Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Le Chameau Leather-Lined Men's Chasseur

Worn by European royalty and demanding gamekeepers alike. Made of natural latex, which is strong, durable, supple, and waterproof. These hunting and sporting clays boots are made by hand as they have been since 1927. Lined with full-grain leather so they will never leave you clammy. Leg is full-length zipper-gusseted. Soft, aggressive tread grips on most surfaces. In olive. Boot shaft is approximately 17" tall, 17" around. Weighs 3 lbs. in men's size 10. France. Men's sizes: 39(7), 41(8), 42(9), 43(10), 44(11), 46(12), 47(13), 49(14). In D width.
Average Customer Rating:
4.711 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (45 reviews)
5 stars
40
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
2
42 of 45(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Le Chameau Leather-Lined Men's Chasseur
Review 1 for Le Chameau Leather-Lined Men's Chasseur
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
greatly overrated,
March 31, 2015
By: djdoc
from FL
"Fit poor. Loose at ankle and with leather lining much too slippery to stay on in mud. Heavy, stiff, and heel design too high for all day wear. Over all a very disappointing product which was returned as your records should demonstrate."
Review 2 for Le Chameau Leather-Lined Men's Chasseur
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
vive la france,
January 9, 2015
By: 4WDFlyfisher
from Ostrander, OH
"I have been wearing this pair for three years now, four seasons a year, under appropriate conditions and only when the need called for. Sadly, they still look new. Yesterday morning, early, I pulled them on to shovel some deep drifts of powder that had arrived unexpectedly in the night, and carry in some firewood, but they have been equally serviceable in the warmer months, as well. My recommendations: use the spray all over the boot, including the zipper (i bought a larger canister while at Sandanona); and pair with the Invincible Boot Sock all year around. Bonne chasse!"
Review 3 for Le Chameau Leather-Lined Men's Chasseur
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding Boots,
January 2, 2015
By: SDRich
from Massachusetts
"I've used them in the rain/snow and they have been great! Easy on and off, also the leather lining keeps my feet from getting a clammy, as promised. Had a hard time justifying the price, but they are a quality boot and I'm sure I'll keep these for many years to come."
Review 4 for Le Chameau Leather-Lined Men's Chasseur
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
not for work,
December 25, 2014
By: Proft
from Dorset, VT
"Right a great boot especially the full zipper. once the lather gets damp at all it is very tacky and hard to either get your foot in or out.
I have had about 4 pairs of these boots and right on two years straps and snaps start to break, soles start to tear away from the boot, and now the zipper is broken after 26 months of ownership. this is not a light work boot, but more like a "prance around the farm or town boot"
I wear my boots all day doing moderate farm work and I think all the components of this boot wear awfully easily.
"
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer ServiceJanuary 5, 2015
The Chasseur is not designed as a farm work boot. The acid in animal waste (manure) accelerates the oxidation of natural rubber and will degrade the boots faster than usual, particularly poultry waste which is very high in uric acid. The Chasseur is designed as a field and hunting boot and under normal and even hard field use has proven to last for years and years. Most Orvis employees working at Sandanona wear these boots daily and put much more than normal wear on them. They have proven time and again to last for many years. We recommend that this customer invest in less expensive rubber work boots for working in and around the farm and save the Chasseurs for hunting or foul-weather outings where dry comfortable feet are imperative.
Review 5 for Le Chameau Leather-Lined Men's Chasseur
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Men's Boot for the Nature Lover!,
November 13, 2014
By: MariettesBackToBasics
from Dublin, GA
"On purpose I have waited longer so I can judge these Le Chameau fairly after almost one year. Usually I wear a size 10½ but I got these in a size 11. Their fit is very comfortable, even with socks.
If you Google: {My Hand Knitted Irish Aran Men's Vest} you will find more information with photos where I wear them. Great for outdoor life!
Highly recommended and the good thing is that these high quality boots will last a lifetime!
"
Review 6 for Le Chameau Leather-Lined Men's Chasseur
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic performance,
October 27, 2014
By: DDorrell71
from Milwaukee, WI
"Certainly the best pair of boots I have purchased. Very comfortable, warm and good movement. Worth the money!"
Review 7 for Le Chameau Leather-Lined Men's Chasseur
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Practical Hunting Boot,
October 27, 2014
By: Gundalow
from Seacoast area of NH
"Boots are easy to put on/takeoff. Although they fit somewhat more loosely than my other size 13 boots, they are comfortable for walking for several hours. The extra room will be appropriate when I wear heavier socks later this Fall. I like the height of these boots as I occasionally underestimate the depth of water/muck."
Review 8 for Le Chameau Leather-Lined Men's Chasseur
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Case,
October 22, 2014
By: jsdkms
from PA
"Great boots and very computable. But expensive. I still think they are worth the money!"
Review 9 for Le Chameau Leather-Lined Men's Chasseur
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing boots,
October 3, 2014
By: gerryj19
from Marblehead, MA
"Le Chameaus are expensive boots, there's no doubt about it. But they are amazing boots to wear. Feet slip in effortlessly, they are warm and comfortable, and they feel great when you walk in them. You really get your money's worth."
Review 10 for Le Chameau Leather-Lined Men's Chasseur
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Well Made Boot.,
September 19, 2014
By: Albertjr
from Dunnellon,FL
"This purchase was money well spent. The fit and funtion of these boots are fantasic. The size was spot on for my liking. They seem like they should last me for a long time. I would buy them again."
Review 11 for Le Chameau Leather-Lined Men's Chasseur
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nearly Perfect Boots!,
May 29, 2014
By: JRoy
"Several of my friends wear these boots and have been wearing the same pairs for more than 10 years each. I compared the soles of my new boots against the soles of their 10 year old boots and they were barely different in terms of wear. For my feet, I need a heel cup inside these boots as my heel rides up without it. I prefer a full insole because it's less inclined to move when I insert my foot into the boot, but the insole must be very thin in the toe and ball section. These boots are built to fit normal feet. Insoles are a small price to pay for this level of comfort and quality."
Review 12 for Le Chameau Leather-Lined Men's Chasseur
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best all around hunting and working boot,
March 2, 2014
By: Pheasantguide
from South Dakota
"Both my wife and I have these boots and we wear them year round. They are perfect for long days of upland bird hunting as well as chores around the house and barn. These boots provide great support and my feet don't slide around because of the ankle fit."
Review 13 for Le Chameau Leather-Lined Men's Chasseur
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great item,
December 17, 2013
By: Orax
"I have pondered this purchase for a long time. Almost $500.00 for a pair of rubber boots. Having worn them several times, I can say for me, they are well worth the money, extremely comfortable. My only disappointment is with the Orvis shipping dept. the Le Chameau box was just tossed into a larger Orvis box wiTh no extra packing. By the time the boots arrived, the original box was in pieces and the boots were just floating around in the larger box. Unfortunately, this is not the first time this has happened when ordering from Orvis. I plan on contacting the Chairman after the holidays. Orvis's shipping methods are unacceptable."
Review 14 for Le Chameau Leather-Lined Men's Chasseur
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Simply Amazing,
October 12, 2013
By: Schatzman
from New Hampshire
"Like many others, I struggled with the price point. I decided I wanted to try them on before committing that much money to boots. I decided to wake up early and drive from New Hampshire to the Manchester, VT store to try them on. I naturally decided to do this during the height of "leafer" season. It was worth every second of agony from driving during this time of year. These boots are fantastic. They go on easily. The zipper makes it so it isn't a struggle to take them off and on. I use them all the time. If I am taking my Flat Coated Retriever or hunting in the woods, these are my go to boots. If you are having a hard time justifying the money, trust me when I say they are worth it. I usually wear an 11 1/2-12. I ended up getting the 11s as these boots do run a tad big."
Review 15 for Le Chameau Leather-Lined Men's Chasseur
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great quality,
September 10, 2013
By: johnnc
"A tad expensive but worth for the handmade quality."
Review 16 for Le Chameau Leather-Lined Men's Chasseur
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First Class Passage for Your Feet,
September 4, 2013
By: chris10452
from Gallupville, New York
"Everyone can relate to the '500 for a pair of rubber boots?' question, especially when 40 bucks will get a pair at the feed store. These are not designed for the quick step into the barnyard. These are to be worn, all day, field or barnyard or whatever the wet terrain. And when you come to the realization that the comfort of your feet largely determines the comfort of your day, the price won't seem prohibitive. There are many leather boots well worth 500. These are in that category. And it goes without saying that they'll cover the quick step into the barnyard when necessary.
Then there's the heritage part. Few of us hunt birds to feed the family. We honor a tradition of shooting sports afield...like our favorite side-by-side 20 gauge and our field bag, these boots fill out the experience.
The leather lining advantage cannot be overstated. Mine are a bit roomy (not enough to size down) but enough to warrant a shearling insert and the combination equals shear comfort. As in all day long comfort. Should play well in the cold weather, too. Do lubricate the zipper. I like it, even at the expense of being able to slip into the boot while standing, no-handed. Others recommend a thick wool sock and I agree. Fully waterproof and moisture management are processes that cost a little effort.
Buy these for the long haul. I think they qualify for what one reader called being the best in the world in the category."
Review 17 for Le Chameau Leather-Lined Men's Chasseur
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing rubber boots,
July 15, 2013
By: claywave
from Aberdeen, SD
"These Chameau boots are phenomenal. Completely waterproof and comfortable enough to wear all day over varied terrain and conditions. A must-have if you want to keep going regardless of how wet it is."
Review 18 for Le Chameau Leather-Lined Men's Chasseur
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Zipper a Relief for My Back!,
April 19, 2013
By: Hopp
from Virginia
"Having the zipper these wellies to get them on and off is such a relief on my back.
The zipper works easily - important to use the spray for the zipper which comes with the boots."
Review 19 for Le Chameau Leather-Lined Men's Chasseur
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Money Well Spent,
April 9, 2013
By: WiscoSkip
from Milwaukee, WI
"If you're going to invest in a pair of boots for walking, hunting, or general use invest the extra money and get these! I've spent hours hunting in mine and am always surprised at how comfortable they are. The leather lining is super soft and still allows for good breathability. The construction on these is vastly superior to ANYTHING. I love the full length zipper on the side which allows me to get them on/off easily and also air them out a little if I'm sitting down. Since getting them several friends have made the jump to them also and have been raving about them ever since! I definitely recommend in investing in the boot bag to store them when not in use and keep the rubber in top shop."
Review 20 for Le Chameau Leather-Lined Men's Chasseur
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Wish I could use,
March 21, 2013
By: Tioga
"I really like style and fit. Really want these boots to work. Can't get zipper to work. Sending them back. Also, what is the point of the strap at the top of boot if it is not adjustable?"
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamApril 2, 2013
We thank you for the feedback regarding this product. In regards to the zipper, Le Chameau has long recognized that it takes time to break in their zippers properly. Using white candle wax or paraffin is a simple remedy. Once the zippers are broken in, the strap is there to keep the zippers from falling down or becoming undone. As always, we offer a 100% satisfaction on all our products.