Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Coastal Patch Madras Shirt

Stay cool and get the most from warm weather at the seashore in a pure cotton men's madras shirt. Shirt in patchwork patterns and colors perfect for summer. Button-down collar. Single breast pocket. Men's madras shirt is made from pure cotton. Washable. Imported.Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (27 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
26 of 27(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Coastal Patch Madras Shirt
Review 1 for Coastal Patch Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this shirt...,
July 10, 2013
By: mdsofky
from Louisville, KY
"I've got several patch madras items, but this is my favorite. Love the color and the quality is a step above my other patch madras items. I thought it was a little high in price, but after getting it, I don't regret it."
Review 2 for Coastal Patch Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
beautiful shirt,
June 29, 2013
By: Hollybear
"I love giving my husband handsome shirts. When he wore this one to work, every woman that worked in the building told him how handsome he looked that day. Success!"
Review 3 for Coastal Patch Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
madras is back!!!!,
June 24, 2013
By: skilos
from Marietta, OH
"I bought the 2 colours of the coastal patch madras shirt for my husband, he loves both, they are comfortable,
nice looking - smart as well as casual, the wash well, ironing is not
one of my favorite things to do, but
they look good when finished. If they
come out in others colors I will definitely buy them. We both love patch madras. Good job!!
"
Review 4 for Coastal Patch Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
June 20, 2013
By: Attila
"Great shirt but collar rides too high on neck if button-down buttons are not left open."
Review 5 for Coastal Patch Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice enough... BUT,
May 16, 2013
By: rowephoto
from ft. lauderdale, FL
"I like it or I would not have bought two! BUT - BIG BUT
I really wanted another patch madras off the catalogue but it was sold out....and sold out the day I got my catalogue and called... I got on a wait list but to no avail.... I'm still mad but no recourse but to CRY
"
Review 6 for Coastal Patch Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding Classic,
September 28, 2012
By: manchestrian
from West Puget Sound WA
"This shirt really pops, in Weathered Red. Excellently sewn and tailored, with plenty of room to move. This reminds me of the madras shirts which were so fashionable in the early 60's in high school. Orvis has a winner here!"
Review 7 for Coastal Patch Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lots of comments,
September 2, 2012
By: tommyp6
from Arizona
"I receive compliments every time I wear this shirt. I have the weathered red and wear it with a pair of informal white cotton pants."
Review 8 for Coastal Patch Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A satisfied customer,
July 27, 2012
By: frostyowl
from Barkhamsted, CT
"Colors are nice and bright. Great fit. Can be worn anywhere!"
Review 9 for Coastal Patch Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Trimmer fit than Viyella Madras shirt,
July 25, 2012
By: shnooks
from Philadelphia, PA
"Let me first say that I love Orvis for giving us roomy shirts and trousers. Originally, I purchased a Viyella Madras shirt from Orvis and loved the loose fit for summer. I'm in my 60's and appreciate looser fitting shirts (like the old Brooks Bros oxford shirts). That said, it's worth noting that these Orvis-brand Madras shirts are similar, but not the same as the Viyella. They run a bit trimmer in the chest and underarm. I measured the two, and the Orvis version seems about 3/4-1" trimmer on each side. It's still a great shirt, but for those looking for a really loose-fitting shirt for hot summer days this may feel too trim. IMHO, best color is the Nantucket, with very authentic "Nantucket Reds" and ("preppy) greens in the print."
Review 10 for Coastal Patch Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
gorgeous shirt,
July 4, 2012
By: coknauth
from Washington, DC
"This is a planned birthday present for my son, so I don't know about the fit yet. But the Madras patch cloth is beautiful (I chose the darker pattern). Best Madras patchwork material I've seen.,"
Review 11 for Coastal Patch Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great shirt,
June 20, 2012
By: JimboJ
from Wisconsin
"Best quality Madras I have wend since the early 70's"
Review 12 for Coastal Patch Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gorgeous shirt.,
June 19, 2012
By: Foggybonk
from CA
"Love all your patchwork shirts (& have most of them). This one is very pretty."
Review 13 for Coastal Patch Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome shirt,
May 15, 2012
By: BGSC
from Greer, SC
"I would rate this a 6 out of 5 if they would let me. I had a similar one in high school in the '80's and I've been looking for one like it for a long time. Makes everyone jealous when they see me wear it."
Review 14 for Coastal Patch Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My husband's favorie shirt,
May 15, 2012
By: Saundra
"My husband loves his shirt and it lets is wild side come out without being obnoxious. Only drawback is that it needs some ironing, but maybe after it is washed several timea it will soften up."
Review 15 for Coastal Patch Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"You never looked so good.",
May 14, 2012
By: NumberSix
"Great shirt. The patchwork is slightly three-dimensional, so that each patch puffs out a little rather than lying perfectly flat. (Not a criticism, just an observation). When I first put it on, my brother said, "You never looked so good." I am thinking of buying a second shirt just like the first."
Review 16 for Coastal Patch Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another husband favorite,
May 7, 2012
By: YMTM
from AL
"We were happy to see other Madrid patchwork shirts offered. Great with khakis and a blazer or with jeans."
Review 17 for Coastal Patch Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Can never get enough Madras,
March 20, 2012
By: JiminKY
from Lexington, KY
"I was in college in the mid 60s in the south. Madras was the in thing at that time and never went out in my mind and taste. I have both colors of the Costal Patch Madras Shirt and really like both. They look great with Kakis and summer white slacks or shorts, especially the dark Navy Shirt . Very comfortable and great looking. The reasonI gave these shirts a five star rating is that there wasn't a 6"
Review 18 for Coastal Patch Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
wanted light colored selection,
February 20, 2012
By: oleBob
from De.
"was pleasantly surprised with darker alternative. Very nice patch madras shirt.looking fwd to wearing it while in the fl Keys"
Review 19 for Coastal Patch Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A surprising hit with my students,
November 1, 2011
By: peeweereese
from Dallas, Texas
"I liked this shirt and it's the second
of its type which I've purchased from
Orvis. I bought it because I liked it, but I have been amazed at the praise
the shirt has gotten from my high school students--both girls and boys.
"Great shirt!" or Wow!, or "Where'd you get that shirt?" they'd say. Naturally I referred them to Orvis--both online and to the store
in our general area. Hope it improved your business.
"
Review 20 for Coastal Patch Madras Shirt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Jonezz,
September 10, 2011
By: Jonezz
from Tucson, AZ
"The colors were not as bright as they appear in the catalog. The fitting was not a true med. It is just a blam shirt."