarnuk
from San Jose, CA
"I love bush shirts. I bought a few from another company, but they fell apart. I bought two from Orvis, then bought two more, then bought three more! These are sturdy shirts that breath. That makes them very adaptable to a wide temperature range. They tend to wrinkle and curl, which drives my wife crazy, but I don't care. Lots of generous pockets. There's always a free pocket to free up your hands. Love the look. Love the comfort (100% Cotton). Colors are great. (Bring back black!)"
Review 19 for Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Solid Bush Shirt,
December 22, 2013
By: williamj888
from San Francisco Bay Area
"After a couple of weeks I am very pleased with this shirt so far. The body is a little wide but that was expected. The cuffs could be slightly longer but overall very good fit and quality. I'm looking forward to picking up the white version for spring."
Review 20 for Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
bush shirt,
December 19, 2013
By: FuzzyDan
"Seems to be very well made. I got the XXLT to make sure the neck and arms were long enough. They were but the body was way too big. Sadly sent them back. I am getting an XLT but I fear the arms may be too short."