Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Folding Nylon Travel Dog Crate

These lightweight and soft dog crates are ideal for travel or the home. Set one up in the car to keep your dog safe while on the road, then take it out and use it at your destination. Constructed around a strong steel frame from tight-weave heavy-duty mesh, it sets up and folds down in seconds. Features top, side, and front zipped entry doors with zipper-lock clips, rugged ventilated mesh “window” panels, a durable water-resistant base, and rounded corners to protect auto interiors. Soft dog crates in light green. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.607 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (150 reviews)
5 stars
112
4 stars
26
3 stars
4
2 stars
7
1 star
1
141 of 150(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Folding Nylon Travel Dog Crate
Review 1 for Folding Nylon Travel Dog Crate
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Wonderful crate but not for chewers,
April 10, 2014
By: TillieTheChewer
from Houston, TX
"I loved this crate, but my yellow lab ate through it when left unattended. I called Orvis to see if I could buy a replacement nylon cover, but they are not available. Sure did like the crate while it lasted."
Review 2 for Folding Nylon Travel Dog Crate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Crate!,
April 7, 2014
By: ScottandLazer
from Sharon, MA
"I was just matched and completed my training with assistance dog, Lazer, a 62 pound black lab. He is my companion in ministry (visiting the sick, consoling the grieving, calming the anxious, greeting people). He is crate trained - my first ever crate trained dog. My neighbors gave me a good crate to use in the house, but I was looking for a travel crate that was light weight, but durable. This crate is exactly what I was looking for. Thank you!"
Review 3 for Folding Nylon Travel Dog Crate
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
dog crat,
March 31, 2014
By: Ebonycoco
from palo alto, ca
"I really like the crate but would like it a bit smalled. I purchased the small, but it was still difficult to get in the car. I have two small corgis and there is more than enough room to fit both in. For taking them to the vets a smaller size would be more practical. However for in the house it makes a great place for them to retreat to."
Review 4 for Folding Nylon Travel Dog Crate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this crate!!,
March 27, 2014
By: rose22461
from LaGrange NC
"Perfect for my Puggle puppy! Fits great in my SUV and I can still see out my back window! Highly recommend !!"
Review 5 for Folding Nylon Travel Dog Crate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great for basset hounds,
March 24, 2014
By: alwayshadadogor2or3
from CT
"Bassets are large, long but mostly docile dogs. We needed 36' long but did not want a huge metal crate that was heavy and difficult to collapse and move. We use it at home and it's also great for travel since our dog is familiar with it and it's so easy to take with us in the car. Obviously a canvas crate is not appropriate for a dog who is going to chew and claw their way out. Has a clip lock for the zipper closure, lots of open mesh for air and visibility ,velcro and cloth handle for carrying. Well made. We own 2 as we have 2 dogs."
Review 6 for Folding Nylon Travel Dog Crate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Folding Nylon Travel Dog Crate,
March 24, 2014
By: LuckyMtnPup
from Golden, CO
"I recently purchased a medium size folding nylon travel dog crate, and would highly recommend it. The materials used are durable and stylish. It is lightweight, easy to carry, also easy to set up. It is very well ventilated, having heavy-duty mesh on three sides. It also has three entry points for convenience in most any situation. My dog thinks it's just great!"
Review 7 for Folding Nylon Travel Dog Crate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Super Easy Set up,
March 21, 2014
By: DianeLaura
from Long Beach, CA
"This portable dog crate exceeded our expectations. It was super easy to set up and very sturdy. We are very happy with the quality."
Review 8 for Folding Nylon Travel Dog Crate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good value,
March 18, 2014
By: djfed19
from Ohio
"I have purchased many dog crates and this one opens and closes very easily. I like the fact that I can keep the top open for more air to circulate without my dog getting out. Easy to store and transport."
Review 9 for Folding Nylon Travel Dog Crate
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Well made for the appropriate breed,
March 17, 2014
By: KJgrey
"Well made, light weight crate designed for a breed that will be content within such a crate. Jack Russel terriers might not not be contained, however my whippet is perfectly happy."
Review 10 for Folding Nylon Travel Dog Crate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good value for excellent product,
March 17, 2014
By: NCPoppe
from Etowah, NC
"Key for us in this purchase was the size and our intended use for this dog carrier. Most "small" carriers suggest a limit of 30 lbs. This carrier accommodates dogs up to 40 lbs, and does it comfortably. The case seems sturdily built and serves our purposes very well. Orvis provided just what we needed at a fair price."
Review 11 for Folding Nylon Travel Dog Crate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great purchase,
March 10, 2014
By: JoAnne68
from Atlanta, GA
"My son has a big dog and when he would come home from college, he would have to lug his big crate with him. So we purchased this for when they were home and it works great. When they leave we fold it up and put it away until the next time they are home. Very easy to use!!"
Review 12 for Folding Nylon Travel Dog Crate
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Portable Crate,
March 8, 2014
By: Ozlow14
from Dallas, TX
"Crate is great to use as a puppy play pen. We also use for its intended use as a crate at our lake cottage. works great.
The only negative is the the large size will not fit in a small SUV."
Review 13 for Folding Nylon Travel Dog Crate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for travel,
February 27, 2014
By: Breckmom
from Texas
"Delivery on time. Roomier than I expected (42 inch). Canvas is outstanding quality. Easy setup and take down. Handle is very convenient. Could use more velcro tabs to hold back top and sides when open. Stitching very good overall but I would be careful zipping and unzipping."
Review 14 for Folding Nylon Travel Dog Crate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product,
February 25, 2014
By: JimtheFlycaster
from Tuscumbia, AL
"We (and our beagle Pickles) love this travel crate. Shortly after receiving it we used it on a trip to the beach. It's light weight and easy to carry and folds easily to store. Sure beats the metal wire folder we had been traveling with."
Review 15 for Folding Nylon Travel Dog Crate
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Convenient,
February 24, 2014
By: Rish
"It is light and convenient to move it around. Plan to take it when we travel but it works well in the house when we leave for a few hours."
Review 16 for Folding Nylon Travel Dog Crate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What a Find!,
February 21, 2014
By: Abbrielle
from East Gull Lake, MN
"This is a great product and makes traveling with my dog a breeze. The dog, a Springer Spaniel, adapted nicely to the crate right away. Well built, easy to operate and looks good as well. Thank you ORVIS!"
Review 17 for Folding Nylon Travel Dog Crate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Crate,
February 17, 2014
By: cmciis
from Keswick, VA
"Foldable, cleanable, attractive, light and easy to carry (it folds into one neat package secured by fasteners, and having a handle to grasp. This is a great crate!
My dog, a large corgi is in between the small and the medium size so I own two. The medium for her "home" at home, and the small for portage in my car. The medium and large sizes are too tall for my cars.
"
Review 18 for Folding Nylon Travel Dog Crate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Travel Crate,
February 4, 2014
By: 2RedLabs
from Boulder, CO
"We have two boisterous labs who love a little den of their own to settle down in when we're traveling. We bought two of these nylon travel crates, lined them with foam crate-liners, and they were perfect. The crate is lightweight and put up and take down are super easy. And, I like that it is both ventilated and dark and soothing inside for the dogs.
As others have mentioned in their reviews, however, these would not have worked for initial crate training. Both our dogs were bar-chewers and diggers as puppies; they would have destroyed these crates! But, as adult dogs they love these crates. Thanks, Orvis!"
Review 19 for Folding Nylon Travel Dog Crate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Super Crate,
January 23, 2014
By: Kuroneko
from Santa Barbara, CA
"We would never go back to hard crates now that we have used these as they work well, are very convenient, lightweight and easy to use. We have used them both at home and for travel in our car. They fold and unfold easily. Our dogs each have one, they love their crates and sleep in them every night. The fact that more than one panel can be used as a door also makes these crates fit easily into different settings."
Review 20 for Folding Nylon Travel Dog Crate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent - just what I needed,
January 23, 2014
By: Ponygirl1
from Aiken,SC
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"This crate has been the perfect place for my 10 week old Borzoi - I use it for nap time and at night sometimes. It was so easy to put together and to lift for me - a single lady. I will take it on the road when necessary. It will be her secure home away from home.
Deanna Whitfield
Aiken, SC
"