Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

5' Spooled Bimini Tippets

Replacement Bimini fly fishing tippets for Super Strong or braided “No Knot” systems. Tippets feature Bimini twist leader-to-tippet connection, giving you a loop-to-loop connection with no loss of breaking strength and excellent turnover power. 5' Bimini fly fishing tippets on a convenient spool. Tippets separate with a slight tug.Super Strong material, (5 per spool): 3X, 4X, 5X, 6X or 7X
Average Customer Rating:
4.6 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
0
23 of 25(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 5' Spooled Bimini Tippets
Review 1 for 5' Spooled Bimini Tippets
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quick & Easy, Strong too,
July 23, 2014
By: paddytroutbum
"I like how the leader and bimini tippets work together to provide a quick and easy way to change while on the river or stream fishing.
I am disappointed that Orvis has not stocked the Mirage flouro bimini tippets for two years now. I hope Orvis brings back the Mirage bimini tippets!"
Review 2 for 5' Spooled Bimini Tippets
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Invention Ever!,
June 25, 2014
By: DryFlyMan1
"This is the greatest invention ever for fly fishing. These enable you to make quick changes in order to adapt to the conditions. Love them!"
Review 3 for 5' Spooled Bimini Tippets
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tip on Tippets,
June 11, 2014
By: fredell
from Montoursville, PA
"I've been using Orvis braided leaders and Bimini tippets as long as I can remember. I start with 4x in the early season and work my way up to 6x as the season progresses and the water gets lower. They come on convenient spools that fit in pockets in my Orvis tackle pack vest and they assemble to the braided leader easily and quickly. They're STRONG."
Review 4 for 5' Spooled Bimini Tippets
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A must have for braider leaders,
May 17, 2014
By: Michael1
from Germany
"I fish ORVIS braider leaders a lot on our smaller streams with dries and smaller nymphs, such as killer bugs. Here, the twisted bimini tippet has to be replaced from time to time during one seasonnalthough I prolong my bimini tippets already with a ring and additional tippet material. A must have replacement easy to exchange tippet."
Review 5 for 5' Spooled Bimini Tippets
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy and they catch fish.,
May 13, 2014
By: tobey73
from Maine
"Very easy to use and catch fish.
They are great for cold fingers or low light situations as well as everyday use. less time tying knots more time fishing.
"
Review 6 for 5' Spooled Bimini Tippets
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Help for the knot challenged,
April 23, 2014
By: JohnFD
from Manchester, NH
"Ever since I was a kid, I've had problems tying a blood knot. With these and the leader butt section I never have to. It also makes changing tippet sizes a snap. They save me time, and time on the stream is so valuable."
Review 7 for 5' Spooled Bimini Tippets
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love these !,
April 17, 2014
By: bunk
from Pittsburgh, Pa.
"Easy to change tippets without having to tie knots !"
Review 8 for 5' Spooled Bimini Tippets
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bimini Tippet 2014-Jim,
March 14, 2014
By: Jim2012
from Topeka, Kansas
"Coupled these tippets with the Bimini braided leader and had an unbelievably simplified time rigging. Used one tippet with non slip knots, attach flies, nymphs, and/or emergers. Strong, efficient, and simple. Will definitely be switching to this equipment and saving room in my vest for more candy bars."
Review 9 for 5' Spooled Bimini Tippets
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Big time-saver,
December 27, 2013
By: fishallday
from North Carolina
"I don't have the opportunity to go fly fishing as often as I would like. When I do have the chance to go, I want to get on the water ad tie on as quickly as possible. This product is a big time saver - very fast to tie on and to replace tippet when needed. Have never had one fail."
Review 10 for 5' Spooled Bimini Tippets
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bimini tippets.,
August 20, 2013
By: Arkangel
"These tippets are very easy to use in the construction of a no knots leader; a luxury for the progressive fly fisher."
Review 11 for 5' Spooled Bimini Tippets
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product until it gets old,
July 22, 2013
By: octi
"Been using this item for years and love the quick change capability while on the river when used with the "No Knot System". Great until they get old. Orvis used to have 'use by dates' stamped on the spool, still think that's a good idea."
Review 12 for 5' Spooled Bimini Tippets
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing Strength,
April 22, 2013
By: UncleD2
from Geneva IL
"What a great product. Loop to loop, and incredible strength. Great turnover. Nicely package on the spool, and just a tug to separate."
Review 13 for 5' Spooled Bimini Tippets
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Makes Life Easy,
April 19, 2013
By: Roeb
from New Freedom, PA
"I've been using an Orvis braided leader since they were first introduced on all of my fly lines. The Bimini tippets make replacing the tippet on the stream extremely easy. I've found they have excellent strength and really help to lay a day fly out with minimal disturbance."
Review 14 for 5' Spooled Bimini Tippets
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Help for my failing eyes...,
July 30, 2012
By: iggy541
"The bimini tippets work great for me as I get older. The fewer knots I have to tie on the stream the more fishing I can do. Using these tippets is quick and easy."
Review 15 for 5' Spooled Bimini Tippets
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Try something else,
June 23, 2012
By: DerAlte
"They work, but the tapered leaders are so much better that I will not buy these again"
Review 16 for 5' Spooled Bimini Tippets
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent for dry flies,
May 28, 2012
By: horiaalmasan
from Cleveland, OH
"Excellent performance for casting dry flies. Used with the breaded leader turns over dries like a champ; probably the best combination out there. Easy to change, very convenient - a high quality product."
Review 17 for 5' Spooled Bimini Tippets
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Looking forward to trying these out,
April 25, 2012
By: safetyspot
from Lincolnshire
"As an occasional fisherman I welsome anything that will maximise the time my fly is in the water, and I am sure that not having to tie knots with cold hands and failing eyesight will improve my chances of success"
Review 18 for 5' Spooled Bimini Tippets
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very convenient,
February 7, 2012
By: monman
from Louisville Ky
"The Bimini Tippets make change tippets very easy. When you are in the middle of the stream and need to change tippet, why worry about knots. Time is of the essence when the fish are there. I do plan to change to the Mirage tippets."
Review 19 for 5' Spooled Bimini Tippets
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overhang,
January 3, 2012
By: BigCTexas
from Texas
"I recently fished a place that had a lot of overhang and very little casting room. I order to fish my midge patterns I had to float the line under the branches using a 5ft braided leader and these tippets. Worked like a charm! Thanks Orvis!"
Review 20 for 5' Spooled Bimini Tippets
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
So easy!,
December 17, 2011
By: mzkatt
from Seattle, WA
"I absolutely love these! I can connect up this tippet material to my line in about 30 seconds in the middle of a fast-moving river! Fastastic material. Thanks!"