Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Folding Nylon Travel Dog Crate

These lightweight and soft dog crates are ideal for travel or the home. Set one up in the car to keep your dog safe while on the road, then take it out and use it at your destination. Constructed around a strong steel frame from tight-weave heavy-duty mesh, it sets up and folds down in seconds. Features top, side, and front zipped entry doors with zipper-lock clips, rugged ventilated mesh “window” panels, a durable water-resistant base, and rounded corners to protect auto interiors. Soft dog crates in light green. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.61 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (228 reviews)
5 stars
170
4 stars
41
3 stars
6
2 stars
8
1 star
3
216 of 228(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Folding Nylon Travel Dog Crate
Review 1 for Folding Nylon Travel Dog Crate
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Loved it but not for young dogs,
March 4, 2015
By: LSW68
from Portsmouth RI
"I put the crate together and it looks like it will be a great carrier and dog bed for travel. However my dog decided to chew the zipper when it was open in the front and broke it."
Review 2 for Folding Nylon Travel Dog Crate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Portable Dog Kennel,
February 24, 2015
By: dtavares1997
from East Taunton, MA
"We ordered this portable dog crate for our black lab, Bella. We do a lot of traveling in our car for weekend trips. This Kennel is light weight, folds flat, fits in the cargo area of our Rav4 flat or pithced. (the XL kennel-the half car seat is down). Bella feels very safe and secure in it and we have been able to use it in hotels, homes, camping and the car."
Review 3 for Folding Nylon Travel Dog Crate
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Lightweight,
February 23, 2015
By: DouglasM89
"We like the light weight and sturdy design. Drawback - we had it ~2 mo before our dog chewed through the mesh while on a car ride. If your dog is a chewer, look for a more robust design than the mesh."
Review 4 for Folding Nylon Travel Dog Crate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great dog crate,
February 19, 2015
By: LabradorGirl
from Scotland
"This is my second crate and it is the best - I love it! It is well made, robust and good looking. Great for family camping trips or just when I need to have some quality 'me' time away from my noisy family. It is also comfortable (not like those nasty metal ones that look like a prison). This is the perfect comfortable private den for every good dog."
Review 5 for Folding Nylon Travel Dog Crate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sturdy Travel Crate,
February 19, 2015
By: CTSDurhamNC
from Durham, NC
"We use this as a sleeping crate for a 5 month old puppy. Not the intended use but a great option. We love the sturdiness of the crate and the locking features."
Review 6 for Folding Nylon Travel Dog Crate
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very Functional,
February 19, 2015
By: parrothead
from Computer Sales
"This is a great dog box for traveling. The fold up feature really makes it easy to store when your dog isn't in it. The construction is solid, but not as sturdy as a regular plastic dog box you've seen countless times.
It is better suited for short durations at home(2 hours or less) or road trips where the dog is used to being "boxed".
I left an 18 month old 55 pound(well within the weight range listed in the specs)black lab in this a little too long and he broke the interior metal frame. I took it back to the local Orvis store and they couldn't have been nicer...they replaced it quickly.
Longtime Orvis customer, this product is consistent with the rest of the product line as far as I'm concerned.
Functional and a handy alternative to the bulky plastic crate."
Review 7 for Folding Nylon Travel Dog Crate
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good crate,
February 9, 2015
By: PApheasantplucker
from Chester Springs, PA
"Just got a new vizsla puppy. Chews everything. Crate holding up really well. Puppy likes it much better than wire crate. We put a box with a towel over it inside to make space smaller and more accommodating for puppy size."
Review 8 for Folding Nylon Travel Dog Crate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great crate,
January 30, 2015
By: Tefty39
"One happy puppy sleeping soundly at night in this comfy crate. Doubles up as a play pen during the day as the top opens for eye contact."
Review 9 for Folding Nylon Travel Dog Crate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome!!,
January 23, 2015
By: Rodjusty3
from Lumberton, NC
"This crate is perfect....fits great in my Yukon xl...and also doubles as a crate for sleeping purposes if you are traveling. Has ample space for our 50 lb lab."
Review 10 for Folding Nylon Travel Dog Crate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nylon Travel Dog Crate,
January 10, 2015
By: DKHNC
"Lightweight but durable construction.
Easy assembly. While intended for travel, we will be using in our home. It is the perfect size for our 20 pound Australian Labradoodle. Wish it came with a pad...we had to purchase that separately.
"
Review 11 for Folding Nylon Travel Dog Crate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Really nice crate,
January 6, 2015
By: Shoppertunist
from Midwest
"The crate arrived quickly. It's way too big for my medium size dog, but I needed one that would fit the air mattress I purchased for her. She loves her new "house" AND her new comfy bed! Very easy to open/set up, although I question the ease of breaking it down again. Tried that to relocate the crate and couldn't quite get it closed flat. It will stay put where it is, so may not be an issue for us, but something to consider if being used for travel..."
Review 12 for Folding Nylon Travel Dog Crate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dog crate,
January 1, 2015
By: MargeH
"Our dog suffers from "bark/surge" problem and putting her in a crate with a soft cloth cover allows her to relax and ride everywhere with us.
We love this crate because it gives her the air on all sides and it is so light for us to carry about when needed.
"
Review 13 for Folding Nylon Travel Dog Crate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
December 29, 2014
By: Doublejazz60
"The lightweight portable dog crate was even better than I could have imagined. It is so easy to set up and break down as well as easy to transport."
Review 14 for Folding Nylon Travel Dog Crate
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
collapsable dog crate,
December 29, 2014
By: egg51
from North Yorkshire
"My two miniture Schanauzers ripped through this crate in just three weeks! That said,it is easy to access them and we have bought a metal crate which neither the dogs or I like. I did expect it to last a bit longer as it is not cheap. It looks good and is well designed but just not tough enough!"
Review 15 for Folding Nylon Travel Dog Crate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome Purchase!,
December 28, 2014
By: QuinnWhippet
"This dog crate assembles and folds down easily. The soft exterior doesn't scuff the interior of my car. Best of all, my dog is very comfortable and content riding in the crate. And the crate doesn't block my rear view vision at all."
Review 16 for Folding Nylon Travel Dog Crate
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
HUGE - large is way too big for Lab,
December 26, 2014
By: foxredenglishlab
"Great quality crate and very easy to fold/setup; however, it is HUGE! Got it for my boyfriend for our English Lab. Our pup is only 7 months old and about 50 lbs now but should get to be around 70 lbs. Right now the crate is WAY too big for him and even when he is full grown I think it will be too big. He doesn't like riding in the car because he gets tossed around so I thought this crate would be a good thing for him for car rides. I'm worried that he may still get tossed around though since it is so big. I gave it as a Christmas present and we needed it for a recent road trip so we kept it but I wish we could have returned it for a smaller size. I will be putting lots of blankets or a dog bed in there for extra padding and to take up space most likely. Other than the size, we really like it. Great color, quality, material, weight, etc. I really love how each side has see-through mesh panels that can unzip. Also, because it is so large, it BARELY fit in the trunk (with the seats down) of a Nissan Xterra. It is truly floor to ceiling in the car and barely squeezed in. If you are going to get the large size crate I recommend having a very big car/truck."
Review 17 for Folding Nylon Travel Dog Crate
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Too Big,
December 15, 2014
By: BigCuteBlackDogs
from Houston, TX
"I bought two of these awesome travel crates in size medium for my labs to travel with me. The crates are larger than my permanent crates and were too huge for my car, a Ford Expedition. I had to Return them. These would be terrific for traveling with trained dogs if you can find the right size. The design is good."
Review 18 for Folding Nylon Travel Dog Crate
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
best folding crate,
December 15, 2014
By: myhigh77
from Helena MT
"I have used several folding car/truck crates but this one is the best. Looks as if it will last a long time with moderately heavy use. And so it will outlast the others I've purchased. Very satisfied."
Review 19 for Folding Nylon Travel Dog Crate
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ideal Travelling Crate,
December 10, 2014
By: Scarey63
from Canterbury, UK
"We bought this crate to go in the back of a Hyundai Santa Fe and to house our two cocker spaniels. It is an ideal size and extremely lightweight, so taking it in and out without having to collapse it is easy. We are also happier about closing the tailgate now because the softer materials used and the rounded corners mean that we no longer fear smashing the rear windscreen as we did with a metal crate. The only reason I cannot give it 5 stars is that it does slightly restrict the view in your rearview mirror - more than the metal crate used to. Otherwise a sturdy, roomy and stylish way for two cocker spaniels to travel!"
Review 20 for Folding Nylon Travel Dog Crate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Functional, attractive and light weight,
December 5, 2014
By: JJVT13
from Montpelier, VT
"I am so glad I placed this order! This crate is rugged yet light in weight so it is easy to put into and out of the car. The two openings are conveniently secured by heavy duty zippers when closed and are held in place by Velcro tabs when left open. I drive long distances with my two 40-pound dogs and this crate makes my overnight stays much more manageable for me and safer for my dogs."