Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Tilley Airflo Hat

Completely crushable, packable, and guaranteed for life, these Tilley hats feature a special mesh crown for unbeatable ventilation and UPF 50+ sun protection, too. Soft interior sweatband helps wick perspiration away from your forehead to aid cooling evaporation. Special two-way wind cord keeps hat securely in place; should it end up in the water, though, the non-absorbent foam in the crown keeps the hat afloat. Sloping brim channels rain away. Interior pocket. Tilley hats for men in khaki, olive. Nylon/poly. Washable. Imported.Sizes: 6⅞, 7, 7⅛, 7¼, 7⅜, 7½, 7⅝, 7¾. Brim tapers from 3¼" to 2½" on sides.
Average Customer Rating:
4.795 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (83 reviews)
5 stars
72
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
81 of 83(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Tilley Airflo Hat
Review 1 for Tilley Airflo Hat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
cool hat,
June 5, 2015
By: Golfguy55
from Melville NY
"Kept me cool and shaded all day. Plus I got a few good remarks about the way I looked. Not bad for a new hat"
Review 2 for Tilley Airflo Hat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Not A True Khaki Color,
June 2, 2015
By: SGrenier
from San Antonio
"This is my second Airflo Hat. I wanted a khaki (tan) color instead of the green that I already have. Some of the reviews stated that the "khaki" color is somewhat green. So I was forewarned, and sure enough, this new one is not a true khaki color, at least as I define the term. I suggest changing the description of the color, or much better yet, changing the "khaki" to a tan color. One last little gripe - it arrived quite wrinkled and creased up, but I'm assuming that it will smooth out with wearing. It's still a very nice hat which I'll enjoy for years, I'm sure. Thank you Tilley and Orvis."
Review 3 for Tilley Airflo Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tilley,
May 21, 2015
By: Bert484
"Very nice hat that fits perfectly and is very comfortable to wear. Workmanship is superb!"
Review 4 for Tilley Airflo Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
May 15, 2015
By: BL8on
from Sacramento, CA
"Have had Tilley hat for a year. Best hat I've ever had and just ordered another one. Only criticism is they don't offer one in blue,"
Review 5 for Tilley Airflo Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tilley excellence,
April 27, 2015
By: EricC
from Birmingham, AL
"At 34 years old, I'm starting to worry more about the beating my skin has taken from the sun all my life. I purchased this hat to help provide more shade for my face, neck, and ears. I decided on a Tilley based on the reputation and reviews I've seen on the company. The hat itself is EXCELLENT. It's crushable and you are encouraged to wash it often. I would highly recommend this product!"
Review 6 for Tilley Airflo Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great travel hat,
April 17, 2015
By: WinstonsDad
"I bought this hat for a trip. It is well made, comfortable, easy to pack, and good UV blocking."
Review 7 for Tilley Airflo Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tilley is an awesome hat,
February 16, 2015
By: zigzagjarhead
from Cherry Hill, NJ
"I bought this Tilley Airflow hat to replace another brand hat and the comparison between the two hats is so distinct it's hard to believe. This Tilley AirFlow hat is much more comfortable to wear and it's lighter & better looking. I wish I found the Tilley AirFlow hat before I spent so much money on my other hat. I can't wait until I leave for my trip through Central America and get to really enjoy the comfort, style and usefulness on an every day basis. I ordered a size that I believed was accurate but it was too small. I made the exchange by phone for a bigger size and received it in 5 days. I returned the first hat to the local Orvis store with no problem at all. Great job Orvis, on the hat and also with your service!!"
Review 8 for Tilley Airflo Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TILLEY TWINS,
September 30, 2014
By: STLjmrg
from St Louis MO
"I Bought a Tilley Airflo Hat for my Dad's 90th Birthday. But it was too small. I kept it for myself and re-ordered another one for him. He loves the wide brim. It keeps the sun off of him while he works in his garden or when we go fishing and the Airflo lets the breeze through. Well constructed!"
Review 9 for Tilley Airflo Hat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality sun protection!,
August 29, 2014
By: Okiebug71
from Atlanta, GA
"This is an extremely well thought-out hat. It provides excellent protection from the elements and includes the dual head/chin cord which prevents the hat from flying off in high winds. It is very light-weight and is vented at the crown to keep your head cool. It floats! And it is a very nice-looking hat which should last for years (especially with Tilley's guarantee-for-life deal)."
Review 10 for Tilley Airflo Hat
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Color not as Shown,
August 24, 2014
By: tilli2
"Very disappointed with the color. In the catalog and online, Khaki appears lighter--almost like a light sand color. It really is a olive/khaki color. Sending it back."
Review 11 for Tilley Airflo Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great hat,
August 8, 2014
By: Telecom
from Seacoast NH
"looking forward to wearing it in Africa for our 3 week trip."
Review 12 for Tilley Airflo Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Must Have Hat,
July 22, 2014
By: SafariBarbie
from California
"This is the best hat. It packs easily, washes beautifully and gives great protection from the elements. My hat has been around the world. It has been on my head in the Andes, crossing Cape Horn in 100 mile and hour winds, horse back ridding in the bioreserve in Buenos Aires, fishing in Alaska, in Mongolia and the Gobi Desert where I was searching for dinosaur bones. Recently It protected my while on Safari in Africa. After all those exciting adventures I unfortunately left my beloved hat under the table in a cave in the South of France after a huge lunch and too much wine.
Boohoo.
I was delighted when my new hat arrived just in time for my trip to Machu Picchu and the Galapalos.
Anyone with this hat on their head demands respect. This is a hat for a discriminating person that wants the best in comfort, function and style. Everyone needs a Tilly
"
Review 13 for Tilley Airflo Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Hat!!!,
July 17, 2014
By: wpendley
from mequon, wisconsin
"Just what I had hoped for! Best Fly Fishing hat out there..."
Review 14 for Tilley Airflo Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
amazing hat,
June 20, 2014
By: LarryP
from Cos Cob CT
"Look, it's not inexpensive but it fits great, it has a pocket for a credit card or cash, etc., it is vented well so it is cool to wear -- and Tilley will replace it for two years if you lose it! And it looks good too. So what's not to love?"
Review 15 for Tilley Airflo Hat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
June 17, 2014
By: Joytoy
"Even though the tilley hat did not
fit as I purchased an incorrect size
I was impressed by the hat and the
craftsmanship. I am looking
forward to the correct sized hat to
arrive so that, hopefully, i will be
able to wear it for years.
"
Review 16 for Tilley Airflo Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Perfect Hat!,
June 17, 2014
By: msmdp2u
from Bear, DE
"Stylish look, easy care, good sun protection, and comfortably light weight. This is my husband's favorite hat!"
Review 17 for Tilley Airflo Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Hat,
June 14, 2014
By: lobato
"This is the second Tilly hat I've owned. The first I've had for over 15 years and it is still going strong (but as a canvas hat it is rather hot). I like this hat for it's coolness; lightweight and crush-ability. Extremely comfortable in heat, this is a hat I use in the boat and for fishing in general. Secure in hight winds, comfortable in hot weather, you can't go wrong with this hat."
Review 18 for Tilley Airflo Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great hat,
June 12, 2014
By: jvbcamper
from virginia
"Love the Tilley hat. This is my 2nd Tilley hat. It does a great job of protecting my face from the sun. They are made to last!"
Review 19 for Tilley Airflo Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
June 11, 2014
By: STB1
"Well-made hat. Comfortable. Fits well without having to use the wind cord."
Review 20 for Tilley Airflo Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tilley Hat,
May 28, 2014
By: JPHay8
from Lewis Center, OH
"Product as described. Tilley has a great warranty. So far the hat is protecting my head from the sun and keeping it cool."