Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Broken–Herringbone Cashmere Sweater

The broken-herringbone pattern of this men's cashmere pullover sweater highlights the quality of our pure double-ply cashmere yarn while avoiding the straight lines of a conventional herringbone pattern, a trick we gleaned from a 1920s design book. Cashmere goats are so ornery that centuries ago, Mongolian villagers gathered the wild animals' soft underfur from the scraggly bushes that surrounded their high hillside villages rather than risk physical harm. The best cashmere still comes from the region, where only slightly more domesticated goats roam the high valleys. Men's cashmere sweaters in camel. Pure cashmere. Hand wash. Imported.Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.776 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (58 reviews)
5 stars
48
4 stars
9
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
55 of 58(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Broken–Herringbone Cashmere Sweater
Review 1 for Broken–Herringbone Cashmere Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Luxurious!,
December 15, 2014
By: CyEs
from Annapolis, MD
"A beautifully made, luxurious fabric and warm wintry sweater."
Review 2 for Broken–Herringbone Cashmere Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful gift,
December 6, 2014
By: LilaT
"I bought this sweater for my husband who is allergic to wool and he absolutely loves it. In fact, he likes it so much I went ahead and bought him the same sweater in another color. This fine cashmere does not seem to bother him. The sweater fits him fine and he looks great in it."
Review 3 for Broken–Herringbone Cashmere Sweater
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
You pay for what you get,
December 3, 2014
By: Retired2cornwall
"But not this time. Far from luxurious it was very disappointing and has been returned. Quality and size skimpy."
Review 4 for Broken–Herringbone Cashmere Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
wearing right now,
November 28, 2014
By: Desidarius
from Dallas, Texas
"Bought sight unseen (tho I saw one in a smaller size). Hope I won't wear it out, but delightful so far!"
Review 5 for Broken–Herringbone Cashmere Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Want to look professional?,
April 9, 2014
By: jim1938
"You will feel good, look good, and keep warm in this cool looking cashmere sweater."
Review 6 for Broken–Herringbone Cashmere Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Luxury,
April 7, 2014
By: SEC45
from TX
"Warm,soft, comfortable. And stylish. What more could you ask for?"
Review 7 for Broken–Herringbone Cashmere Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great value,
March 3, 2014
By: Amit
from Montreal, Quebec Canada
"The fit and quality are excellent while size runs true. Additionally, the sweater seems to be robust."
Review 8 for Broken–Herringbone Cashmere Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cashmere Really is a wonderful thing!,
February 28, 2014
By: Imperialbullelk
from Estes Park, CO
"The relationship between the promotional pic and the actual product was "true" and reinforced the confidence we have in ordering on-line. Aggressive return policy helps dispel our concerns as well. Lastly the logistics of shipping, time of arrival and tracking worked just as advertised."
Review 9 for Broken–Herringbone Cashmere Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
February 26, 2014
By: 4wheeler
"Very nice. Received many complements when wearing it. Comfortable and fits well."
Review 10 for Broken–Herringbone Cashmere Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great customer service.,
February 24, 2014
By: NYCdeirdre
from New York, New york
"I love Orvis and have shopped both on-line and in their NYC stores for over 20 years. I have never been disappointed and my husband adores the clothes. Perfect fits and amazing quality. Truly classic!"
Review 11 for Broken–Herringbone Cashmere Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Valentines gift ever,
February 20, 2014
By: audri1
from Bugtussle, OK
"Purchased for valentines gift. He refuses to take it off. The fit is true to size, excellent quality cashmere and stitching. Looks fantastic with jeans and boots or slacks."
Review 12 for Broken–Herringbone Cashmere Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Item not as pictured,
February 17, 2014
By: mickeycpa
from Fishers, IN
"I was disappointed with this sweater. Mine looked nothing like the picture, so I returned it."
Review 13 for Broken–Herringbone Cashmere Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Favorite Sweater,
February 10, 2014
By: MJHOH
from Reynoldsburg, OH
"Warm and not heavy. Fits perfect even on my XXL executive cut fraame"
Review 14 for Broken–Herringbone Cashmere Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
exceeded expectations!,
February 6, 2014
By: 19grumpie37
"have admired this sweater for a couple of seasons. the physical object is totally satisfying, colors are great, comfort and "hand" are luxurious and workmanship is world class. it's very gratifying (and all too rare to have a piece of goods exceed one's expectations"
Review 15 for Broken–Herringbone Cashmere Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Really warm & conforable,
February 6, 2014
By: Alwayscold1235
from Stone Ridge, New York
"So happy to have a warm light soft sweater - well made and great fit.
Very comfortable to wear under a jacket - the V neck allows it to be worn with a tie for work.
With the incessant winter storms that we are having this winter it is an ideal addition to a winter wardrobe.
"
Review 16 for Broken–Herringbone Cashmere Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sentimental Journey,
February 4, 2014
By: jvt55
from Marshfield, WI
"This sweater really struck a chord with me as it reminded me of one I used to wear as a child that had been knitted by my aunt. I was impressed when I received it because the herringbone detail is much more intricate than what can be appreciated on line. The cashmere is very soft yet substantial. It really is a "comfort sweater" in the that it is fully cut and the "V' neck is deep allowing easy layering with either a shirt or turtle neck. Ideal for the frigid weather we've had recently."
Review 17 for Broken–Herringbone Cashmere Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
January 17, 2014
By: Blackbird
"Sweater is beautifully made and looks great with casual slacks and dress slacks!"
Review 18 for Broken–Herringbone Cashmere Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great sweater,
January 16, 2014
By: Popsadoddle
from South Jersey
"Easy to wear, comfortable, goes well with dress pants or jeans. Good quality cashmere."
Review 19 for Broken–Herringbone Cashmere Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Broken-Herringbone Cashmere Sweater,
December 30, 2013
By: Tigger11
from Wayne PA
"Both of my sons received this sweater for Christmas and love it."
Review 20 for Broken–Herringbone Cashmere Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Sweater,
December 17, 2013
By: Bizprof
from Western PA.
"This sweater was an early Christmas present from my wife. Once I saw it I had to try it on, and once that happened, it wasn't going under the tree! It's soft, fits well, goes with everything from jeans to dress slacks, and it's warm!"