Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

5' Spooled Bimini Tippets

Replacement Bimini fly fishing tippets for Super Strong or braided “No Knot” systems. Tippets feature Bimini twist leader-to-tippet connection, giving you a loop-to-loop connection with no loss of breaking strength and excellent turnover power. 5' Bimini fly fishing tippets on a convenient spool. Tippets separate with a slight tug.Super Strong material, (5 per spool): 3X, 4X, 5X, 6X or 7X
Average Customer Rating:
4.529 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
0
15 of 17(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 5' Spooled Bimini Tippets
Review 1 for 5' Spooled Bimini Tippets
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bimini Tippet 2014-Jim,
March 14, 2014
By: Jim2012
from Topeka, Kansas
"Coupled these tippets with the Bimini braided leader and had an unbelievably simplified time rigging. Used one tippet with non slip knots, attach flies, nymphs, and/or emergers. Strong, efficient, and simple. Will definitely be switching to this equipment and saving room in my vest for more candy bars."
Review 2 for 5' Spooled Bimini Tippets
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Big time-saver,
December 27, 2013
By: fishallday
from North Carolina
"I don't have the opportunity to go fly fishing as often as I would like. When I do have the chance to go, I want to get on the water ad tie on as quickly as possible. This product is a big time saver - very fast to tie on and to replace tippet when needed. Have never had one fail."
Review 3 for 5' Spooled Bimini Tippets
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bimini tippets.,
August 20, 2013
By: Arkangel
"These tippets are very easy to use in the construction of a no knots leader; a luxury for the progressive fly fisher."
Review 4 for 5' Spooled Bimini Tippets
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product until it gets old,
July 22, 2013
By: octi
"Been using this item for years and love the quick change capability while on the river when used with the "No Knot System". Great until they get old. Orvis used to have 'use by dates' stamped on the spool, still think that's a good idea."
Review 5 for 5' Spooled Bimini Tippets
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing Strength,
April 22, 2013
By: UncleD2
from Geneva IL
"What a great product. Loop to loop, and incredible strength. Great turnover. Nicely package on the spool, and just a tug to separate."
Review 6 for 5' Spooled Bimini Tippets
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Makes Life Easy,
April 19, 2013
By: Roeb
from New Freedom, PA
"I've been using an Orvis braided leader since they were first introduced on all of my fly lines. The Bimini tippets make replacing the tippet on the stream extremely easy. I've found they have excellent strength and really help to lay a day fly out with minimal disturbance."
Review 7 for 5' Spooled Bimini Tippets
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Help for my failing eyes...,
July 30, 2012
By: iggy541
"The bimini tippets work great for me as I get older. The fewer knots I have to tie on the stream the more fishing I can do. Using these tippets is quick and easy."
Review 8 for 5' Spooled Bimini Tippets
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Try something else,
June 23, 2012
By: DerAlte
"They work, but the tapered leaders are so much better that I will not buy these again"
Review 9 for 5' Spooled Bimini Tippets
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent for dry flies,
May 28, 2012
By: horiaalmasan
from Cleveland, OH
"Excellent performance for casting dry flies. Used with the breaded leader turns over dries like a champ; probably the best combination out there. Easy to change, very convenient - a high quality product."
Review 10 for 5' Spooled Bimini Tippets
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Looking forward to trying these out,
April 25, 2012
By: safetyspot
from Lincolnshire
"As an occasional fisherman I welsome anything that will maximise the time my fly is in the water, and I am sure that not having to tie knots with cold hands and failing eyesight will improve my chances of success"
Review 11 for 5' Spooled Bimini Tippets
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very convenient,
February 7, 2012
By: monman
from Louisville Ky
"The Bimini Tippets make change tippets very easy. When you are in the middle of the stream and need to change tippet, why worry about knots. Time is of the essence when the fish are there. I do plan to change to the Mirage tippets."
Review 12 for 5' Spooled Bimini Tippets
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overhang,
January 3, 2012
By: BigCTexas
from Texas
"I recently fished a place that had a lot of overhang and very little casting room. I order to fish my midge patterns I had to float the line under the branches using a 5ft braided leader and these tippets. Worked like a charm! Thanks Orvis!"
Review 13 for 5' Spooled Bimini Tippets
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
So easy!,
December 17, 2011
By: mzkatt
from Seattle, WA
"I absolutely love these! I can connect up this tippet material to my line in about 30 seconds in the middle of a fast-moving river! Fastastic material. Thanks!"
Review 14 for 5' Spooled Bimini Tippets
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
buy thease tippets,
October 13, 2011
By: Chris195
from Kent, United Kingdom
"Just buy them you will never look back combined with Orvis braided leaders you have the best combination there is these are very good well done Orvis"
Review 15 for 5' Spooled Bimini Tippets
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Never going back to mono...,
September 10, 2011
By: JMGross
from Ohio
"This Tippet was a game changer for me. It ties and holds knots outstandingly and the Bimini loop makes changing out the tippet on the leader a matter of seconds rather than minutes. I LOVE this!"
Review 16 for 5' Spooled Bimini Tippets
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
CONVENIENT,
September 6, 2011
By: STREAMERKING
from Midwest trout streams
"I am not sure if the trout in clear running shallow pools are spooking from the reflections from the bimmini twist or from the Ovris braided leader when fishing clousers on a full sinking line. I have switched to full 9 foot tapered leader in these circumstances."
Ratings-Only Reviews for 5' Spooled Bimini Tippets
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1