Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Broken–Herringbone Cashmere Sweater

The broken-herringbone pattern of this men's cashmere pullover sweater highlights the quality of our pure double-ply cashmere yarn while avoiding the straight lines of a conventional herringbone pattern, a trick we gleaned from a 1920s design book. Cashmere goats are so ornery that centuries ago, Mongolian villagers gathered the wild animals' soft underfur from the scraggly bushes that surrounded their high hillside villages rather than risk physical harm. The best cashmere still comes from the region, where only slightly more domesticated goats roam the high valleys. Men's cashmere sweaters in camel. Pure cashmere. Hand wash. Imported.Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.779 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (68 reviews)
5 stars
57
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
65 of 68(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Broken–Herringbone Cashmere Sweater
Review 1 for Broken–Herringbone Cashmere Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Soft Comfort,
February 12, 2015
By: Likeitwarm
"If you would like warmth and softness, this is the sweater for you. The color matches nearly everything. It is so comfortable you will be tempted to wear it to sleep!"
Review 2 for Broken–Herringbone Cashmere Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Without Flaw,
February 3, 2015
By: JustSomeGuy
"Unlike some Cashmere items, this sweater does not feel "flimsy" or thin. While it feels soft and substantial, it remains lightweight enough to layer. Looks nice enough to wear when somewhat dressy is called for, but can also appear very casual depending upon pants and shirt.
Great quality, multi-functional.
"
Review 3 for Broken–Herringbone Cashmere Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just Beautiful,
February 2, 2015
By: Sheila1
from Dallas, TX
"Sweater is gorgeous and very soft and comfortable to wear. My husband just loves it!!! May get it in other color."
Review 4 for Broken–Herringbone Cashmere Sweater
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
An Okay Brown Sweater,
January 26, 2015
By: Jumper
from Baltimore
"I need "long" sizes.
This would be better with a "crew" neck, rather than a "vee" neck.
My wife, who almost never comments on my clothing choices, said this sweater "has no redeeming social value.""
Review 5 for Broken–Herringbone Cashmere Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Satisfied with Purchase,
January 26, 2015
By: MAKIN
"I purchased this sweater after seeing it advertised on line and in the Orvis catalog. I purchased a size medium but could probably have gotten by with a small. The sweater is a good weight and appears to be well made. I chose the camel color which has a muted green background."
Review 6 for Broken–Herringbone Cashmere Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Top Notch,
December 27, 2014
By: Fudgeman
"I could not be happier. My wife gave it to me as a gift, after I threw hints around. It is a fairly heavy cashmere knit material with a soft and luxorious feel. I have had the brown version of this for a couple of years, and it wears very well."
Review 7 for Broken–Herringbone Cashmere Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Finest quality,
December 26, 2014
By: Joyski
from Oakland, CA
"A handsome sweater, not too heavy, but with a substantial hand. My husband loved it and looks wonderful in it."
Review 8 for Broken–Herringbone Cashmere Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dad's Favorite Sweater,
December 24, 2014
By: jnew
"Dad, age 93, has been a sweater connoisseur for as long as I can remember. He was crushed when this sweater, his very favorite, was mistakenly thrown into the wash. Nonetheless, he continued to wear the sadly shrunken version for many months. He was overjoyed to have it replaced with a new one and says it is just PERFECT! Thanks Orvis for a quality product : )"
Review 9 for Broken–Herringbone Cashmere Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fit for a favorite son,
December 23, 2014
By: camas
"This is a very nice addition to my son' s ward robe.....am sure he will have many compliment's"
Review 10 for Broken–Herringbone Cashmere Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Luxurious!,
December 15, 2014
By: CyEs
from Annapolis, MD
"A beautifully made, luxurious fabric and warm wintry sweater."
Review 11 for Broken–Herringbone Cashmere Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful gift,
December 6, 2014
By: LilaT
"I bought this sweater for my husband who is allergic to wool and he absolutely loves it. In fact, he likes it so much I went ahead and bought him the same sweater in another color. This fine cashmere does not seem to bother him. The sweater fits him fine and he looks great in it."
Review 12 for Broken–Herringbone Cashmere Sweater
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
You pay for what you get,
December 3, 2014
By: Retired2cornwall
"But not this time. Far from luxurious it was very disappointing and has been returned. Quality and size skimpy."
Review 13 for Broken–Herringbone Cashmere Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
wearing right now,
November 28, 2014
By: Desidarius
from Dallas, Texas
"Bought sight unseen (tho I saw one in a smaller size). Hope I won't wear it out, but delightful so far!"
Review 14 for Broken–Herringbone Cashmere Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Want to look professional?,
April 9, 2014
By: jim1938
"You will feel good, look good, and keep warm in this cool looking cashmere sweater."
Review 15 for Broken–Herringbone Cashmere Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Luxury,
April 7, 2014
By: SEC45
from TX
"Warm,soft, comfortable. And stylish. What more could you ask for?"
Review 16 for Broken–Herringbone Cashmere Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great value,
March 3, 2014
By: Amit
from Montreal, Quebec Canada
"The fit and quality are excellent while size runs true. Additionally, the sweater seems to be robust."
Review 17 for Broken–Herringbone Cashmere Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cashmere Really is a wonderful thing!,
February 28, 2014
By: Imperialbullelk
from Estes Park, CO
"The relationship between the promotional pic and the actual product was "true" and reinforced the confidence we have in ordering on-line. Aggressive return policy helps dispel our concerns as well. Lastly the logistics of shipping, time of arrival and tracking worked just as advertised."
Review 18 for Broken–Herringbone Cashmere Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
February 26, 2014
By: 4wheeler
"Very nice. Received many complements when wearing it. Comfortable and fits well."
Review 19 for Broken–Herringbone Cashmere Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great customer service.,
February 24, 2014
By: NYCdeirdre
from New York, New york
"I love Orvis and have shopped both on-line and in their NYC stores for over 20 years. I have never been disappointed and my husband adores the clothes. Perfect fits and amazing quality. Truly classic!"
Review 20 for Broken–Herringbone Cashmere Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Valentines gift ever,
February 20, 2014
By: audri1
from Bugtussle, OK
"Purchased for valentines gift. He refuses to take it off. The fit is true to size, excellent quality cashmere and stitching. Looks fantastic with jeans and boots or slacks."