Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Folding Nylon Travel Dog Crate

These lightweight and soft dog crates are ideal for travel or the home. Set one up in the car to keep your dog safe while on the road, then take it out and use it at your destination. Constructed around a strong steel frame from tight-weave heavy-duty mesh, it sets up and folds down in seconds. Features top, side, and front zipped entry doors with zipper-lock clips, rugged ventilated mesh “window” panels, a durable water-resistant base, and rounded corners to protect auto interiors. Soft dog crates in light green. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.572 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (257 reviews)
5 stars
189
4 stars
46
3 stars
7
2 stars
10
1 star
5
241 of 257(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Folding Nylon Travel Dog Crate
Review 1 for Folding Nylon Travel Dog Crate
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
plastic fittings broke,
May 26, 2015
By: Augiemummy
from Buffalo, NY
"What a surprise to find this crate unusable on the one time a year when I want to use it visiting family. When tried to assemble found broken pieces of fittings that connect sides to bottom - made the crate COMPLETELY unusable as it just collapses. Has not been used more than 4 times since purchase years ago. Good design, inadequate materials."
Review 2 for Folding Nylon Travel Dog Crate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nylon Dog Crate,
May 26, 2015
By: NeilA009
"I purchased two of these crates for my labs. These are much better than my previous nylon crates, they have a metal frame instead of a plastic or fiberglass frame which makes it much sturdier without adding weight.
Nice product.
"
Review 3 for Folding Nylon Travel Dog Crate
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Doesn't Hold Up to 20 pound dog,
May 21, 2015
By: PDruhan
from Madison, WI
"My Tibetan Terrier loves his regular home crate, but does nothing but try to escape from this one...and the materials do not hold up to his efforts. When riding in the car he gets excited when we arrive somewhere. In the time that it took be to get out of the car to get him out, he scratched through the mesh leaving a big hole. He also figured out how to unzip it for the inside and escaped while I was driving! I've generally had good luck with Orvis, but not this product."
Review 4 for Folding Nylon Travel Dog Crate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love it so far!,
May 12, 2015
By: PokeysMom
from Charlotte, NC
"We really like this soft crate. I got it for travel. It's much easier to fold up than our old metal crate and fits perfectly in the car. They don't have an extra-large so we purchased the large. The dog's head grazes the top when the bed is placed in the bottom but it's fine. Vertically there is plenty of room.
He likes it so much we actually use it as his full time crate in the house now. It's much more attractive than the old metal one!
The crate pad -- sold separately -- is really comfortable. We leave the door open all the time. Sometimes when he's REALLY tired he'll put himself to bed in the soft crate, choosing that over the super comfy Orvis bed in the living room!
My only disappointment is that he put his paw up on the mesh one day and it left a hole. Was going to check with Orvis about the best way to repair it so it doesn't get worse over time."
Review 5 for Folding Nylon Travel Dog Crate
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice crate,
May 6, 2015
By: maryellen1123
from Massachusetts
"This is a nice crate. But while our 4 1/2 month old lab puppy was happy to go in it, she also just wanted to chew any part of it. So we will be saving it for when she is past her chewing stage. It was very easy to put together and will be great to travel with as it is also pretty light. One big complaint was there were several packets of stuff to absorb moisture in the box the crate arrived in. One of them had opened in the box and when we opened the box, the beads went everywhere. I hope I got most of them as our puppy is very quick to grab anything on the floor that she shouldn't have."
Review 6 for Folding Nylon Travel Dog Crate
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A useful addition,
May 5, 2015
By: RobertC1
"Light and easy to assemble with plenty of room, my 14 month old Labrador travelled to Scotland and back without a squeak."
Review 7 for Folding Nylon Travel Dog Crate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My Daughter LOVES this!!!,
May 4, 2015
By: SJB1959
from TX
"My daughter has a black lab named Buckley!!
We ordered this crate for him and He loves it!!:)
"
Review 8 for Folding Nylon Travel Dog Crate
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great crate!,
May 2, 2015
By: Pepper383
from Perkasie PA
"Exactly as advertised. Easy to set up. Clear instructions. Really appreciated the return info in the carton although not needed. Will take this with us camping, to hotels. Great crate. Always can count on Orvis for products like this."
Review 9 for Folding Nylon Travel Dog Crate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ocie continues to love his crate,
April 30, 2015
By: wildswan
from Southern Shores NC
"We have now purchased all 3 sizes of this crate as our dog has grown from a 10 pound puppy to a 90 pound adolescent. He loves the security of the crate and eagerly enters his "home" each night."
Review 10 for Folding Nylon Travel Dog Crate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Travel Crate,
April 30, 2015
By: MountKisco30
from Darien, Ct
"Good quality and lightweight product - dog likes it so all is good"
Review 11 for Folding Nylon Travel Dog Crate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect for convenience,
April 29, 2015
By: SharonM
from Alexandria, VA
"I purchased this for my daughter, who is raising a Guide Dog. The crate is lighter weight than I anticipated-a good thing! It enables her to easily store in her car and always have a crate along in case she needs one without lugging a regular crate. Bonus is the attractive color!"
Review 12 for Folding Nylon Travel Dog Crate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best purchase ever,
April 27, 2015
By: JPDaisy
from Macon, Ga
"Love the dog crate. It is so easy to fold up and it's light weight makes it easy for me to travel with it. My dog, Daisy loves it!"
Review 13 for Folding Nylon Travel Dog Crate
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Needs to be sturdier,
April 27, 2015
By: Jammie19
from Shavertown
"This is my second crate in less than nine months. It's a great idea, light enough to move in and out of an SUV. My year old Vizsla destroyed the netting. I wish there was a way to replace it instead of having to buy a new one. If this happens again, I will not purchase a third one from Orvis. I'm already doing my research to find a car crate that will hold up better. If you have a small dog, an elderly dog, or a less active breed, this may work for you."
Review 14 for Folding Nylon Travel Dog Crate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent,
April 25, 2015
By: JMWarwickshire
from Warwickshire UK
"This is the best product I have found. Easy to assemble, strong, easily cleaned and relatively lightweight. Unlike its competitors, the frame for this has locks as it snaps in place which is really helpful.
My Gordon Setter loves it!
"
Review 15 for Folding Nylon Travel Dog Crate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
you will not be disappointed,
April 23, 2015
By: hdpendent
from Hope, Idaho
"i have a7 year old english setter who insists on accompanying me every where, including every time i get in the car. we just replaced our subaru baja in part due to the signs of "happy dog" written all over the interior (meaning claw marks and rips from mcgyver shooting across the seat to smell out of every window). so i decided we needed a dog crate to protect our new vehicle from the same damage. this crate is the "dog's bark" of all crates ( we already have 2 others from different manufacturers). it's handsome, durable, easily portable and is keeping the interior of our car pristine. surprisingly mcgyver settles right in to the crate upon departure and seems to enjoy the ride better than when he was flying free throughout. i'm proud of my new Toyota Tacoma TRD but even more proud of the way this handsome crate looks in the back seat. thank you ORVIS"
Review 16 for Folding Nylon Travel Dog Crate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice crate,
April 23, 2015
By: Mark356
"Arrived in good order. Our dog went right in. I like the fact that there are no hard surfaces that he can hurt himself. Folds and unfolds easily making transporting the crate very convenient."
Review 17 for Folding Nylon Travel Dog Crate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great dog crate,
April 16, 2015
By: Skaterboy
"We purchased the folding crate to use at our vacation home and other places we might visit. It was so easy to put together and our dog was very comfortable. Great idea, thanks."
Review 18 for Folding Nylon Travel Dog Crate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dog loves it!,
April 12, 2015
By: cpenwell
from Washington State
"This is a great kennel for travelers and for dogs who appreciate a room with a view. Our 7-year-old Lab, a rescue dog, feels secure behind the nylon screening that makes up much of the kennel, as she is protected but can still keep an eye on us moving about the house. A couple of notes about this product: 1) it is, as advertised, not a cold-weather product. Think "screened-in porch" more than solid den; 2) our dog is very easy going--if you have a nervous dog prone to clawing or chewing on the kennel, this probably isn't the "den" for your hound. That said, a gret product."
Review 19 for Folding Nylon Travel Dog Crate
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
NOT for puppies,
April 9, 2015
By: ellocai
"We bought this crate because we didn't want to hear the clanging of a metal crate. Unfortunately it is not for puppies or dogs that get excited to come out of their crate when they see you. Within a few months our lab had shredded the doors by pawing at them when we went to let him out in the morning. After he had loosened some of the material, it became an irresistible chew toy. Expensive purchase for just a few months use."
Review 20 for Folding Nylon Travel Dog Crate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect for Pepper,
April 8, 2015
By: Pepperoni
from New Zealand
"Wonderfully sturdy for a soft crate. No sagging. Very well made with replacement cover available. Exceptionally easy to put up and folds down really flat.
Crate totally met expectations, price was good and delivery was swift.
Thrilled with this purchase and commend service."