Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Folding Nylon Travel Dog Crate

These lightweight and soft dog crates are ideal for travel or the home. Set one up in the car to keep your dog safe while on the road, then take it out and use it at your destination. Constructed around a strong steel frame from tight-weave heavy-duty mesh, it sets up and folds down in seconds. Features top, side, and front zipped entry doors with zipper-lock clips, rugged ventilated mesh “window” panels, a durable water-resistant base, and rounded corners to protect auto interiors. Soft dog crates in light green. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.57 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (270 reviews)
5 stars
198
4 stars
48
3 stars
9
2 stars
10
1 star
5
254 of 270(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Folding Nylon Travel Dog Crate
Review 1 for Folding Nylon Travel Dog Crate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Purchase !!!!!!!!!!,
June 29, 2015
By: dianee
from Machesney Park, IL
"I was looking for a krate for my lab/bernese mountain dog. He weighs 85 lbs and is four years old. He has never been in a krate and I knew nothing about krates . I just wanted one that would hold him and be easy and convenient for me to move. This krate is the best, light enough to move, carry, and he went right into it. He doesn't mind being in it. In fact he went to sleep in it. It is the best and I am so happy I got this one instead of a heavy metal one. everyone keep saying it wouldn't be strong enough for him. It is and yet it is easy to move and not heavy. I would recommend this krate to everyone."
Review 2 for Folding Nylon Travel Dog Crate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome Pet Carrier,
June 29, 2015
By: KimmyJ
from TN
"We took this with us when we went camping. It is very durable, and our pet loved it! It is spacious for her so she can stretch out and turn around. It is easy to fold AND put together! I would definitely recommend this to travelers like us! Thank you Orvis"
Review 3 for Folding Nylon Travel Dog Crate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome !,
June 26, 2015
By: petuniasue
from Louisiana
"This is our second purchase of this item. We have this crate inside our home and now one for travel in our vehicle. Our cocker loves to sleep in this crate and it keeps her safe on travels."
Review 4 for Folding Nylon Travel Dog Crate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
An oasis for our puppy!,
June 26, 2015
By: Boykinlover
from Georgetown, SC
"This is a fabulous crate! Our Boykin Spaniel puppy absolutely loves it!
It has become his sanctuary, where he voluntarily goes when he is tired.
It is extremely well constructed and is easy to move from home to car.
We purchased the medium size. We anticipate that this crate will be used for years! Thanks for a great product!
"
Review 5 for Folding Nylon Travel Dog Crate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well Made Functional Product,
June 26, 2015
By: 45MPG
from Connecticut
"I purchased this item to use in the cargo area of my Jeep Grand Cherokee for my soon to be 50 lb standard poodle. It fits snugly but just fine in the car. The side door is very handy since there would be no way to use the front door with it installed in the car. My dog is crate trained, so I don't have too much concern about her scratching through the mesh, but that would be an issue for some. She is totally comfortable and now rides safely and in style. The fold down mechanism is easy to use and the crate is easy to carry when folded. I anticipate using it in the car and hotel rooms when I go on the road. Based on my experience so far, it appears it will work well for that purpose. The fabric is thick, the frame is sturdy and the overall build quality seems to be quite good."
Review 6 for Folding Nylon Travel Dog Crate
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great buy,
June 25, 2015
By: Tangosowner
from Dorset
"I bought this crate to replace an old metal crate. What a difference, much quieter . The dog loves it and it is much easier to handle and move around."
Review 7 for Folding Nylon Travel Dog Crate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great doggie carrier of truck,
June 19, 2015
By: BobMnzl
from Cocoa Florida
"We use this crate to transport our American Eskimos in the rear seat of our RAM 3500. Perfect fit and keeps the dogs safe!"
Review 8 for Folding Nylon Travel Dog Crate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love It!,
June 15, 2015
By: PumpkinD
from Hampton, NH
"The crate is easy to transport, set up, and our dog loves it too! Definitely would recommend for travelling."
Review 9 for Folding Nylon Travel Dog Crate
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Dog travel crate - small,
June 12, 2015
By: Megglie
"he small travel crate is excellent, light, easy to assemble with plenty of room for a medium sized dog.
I assembled it for my puppy to get used to, leaving the front open so she could get in and out and she loved it, but sadly she chewed through the zipper edge so I now can't close it up to keep her in at night when we go away. I would recommend the product highly but not for a puppy who chews. An expensive mistake! I contacted chat but unfortunately it can't be repaired.
"
Review 10 for Folding Nylon Travel Dog Crate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect for us,
June 9, 2015
By: Praxis
from New Orleans, LA
"Lulu is a one year old 80# Yellow Lab. She has been kennel trained and often gets into her kennel to rest w/ the door open. We travel a lot w/ Lulu. We were so tired of lifting/moving/carrying our heavy wire crate. This Orvis Folding Nylon Crate is lightweight, durable, and fold up/out easily. It is perfect for us."
Review 11 for Folding Nylon Travel Dog Crate
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Quality,
June 4, 2015
By: Annie72
"This crate is well made & my medium sized dog appears quite comfy. It is however, a bit bigger than dimensions suggest, so size down!"
Review 12 for Folding Nylon Travel Dog Crate
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not for puppies!,
June 3, 2015
By: Jaclyn87
"My 6 month lab had anxiety from traveling and a new crate. She ripped through the mesh within minutes. The crate was sturdy and durable but would only recommend to trained dogs :)"
Review 13 for Folding Nylon Travel Dog Crate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Crate,
May 27, 2015
By: Brook1
"Bought this crate to travel with mainly. It was so hard to take the metal one into a hotel and keep two young Cavaliers under control. It folds down in a minute and is light weight and is sturdy enough for my two girls. Don't know if I would recommend for a dog that is not crate trained but it works great for us."
Review 14 for Folding Nylon Travel Dog Crate
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
plastic fittings broke,
May 26, 2015
By: Augiemummy
from Buffalo, NY
"What a surprise to find this crate unusable on the one time a year when I want to use it visiting family. When tried to assemble found broken pieces of fittings that connect sides to bottom - made the crate COMPLETELY unusable as it just collapses. Has not been used more than 4 times since purchase years ago. Good design, inadequate materials."
Review 15 for Folding Nylon Travel Dog Crate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nylon Dog Crate,
May 26, 2015
By: NeilA009
"I purchased two of these crates for my labs. These are much better than my previous nylon crates, they have a metal frame instead of a plastic or fiberglass frame which makes it much sturdier without adding weight.
Nice product.
"
Review 16 for Folding Nylon Travel Dog Crate
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Doesn't Hold Up to 20 pound dog,
May 21, 2015
By: PDruhan
from Madison, WI
"My Tibetan Terrier loves his regular home crate, but does nothing but try to escape from this one...and the materials do not hold up to his efforts. When riding in the car he gets excited when we arrive somewhere. In the time that it took be to get out of the car to get him out, he scratched through the mesh leaving a big hole. He also figured out how to unzip it for the inside and escaped while I was driving! I've generally had good luck with Orvis, but not this product."
Review 17 for Folding Nylon Travel Dog Crate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love it so far!,
May 12, 2015
By: PokeysMom
from Charlotte, NC
"We really like this soft crate. I got it for travel. It's much easier to fold up than our old metal crate and fits perfectly in the car. They don't have an extra-large so we purchased the large. The dog's head grazes the top when the bed is placed in the bottom but it's fine. Vertically there is plenty of room.
He likes it so much we actually use it as his full time crate in the house now. It's much more attractive than the old metal one!
The crate pad -- sold separately -- is really comfortable. We leave the door open all the time. Sometimes when he's REALLY tired he'll put himself to bed in the soft crate, choosing that over the super comfy Orvis bed in the living room!
My only disappointment is that he put his paw up on the mesh one day and it left a hole. Was going to check with Orvis about the best way to repair it so it doesn't get worse over time."
Review 18 for Folding Nylon Travel Dog Crate
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice crate,
May 6, 2015
By: maryellen1123
from Massachusetts
"This is a nice crate. But while our 4 1/2 month old lab puppy was happy to go in it, she also just wanted to chew any part of it. So we will be saving it for when she is past her chewing stage. It was very easy to put together and will be great to travel with as it is also pretty light. One big complaint was there were several packets of stuff to absorb moisture in the box the crate arrived in. One of them had opened in the box and when we opened the box, the beads went everywhere. I hope I got most of them as our puppy is very quick to grab anything on the floor that she shouldn't have."
Review 19 for Folding Nylon Travel Dog Crate
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A useful addition,
May 5, 2015
By: RobertC1
"Light and easy to assemble with plenty of room, my 14 month old Labrador travelled to Scotland and back without a squeak."
Review 20 for Folding Nylon Travel Dog Crate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My Daughter LOVES this!!!,
May 4, 2015
By: SJB1959
from TX
"My daughter has a black lab named Buckley!!
We ordered this crate for him and He loves it!!:)
"