Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Gel-Spun Backing

Use this high capacity fly line backing for big game angling. Maximum strength fly line backing with up to 60% more capacity than Dacron. 35-lb.-test Gel-Spun Backing gives you more capacity than using 20-lb. Dacron, which is why it is the backing of choice for big-game angling. Braided from gel-spun polyethylene, this incredible fly line backing is 10 times stronger than steel in equal diameters. A very small diameter for higher yardage on the reel means slower spool rpms on runs and faster pickups. Gel-Spun fly line backing has virtually no stretch, is extremely abrasion-resistant, yet has a very low coefficient of friction so it will not damage your fly rod guides, and retains 100% of its strength while in the water. Unaffected by UV, gas, oil, salt or detergents. Fly line backing comes in 35- and 50-lb. test.
Average Customer Rating:
4.818 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 of 11(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Gel-Spun Backing
Review 1 for Gel-Spun Backing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product,
December 1, 2014
By: 50willyswagon
from Northern Michigan
"Backing is super strong and gives extra capacity over other types of backing."
Review 2 for Gel-Spun Backing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
use only the best,
November 25, 2014
By: Rigs
from Northampton
"When fishing for those tropical fish, bonefish , permit, tarpon etc this is the backing you want on your reel. Now wouldn't use any other product has been reliable for many a year. Very good diameter for strength get maximum backing on your reel.
Don't go fishing without this product.
"
Review 3 for Gel-Spun Backing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Looks good, havent tested yet,
August 7, 2013
By: fantuzm
from Newfoundland Canada
"Unfortunately I cant comment specifically on how the gel spun backing works with a fish on yet, however the line feels very strong and is wound on the reel nicely, I purchased 200 yds of the backing, which I anticipate will suffice for the 30lb Atlantic salmon I plan on catching at the Flowers River in Labrador Canada next week.
I ordered this fly-line backing based on a recommendation from a friend. The backing arrived within 5 business of ordering, professionally packed. Thank you ORVIS, I look forward to future orders.
"
Review 4 for Gel-Spun Backing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It works great,
March 27, 2013
By: Castaway
from North Ga
"I like buying from a company that helps the fishing world so much. The Gel spun is a great product."
Review 5 for Gel-Spun Backing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Can't wait to get this wet!,
December 29, 2012
By: PortsmouthMark
from Portsmouth, NH
"Santa brought me this, a new sinking tip line, and a new extra spool for Christmas. It was just what I need in addition to my floating line for chasing the striped bass up here near Portsmouth, NH. This addition should help me go from the surf to the rocky shores. I can't wait for spring!"
Review 6 for Gel-Spun Backing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Backing Favorite,
December 28, 2012
By: Hulahoop
from Eastern Oregon
"Good strength and compact on the spool. I like the white for visability when lining out on a run. Knots have been tight without any worry. Considering he lower price than the other colors this is a good value."
Review 7 for Gel-Spun Backing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best backing,
March 13, 2012
By: ChrisB45
from Central California
"I really like how much backing can be added to smaller capacity reels. It is also super strong and will not let you down."
Review 8 for Gel-Spun Backing
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Gel-spun backing,
January 18, 2012
By: Speydog
from Wisconsin
"This is rated at 35 lb test but on my testing it is about 18 lb. It is provided as a 600 yd spool. It would be nice if there would be a mark every 50 or 100 yards so you could know how much you were installing on a reel."
Review 9 for Gel-Spun Backing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Spool Bulking.,
August 30, 2011
By: Minkie
from Stevenage
"Excellent for backing when you are constrained for space on your reel. Strong and thin, perfect for low volume backing."
Review 10 for Gel-Spun Backing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great For Reels With Capacity Issues,
October 9, 2009
By: insureu
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"The thing that I find so great about this product is the ability to get plenty of backing on a reel when putting a line on the reel that is the upper limits of the reels ratings. For example I wanted to put a 8 wt Bass Bug line on a BLA III and using the gel spun I was able to get plenty of backing on the BLA III and the thicker diameter line. This allowed me to keep the better matched BLA III on my rod versus going to the heavier BLA IV. In addition, there is the greater lb strength, longer life, zero stretch, etc. Really nice product that is not a lot more expensive than dacron."
Review 11 for Gel-Spun Backing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The best backing there is!,
November 18, 2007
By: Robert
from Boynton Beach, Florida
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I have this gel spun backing on every reel and extra spool I own except the smaller trout reels that I know will never need more than 150 yards of backing. On those I use dacron. This backing is super strong and takes up very little space on your reel. I've gone into my backing in saltwater with jack crevelles, snook, and a small tarpon and my gel spun kept all of them on the line and got them to the boat. I keep 250 to 300 yards on all of my 7, 8, 9, and 10 wt. saltwater reels, and I keep that much on them with plenty of room to spare. You can fit more gel spun than the manufacturer says so if your worried whether you should get 250 yd., or 300 yds, get 300 because it will fit and it doesn't ever hurt to have extra backing just in case."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.