Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Bush Shirt

Built from tightly woven pure cotton, our midweight Bush Poplin breathes well and wicks dust and moisture to keep you dry and cool on your adventures. Made to take on outdoor use, poplin has been standard issue in expedition and safari clothing for nearly a century and was used widely in the field during WWII. Two big button-through pleated pockets, working epaulets for binocular or camera straps, and roll-up sleeve tabs. Storage pocket on wearer's left sleeve, spread collar, two-button adjustable cuffs. Pure cotton. Washable. Imported.Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52). Tall sizes 2" longer in the body and sleeve.
Average Customer Rating:
4.636 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (346 reviews)
5 stars
266
4 stars
50
3 stars
19
2 stars
6
1 star
5
321 of 346(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Bush Shirt
Review 1 for Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bit heavy,
March 30, 2015
By: Tropic6
from Pittsburgh, PA
"Good style but the material weight is a bit too heavy for summer/spring wear. A "bush shirt" should be wearable in a tropical environment, yes?"
Review 2 for Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
my Bush Shirt,
March 27, 2015
By: theace21
from Fort Lee, NJ
"The product is excellent- exactly as you promoted it- even after a washing. Thanks for making it available to me."
Review 3 for Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Lousy shirt, bad size,
March 25, 2015
By: Reviewer12345
from MA
"I ordered my size, M, and it was too small plus the sleeves were too short. Other shirts I have bought from other vendors in size Medium fit me."
Review 4 for Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Hiking Shirt,
March 23, 2015
By: Rick1066
from Mechanicsville, VA
"I purchased the Bush Shirt primarily for day hikes with a light backpack. I like the fabric, construction and fit."
Review 5 for Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
why not ?,
March 15, 2015
By: charlie6
from North Carolina
"great bush shirts BUT why O why
is there a pocket on the SLEEVE???
What goes in it ?? Sailors used to roll
up their cigarettes inn their T-shirt
sleeves but they had no pockets in their uniforms. Why don't you offer these shirts WITHOUT sleeve
pockets ??? easier to roll up too.
If Clark Gable didn't need a pocket on HIS safari shirt, neither do I.....!!
"
Review 6 for Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Bush Shirt,
March 14, 2015
By: Tommy999
from Vallejo. Ca.
"The bush shirts are put together well and made from good material.
The problem is that the sizes are not constant. The first XL one that I purchased was a great fit, the second
one I purchased in another color was too thight and had to be returned.
Too bad, I like the shirts.
I am holding off buying pants, not sure they will fit correctly and I don't want to be paying additional shipping.
"
Review 7 for Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great shirt,
March 11, 2015
By: bugchecker
from Down south inTiger Land
"Well made heavy wt shirt. Tough enough to take a hard day of hunting. When freshly pressed looks good enough for a casual dinner."
Review 8 for Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Happy Hubby,
March 9, 2015
By: Shewuf
from Zavalla, TX
"I bought my husband one of these shirts for Christmas, and he asked me to order more. He's really picky, and he loves this shirt."
Review 9 for Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
adding to the colors,
March 8, 2015
By: chinoclassydresser
from Prescott AZ area.
"ordered the British Tan to add to the colors I have. It is a rocking addition. And of course same Orvis quality."
Review 10 for Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
my favorite shirt(s),
March 4, 2015
By: Salcat
from Chattanooga TN
"I first bought this shirt in dark brown. It's a great looking, heavyweight, durable shirt that I expect to last for many years and is ideal without a jacket for chilly weather. I have been very pleased with this shirt so I came back to Orvis and bought a second one in olive. Hopefully Orvis will soon bring it out in a few more colors."
Review 11 for Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Buy!,
March 4, 2015
By: TGS78
from Red Bank, NJ
"This shirt is extremely functional and comfortable. The only small issue I have is with the straps used to secure rolled up sleeves. They should be higher up so that they secure the short sleeves above the elbow. Great look."
Review 12 for Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just what I wanted!!!,
March 2, 2015
By: Dutz23
from Miramar Beach, FL
"Great purchase. Perfect fit and good price. I like it a lot."
Review 13 for Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great shirt....only 1 wish?,
March 2, 2015
By: Goldnpaw
from St. Charles, IL.
"I love these shirts.....soft, yet very rugged. High quality tailoring, great fit.....my problem is....they no longer offer it in black or desert tan!!! .....bring those colors back...I need more shirts!! Lots of pockets, well made shirt....just perfect.....My XXL tall, or XXXL allow long sleeve shirts underneath for awesome coat free outdoor activity. Love the roll up sleeves with button catch. Can wear in the field or out as dress..."
Review 14 for Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Close but no Banana,
February 27, 2015
By: ColoradoCowboy
from Golden, CO
"Well built shirt; but I am not sure what I am going to put in the pocket on the sleeve. If it was just a little bit bigger I could put my smart phone in it.
I always carry a pen. But there is no slit in the shirt pocket to allow you to carry a pen handily. Such an easy thing to do, I do not understand why all of Orvis' shirt pockets with a pocket cover don't come with a pen slit.
"
Review 15 for Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another suberb shirt from Orvis,
February 27, 2015
By: outdoorno1fan
from Cheshire
"I have bought Orvis shirts for a number of years. Although not cheap they offer excellent value for money considering their high quality and style. This shirt is no exception practical, well designed and quality material. Looking forward to many years of wearing it."
Review 16 for Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic Shirt,
February 20, 2015
By: CrazyDuffer
from Upper Marlboro, MD
"Outstanding shirt. Love the detail and the way it looks after being starched by the cleaners. Bought each color. One will be going on our cruise."
Review 17 for Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bush shirt,
February 19, 2015
By: Ravindra
from Ayrshire
"Ordered 38/40'' chest size and the sleeve length worked out just right but the collar is too tight for a 16 1/2" neck size which is ok since I will wear it open necked anyway. Good looking, distinctive shirt. I recommend it."
Review 18 for Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great purchase.....,
February 11, 2015
By: chinoclassydresser
from Prescott AZ area.
"this is a super shirt. Color is a bit different that I expected (green) but still great. Material and fit is great. Note on the sizing. Love Orvis clothes but having lost 40 pounds I am again to the point that a medium shirt was very large. I ordered this in a small and fit is perfect I will now order the regular cut Orvis shirts in a small and see how sizing works out. I'm 5'8" and about 160"
Review 19 for Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
solid field gear,
February 11, 2015
By: 4WDFlyfisher
from Ostrander, OH
"I wear this shirt shooting, hunting, fishing, hiking, and as a general outdoor piece. The pockets make it a great fishing shirt when you want to carry a minimum of hardware, and the button-up sleeve tabs keep sleeves securely rolled up while casting. I also have one impregnated with Insect Shield, although the fabric is of a sufficiently tight weave to prevent penetration by the local mosquitos. I've been wearing these shirts for years, and the fabric and stitching has held up well, especially given what i've put them through."
Review 20 for Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality Shirt,
February 6, 2015
By: StevenGOutdoors1
from Western Illinois
"This shirt not only has quality material but is constructed in an exceptional manner. It is comfortable to the skin without any scratchy wool feeling and is long enough to stay tucked in. Very happy with it."