Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Folding Nylon Travel Dog Crate

These lightweight and soft dog crates are ideal for travel or the home. Set one up in the car to keep your dog safe while on the road, then take it out and use it at your destination. Constructed around a strong steel frame from tight-weave heavy-duty mesh, it sets up and folds down in seconds. Features top, side, and front zipped entry doors with zipper-lock clips, rugged ventilated mesh “window” panels, a durable water-resistant base, and rounded corners to protect auto interiors. Soft dog crates in light green. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.599 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (242 reviews)
5 stars
180
4 stars
43
3 stars
6
2 stars
10
1 star
3
228 of 242(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Folding Nylon Travel Dog Crate
Review 1 for Folding Nylon Travel Dog Crate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
you will not be disappointed,
April 23, 2015
By: hdpendent
from Hope, Idaho
"i have a7 year old english setter who insists on accompanying me every where, including every time i get in the car. we just replaced our subaru baja in part due to the signs of "happy dog" written all over the interior (meaning claw marks and rips from mcgyver shooting across the seat to smell out of every window). so i decided we needed a dog crate to protect our new vehicle from the same damage. this crate is the "dog's bark" of all crates ( we already have 2 others from different manufacturers). it's handsome, durable, easily portable and is keeping the interior of our car pristine. surprisingly mcgyver settles right in to the crate upon departure and seems to enjoy the ride better than when he was flying free throughout. i'm proud of my new Toyota Tacoma TRD but even more proud of the way this handsome crate looks in the back seat. thank you ORVIS"
Review 2 for Folding Nylon Travel Dog Crate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice crate,
April 23, 2015
By: Mark356
"Arrived in good order. Our dog went right in. I like the fact that there are no hard surfaces that he can hurt himself. Folds and unfolds easily making transporting the crate very convenient."
Review 3 for Folding Nylon Travel Dog Crate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great dog crate,
April 16, 2015
By: Skaterboy
"We purchased the folding crate to use at our vacation home and other places we might visit. It was so easy to put together and our dog was very comfortable. Great idea, thanks."
Review 4 for Folding Nylon Travel Dog Crate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dog loves it!,
April 12, 2015
By: cpenwell
from Washington State
"This is a great kennel for travelers and for dogs who appreciate a room with a view. Our 7-year-old Lab, a rescue dog, feels secure behind the nylon screening that makes up much of the kennel, as she is protected but can still keep an eye on us moving about the house. A couple of notes about this product: 1) it is, as advertised, not a cold-weather product. Think "screened-in porch" more than solid den; 2) our dog is very easy going--if you have a nervous dog prone to clawing or chewing on the kennel, this probably isn't the "den" for your hound. That said, a gret product."
Review 5 for Folding Nylon Travel Dog Crate
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
NOT for puppies,
April 9, 2015
By: ellocai
"We bought this crate because we didn't want to hear the clanging of a metal crate. Unfortunately it is not for puppies or dogs that get excited to come out of their crate when they see you. Within a few months our lab had shredded the doors by pawing at them when we went to let him out in the morning. After he had loosened some of the material, it became an irresistible chew toy. Expensive purchase for just a few months use."
Review 6 for Folding Nylon Travel Dog Crate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect for Pepper,
April 8, 2015
By: Pepperoni
from New Zealand
"Wonderfully sturdy for a soft crate. No sagging. Very well made with replacement cover available. Exceptionally easy to put up and folds down really flat.
Crate totally met expectations, price was good and delivery was swift.
Thrilled with this purchase and commend service."
Review 7 for Folding Nylon Travel Dog Crate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Crate for travel,
April 7, 2015
By: KathyOhio
"LOVE THIS CRATE!
Use the medium size in the back seat of my Camry for everyday travel, and take it out for travel overnight use. My mini Aussie loves it.(He is 40 lbs)
It sits on a sheet of plywood. I don't have to worry about him when I'm driving and he sleeps comfortably (I added a bed to the floor).
Very durable and easy to collapse, carry and setup.
"
Review 8 for Folding Nylon Travel Dog Crate
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Puppy chew toy,
April 7, 2015
By: Boknowsfishing
from New York, NY
"Looked like a great option, easy to set up, light and roomy for our 6 month old Lab but the material was just too yummy for her now to chew through the zippered mesh area. Would wait until chew phase is gone."
Review 9 for Folding Nylon Travel Dog Crate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for growing,
March 31, 2015
By: puppop
"This crate is not only extremely easy to pack up and take on the go, but it makes a great sleeping room for my growing pup."
Review 10 for Folding Nylon Travel Dog Crate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for a well mannered pooch,
March 31, 2015
By: BlueInDenver
"I have a rescue shep mix. We went on our first room trip from Denver to O'Neill, NE. I resuced her in May 2014. She is crate trained but I did not want to bring my metal crate. So I brought this canvas one. The woman at Orvis was great. She told me not to buy this if my dog was a chewer. My dog is not a chewer but I was not sure how she would do in a hotel. She did just fine. The crate is very light weight, easy to put up and down and to get in and out of the car. I recommend this crate for owners who are traveling and want a crate for a hotel room/freind's house etc. This crate was perfect for my trip and has inspired to take my road trips with my dog."
Review 11 for Folding Nylon Travel Dog Crate
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Traveling Kennel,
March 27, 2015
By: nwberr
"Sturdy material and simple to set up. Folding the crate down can be a bit difficult due to the overly simplified design of the inner frame. It feels a bit like the metal is going to bend when pushing the ends down to flatten the crate. Definitely better than any other soft crate I've looked at though."
Review 12 for Folding Nylon Travel Dog Crate
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
replaced for free,
March 16, 2015
By: egg51
from North Yorkshire
"The first crate I had the zip broke, the manager at Harrogate replaced the crate without any issue. Alas, the zip went on the second crate, I mentioned it to a very unfriendly female assistant in the shop, who clearly thought I was after a freebie - I wasn't, she said they had not had any issue at all with zips? Well I have and that is my only complaint"
Review 13 for Folding Nylon Travel Dog Crate
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Loved it but not for young dogs,
March 4, 2015
By: LSW68
from Portsmouth RI
"I put the crate together and it looks like it will be a great carrier and dog bed for travel. However my dog decided to chew the zipper when it was open in the front and broke it."
Review 14 for Folding Nylon Travel Dog Crate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Portable Dog Kennel,
February 24, 2015
By: dtavares1997
from East Taunton, MA
"We ordered this portable dog crate for our black lab, Bella. We do a lot of traveling in our car for weekend trips. This Kennel is light weight, folds flat, fits in the cargo area of our Rav4 flat or pithced. (the XL kennel-the half car seat is down). Bella feels very safe and secure in it and we have been able to use it in hotels, homes, camping and the car."
Review 15 for Folding Nylon Travel Dog Crate
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Lightweight,
February 23, 2015
By: DouglasM89
"We like the light weight and sturdy design. Drawback - we had it ~2 mo before our dog chewed through the mesh while on a car ride. If your dog is a chewer, look for a more robust design than the mesh."
Review 16 for Folding Nylon Travel Dog Crate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great dog crate,
February 19, 2015
By: LabradorGirl
from Scotland
"This is my second crate and it is the best - I love it! It is well made, robust and good looking. Great for family camping trips or just when I need to have some quality 'me' time away from my noisy family. It is also comfortable (not like those nasty metal ones that look like a prison). This is the perfect comfortable private den for every good dog."
Review 17 for Folding Nylon Travel Dog Crate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sturdy Travel Crate,
February 19, 2015
By: CTSDurhamNC
from Durham, NC
"We use this as a sleeping crate for a 5 month old puppy. Not the intended use but a great option. We love the sturdiness of the crate and the locking features."
Review 18 for Folding Nylon Travel Dog Crate
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very Functional,
February 19, 2015
By: parrothead
from Computer Sales
"This is a great dog box for traveling. The fold up feature really makes it easy to store when your dog isn't in it. The construction is solid, but not as sturdy as a regular plastic dog box you've seen countless times.
It is better suited for short durations at home(2 hours or less) or road trips where the dog is used to being "boxed".
I left an 18 month old 55 pound(well within the weight range listed in the specs)black lab in this a little too long and he broke the interior metal frame. I took it back to the local Orvis store and they couldn't have been nicer...they replaced it quickly.
Longtime Orvis customer, this product is consistent with the rest of the product line as far as I'm concerned.
Functional and a handy alternative to the bulky plastic crate."
Review 19 for Folding Nylon Travel Dog Crate
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good crate,
February 9, 2015
By: PApheasantplucker
from Chester Springs, PA
"Just got a new vizsla puppy. Chews everything. Crate holding up really well. Puppy likes it much better than wire crate. We put a box with a towel over it inside to make space smaller and more accommodating for puppy size."
Review 20 for Folding Nylon Travel Dog Crate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great crate,
January 30, 2015
By: Tefty39
"One happy puppy sleeping soundly at night in this comfy crate. Doubles up as a play pen during the day as the top opens for eye contact."